Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

SoloComb

Item #11626

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SoloComb is an essential item for a tidy mane and tail. Create a natural look without the tedious job of pulling. Back comb the hair as usual and then instead of pulling the hair simply press the lever and the hair is instantly and painlessly clipped.

Favorite Features

  • High impact plastic SoloComb is extremely lightweight and easy to use.
  • The SoloComb even works on the whiskers and is great for grooming dogs too!
  • We also carry the Replacement Blades

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Made from pure horse hair, this Medium Bristle ...
    Description:
    Made from pure horse hair, this Medium Bristle Brush is great for dusting off and removing dander.  Varnished wood back is 3/4 sized to fit comfortably in your hand. Have this brush Laser Engraved with text up to 8 letters long! ...
    Cut your grooming time in half! The dual ...
    Description:
    Cut your grooming time in half! The dual use Vac n'Blo Pro does all the work for you. Used as a vacuum, the super suction gets down deep to remove dirt, dandruff, loose hair, and parasites. Used as a blower, ...
    Effol Hair Root Liquid is an effective product ...
    Description:
    Effol Hair Root Liquid is an effective product that is unique to the market. Caffeine is the main active ingredient, which is of particular value in hair products due to it's amazing regeneration abilities! By going straight to the source ...
    The Sheepskin Groom Mitt is made out of ...
    Description:
    The Sheepskin Groom Mitt is made out of top quality 100% Australian Sheepskin. Watch as it effortlessly absorbs and removes dust from horses, boots, saddles/ tack, and even your show coat! This mitt can be used wet or dry and ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SoloComb is rated 4.3897 out of 5 by 136.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Mane looks like it had been pulled. Perfect for those horses who will not tolerate their mane being pulled.
    Date published: 2015-10-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does its job I'm not a fan of these types of combs, I prefer the classic metal ones, but when I can't find the metal one, I use this. It's good quality. I've used other combs that make me feel like the plastic comb will fall off, but this one is really sturdy. The blades get dull, yes, but they can be replaced. I also use this before I start to just thin the mane out, combing the mane like you would just comb it, and squeeze the handle to thin the mane out a little easier (it's easier on my hands).The only thing that really bugs me is that the hair gets stuck in between the blades, making them a little harder to squeeze than normal.
    Date published: 2015-09-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful! As someone who doesn't have much experience pulling/trimming manes, this comb made my job pretty easy. I've used it twice now for lengthy periods of time and found the blades intact and functioning fine. I was nervous about it breaking, but so far so good! My boy hates having his mane pulled, so this item is a great alternative.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes thinning easier! I have a horse with a very thick mane that was really becoming unruly. Since not showing this year, decided to use this instead of pulling. Worked great, took very little time. Not sure how it'll look when it all grows out, but I'm happy with the results right now!
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love it but it broke I've used SoloCombs over the years and have always gotten a nice finish on my horses' manes. But the most recent one I bought (the red one) broke within 3 uses. I do not mean it got dull, they always do that and you have to replace the blade, but this one physically broke on only the 3rd mane. I'm hesitant to buy another.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke the first time I used it. Very disappointed. Didn't even make it through one mane. Blades broke off leaving my horses mane uneven and chopped. Had to finish with a clipper blade. Wrote to customer service, emailed pictures, never heard back. Disappointed, will be returning ASAP.
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Concept - Quality Seems to Be Declining I've been using SoloComb for years now, and I think it's a great product for horses that object to pulling or have thin manes. I think it works better on thin manes than on thick ones.One thing I have noticed is that the quality of the blade has declined over time. A SoloComb used to last me quite a few mane "pulls" without getting dull. Now I maybe get 2 or 3 pulls, and I have to replace the blade. I have multiple horses that I use this on, so it gets annoying having to replace it so often. I would start with a relatively clean mane to make sure that you don't dull the blade even faster.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful tool I bought one of the original Solocombs about 16 years ago. I thought I'd break my Morgan colt into having his mane pulled by going slowly and taking a few hairs at a time when he was really young, but he wouldn't tolerate pulling at all. I bought the comb and have never been disappointed with the results. It works easily and looks like a pulled mane without any discomfort to my horse. He stand quietly and we have a nicely kept mane. I had to buy a new one last month, but I think 16 years is a good long time for something I use a lot, to last. I like that the blades can be replaced and SmartPak carries the replacements, also. Great product.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My gelding has a Fresian-thickness mane... and does NOT tolerate traditional pulling without heavy sedation (picture enough sedation to do a complex tooth extraction...anything less and he's unmanageable). He'll stand all day, sound asleep, for the solo comb. I just did his super long and thick mane yesterday, after letting it grow for about a year because an injury took us out of riding. It took about as much time as pulling would, but my arms were less tired and my gelding was much happier. Final result looks the same as pulled, and I'm VERY pleased. I recommend this to everyone I know!
    Date published: 2015-03-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not quite what I expected If you need to do touch-ups on a mane or you're working with fine hair, this product will do its job. But if you're looking to use it in place of pulling a mane with any thickness to it, it doesn't work nearly as well as I expected based on things I've heard about it.
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a hard job easier! Love the ease of using this...so does my horse. A tip....go slow...follow the directions. Small pieces at a time. Really does a nice job.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally one that works! I have gone through several similar combs, but they never worked (and so always had to resort to the regular pulling comb). This one actually feels sturdy and substantial in your hand, and the blade actually cuts through the hair like it's supposed to! As long as you cut only the amount of hair you would pull at one time, it gives the overall finished look of a pulled mane. If you try to cut a chunk of mane at one time, obviously it will look choppy. I have a Paint who has the thinnest, most straggly mane you have ever seen, and using this I was able to make it look presentable in 10 minutes. I also have a pony with a mane that was all one length, and I was able to shorten it and make it look like a regular pulled mane with this. I used it on an opinionated 4 year old OTTB who until now would have to be twitched to pull his mane (and he would still try to rear). After he realized that there wasn't going to be a yank following the back-pull, he stood patiently in the crossties and let me finish. I will never use anything but this to pull manes ever again.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Painless mane pulling Very easy to use. Thins and pulls mane without ripping or pulling hair out. Makes it easier and faster to do without upsetting my horse.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful I like that this product makes pulling the mane unnecessary and it works pretty well as long as you follow the directions and don't try to clip too much hair at once. I was disappointed thought that the bristles feel really cheaply made, I can't imagine this would hold up under heavy use or for more than a year or two.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect alternative! My mare hates having her mane pulled, this comb is the perfect alternative :) it does a great job and I have a horse with a neat and tidy mane
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to handle and operate I bought this comb so I didn't have to hassle with pulling my mare's mane.Overall, it does an adequate job of thinning the mane. It doesn't look like a handpulled mane when done, but it does the bulk of the work without causing pain to my sensitive mare. I think over time I will be able to get more of the desired results,but for the first time use I think it went pretty good.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SoloComb I bought this to help shape my mare's mane as she did not like it when Ipulled it. I have to tell you that I love it and so did my mare. I would highlyrecommend this product.
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought this 1 month ago. It is simple and easy to use. Most importantly, it is pain free. This is the only way I will shorten my horse's mane in the future.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Used this once and got 3/4 of the way done with my horses mane and it stopped working. I have read only a couple other reviews that went the same way. Very strange. It was awesome at first. Trust me, I didn't do anything stupid or forceful with it to cause it sto stop working. I would not recommend this product for the cost. If it was even $20 I might invest in a possible failure, but not the $30-something I spent on this. So bummed. Maybe those few of us received a faulty product. I should contact smartpak about replacing it for another one.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work well I have used a similar product and it worked great. This one would not cut the hair. Totally defeated it's purpose.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good! I was kind of skeptical using the Solo Comb as I have always been told it doesn't make a mane look like one that's been pulled. I have to say I was wrong, this really works. And it also works to keep a pulled mane tidy through the season. I also hate pulling manes and this works.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for pulling manes on sensitive horses. I have a couple of jorses that are very sensitive about having their manes pulled, one almost to the point of violence if pullrd with a standard comb. Ive used Solo combs for years and love it, pulling takes less time and makes a sensitive horse happier about having their mane pulled.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, long lasting! Great tool, keeps the pain away and is very durable, I assumed I would need a new blade for its 2nd season, but no, its still sharp as it was (and I don't wash manes before using) it does not really save time if you want the pulled look, but saves your fingers, and horses tolerance, I use it while he is eating his grain every evening until it gets to the right length, he doesn't care one bit! watch youtube so you use it right, or you'll end up with a chopped up mane like scissors. ~ thank you smartpak! ~
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great My mare has always hated having her mane pulled so I tried the solo comb and it worked great! Her mane looks like it was pulled and she wasn't irritated while I was doing it.
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Alternative to pulling manes Ok, no it does not provide a perfectly pulled mane look; HOWEVER, it does a really good job of mimicking a pulled mane in a fraction of time. (watch youtube videos for tips on how to make it achieve a more pulled look- basically, use small sections). My two geldings greatly oppose the idea of getting their manes pulled- this is something I have worked on them for a couple years now, and it is just never work the fight. Both geldings would allow a blindfolded monkey clip their ears with no objection, but the notion of the little metal comb sends them batty. Totally not worth it and I can no longer afford the amount of carrots it took to get through two thick manes. Highly recommend! 
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Product Love it, love it, love it. No more pulling = happy horse and happy me!
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time saver!! I will never pull a mane like I used to. What normally would have taken 2-3 hours took less than 30 minutes. My horse has a thick mane but it was no match for the solo comb!! He usually hates to have me pulling near his head but he did not even notice me! Love it!
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC!! Great tool! watch youtube for how to best use it. I don't feel it makes "pulling" much faster because you want to do little bits at a time to avoid the choppy look, however its pain free and it is a little faster, the horse doesn't mind at all so i did it while he ate his evening grain (10 minutes max a night, took about 2 weeks to go from western long to eventer short). Highly recommend this for anyone sick of pulling and that feels bad about yanking their ponies manes out! FYI my tool is still working great and i never washed his mane before using it, but i would use a little cowboy magic and brush really well so its easier to work with. have regular comb in hand and only use the solocomb for cutting don't expect to be able to actually "comb" the hair with it.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the Perfect Mane This is a handy little option to have as part of your grooming essentials. I watched a few videos on using this first and saw that it is extremely easy to use. I also noticed that it can produce a "choppy" look if you overuse it so I was careful not to do the whole mane with it. I did a little pulling of the mane first to thin it, and then I used this to create that perfect flat, trimmed mane look that is even and clean looking. Also, a friend at my barn has a horse that absolutely hates having his mane pulled and she borrowed this and she said it was magic, so it's definitely ideal for finicky horses. I love this product and would highly recommend it for anyone that is into grooming and keeping their horses looking sharp and handsome.
    Date published: 2013-07-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best I bought this hoping for a better way to trim my horse's mane and avoid pulling. I like the look of a pulled mane but my horse really hates me doing it. Don't bother with the solo comb If you want the look of a pulled mane because you won't get it. Yes it is super easy to use and it only took about 5 minutes to trim her mane, but it looks like I used scissors - yuck! Good thing I don't have a show coming up because I am embarrassed at how it looks. It was difficult to get each section the same length so it looks like a bad scissor job at that. Take the time to pull your horses mane correctly since this comb really is too good to be true. I will be returning mine.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    • 2016-02-14T14:45CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_127
    • loc_en_US, sid_1626, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.