Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Winter Jacket

Item #20732

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Winter Jacket will be your workhorse all winter long. This waterproof, breathable, and insulated jacket will keep you warm and dry.

Favorite Features

  • Detachable hood with elastic drawstring adjustment
  • Adjustable snap riding vents
  • Fitted cuffs with thumbholes to help keep out drafts
  • Adjustable snap fitted waistband make this jacket perfect for the barn and in the saddle
  • Armpit vents allow you to quickly cool down without removing a layer- priceless!
  • SmartPak logo on left chest
  • Pair it with the SmartPak Winter Overpants for the ultimate in winter warmth!

Imported.

Sizing It Up
Chest Measurements: XS - 30", S - 32", M - 34", L - 36", XL - 38", 2XL - 40"

The jacket is more fitted, so consider sizing up if you'll be doing a lot of layering!

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Winter Jacket is rated 4.3441 out of 5 by 93.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice features Really like the jacket. The only drawback is the liner of the sleeve hangs out a little. Other than that, is a quality product that fits true to size.
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm Love this Jacket! I am so glad I bought it. Keeps me warm with room to wear a sweatshirt under it if I need to. Totally worth the money!
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and comfortable Nice styling and warm but not heavy. Gave it 4 stars beacause color is wearing off of collar, washing darkened it again, but not quite perfect. Still a great coat and will probably get another one, one to keep for good not barn chores.
    Date published: 2016-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Love this jacket. It's very comfortable to ride in and isn't bulky so it doesn't get in my way. I agree with some previous comments about the zipper, it can be a little finicky but I really haven't had much trouble with it. Keeps me nice and warm both around the barn and for riding!
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it I first ordered a medium after other reviews told me to size up because of the tight fitting. The medium was too big, so I returned it for a small which fits perfectly. It's very warm and comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great! i bought this jacket and it is very nice. Its warm and comfortable. my only thing is when i received it, there was a part on the inside by the zipper that was stitched too far over and this caused it to get caught every time. this may have just been a one time error and overall this is a great jacket and i would definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made with the rider in mind! I ordered this jacket as a jacket I could wear to the barn and get dirty, while still being warm. I am normally an XS, but ordered a S so I could layer underneath. This worked very well - the jacket is warm on its own, but has plenty of room to layer underneath. The back of the jacket slopes down so it covers your butt, while the front is cut slightly higher and does not interfere while riding. There is a slight collar to the jacket that keeps your neck warm! What I love the most is that when the jacket is zipped all the way up, there is a flap that prevents the cold metal zipper from touching your skin. This is a great jacket and I highly recommend!
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket This is such a warm jacket, but what I love about it is that it keeps me warm without hindering my movement. The thumbholes keep the jacket sleeves where they belong and the material attached to them helps warm my hands. The fit is good and it's attractive without being bulky.
    Date published: 2016-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pay attention to size chart! I read a lot of reviews, and decided to go with an XL after reading the size chart. I would normally wear a Large. I am 5'3" and about 145 lbs. it fits perfect. I bought a Medium in the pants and they fit great over a pair of jeans.
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this coat! I received this coat for Christmas and have worn it twice so far - once in low 30-degree weather and once in upper 30-degree weather. It is warm (even a bit too warm for the upper 30s!) and comfortable, and allows for full-range movement.I love the adjustable waist - I am small, so I moved the snaps to the last setting for a better fit and more stylish look. Overall, I am really happy with this coat!
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter riding & barn coat! My daughter has been wearing this coat to the barn for a couple of months now, and she loves it! The fabric is durable enough for barn chores and there are many great features that make it a great riding coat - snaps in back to open vents for riding, plenty of room in shoulder, and venting in many areas keep you from overheating. Thanks SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket I was in need of a winter jacket and this jacket fit the bill. It is light, non-bulky, has lots of deep zippered pockets, and is very warm in 30 degree weather. This jacket does run "small". I am a size petite 6 and usually order a small size but will order medium so that I can layer my clothing. In this case, I ordered a medium and it's a perfect fit which meant I had to be careful on the layering. Example I could not wear my down vest under this jacket. I would have exchanged this for a larger size, but was afraid that the sleeves would be too long. Besides I was in desperate need of a winter jacket so sending this back was not an option. With that being said, this jacket is worth every penny and is get lookng , too.
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for Virginia Winters I bought this for my wife and she loves it. She said it is perfect for cross country and trail rides.
    Date published: 2015-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just right! I received this just in time for a late-fall clinic and it was perfect! After reading the reviews I decided to size up (I'm usually a XS or S but ordered the Medium), and am very happy with the fit. Some favorite features: nice long sleeves with fitted wrists to keep out the cold air, detachable hood, under-arm vents for those hour-long hacks, zippered pockets, and back flaps that give a little more freedom of movement in the saddle. This jacket was clearly designed with equestrians in mind, you can tell that from the many little details that make this ideal for the barn. I've only worn it down to about 35F so far, but it seems like it'll hold up well to colder weather- it's warm without being bulky, and fairly windproof. I'm very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a versatile winter riding coat!
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile. Not just for riding. Bought solely for riding, but wore for my sons last football game as we had rain snow mix and very cold. I was warm, dry and comfy. So happy with my purchase. Love it! :)
    Date published: 2015-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good! I love this jacket and am really psyched to have it this winter. I did size up and I'm glad I did so, because I'm not sure this jacket was cut for girls with hips, or for girls who are tall. I LOVE the adjustability of the fit, though, and the fact the coat is waterproof and seems to be resistant to tearing. I would have liked some deeper pockets in the front, because I like to put my hands in there and I find them to be shallow. I guess shallow pockets won't collect a lot of hay though, so that's a plus! I ordered the overpants as well and can't wait to see how the outfit holds up to a Colorado winter.
    Date published: 2015-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Barn Jacket - Runs Small I love this jacket but consider sizing up. I am a slender 5'8" and typically would wear a medium. This medium was too constrictive through the shoulders and would limit mobility when riding. I returned for a large and the jacket fits great.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter jacket Received as a Christmas gift and it is a great jacket. I normally wear a Mountain Horse jacket for barn chores but it is too bulky for riding. This jacket is perfect for Maryland winters. I layer with a couple of light layers and am very comfortable even in a cold indoor. Jacket runs a bit small. Had to return Med for Large to allow for layering
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent, Simple Jacket! This tough SmartPak jacket has stood up to the -10 degrees, snowing... AKA winter in Maine! Well done SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for cold weather barn work and riding! My 13 year old daughter asked for this jacket for Christmas. It was at a great price and it was exactly what she needed for winter barn work and riding. She would normally wear an XS, but we ordered the small based on the other reviews. It fits perfect. The snaps on the side also allow her the room to add layers underneath. She absolutely loves this jacket.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rider is Happy and Warm Bought this as a Christmas gift for my daughter. She and my husband take care of horses here on oiur farm and she rides one that she leases. Her old coat was old and not comfortable to ride in. This coat was stylish enough for a teen and yet had all the right features to be useful as well. She even wore it inside.
    Date published: 2015-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this active jacket I bought this because most of the women at my barn, including staff, all wear it and love it. I read some of the reviews about the zipper being poor quality but I have had it a month, wearing it daily, and so far so good! I ordered a large, (i'm 5'6", athletic 150 lbs), because I needed the room in my shoulders and back. I did then take in the elastic waist strap a bit myself. I think a med would have fit fine, it just would have been a little more snug though my shoulders. I'm a bit of a jacket junkie and I really like this one!
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and warm I purchased this jacket at a great price during the 12 days of Christmas specials. It is a nice jacket. However, you cannot be in a hurry to get it on, as the zipper is very tricky to get started. Also, the side pockets are very small, and you really can't put anything in them or it falls out. Otherwise, it is nicely constructed and fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket I bought this jacket as a Christmas gift. It is wonderful Really warm so had to wait for colder Ohio weather.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Jacket This jacket keeps you very warm. Fits great. I reccomend you buy it.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Jacket My new jacket fits great looks great and is warm and comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super value winter jacket I did have to exchange the medium for a Large because of broad shoulders (no doubt from throwing bales of hay) but I loved the quality of the jacket.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Fit! I recently purchased this jacket as a Christmas present for myself. I absolutely love it. It is lightweight, breathable and most importantly doesn't restrict movement. And, being a curvy woman, I appreciate the fit on the waist and hips. True to size. Definitely recommend for anyone thinking about purchasing a winter riding jacket or just for barn chores.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great jacket bought a size 'S' for my 10 yr. old granddaughter and it fits her very well. She has a litle trouble with the zipper, but I find this to be true with other jackets that have the two-way zipper. Bought one for myself as well, but the jacket runs small. I could have used 2 sizes bigger than my usual size. I would have exchanged it, but my daughter wanted it!
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built jacket with A+ embroidery! Love the fit and style! Great to ride, teach and work in! Lots of compliments!
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    • 2016-02-10T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_90
    • loc_en_US, sid_10732, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.