Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, our toughest waterproof blanket yet! With heavy-duty nylon, this blanket is great for a horse that is tough on blankets. We're so sure it will last for years to come that we've backed with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We've got you and your horse covered - no matter what! Imported.

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty nylon:  This special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears.
  • 1000 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Available in Light (no fill), Medium (220g)
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry

Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproof

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.592 out of 5 by 250.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The belly straps are protecte so they stay fastene the leg streaps could benefir by a different clip but the belly straps are protected from loosening because of the extra strap that covers them.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stitching weak Like the warranty but first one lasted only 3 months
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blanket is the bomb!!!! I can't say enough about this blanket! Although my young horse finds a way to destroy everything, smartpak always happily responds and sends me a new one! He actually wears these longer than any other product I have tried! Owner tested, WInston approved!!!
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sheet! I bought this for my 4 year old warmblood that plays blanket tag with his one pasture buddy and this is holding up well so far!
    Date published: 2015-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Honours Their Word! Although the initial purchase price seemed steep, I was buying 2-3 sheets a winter for my TB, as they all tore or were "love bitten" by his "brother." So the cost seemed a no-brainer. I bought my sheet shortly after SmartPak released this product. One always worries if such amazing guarantees can be true -- IT IS! The TB just received his 3rd (he has many talents) & each time, I have just called SmartPak, they provide return shipping payment, & send us a replacement.NO hassle, NO more spending hours stitching & patching, & the one we received just a few weeks ago is even better -- the lining is now nylon (our original was mesh) & the sheet feels even sturdier than it was before. Fit & hardware are great as well.If you have a horse who tears blankets, this one pays for itself & then some!!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised Bought this for a big wb mare with even bigger shoulders. 87" fits her well with no shoulder rubs. Will look at buying for some of my other horses. Thanks SP.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice enough, but I didn't love the fit I ordered this blanket while it was on backorder and ended up buying a blanket from another boarder in the mean time. This one shipped sooner than expected (definitely a plus) and since it was already on its way, I decided to go ahead and try it on my horse. It was a nice looking blanket, but I didn't love the fit. The drop was good, I liked the front closures, but I didn't like how it hung it regards to the back of the blanket. It hung like a tent on my Appendix QH's butt, kind of coming out in the center. Even if I hadn't bought the other blanket, I'm not sure I would have kept this one. Fits true to size otherwise and returning couldn't have been simpler.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hefty, Durable, Strong Buckles I've had this blanket for 2 seasons now. It's held up wonderfully. The buckles are super strong and I expect this will last a long time. It's big in the shoulder but all blankets seem to be for my mare: small shoulders and big rump!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So impressed with the customer service My mare wore this blanket for over a year and then it got a tiny rip on the back of it. Smartpak stayed true to their word and has sent me a new one. I can't believe it. I will never buy anywhere else if I can help it.In the year she wore it, it did experience some fade from the sun/elements, but buckles/straps looked like new and the waterproofing was fine. I tell everyone at my barn about this blanket deal!!!!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout I bought this blanket for my hard to fit 14 hand Haflinger. Most blankets aren't snug enough around his neck and the adjustments on this one made it possible to fit it perfectly. All the metal fittings are high quality and operate well. I'm very happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far the ultimate blanket has worked well I am pleased with the fit and durability of this blanket
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The blanket seems to be well made.Two weeks in the field and there's no rips or tears yet. My horse is a gated Tennessee Walker and it fit her perfect. I am very much satisfied with the product and I would recommend it.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive I purchased this for my 17h Thoroughbred-Appaloosa who has managed to demolish 4 different turnouts in the last 2 years. So far, this blanket has matched its advertising. Not even a small blemish yet. This blanket is, by far, easier to put on and take off due to the ingenious design of the front chest straps. First, you can adjust the length of the strap with the clip end, then there are 2 rings you can choose to attache it too. Both of these features make is a breeze to take on and off one you have fitted it the first time. The chest also has a generous velcro which helps to keep the front secure and in place. The snaps do not have to be manipulated to be put on. Just press against ring and boom, you're done. A quick press of the lever will allow removal. I am very pleased pleased so far and plan to purchase another for my Arab soon.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great return experience I bought this blanket 2 years ago. In November 2014 the tail flap got almost ripped off and there were some small holes started on the blanket. When I bought this blanket 2 year ago I told everyone about the 10 year guarantee and no one thought SmartPak would honor it. Well I can say “yes they did”. All the buckles worked the seams had no issues just the tail flap and the small holes starting. I sent this blanket back without calling SmartPak. I just attached my 2 year old shipping label to the box and sent it. The company never called or harassed me they just sent a new blanket. I will be buying more of these blankets just for the 10 year guarantee and great return experience.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love it! Wish it came in more colors I love it's durability and everything about this blanket. The only think is I wish it came in different colors. I have 8 horses all wearing the exact same color blanket in different sizes. I had to invest in some name tags, but other than that I love it especially with the 10 year guarantee
    Date published: 2015-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the weight! I recently moved to Oregon from California, and my horse needed a warmer blanket. Now he's all cozey.
    Date published: 2015-01-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loose fit, but great quality I bought this blanket about a month ago for one of my horses who lives next door to "Jaws". His neighbor eats holes in his blankets over their paddock fences, so we decided to try this one and the outstanding guarantee. I purchased it when Smartpak was offering a 20% off sale prior to Christmas, so the price was outstanding. He's been wearing it for a few weeks now, and so far it still looks perfect. The fit is large and loose. From the reviews, I ordered down one size, and could have gone down another if I wanted it to fit a little snugger. Mathis blanket is for a 17 hand + American Saddlebred with very high withers and a very upright neck. The blanket fits him well through the neck and shoulders. It's nice and snug in the neck, which is often a problem with turnout blankets for our horses. The rest of the body is not fitted, more like you just threw a blanket over the top of him. I'm used to our fitted stable blankets that are made specifically for asb's, Morgan's, Arabians, etc. however, the blanket is staying in place with the leg straps, so the fit doesn't seem to be an issue for him. My one big complaint is that the tail flap is not removable. For our horses that wear tail sets, it looks really weird to have the tail flap going over it. Normally I would have just cut it off, but I was afraid it would void the warranty on the blanket, so I have to deal with it. If the tail flap removed with velcro, I would have given the blanket five stars instead of four. If this blanket continues to hold up, I will probably replace all of my horses blankets with these in time.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good, fits good! Absolutely perfect. Looks good on my paint and doesn't even get dirty
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! This blanket is great! My QH is built narrow and this blanket fits him really nice. All of his old blankets would shift side-to-side. This one doesn't budge. Also, it appears well made and durable. I love the waterproof feature. Thanks SmartPak for making a great product and for sticking a 10 yr warrenty on it. I look forward to purchasing another for my other QH. Oh, and SmartPak is great...I ordered the wrong size...I shipped it back ..and boom...7 days later I had the correct size. no questions, no hassles.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from great fit I have a growing 3 year old and I have struggled to find a good fitting blanket. This blanket fits PERFECTLY. It also is holding up very well against all the gelding playing. Not even a sign of a bite mark, and trust me they play hard. The only reason I don't give this 5 stars as I am still not 100% sure it is 100% waterproof. The few times it has rained this winter there seemed to be some moistness between this sheet and stable blanket. Not wet, just a damp feeling.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality!!! I bought this about a month ago for my one horse who likes to DESTROY blankets and so far (other than being kinda dirty) it's still in one piece! The quality is great! I would definitely recommend it to a friend! :)
    Date published: 2014-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I bought this blanket about a month ago and it fits and looks great on my horse. Still looks brand new, and seems to be well worth the money.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and looks great! I bought this blanket about a month and a half ago and had to return it for a size down. I have a 17.1 Dutch warm blood and the 81 fits him perfectly! He is quite mouthy so I'm excited for the 10 year warranty. This blanket is exactly what I need and it looks great!
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket!! I have 2 of these blankets with neck covers and they are awesome!! Both of my boys are VERY VERY rough on their blankies, and thus far, I haven't had any tears or straps coming off!! They do at times manage to undo the velcro on the neck covers, but no tears! I am anxious to see how they hold up over the years and how well the waterproofing works after a few washes! But these are very reasonably priced nice blankets!! I find they fit pretty true to size, I have an 81 and 84, which is what my boys usually wear and they fit well!! And of course I'm not worried if something happens with Smartpaks awesome customer service!
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable blanket! Only one little flaw... I bought this blanket about a month ago for my horse who seemed to be able to destroy any blanket you put on him! He would rip everything and last year went through about 6 blankets/sheets (blankets are not cheap!!!) BUT THIS BLANKET HOLDS UP!!! I was a little skeptical at first but after buying this blanket I am VERY happy! The only little thing that I would complain about is that the inside is not as durable... My horse was able to pull the front down and tear the inside. The blanket fits perfectly and holds up everywhere else so it is not that big of a deal! I also ordered the SmartPak Stable Sheet in Black with Grey and found that it looks really nice with the blanket! Absolutely LOVE the quality and appearance of BOTH products and will order from SmartPak again!
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smartpak ultimate turnout blanket I have had quarter horses more than 40 years and have to say this is the best blanket I have ever purchased.. the fit is excellent and the ease of putting them on and off is great. will purchase more in the future. and the warranty is exceptional
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fits great and wears well I have some tough horses and it is holding up well
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good!! My young mare ripped through 4 sheets last winter so this year, I thought I'm tried the 10 year guarantee.Fits great, true to size. All strap, buckles, etc seem good. She has only worn a few times, but so far it's intact.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Medium Weight Horse Friends...this is the elegant answer we have been seeking for a long time. The gussets are high so no more shoulder rub. The weight is perfect. AND it is indestructible. Sky has been wearing his quite often in the last 3 weeks and it still looks brand new! I'm getting another one to replace the patched one Spright wears. THANK YOU SMARTPAK
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really happy with this blanket. Love this blanket. I do wish it was 1200 denier but 1000 seems to be fine. My horse is a big guy and hard on his blankets so far we are very pleased with our purchase. The guarantee and sale price sealed the deal.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    • 2015-05-27T09:54CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_241
    • loc_en_US, sid_10621, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.