Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20137
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Look smart in this form-fitting, long sleeve shirt and feel even smarter knowing that it is protecting your skin from 98% of harmful UV rays. This shirt's lightweight, Australian Versatex material offers the best sun protection available, so you can leave your sunscreen at home during those long summer days at the barn. The SunShield's athletic look and feel makes it a great asset to your riding wardrobe, whether at the barn or in the show ring. Add a sweatshirt or jacket and you can wear it to the barn in the winter, too!

Favorite Features

  • UPF rating 50+
  • 3/4 zip neck line

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Fun and functional! This comfortable cotton/poly longsleeve shirt ...
    Description:
    Fun and functional! This comfortable cotton/poly longsleeve shirt is a great way to add some Rock 47 style to any cowgirl's wardrobe.Favorite Features Embellished with studs and stones Spade pockets with stones at corner Three snap bust Gold lurex thread ...
    Stay cool, comfy and dry in style with ...
    Description:
    Stay cool, comfy and dry in style with a SmartPak polo! The Personalized Ladies Wicking Polo Shirt is crafted from moisture-wicking performance fabric, this technical polo shirt will keep you cool and comfortable. Perfect for schooling or in the jumper ...
    With a clean, classic design, a great fit, ...
    Description:
    With a clean, classic design, a great fit, and the quality of Wrangler, you can't go wrong with this longsleeve shirt. Favorite Features Single point front and back yokes Snap flap front bockets Snap closures 97% cotton, 3% spandex. Imported. ...
    Keeps you cool, comfortable, and looking stylish in ...
    Description:
    Keeps you cool, comfortable, and looking stylish in the ring. Favorite Features Exclusive AirSilk 4-way stretch fabric converts perspiration to cooling energy Moisture-wicking Anti-bacterial Fast drying UVProtections Imported.Sizing It Up XS (2-4) S (4-6) M (8-10) L (12) XL (14) ...
    Made from moisture-wicking performance fabric, this technical polo ...
    Description:
    Made from moisture-wicking performance fabric, this technical polo shirt will keep you cool and comfortable. Perfect for schooling or in the jumper ring! Self collar, hidden snap closures. 100% polyester. Favorite Features Moisture Wicking Hidden Snap closures Usable in and ...
    The Under Armour Tech Long Sleeve Hoody delivers ...
    Description:
    The Under Armour Tech Long Sleeve Hoody delivers Ultra light fabric that isSoft to thetouch.Favorite Features Signature moisturetransport system wicks away sweat to keep you dry and light Anti-odor technology keep your gear fresher longer Open neckline for easy layering ...
    Aperfect addition to any rider's summer wardrobe!Made from ...
    Description:
    Aperfect addition to any rider's summer wardrobe!Made from a lightweight pique knit material, this shirt is designed to provide all day sunProtectionfor the equestrian athlete. Favorite Features Self-fabric collar Snap placket closure SunProtection Fabric TechnologyProtects from harmful UV rays AriatTEK ...
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak is rated 4.5074 out of 5 by 136.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy It's hard to find tops for busty women. This XL fits great- not too tight.Good price.
    Date published: 2016-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool shirt for summer! This is a great shirt for summer to keep sun rays off you. It's very cooling.
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Shirt Bought this shirt in hot pink for my daughter. Beautiful color. Nice material.
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfy Comfy and thin for layering. Roomy, but I don't think too much to order a smaller size unless you are always on the border of sizing.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved it so much I bought more... I was a little reluctant to get this long sleeved shirt for the summer because I usually run hot even in the winter, but the older I get I feel that with all the outside time I spend with my horse I needed the added protection. Well I was pleasantly surprised on how cool it kept me even for a long sleeve shirt in the hot humid MD summers.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a summer shirt Good base layer. Too hot for summer. Sizes are inconsistent. Two shirts in the same size fit like two different sizes.
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Shirt This is my second shirt and am expecting it to hold up as well as the first one. Well made, nice material with attention to detail. Sizing does run a little big.
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sun protection for riding I'm sick of sunscreen when riding, as it tends to insulate the heat on my skin and cause even more sweating, and then it just slides (or is wiped in irritation) right off (mainly my arms) - but in mid 90s degree heat, you need protection! I bought this shirt about a month ago and have ridden in it ever since, and I'm a fan. I still get hot, of course, because it was the middle of summer in Texas, but at least I don't have to worry about getting burned. I imagine it will be really nice as the weather cools down.My one complaint is that, quite unsurprisingly, the white shirt gets dirty and the stains do not want to come out. My horse loves to slime me, and my shirt got stained on its first outing. I don't mind since I ride at my own private barn, but if I were to wear this schooling at my trainer's barn or at a show, I would pick a darker color. I initially chose white because I figured that would be the coolest possible color. Oh well! Stains don't affect its performance.
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer Shirt for at the Barn This was my second SunShield shirt purchase. They are great for everyday use in the summer.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps you cool Definitely the coolest of all the sun shield shirts I have. Keeps you cooler than even tailored sportsman or eis shirts!
    Date published: 2015-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Shirt! Very comfortable. Dirt repellent. Sweat resistant.
    Date published: 2015-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job! This is actually my second purchase of this shirt. The first was tourquoise and this second was white. White tends to get really dirty, really quick if your grooming, longing, tacking up your own horse. Also stay away from velcro as it can snag your shirt.Bought these for sun protection, this year I'm really focusing on the. They look nice when riding, are a little over sized in my opinion, and have great long sleeves to cover you, even when arms are extended with reins.
    Date published: 2015-08-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Odd fit, but decent I grabbed this on sale, and sized down after reading some reviews saying that it ran big. However, even the XS was quite boxy (I'm fairly slim but not crazy skinny, so I was surprised at how loose it was). I know they're not supposed to be skin-tight, but I wanted something a little more fitted. Also because I sized down, it's a little too short to stay tucked into my breeches. In terms of quality it is durable, cute color, and has held up well to life at the barn. It's not as cooling as some other shirts may be, but I think it'll be great for riding in spring/fall weather.
    Date published: 2015-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shirt! Great color .. great fit .. great shirt!!I also have the more expensive name brand version of this shirt and I like this one better. In California sun protection without overheating is essential - this shirt fits the bill perfectly!
    Date published: 2015-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality I bought this about 2 weeks ago and love it. I wasn't sure about it when I bought it because I wanted a nice shirt to do cross country in, but didn't really have $100 to drop on a long sleeve summer cooling shirt that some of the other brands have. But I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised when I wore it because it is almost even more comfortable than an Ariat long sleeve cooling shirt that I have. The material is much more lightweight and cooler in general, as my Ariat shirt has heavier material all over and then the fragile "cooling" material that starts at the armpits and goes all the way down the length of the sleeves. This smartpak shirt was better because all of the material was lightweight, cooling, stretchy, and sharper looking in general. And I can wear it just in general for other things too, it's very versatile. I would highly recommend it and I like it better than my Ariat one.
    Date published: 2015-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this shirt!! What a find for the strong Montana summer sun--and so nice not to have to slather my arms in sticky sunscreen anymore! Wish I had bought one of these years ago--quickly purchased 3 more after the first. Quite breathable for a longsleeve shirt, but would definitely NOT recommend the darker colors. I got the pink and white and the white is way cooler than the pink, even. Yes, the lighter colors show dirt but it's worth the trade off not to have a dark color absorbing the heat of the sun. I wear a size 2-4 in shirts and ordered a S and XS to try--kept the XS, small was too big. Also, beware--as with all performance athletic/wicking clothing, the sweat is wicked away but the fabric retains the sweaty stench, so I usually bring another shirt to the barn if I'm not going home immediately after riding. Thankfully, these wash great and easily!!
    Date published: 2015-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super classy and fits awesome True to size. Great colors, and the sleeves don't shrink when washed :)Material does hold sweaty smell though :/
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hello Sunshield, Goodbye Goo! Loved this so much I bought 3 more in different colors. Very nice fit, washes well, really covers my very fair skin. My Dermatologist is happy and no more feeling goopey and sticky and filthy all day from wearing dust attracting sunscreen on my neck, and arms. One of the seams started to unravel after 3 washings, otherwise is holding up very well.I like these better than anything else found on-line for sun shirts.
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sun protection I have to seriously limit my skin's sun exposure and this long-sleeved shirt is very helpful in that matter. I especially appreciate, it can be zipped all the way up the neck. It has a great ventilation and dries quickly. The sizing seems accurate. The colors are beautiful. I liked my first purchase so much, I already got two more shirts.
    Date published: 2015-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job I snagged one of these on sale, and overall I'm glad I did. I do get a little hot, but not as bad as anticipated, and I like covering up to protect my skin. I also love the royal blue color, it's so pretty! It does run a little big and boxy, but it's nice that it doesn't stick too close to my body. I probably wouldn't pay full price, but will likely grab another when they go on sale again.
    Date published: 2015-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice shirt I have to completely cover up when in the sun, this shirt has made it easy. The stand up collar covers my neck and the the sleeves are long enough my wrists are covered. Cleans easily and dries fast.
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very comfortable Excellent protection from the sun. Shirt doesnt wrinkle and has a nice shape. I look casual dressy in it compared to my usual tshirt and sunscreen.
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool and comfortable I live in Florida where we trail ride even in the summer. This shirt was amazing kept me cool even thought I was sweating. Love it and no sun burn
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this shirt as an alternative to coating down in messy, sticky sunscreen. So far, I love it. The fabric is really soft - luxurious feeling, even. I find that I'm not hot (and I get warm easily) in it, and it's attractive. I'm quite happy and may even order another one later in a different color. Gets 2 thumbs up from me!
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shirt! I purchased this shirt a few weeks back to help protect my skin with the unforgiving Southern Californian sun. I've worn in up to 90 degree weather so far and can't say I was terribly uncomfortable in the heat, thought it felt just as warm if I was in a tank top. The shirt is breathable and we get a breeze so that is what kept it heat manageable for me.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy! This is a great lightweight material. I'm between a medium and a large- bought this shirt in a large. I believe a medium would fit, but I like the loose-ness in shirts like these.
    Date published: 2015-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great sun protection I bought it so l can ride longer because I have lupus not so post to be in the its proctors me from sun
    Date published: 2015-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable! I have been very happy with this shirt. Sometimes it gets a little warm in the 100 degree weather but if you hose a horse off and the sleeves just get slightly damp it's nice and cooling. Shirt is soft and comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice enough shirt I bought several of these over the last few months. They work well in regards to staying cool and keeping the sun off my arms. My only complaint is that on every one I bought, you cannot zip the neck all the way because the top of the zipper curls around in such a way that it is extremely sharp and pricks me constantly. I also bought some of the Under Armour shirts sold on SmartPak and they are MUCH better - soft fabric covers the top of the zipper and they have a lot more in the way of mesh to keep you cool. They are also more flattering.
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond my Expectations! These shirts are amazing! Super light weight, great feel, fashionable and highly effective in keeping the sun and heat out! Being that they're long sleeves I was concerned about them being too hot, to my surprise, they actually deflect the heat! They wash well too! Great colors, I bought one in almost every color!
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    • 2016-05-26T15:32CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_124
    • loc_en_US, sid_10137, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders