Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Winter Jacket

JPC India
- Item #20732
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Winter Jacket will be your workhorse all winter long. This waterproof, breathable, and insulated jacket will keep you warm and dry.

Favorite Features

  • Detachable hood with elastic drawstring adjustment
  • Adjustable snap riding vents
  • Fitted cuffs with thumbholes to help keep out drafts
  • Adjustable snap fitted waistband make this jacket perfect for the barn and in the saddle
  • Armpit vents allow you to quickly cool down without removing a layer- priceless!
  • SmartPak logo on left chest
  • Pair it with the SmartPak Winter Overpants for the ultimate in winter warmth!

Imported.

Sizing It Up
Chest Measurements: XS - 30", S - 32", M - 34", L - 36", XL - 38", 2XL - 40"

The jacket is more fitted, so consider sizing up if you'll be doing a lot of layering!

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Winter Jacket is rated 4.1714 out of 5 by 70.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Jacket This jacket keeps you very warm. Fits great. I reccomend you buy it.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Jacket My new jacket fits great looks great and is warm and comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super value winter jacket I did have to exchange the medium for a Large because of broad shoulders (no doubt from throwing bales of hay) but I loved the quality of the jacket.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Fit! I recently purchased this jacket as a Christmas present for myself. I absolutely love it. It is lightweight, breathable and most importantly doesn't restrict movement. And, being a curvy woman, I appreciate the fit on the waist and hips. True to size. Definitely recommend for anyone thinking about purchasing a winter riding jacket or just for barn chores.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great jacket bought a size 'S' for my 10 yr. old granddaughter and it fits her very well. She has a litle trouble with the zipper, but I find this to be true with other jackets that have the two-way zipper. Bought one for myself as well, but the jacket runs small. I could have used 2 sizes bigger than my usual size. I would have exchanged it, but my daughter wanted it!
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built jacket with A+ embroidery! Love the fit and style! Great to ride, teach and work in! Lots of compliments!
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Considering another! Just bought it last month and so far it has been great! The zippers haven't been a problem with me, and word of advice for future buyers: do size up! I'm small but got a medium instead and it's so easy to get on over my light layers. So far I've gotten family complaints that it's very smelly so I plan on buying another for casual wear outside of the barn.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from strange fit I bought a medium and also a large in this jacket...despite some of the reviews on the zipper etc. I am 5/6" & 127lbs...both were too small! I sized way up because of the reviews & wanted enough room to layer if I needed to. the medium was hands down too small & tight across the chest (by the way, I am small busted) the Large fit fine across the chest, but the arms/sleeves were strangely tight & tight across the shoulders. I sent both back-sadly. I wanted one of them to work!
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Warm! I bought this jacket last month and have worn it 4 times to the barn on very cold days. It is exceptionally warm and comfortable and not overly bulky for riding. I love the detachable hood and the wrist warmers with thumb holes. I also really like all the pockets, but some of them are too small to be really useful. I haven't had any problems with any of the zippers yet, they work great so far.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Winter jacket without the bulk The jacket is well constructed and has a lot of nice features. I normally wear a size medium Columbia jacket, so ordered the medium in the SmartPak Winter Jacket. Unfortunately, I had to return it for the size large. I'm hoping the large will provide more room for layering. Layering is beneficial to keeping warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizes run small. Quality of the zipper isn't great for the price. Nice jacket overall.
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well thought out design I returned this jacket because I realized quickly after opening it that it was not going to have enought insulation for a MN winter. Other wise I liked the design and qualities.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the sale price! I bought this coat for $94 on sale with free shipping, so it was a great deal to begin with. I listened to other reviews who said it runs very small. I ordered an XXL when I usually wear an XL, and it fit perfectly. I like all the adjustable parts of this jacket. The zippers can be a bit fussy, but it does not bother me too much. The armpit vents are great, but the zipper sometimes sticks up and pokes you under your arm. Very warm and definitely waterproof. I wouldn't recommend it for full price, but if you can get it on sale, it's totally worth it!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice jacket I bought this jacket last winter and love it for the warmth. I've warn this in 10 degree weather with a few layers (under armor and fleece) and my core was never cold. I am not too excited about the fit in the arms though. I do not have stick arms and yet it is made for people with skinny limbs, so the arms are bit snug. The snaps on the wrist come undone all the time too, but that doesn't bother me as much. I've never had a problem with the zipper. Wish I had exchanged it for a larger size when I had the chance. Otherwise, I love this jacket. It's very well made.
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Covers all bases for cold weather I got to test my jacket this am at 23 degrees. I was cozy warm and did not feel bulky
    Date published: 2014-11-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice jacket, Awful Zippers and snaps I have this jack for a year a half. The snaps have never stayed closed. Every zipper splits when closed or gaps and gets stuck. The jacket is warm comfortable. It runs small. It also looks nice.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor zipper construction I purchased this jacket back in 12/2012 and the first one lasted a few months before a zipper failed. Smartpak replaced it for me no problems. But now my second one I've had for one winter season, really 2013-14 and now 2 zippers have failed on this one. I do love the style of the jacket and the fit, but one pocket is unusable due a broken zipper and now the main zipper is broken. Poor manufacturing on 2 jackets.
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost everything I wanted This jacket was the perfect winter riding jacket. Back vent, adjustable waist, vented arms, hood. But, the main zipper is made of cheap plastic and separated the first time I rode. I'm replacing the zipper with a metal one but wish the jacket had come that way in the first place especially at this price.
    Date published: 2014-04-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Zipper broke first week This jacket was exactly what I was looking for, so I was very disappointed when the zipper broke the first week I wore it. Based on other reviews I did go up a size and was happy with the fit, even with a sweatshirt underneath. It was warm without being too bulky, and I loved the attached hood for rainy days. Hopefully Smartpak will upgrade the zipper in the future
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small while I liked the overall quality, there is no difference between medium andlarges sizes.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME jacket I purchased this jacket at Equine Affair in November 2013 and wear it regularly. I wear it to do chores, I wear it to ride (love the underarm zippers) and I even wear it out in the field for my day job!
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizing WAY off_ I thought this jacket was pretty and well made, but wow, was the sizing ever off! I wear a medium in nearly everything, every brand, but in this - I probably would have needed an x-large. Sent it back and got a Mountain Horse brand jacket. Very pleased with that.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from zippers don't last I bought this jacket last year from the smartpak booth at Equine Affaire. I fell in love with it! Great fit,great look, and super warm. It worked out perfect all last season but at the beginning of this season the zippers on both side pockets broke, they split open when I try to zip them. This is how I lose things like my cell phone that ended up buried under snow in the ring last week. Now just the other day the front zipper did the same thing so I can't wear the jacket at all....I'm very upset. I know I've had it a year but most other jackets last through many years so I'm going to contact smartpak to c if there is anything they can do. But overall it has been a great jacket and I miss it very much since right now I don't really have another winter jacket that is suitable for riding.
    Date published: 2014-02-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sleeves too short Nice fit overall through the body and shoulders but the sleeves are very short. Will be sent back.
    Date published: 2014-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and Cozy..but.... I love this jacket.. Its warm, versatile and looks good.. But their are a few drawbacks..The SIZING! Its made VERY SMALL! I am 115lbs about 5'1 and I needed a size large! (Medium fit but with a hooded sweatshirt, which I tend to where under my barn jacket, it felt too tight and restricted!I had to return the item- which unfortunately took a month to get it back.. Apparently they were overloaded and short staffed due to holidays.. Got the jacket on 12/27, sent back that day and did not get new jacket until 1/24!! I was disappointed in the turn around time- but I understand the crazy holiday season...So then I received my size large jacket, which fit GREAT! and was cozy and warm.. but then I noticed the inner lining in the sleeves that go over your hands to keep the snow out were stitched wrong! The holes that your thumbs were suppose to go in were on the pinky side! :(I called Smartpak first thing Monday morning, 1/27/14 and they kindly overnighted me a replacement jacket which I recieved today! So that was awesome and it was stitched right and fits great!NH winters have been brutal but with this jacket- no problem! I wear a long tee shirt and hooded sweatshirt underneath the jacket and Im sweating during chore time.. The underarm vents work great! and I LOVE the hood.. Its not as restrictive and tight as my other jacket! I like the reflective patches on the jacket as well!My only concern is the zipper quality.. I have already had trouble 24 hours into wearing it with the zipper and I fear it will break off! Its a very thin zipper- but I guess I can fix it...other than that great jacket!
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So warm! I bought t his coat a month ago and I am thrilled! It is toasty warm and holds up well to horse drool and even the occasional teeth grab from a fresh pony! Does run a little small so I would suggest buying one size larger than normal.
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter jacket! This jacket it great! It's warm without being super bulky, the cell phone pocket is in a great place (on the chest), and the overall fit is flattering and functional. It also keeps you warm and dry when it's raining. My only complaint is the zippers don't seem to be very high quality. So far they work fine though. I would definitely recommend this jacket.
    Date published: 2014-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Jacket I got this as a Christmas gift and couldn't be happier with it. I am very petite and the xs fits perfect. Usually even xs jackets are bulky on me, not this one. The fit is very flattering.It is also super warm without the bulk of most winter jackets. I have worn this in below freezing temps and still kept warm with only a thermal underneath. 
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the zippered vents! I went to my local store to look for one of these jackets with the vents and it was $225 on sale! I figured let me at least try SmartPak's version and see before I purchase the other one. I'm so glad I did! I love the vents, which I did open up and did make it cooler without me having to remove a layer. Granted, this jacket is for COLD weather, and by that, I think 35 degrees and below. Otherwise a vest and underlayer is better. I had good movement in the jacket, but I am curvy petite (5'1) so it does fit just a bit bigger than it should, but for the price, I couldn't beat it. It looks good on, and it has good room if you are bigger busted (I'm a 36DD and got the XL), and it kept me almost too warm once riding, but I was ok with that, and the vents were enough that I didn't really "think" about being too warm.
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from flattering fit and great features I just love this jacket! It fits great and looks great. Can be adjusted a bit also. I got on sale too! Think I might buy another one for everyday and keep the first one for the barn.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    • 2015-05-22T08:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_69
    • loc_en_US, sid_10732, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.