Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SoloComb

Item #11626
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SoloComb is an essential item for a tidy mane and tail. Create a natural look without the tedious job of pulling. Back comb the hair as usual and then instead of pulling the hair simply press the lever and the hair is instantly and painlessly clipped.

Favorite Features

  • High impact plastic SoloComb is extremely lightweight and easy to use.
  • The SoloComb even works on the whiskers and is great for grooming dogs too!
  • We also carry the Replacement Blades

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SoloComb is rated 4.4444 out of 5 by 126.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful I like that this product makes pulling the mane unnecessary and it works pretty well as long as you follow the directions and don't try to clip too much hair at once. I was disappointed thought that the bristles feel really cheaply made, I can't imagine this would hold up under heavy use or for more than a year or two.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect alternative! My mare hates having her mane pulled, this comb is the perfect alternative :) it does a great job and I have a horse with a neat and tidy mane
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to handle and operate I bought this comb so I didn't have to hassle with pulling my mare's mane.Overall, it does an adequate job of thinning the mane. It doesn't look like a handpulled mane when done, but it does the bulk of the work without causing pain to my sensitive mare. I think over time I will be able to get more of the desired results,but for the first time use I think it went pretty good.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SoloComb I bought this to help shape my mare's mane as she did not like it when Ipulled it. I have to tell you that I love it and so did my mare. I would highlyrecommend this product.
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought this 1 month ago. It is simple and easy to use. Most importantly, it is pain free. This is the only way I will shorten my horse's mane in the future.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Used this once and got 3/4 of the way done with my horses mane and it stopped working. I have read only a couple other reviews that went the same way. Very strange. It was awesome at first. Trust me, I didn't do anything stupid or forceful with it to cause it sto stop working. I would not recommend this product for the cost. If it was even $20 I might invest in a possible failure, but not the $30-something I spent on this. So bummed. Maybe those few of us received a faulty product. I should contact smartpak about replacing it for another one.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work well I have used a similar product and it worked great. This one would not cut the hair. Totally defeated it's purpose.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good! I was kind of skeptical using the Solo Comb as I have always been told it doesn't make a mane look like one that's been pulled. I have to say I was wrong, this really works. And it also works to keep a pulled mane tidy through the season. I also hate pulling manes and this works.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for pulling manes on sensitive horses. I have a couple of jorses that are very sensitive about having their manes pulled, one almost to the point of violence if pullrd with a standard comb. Ive used Solo combs for years and love it, pulling takes less time and makes a sensitive horse happier about having their mane pulled.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, long lasting! Great tool, keeps the pain away and is very durable, I assumed I would need a new blade for its 2nd season, but no, its still sharp as it was (and I don't wash manes before using) it does not really save time if you want the pulled look, but saves your fingers, and horses tolerance, I use it while he is eating his grain every evening until it gets to the right length, he doesn't care one bit! watch youtube so you use it right, or you'll end up with a chopped up mane like scissors. ~ thank you smartpak! ~
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great My mare has always hated having her mane pulled so I tried the solo comb and it worked great! Her mane looks like it was pulled and she wasn't irritated while I was doing it.
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Alternative to pulling manes Ok, no it does not provide a perfectly pulled mane look; HOWEVER, it does a really good job of mimicking a pulled mane in a fraction of time. (watch youtube videos for tips on how to make it achieve a more pulled look- basically, use small sections). My two geldings greatly oppose the idea of getting their manes pulled- this is something I have worked on them for a couple years now, and it is just never work the fight. Both geldings would allow a blindfolded monkey clip their ears with no objection, but the notion of the little metal comb sends them batty. Totally not worth it and I can no longer afford the amount of carrots it took to get through two thick manes. Highly recommend! 
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Product Love it, love it, love it. No more pulling = happy horse and happy me!
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time saver!! I will never pull a mane like I used to. What normally would have taken 2-3 hours took less than 30 minutes. My horse has a thick mane but it was no match for the solo comb!! He usually hates to have me pulling near his head but he did not even notice me! Love it!
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC!! Great tool! watch youtube for how to best use it. I don't feel it makes "pulling" much faster because you want to do little bits at a time to avoid the choppy look, however its pain free and it is a little faster, the horse doesn't mind at all so i did it while he ate his evening grain (10 minutes max a night, took about 2 weeks to go from western long to eventer short). Highly recommend this for anyone sick of pulling and that feels bad about yanking their ponies manes out! FYI my tool is still working great and i never washed his mane before using it, but i would use a little cowboy magic and brush really well so its easier to work with. have regular comb in hand and only use the solocomb for cutting don't expect to be able to actually "comb" the hair with it.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the Perfect Mane This is a handy little option to have as part of your grooming essentials. I watched a few videos on using this first and saw that it is extremely easy to use. I also noticed that it can produce a "choppy" look if you overuse it so I was careful not to do the whole mane with it. I did a little pulling of the mane first to thin it, and then I used this to create that perfect flat, trimmed mane look that is even and clean looking. Also, a friend at my barn has a horse that absolutely hates having his mane pulled and she borrowed this and she said it was magic, so it's definitely ideal for finicky horses. I love this product and would highly recommend it for anyone that is into grooming and keeping their horses looking sharp and handsome.
    Date published: 2013-07-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best I bought this hoping for a better way to trim my horse's mane and avoid pulling. I like the look of a pulled mane but my horse really hates me doing it. Don't bother with the solo comb If you want the look of a pulled mane because you won't get it. Yes it is super easy to use and it only took about 5 minutes to trim her mane, but it looks like I used scissors - yuck! Good thing I don't have a show coming up because I am embarrassed at how it looks. It was difficult to get each section the same length so it looks like a bad scissor job at that. Take the time to pull your horses mane correctly since this comb really is too good to be true. I will be returning mine.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great invention. Thank you! Wish I'd discovered this sooner. Works just like it promises, and keeps manes tidy without the stress of pulling. Happy horse = happy me.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Mane Tool Love this product. The replacement blades were so expensive I purchased a 2nd comb but found the newer model to not hold up as well. I ended up removing the blades from the new one and using them in my old comb which has been going strong for about 5 years. I am happy to see the replacement blade price has decreased somewhat. I use it on 4-6 horses every summer.
    Date published: 2013-06-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs to be more durable I love this product I received it for Christmas and it works easily on the areas the horses don't like pulled like near the poll and withers, or on an already thin mane. But the durability is terrible. I used mine twice, once on a very very thin mane just to shorten it, and once near the poll on a horse who wouldn't let me pull up there. The plastic teeth popped off and the end busted. I was able to slip it back in and finish the touch ups, but it was a pain because I had to keep putting the teeth back in. For the money it needs to hold up better. In the summer I do a lot of mane pulling I was hoping this would be a good easy method for the few hard to pull horses I do, including my own with a mane too thin to pull. I expected it to last several sessions since it costs nearly what I get paid for one mane job.
    Date published: 2013-05-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does an OK Job I bought this product to use on a horse that hates to have his mane pulled. The SoloComb does a decent job, but I do prefer a pulled mane.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good concept.. This tool works well for a mane that doesn't need a lot of thinning. I do regularly use it on one mare's mane because hers only really needs to be shortened and not thinned. You can definitely get a thick mane thinned out using this tool, but it's going to look terrible once the mane starts to grow out. I made the mistake of using it on my colt, who has a very thick mane. I used it just as the instructions say, trimming small sections at a time and back combing just like you would with a regular pulling comb. The mane looked decent when I was done, and I finished the job quickly. However, 2 months later all the hair that I had "pulled" started growing back and was sticking straight up through the top layer of hair. Luckily I only used it for one show at the end of the show season, so I've had time to let my colt's mane grow out and it is finally trained to lay flat again. I will not be using this to thin his mane this year, rather I'm sticking with the old fashioned method. I've yet to find something that works as well as pulling a mane the old fashioned way.. However, I do like this product for touch ups and for shortening an already thin mane.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mane pulling this comb works great and I can do my horse's mane in less than 15 minutes.....LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2013-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy mane pulling this is a great tool for thinning a mane - especially a thick one... It is my second one as i have 2 horses at 2 barns - so one at each barn.... It is a much easier way for me to pull the mane...
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Mane Tool! The SoloComb is perfect for getting that tamed, thinned, and shorter mane I need for braiding and overall grooming. No harsh pulling/ripping out of hair, its very gentle. Just hold the hair, tease it up only (not up and down) then clip. I love that it makes the mane look very natural and neat, it doesn't give that "scissor cut" look when you're done. Perfect addition to my grooming tote.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mane pullinge made easy I've been using the solo comb for years. My mare hates having her mane pulled, I've tried using thining blades, sissors and several other methods but couldn't get the results I was looking for. I had to replace the blade on my first solo comb after a couple of years but it was very easy to do. Unfortunately I dropped my first one too many times and it broke apart. I will be more carefull with the new one. Great product!
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Good to be True I hate pulling mane. When I saw this product, I was so excited to give it a try. Of course, it was too good to be true. While it was easy to use, it definitely did not give my horse's mane a natural look as advertised. It is essentially a fancy-looking pair of scissors. I hate to send things back but I had to because I just don't see myself using it ever again. Back to the convention mane comb it is!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great Love my new SoloComb. Works great, unfortunately it doesn't work so well for left handers. I had to hold it in my right hand which was a bit awkward for me since I am left handed and have always held the pulling comb in my left hand.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am sold on the SoloComb! I have tried literally every other mane-pulling/trimming gimmick on the market for my OTTB who HATES having his mane pulled. The SoloComb is the most expensive one out there, so after all the others didn't work, I wasn't going to spend more money one something else that didn't work. Today I borrowed a friend's SoloComb at her insistence when I mentioned pulling my horse's mane. His is ridiculously thick and coarse, so all the other trimming methods yield the equine afro look. But, with the SoloComb, I was able to trim his mane to the desired length, leaving enough long hairs to pull in order to thin it somewhat. The reduced amount of mane pulling was fairly tolerable in Johnny's opinion (with minimal head-tossing), and instead of 2 hours, blisters, and blood, I spent less than an hour with NO blisters or bloody fingers! His mane looks great, and while it's not as thin as it would've been if I'd pulled it, it's braidable without the 'fro look! I'm buying my own SoloComb before I have to do his mane again.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mane puling tool! I pulled my horse's mane for the first time last week. I found this tool to be very easy to use! It only took me 15 minutes. :)
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    • 2015-05-27T09:47CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_1626, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.