Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Stubben Soft Touch Spurs

Stubben North America
- Item #15421
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Another great innovation in spurs! The Stubben Soft Touch spurs feature an extremely smooth gliding, stainless steel roller end! A perfect spur for the horse that just needs a slight encouragement.

Favorite Features 

  • Top quality German stainless steel
  • Non-slip rubber coating to keep them firmly in place
  • Flexible stainless steel can easily be shaped for comfort


Sizing It Up

20mm, 3/4 inches
35mm, 1 3/8 inches

Customers Also Shopped For
For leisure riding, basic training, and rehabilitation. Polar ...
For leisure riding, basic training, and rehabilitation. Polar Equine Inzone enables your horse to exercise within specific target heart rate zone. The training computer has a large easy-to-read display, simple one-button functionality, coded transmission, and back light. Includes: Polar FT1 ...
The Sporty Sit-Tite Spray helps to keep you ...
The Sporty Sit-Tite Spray helps to keep you in the saddle! Spray results in a high degree of friction resistance and a comfortable thigh position for a better seat. Won't damage leather or your breeches. Made in Germany. Due to ...
The De Gogue addresses tension in the poll, ...
The De Gogue addresses tension in the poll, mouth and neck. Applies poll pressure when the horse raises his head, encouraging the horse to lift, stretch and engage. Helps the horse develop the correct muscles for a rounded frame and ...
The Snowbee Cork & Black Ebony Dressage Whip ...
The Snowbee Cork & Black Ebony Dressage Whip is a truly beautiful piece, that would make a great addition to any rider's collection. The elite high tech handle is bothSoft and comfortable to hold, without sacrificing overall balance and precision. ...
The Polar Equine V800 is the ultimate training ...
The Polar Equine V800 is the ultimate training companion for any equestrian sport! In addition to tracking speed, distance, and route with the integrated GPS, it measures heart rate (even in water!). You can plan and analyze your training sessions ...
We're guessing this was developed by someone with ...
We're guessing this was developed by someone with a green horse. No-slip grip. Rub-on Sadl-Tite stick is safe for clothes and leather. Frequently used on slippery leather, boots, gloves, clothes, carriage seats, etc. Create a tacky condition that stops the ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Stubben Soft Touch Spurs is rated 4.6938775510204085 out of 5 by 49.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from LOVE the spurs- branches are way too long I have a lazy but sensitive-skinned WB. My go-to tom thumbs nubs were rubbing the hair off so I tried these. I LOVE the spur (bought the 20mm), it is effective but stays out of the way when I want it to, and the roller doesn't jingle as much as the cheaper version by another maker. I have size 7 feet though and the sides of the spurs are way too long. I constantly have to adjust them to keep the spur from sliding down my heel. I like everything else about them though so I will deal with that. Stubben would do better to realize their market is going to be more women with smaller feet and shorten up the branch on this spur.
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gentle touch I have both lenghts of these spurs. I bought the shorts ones for my sensitive TB. Great quality.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice spurs! I have a very sensitive horse. He can accept theses but still listen and respect them.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Seriously rubbed my horse Either I have a defective leg position on one side or the spur just didn't work for my horse. The first day of just hacking out caused a serious rub by just one spur and I was walking so I don't think that I even used it. I bought the 35mm so I may try the shorter spur. My normal Prince of Wales spur never caused a rub.I wish that there were a Maybe button for the recommendation.
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality spurs Very good spurs. I have long legs so I need longer spurs on some horses. These give me good feedback on when I use them and I like the roller balls on them. Good quality metal on the spurs and the rubber on the arms make the spurs wear easy on my boots, giving the spurs good grip on them.
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liking after first ride! I rode in these for the first time yesterday and my horse was quite responsive!
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd pair I am buying my second pair of these - I made the mistake of letting my mummy borrow the first pair to try, and she says they are the only comfortable pair of spurs she's ever worn in her life and won't give them back :-)
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice The spurs shown in the pic online are the 35mm so I bought the 20mm. Length is good if you don't need to use them constantly, you don't have to turn your foot very much though, even at the shorter size.My mare tends to get gate sour and really irritated when I'm "loud" with her, such as a whip or a kick. The spurs have made our ride much quieter and her much happier. I just give a little nudge, she gets the picture, and we move on. I have small feet and the spurs stay up great on my boots. Quality seems very, very nice. Very happy!
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty- very nice Really like these spurs- good quality for price and really like the rubber coating
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pony recommends these! I LOVE these spurs, but more importantly, my horse is so much happier with them than Tom Thumbs.  He is the laziest QH alive, and with these spurs he goes forward but with far less annoyance.  
Date published: 2013-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I thought stainless steel didn't rust? I guess Stubben's does... They started to pull my horses hair after almost 2 months. I don't think the quality is that nice.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can be used in Rated USEA Events! I am so excited! I love my roller stubben spurs, even more so since I found out from the USEA that you can use these in Rated events! And in particular I mean the dressage phase! 
Date published: 2013-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite spurs!!!! These spurs are the best! My horse loves them and so do I! He used to get irritated when i used my flat ended Sprengers. I had a small rounded pair that just weren't enough. The Stubben Soft Touch are effective but not annoying to my horse. We are having better communication now.
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Spurs I've been very happy with these spurs! I've had them a long time and they've held up very nicely. I love the black sides as they blend in very well with my boots. They seem very gentle yet get the job done (I think my horse responds better to these than other roller ball spurs!). They seem very well made. I'd definitely recommend these!
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful spurs! I got the 20mm spurs.I purchased them because my horse can get sensitive to spurs at times but with these he never seems to be bothered. The rubber helps then stay in place and they are just enough aid to keep him moving forward but gentle enough to not bother him.
Date published: 2013-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for many horses I like these spurs because they have enough "oomph" to get the horse to pay attention to the leg, but the rollers prevent any rubs or insanguination. I ride 6-7 horses per day, and I can use these on any of them.
Date published: 2013-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect spurs These spurs are gentle enough that my easily offended arab doesn't mind, and high enough in quality that makes me happy to wear them for schooling or show. Recommended!
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Spurs GIve me some extra length that my short leg needs and don't hurt my horse's sensitive skin.He is responsive to them but they don't run. I am happy with them
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite Spurs! I LOVE these spurs! The black rubber makes them look sleek against your tall boots and they are very easy to fit. Also, the soft touch is great for horses with a sensitive coat or for the inexperienced spur wearer. I will never use other spurs again. Just what I needed! Thanks Smartpak!
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gives the right amount of 'go' I bought the longer version, have a quiet leg with a sensitive mare and find these spurs to be very effective in subtly reinforcing my leg and encouraging my mare to be very responsive without annoying her with sharp prodding. I don't know how the little rowels contribute to this, but believe the length and roundness create a great 'hearing aid'. Having never been ridden in spurs before, my mare was a bit 'swishy tail' at the canter for a few days, but with a slight readjustment on my canter depart aid, she is performing beautifully with them. The results are even quieter cues with faster response.
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Good fit and great value for the price - they are sturdy and well made. Gentle, yet effective.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfefect Spur I have tried so many spurs on my mare for dressage. They were either not long enough or just to much poke. She would kick out or ring her tail at any spurs I used forcing me to show with a whip. I had a pair of nob end western spurs she went fine in but I couldn't show in them. Then I found these! They are so great, I can give a soft touch and even really push her when I need to with out any distraction or getting upset.
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice spur good purchase. Never tried the covered arms before--nice. Spur is soft enough not to cause my sensitive mare to think she is being attacked but enough to give her some more incentive. --EXACTLY the combo I was hoping to get with this purchase!
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Spurs Fantastic quality and workmanship. Worth every penny.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more spur rubs! I bought these for my thoroughbred who gets spur rubs very easily. I am so pleased with these spurs as they do not leave a mark and elicit a nice response from the horse. I recommend these spurs for all types of horses. I bought the long and short neck.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Spurt Good spurs - soft on the horses, gets the job done, and doesn't slip down your boot. Worth the money you pay for these.
Date published: 2012-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite spurs I'll admit, I don't like poking my horses with spurs. I feel mean, and I worry I'll mark their coats. But, I need them, they have to listen, and sometimes NOW. And then I found these. I love the rubber coating, they don't slip on my boots, and they barely show. The "business end" leaves very little damage to the horse's skin or coat, which I love, yet gets the message across. Doesn't seem to pull or break the hair. I'm ordering a second pair in the longer neck length. I've had several friends order them after trying mine.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have a lot of spurs as most of us do. I decided to spend the money on these and I am glad I did. I got the short neck ones and I really like them. They are solid and well made. They are a great everyday spur.
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Spurs Love these spurs. Well made, and I have received lots of compliments on them. Just enough to make my mare notice without too much pressure. :)
Date published: 2012-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Spurs! I love these spurs! I really like that they have the black rubber around the spur, it makes them more grippy, and stand out less on your boots.
Date published: 2011-12-15
  • 2016-10-27T12:50CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_5421, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders