Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SSG Close Contact Sunglasses

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #16425
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Tired of sunglasses that bounce when you ride or are just plain uncomfortable? Well, we found you the perfect pair of sunglasses to wear when riding - plus, they won't break the bank! The Close Contact Sunglasses from SSG fit comfortably underneath your helmet with the wrap around design.

Polycarbonate lens, UV 100% protection to NM400.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Close Contact Sunglasses is rated 3.6957 out of 5 by 46.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wear all the time! I hesitated to buy these because of some negative reviews, but decided to give them a try- probably 3 years ago. They may look a little cheap and disappointing at first, and they may not fit some people, but I have an average (and very much female) face and they fit me great. They don't slide around while I am riding which is awesome! They do tend to fog up when I'm hot and driving, or standing around, but not when riding. As others have said they fit well under my helmet. I have found these to be so comfortable, I wear them all the time and have done so almost from the beginning. They are incredibly durable as I am very hard on sunglasses and these have lasted a long time with very little scratching. I love these sunglasses.
    Date published: 2015-03-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Expected more but functional I expected a little more from the description and the brand name, these are basically the same safety glasses you can get at your local Norco or Oxarc for less. They are good as long as you have a hat/helmet with a visor otherwise the clarity slips a bit. That being said I won't feel to bad if something happens to them on the trail or in my helmet bag. They are functional and do the job of protecting my eyes from bugs, branches and dust.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good for riding They perform as expected. Good price. Fit easily under helmet.
    Date published: 2014-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for riding in I bought these sunglasses to mainly protect my eyes from branches and bugs while galloping through the woods. They are dark enough to protect from the sun, but not too dark so when in a shaded forest, I can still see well. They fit comfortably under my helmet, flexible enough to not cause pressure, an issue I've had with most sunglasses. Only minor annoyance, which may be uncommon, is that my lashes hit the lens when pushed back to the top of the bridge of my nose. Thinking of glueing something to the bridge of the glasses to help with this.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from felt cheap returned these as they felt and looked cheap. Did not seem to sit properly on face.
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just OK Since they are very snug against my face they do cause fogging and when I start to sweat, the sweat drips down the lens. I do like the wrap around style and will probably continue to wear them for this summer to get monies worth.
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I bought them a month ago, and wear them e very day.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sunglasses I have to wear sunglasses all the time. These are very comfortable, and are a great fit with my helmet or baseball cap. The wrap around lenses give great eye protection. I haven't had them long enough to rate their durability.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving these sunglasses! These are the best pair of sunglasses I have ever purchased! They DO fit under your helmet and I love that the nose piece is solid (for those of us with hair longer than an inch who like to push their sunglasses up on their head, there is nothing worse than sunglasses with nosepieces that get caught in your hair). So this nosepiece will never do that! Seem sturdy and well made as well - I've had them a few weeks.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sunglasses for riding! I bought these for my daughter for riding this summer. She likes the fit. They don't interfere with her helmet and she doesn't complain about wearing them. They are similar to some of the more stylish safety glasses which we like. She has worn all kinds of sunglasses and these look as good as the others. She does have a large head and they're a good fit. May not be ideal for overly small head size.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Should not be called sunglasses Yes, they are comfortable under a helmet. However, they do not block the sun very well. As someone who is sensitive to sun I have to ride with sunglasses. These do not block the sun. Might be useful on a trail ride in the woods. Worthless on a sunny day. Better as protective eyewear.
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits my husband, but not me These sunglasses fit my husband who is now using them to ride motorcycles. he says they don't scratch and don't fog and he treats sunglasses like trash so they are pretty durable. However, they were not for him but for me and were too big for my face. I have a pretty small head so keep in mind when you're ordering.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from better than expected I read all the reviews both positive and negative before buying these sunglasses. When they came, I agreed with those who said they have a cheap appearance, but decided to try them while riding before making up my mind. They are more comfortable than they look; in fact, I forgot I had them on. I didn't have trouble with them fogging up but that could be a problem when the weather is hotter. I only gave them an average rating on durability because I haven't had them very long. But I would recommend them for someone looking for wrap around protection and comfort.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap Quality Sunglasses Living in Texas, I ride in sunglasses frequently and was looking forward to receiving the SSG close contact sunglasses. I was very disappointed with the quality of the SSG sunglasses and the fit. They appear very cheap and run very large, making them completely unusable. I returned them and am still searching for a good pair of riding sunglasses.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable I have very sensitive eyes and wear sunglasses all the time. These work great for riding, light weight and fit with my helmets.
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Riding Shades! I purchased these because my usual sunglasses slip off my face when I ride.I found these sunglasses to fit comfortably on the bridge of my nose. They did not slip, fall off or distort my vision while riding. They are light and comfortable and provide good coverage from the sun.For the price these are great. Maybe you can find something cheaper. A lot of comments I read seem to think you can. $20 for a pair of good sporting sunglasses is not expensive. These are worth it.
    Date published: 2012-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Sunglasses These are fantastic sunglasses. You don't even know you have them on because they are so lightweight. The protection is great because they wrap around.I'm at a small facility with five horses. Everyone has tried my glasses and now we all wear them. I highly recommend them. And, for the price, they're a great deal. I even ordered a second pair to wear away from the barn.
    Date published: 2012-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these glasses! These glasses fit me well. I'm so happy I found them.I love the fact they wrap around so the sun can't come in through the sides. I have a Tipperary helmet and have no problem with the fit.
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointed I was disappointed with this item as they were advertised as close contact sunglasses when in actuality they are just a pair of regular old safety glasses that can be purchased for much less pretty much anywhere. I returned this item without any hassles and would not recommend it to anyone thinking this is a pair of good quality glasses.
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for under helmet I ordered these for both myself and my friend. We are turning over a new leaf and trying to ride more with our helmets. We both had a hard time finding sunglasses that were comfortable under the helmets. Being in Florida, sunglasses were necessary.I ordered these on a whim and was thrilled that they worked for both of us, with our different style helmets and facial structure.Very happy with this purchase and will purchase again if/when we lose/break these. :)
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous! Can't believe the negative reviews. These are fantastic. I ride in them nearly every ride. I also have the yellow lens pair for overcast days and indoor riding at dusty arenas and on cold days. I hate when my eyes water at the canter because it's so cold. Not good with contacts or while trying to jump! They do scratch, so I keep them in a hard case in my groom box. Cheap enough to replace, but I usually get over year out of each pair before I scratch them too much - but I'm pretty annoyed by scratches. I find the to be very comfortable to wear. They only fog on cold days when I'm standing still. Soon as my horse starts walking again, they defog. So while standing still, I just pull them down the bridge of my nose a bit and they clear up fine. I like the wrap around the keep dust out and the frameless doesn't obstruct my peripheral vision.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Close Contact Sunglasses These will work for me on the trail and in the warm up ring! Much more economical than name brand flexible frame sunglasses!
    Date published: 2012-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic For the price, these can't be beat. Yes, they are plastic, and if you mishandle them, they will probably break. But they fit great, are lightweight and don't slide off without gripping my head. I tend to lose or break sunglasses so I won't buy an expensive pear, but I'd get a backup pair of these in a heartbeat!
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not one-size-fits-all They do fit fairly comfortably under my helmet, but are sized quite large and tend to keep falling off my face - less than ideal while running cross-country!
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for Ladies' Faces Don't fool yourself into thinking you need these glasses. These do not fit--they wouldn't even sit on my nose when I had my helmet on. I'm sure these fit men better, but I can't fathom they would want to wear them because they FOG up horribly. You're better off going to a sporting goods store and getting real anti-fog glasses.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't Fit Helmet! I ride in a GPA, and found that when I put these on I had a huge gap between the bridge of my nose and the glasses. You're better off buying a cheap pair of sunglasses or relegating an old 'favorite' pair to your riding sunglasses. Good idea, but needs some work to fit the female face properly.
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ehhhhh... I ordered these glasses because I had a beautiful pair of fitted Maui Jim glasses stolen and I need to wear something for the sun when I ride.When I got these, I thought that they looked more like the cheap $5 glasses I bought on a whim from ebay. They certainly come NOWHERE near the quality and fit of my old glasses. These glasses are a bit flimsy, and I worried about easy breakage.As several people have said the ventilation on these glasses is poor, and with the summer sun and sweat from riding they fog up. The fit with the helmet was okay, but I still had to push them up a bit, which is a pain when you are schooling horses... in the end I just tossed them on a chair outside the arena. I haven't worn them since the first ride and they are currently collecting dust in my tack room.I am very disappointed! What a waste of money!
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from These glasses are very good - but they tend to get a little sweaty. But they will be great for jumping in the sun
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome sunglasses! I wasn't sure what to expect when I ordered these, but I was tired of riding in my cheap fashion sunglasses because they felt awkward and slid around. I was very very pleasently surprised! These sunglasses are light as air and very comfortable. I sometimes forget that I'm wearing them! They stay put, don't fog up, and are so comfortable! Great value! The only thing I would say is that they might not be snug enough for small heads.
    Date published: 2010-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely amazing i recently purchased these glasses and was a lil skeptical at first as to if they would work well for me or not cause i always ride in my everyday sunglasses. from the 1st time i rode in them, i knew they were going to work out for me. they have not fogged at all and i dont feel the need to squint while im riding like i do in my everyday sunglasses. they wrap around very nicely and dont move at all while im riding. i absolutely love them and look forward to riding in them more esp on the hot sunny days when i ride in the afternoon.
    Date published: 2010-05-12
    • 2015-08-31T15:11CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_42
    • loc_en_US, sid_6425, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.