Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Winter Jacket

Item #20732
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Winter Jacket will be your workhorse all winter long. This waterproof, breathable, and insulated jacket will keep you warm and dry.

Favorite Features

  • Detachable hood with elastic drawstring adjustment
  • Adjustable snap riding vents
  • Fitted cuffs with thumbholes to help keep out drafts
  • Adjustable snap fitted waistband make this jacket perfect for the barn and in the saddle
  • Armpit vents allow you to quickly cool down without removing a layer- priceless!
  • SmartPak logo on left chest
  • Pair it with the SmartPak Winter Overpants for the ultimate in winter warmth!

Imported.

Sizing It Up
Chest Measurements: XS - 30", S - 32", M - 34", L - 36", XL - 38", 2XL - 40"

The jacket is more fitted, so consider sizing up if you'll be doing a lot of layering!

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Piper Polka Dot Waterproof Jacket is the prefect ...
    Description:
    The Piper Polka Dot Waterproof Jacket is the prefect lightweight jacket to add to your outerwear collection!  Also features a concealed full zip front closure for added protection from the elements.  Favorite Features  Storable hood inside collar Two zip security pockets Waterproof ...
    This jacket offers an awesome value and will ...
    Description:
    This jacket offers an awesome value and will be perfect for everyone in your barn. The full front zip 100% nylon taslon shell is wind and water-resistant. The anti-pill black microfleece lining keeps you nice and cozy. The outside zip ...
    The EQology Jacket by SmartPak is from the ...
    Description:
    The EQology Jacket by SmartPak is from the EQology Collection by SmartPak - look good, do good, feel great. You'll feel great wearing EQology by SmartPak because every piece is built for performance with an athletic fit and constructed with ...
    The Ariat Barron Quilted Coat is chic with an ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Barron Quilted Coat is chic with an equestrian flair. Featuring a quilted shell with a lightweight polyfill insulation, this coat provides you with warmth while allowing you to look your best. Additionally, the Ariat Barron Quilted Coat has an adjustable ...
    The Horseware Platinum Bella Jacket is the perfect jacket ...
    Description:
    The Horseware Platinum Bella Jacket is the perfect jacket in and out of the saddle! This jacket will quickly become your go-to outerwear this season. 100% polyester. Machine washable. Favorite Features Water repellent and breathable material keeps you protected without trapping in ...
    The latest in technical fabrics, this sporty soft ...
    Description:
    The latest in technical fabrics, this sporty soft shell goes from corporate to casual with ease, so you can show off your SmartPak pride wherever you go! Get warmth without the bulk in all types of weather. Favorite Features Hi-tech ...
    Fight off chills in this stylishly smart women's ...
    Description:
    Fight off chills in this stylishly smart women's fleece jacket!Fitted cut and princess seams flatters your figure Unlined, anti-pill Loftex fleece keeps you cozy and comfortable Embroidered logo on the left chest and jacket back shows off your SmartPak love ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Winter Jacket is rated 4.4248 out of 5 by 113.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Coat Great coat! It looks nice, is water and wind proof, and super comfy. I've ridden in it as well and it worked great.
    Date published: 2016-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great jacket I bought this jacket and really liked it, but it was too small for me. I think it would have been perfect for the winter.
    Date published: 2016-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket Warm without being bulky, nice styling. Buy up a size or two, it runs small. I wear it everywhere. I bought this jacket for my granddaughter, too. It is her favorite.
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I got this jacket on sale for a great price. I've worn it on several trail rides in 30 and 40 degree temperatures and it kept me warm and toasty every time. It is fitted, but I could layer a soft shell jacket or a fleece under it. For reference, I ordered a medium and I'm 5'2"/140 lb. Great material. Water slides off of it easily and it doesn't attract shavings, hay, etc. My only complaint (and it's a very, very minor one!) is that my giant iPhone 6S doesn't fit in the zippered pockets on the front of the jacket - but considering that I love everything else about the jacket, I can live without a phone pocket!
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE Perfect jacket to ride in, do chores, and even go shopping in! Absolutely love all the features!
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome winter riding jacket! I bought this in December and have used it non-stop in the barn, arena for clinics (stayed warm all day in the coldest weather), on the trails too. I love the back flap that unbuttons to cover your saddle. No wet back side!
    Date published: 2016-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT FIT! GREAT TO RIDE AND WORK IN! I bought this Jacket looking for a good waterproof jacket I could work around the barn in. Boy oh boy I am impressed! I am absolutely in love with the look and function of this jacket. If you get hay, dust or dirt on it, it just wipes right off. I didn't realize how many functions are built into this jacket. There are awesome relief riding vents and extra room you can unsnap, built in waist snaps that can be adjusted to how snug you want the jacket to fit around your mid section. the arm sleeves have extra material around your wrist that also has thumb holes you can use and keep your sleeves from riding up. also around the wrist there are elastic bands you can button snug so no wind goes up the arm. Absolutely my favorite jacket and i wear it around town and get compliments on the flattering fit also!
    Date published: 2016-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Bought this right before the blizzard here in NJ. So thankful i did kept me nice and warm and dry and the barn and at work. Highly recommended
    Date published: 2016-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm without the Bulk This is the perfect equestrian jacket. It's super warm (almost too warm for our mild winter) great at 40 and under. Love all the pockets, plenty of space for treats, my keys, and phone. If it's cold out, this is my favorite jacket, because you will be warm and dry, and still have all the mobility you need around horses while still looking cute and not like a abominable snowman.
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Barn Jacket in Life! This jacket is simply amazing! After seeing mine, three other friends purchased the same coat. One is using it like me: as a daily barn work jacket in weather from single digits & snow to damp, rainy winter days. Another friend saves it for riding only & my other friend thinks it is too nice for the barn & is using if for an "about town" jacket. Versatility plus! The neckline is so cozy that I no longer require a scarf & the hood allows fantastic visibility for those windy days when horses come galloping toward you. The cuffs fasten down tightly & the pulldown hand covers keep your hands warm, even without gloves. The zipper is mountaineering design & zips from upper & lower position, allowing it to be adjusted for tractor time & sitting in the saddle. Even my horses have given it their stamp of approval as the pockets comfortably hold their favorite treats! And, the chest pocket is a perfect fit for a large Samsung smartphone.......can you say, Dream Barn Jacket!
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Practical Every feature a rider could want. Not big and bulky, yet warm enough for all but the coldest of rides.
    Date published: 2016-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My new go to! I bought this coat a little over a month ago and it has become my new go to! I really had high hopes (since I love all my smartpak goodies), but in some areas disappointed. The cut itself is not the most flattering (tight) and I sized up. The hood was something I thought I'd really like, however it is cut more bulky for a helmet than regular wear. So after nearly hanging myself while loading my horse, I decided it was best to just unsnap it. Lol. I do love how adjustable it is and the vents for when you get hot riding or doing barn chores. The material does well not to show dirt and has survived my "nippers" shanagains. I've seen complaints about the pockets but so far they have been perfect (they don't collect treat residue). My favorite feature is probably the sleeves they are the perfect length and the cuffs are adjustable! Thanks Smartpak for another great product!
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome features!! i love all the pockets that this jacket has and the under arm vents are great (i would only suggest if the were lined in a mesh i would like it just a tiny bit more) the tall neck is great super comfortable and true to size
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not my favorite. This coat has great features and is very functional, but for some reason I just didn't like the looks. Even at the sale price I thought the fabric seemed cheap looking. My coat didn't have a logo on it. The fabric was noisy. I returned and got a mountain horsecoat.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for cold weather work and riding My 15-year-old daughter likes the fit and function of this jacket. She works all day Saturday at her barn in PA, and it has kept her comfortable in cold, snow, and rain. The seat "flaps" in back make it a great fit for riding. It's easy to wipe dirt off the surface, or wash in the machine.
    Date published: 2016-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Jacket! This jacket is so warm and light. Love the underarm zippers when it gets a little warm riding.
    Date published: 2016-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I bought this a couple of weeks ago and it had a zipper messed up but they happily sent me a new one and it is the best jacket i have ever owned!
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed, warmer than expected! Being full time in the horse buisness, I have hace a LOT of coats and jackets, and have learned which brands truly hold up. After an injury and subsequent weight gain this year my best cold weather gear was a bit tight. Bought this jacket (and the pants) on sale thinking for the price it would likely do for a bit, but would likely need to layer heavy under them. Not so! Very happy with the fit, functuon and warmth of the jacket. It looks smart as well. Havent had it long enough to attest to the durability yet, but for the price point it's a great buy!
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this coat! This is a fantastic coat for the barn and riding. It's not bulky but provides great warmth. It does run a little small, so I would order a size up. I'm thinking about ordering a another one at the sale price because I love it so much.
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket!! I have not had this jacket very long, but it really got tested this past weekend with the winter storm that hit our area. When I first put I on I was concerned with how lightweight it felt. Not to worry, it was warm even with temps in the teens and high winds. Snow just brushed off of it. I ordered an extra large so that I could layer. I was able to layer a bit, but this jacket is pretty fitted so I don't think I could put many layers under it (don't know if I would really need to, it is so warm!). I just ordered a second one in a 2 XL since I am not a big fan of fitted clothes. The only thing I don't really like, and this is just personal preference, is the 2 way zipper. I am very hard on my clothing and have found that I do not do well with a 2 way zipper. Time will tell just how well this jacket holds up, but overall I am very pleased with my purchase.
    Date published: 2016-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice features Really like the jacket. The only drawback is the liner of the sleeve hangs out a little. Other than that, is a quality product that fits true to size.
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm Love this Jacket! I am so glad I bought it. Keeps me warm with room to wear a sweatshirt under it if I need to. Totally worth the money!
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and comfortable Nice styling and warm but not heavy. Gave it 4 stars beacause color is wearing off of collar, washing darkened it again, but not quite perfect. Still a great coat and will probably get another one, one to keep for good not barn chores.
    Date published: 2016-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Love this jacket. It's very comfortable to ride in and isn't bulky so it doesn't get in my way. I agree with some previous comments about the zipper, it can be a little finicky but I really haven't had much trouble with it. Keeps me nice and warm both around the barn and for riding!
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it I first ordered a medium after other reviews told me to size up because of the tight fitting. The medium was too big, so I returned it for a small which fits perfectly. It's very warm and comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great! i bought this jacket and it is very nice. Its warm and comfortable. my only thing is when i received it, there was a part on the inside by the zipper that was stitched too far over and this caused it to get caught every time. this may have just been a one time error and overall this is a great jacket and i would definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made with the rider in mind! I ordered this jacket as a jacket I could wear to the barn and get dirty, while still being warm. I am normally an XS, but ordered a S so I could layer underneath. This worked very well - the jacket is warm on its own, but has plenty of room to layer underneath. The back of the jacket slopes down so it covers your butt, while the front is cut slightly higher and does not interfere while riding. There is a slight collar to the jacket that keeps your neck warm! What I love the most is that when the jacket is zipped all the way up, there is a flap that prevents the cold metal zipper from touching your skin. This is a great jacket and I highly recommend!
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket This is such a warm jacket, but what I love about it is that it keeps me warm without hindering my movement. The thumbholes keep the jacket sleeves where they belong and the material attached to them helps warm my hands. The fit is good and it's attractive without being bulky.
    Date published: 2016-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pay attention to size chart! I read a lot of reviews, and decided to go with an XL after reading the size chart. I would normally wear a Large. I am 5'3" and about 145 lbs. it fits perfect. I bought a Medium in the pants and they fit great over a pair of jeans.
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this coat! I received this coat for Christmas and have worn it twice so far - once in low 30-degree weather and once in upper 30-degree weather. It is warm (even a bit too warm for the upper 30s!) and comfortable, and allows for full-range movement.I love the adjustable waist - I am small, so I moved the snaps to the last setting for a better fit and more stylish look. Overall, I am really happy with this coat!
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    • 2016-04-29T16:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_110
    • loc_en_US, sid_10732, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders