Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout

SmartPak
- Item #20621
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, our toughest waterproof blanket yet! With heavy-duty nylon, this blanket is great for a horse that is tough on blankets. We're so sure it will last for years to come that we've backed with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We've got you and your horse covered - no matter what! Imported.

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof Heavy-duty nylon:  This special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears.
  • 1000 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Available in Light (no fill), Medium (220g), Heavy  (360g)
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry

Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproof

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Combo Neck Turnout made Exclusively ...
    Description:
    The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Combo Neck Turnout made Exclusively for SmartPak offers Weatherbeeta quality at a great price, in a fun, new color only available at SmartPak. This blanket features a high-neck cut providing extra coverage and warmth. Favorite Features Medium weight has ...
    The Smartpak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed ...
    Description:
    The Smartpak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable. Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell. Two stainless steel quick clip and dees front closure. Can be ...
    Big D quality and features in this top ...
    Description:
    Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
    Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
    Description:
    Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic ...
    Description:
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, nylon lined shoulders, fleece at withers, two surcingels. 640 Denier. 440 fiberfill. Navy blue with hunter green trim and white piping. Turnout: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, ...
    Save with a blanket bundle! Specifically designed to ...
    Description:
    Save with a blanket bundle! Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, Rockin' SP blankets offer superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. This coordinating set includes key pieces of your ...
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout is rated 4.633 out of 5 by 436.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't say enough good things! My blanket demolishing gelding is rather disappointed at how indestructible this blanket is. He is even more upset that, try as he might, he can only make the outside of the blanket dirty, so he no longer can do his nightly coat beauty routine of sleeping in the muddiest, most pooped-in area of his field. Although he must now be clean and dry, he begrudgingly admits that it is very comfortable. He also gets compliments from the mares that live next door.Pros:-No rubbing anywhere-Fits my boy perfectly-Warm-Extremely waterproof and strong-Very adjustable-Tough hardware-The warranty of course!Cons:-No more full-body mudbaths, bummer!-Wish it came in more colors (my guy is dark bay so this black looks stunning on him, however he's really hard to find in the field when it's dark outside!)
    Date published: 2016-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable I bought this blanket about a month go for my very long warmblood and it fits him great. He's 15.3 but wears an 81 so its hard to find blankets that don't look like a dress on him!
    Date published: 2016-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I have been working on getting these for all of my 40 horses. I currently have 20. Smartpak does a great job with the replacement guarantee.
    Date published: 2016-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these blankets This is the only blanket that stands up to my gelding's destructive tendencies, and not only that, they still look brand new after two seasons. I have both the sheet and the medium weight blanket. I wish they came in more color selections, but for the durability and quality, color doesn't matter. Would highly recommend!
    Date published: 2016-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Hannibal-resistant miracle I've had this sheet for a few weeks and other than being covered in dirt, it looks exactly like when I bought it. This is shocking because one of my horse's turnout buddies is a blanket serial killer and has routinely destroyed similarly-priced sheets in under a week. My last 1200D Amigo is held together by nothing but mud and duct tape after a month with him. The lining on this is smooth and hasn't rubbed my sensitive TB at all. Excellent purchase.
    Date published: 2016-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate blanket Love the quality and the warantee! Clearly well made! All of the horses at our barn sport them!
    Date published: 2016-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from We got some very cold, wet weather after this turnout arrived, and this blanket kept her warm and more importantly dry. I am not a huge fan of clip front closures but they do the job,
    Date published: 2016-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I bought this blanket and it is wonderful. My horse is in the pasture all of the time and it keeps him warm. Plus, the other horses do not rip it. SmartPak was amazing in helping me find the right fit.
    Date published: 2016-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ULTIMATE TURNOUT I bought this blanket for a young horse who is quite destructive on his blankets. Blanket looks good and is holding up well, 10 year guaranty makes it worth every penny!
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holding up GREAT My horse is VERY hard on his blankets....so far it's holding up great!!!!
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! Great blanket hasn't ripped yet even though my guy is known for taking his blankets off in multiple pieces
    Date published: 2016-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality and durable I bought this a month ago due to the 10 year guarantee and would highly recommend it. My horse is 21 but acts like a 3 year old out in pasture. He loves to play blanket tag with his buddies. All previous blankets have rips quickly. This blanket has held up.
    Date published: 2016-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love SmartPak Blankets I have the sheet, no fill turnout, lite turnout and stable blanket and love them all. Really well made, nice cut and cute! Fit both of my different body type horses well. The high withered 18h guy fits surprisingly well in the 84" and my normal warmblood bodied 17h gelding looks good in the 81" though perhaps it's slightly short on his rump. Very pleased with how they're holding up so far, especially with a young silly guy.
    Date published: 2016-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable, high quality workmanship! Finally, a durable turnout blanket that my horse can't destroy! He loves to roll in the pasture and all the straps and buckles are holding up great!
    Date published: 2016-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my Thoroughbred This was the 4th blanket I've tried on my Thoroughbred and this one actually fit! All the others had to be returned.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great in dry weather, but... It was quite wet all the way through after snowing...luckily it warmed up so I could take it off and hang to dry.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I got the heavy version of this, I love it, and I think my mare will love it too!! We got it in black and it really is a very nice blanket. With a 10 year guarantee, I don't think you can go wrong with this blanket
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure We had such a light winter this year and I returned the blanket for a lite blanket. The customer service was up and beyond with the exchange. She told me when I got the other one if it was to large just send it back and they would send me another size. That is the way a company should be run.
    Date published: 2016-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful blanket! This is my second ultimate now, I love the quality and durability! I have the medium for my young horse and the light for my old mate, both for great and are holding up very well this winter!I just wish they came in another color option, at least a different piping. That would make it a little easier to tell apart! Hah.
    Date published: 2016-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fit, again! Perfect fit for wide, muscular, 14.2 gypsy vanner cross mare! Length & drop perfect, shoulder gusset handles big shoulder, and enough coverage for muscular rear. Well made, should hold up for years! Great value. :) One thing though, with sensitive young horses, the tail straps are safer than the leg straps; just sayin'.
    Date published: 2016-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I ordered this sheet along with the hood as my current sheet lost all of it's waterproofing. I especially like how easy the hood is to attach and detach. Great quality, fit, and I really like the color scheme. Best feature, 10 year warranty!!!
    Date published: 2016-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully Made This is a great turnout made to last that fits my 15.2 hand spotted saddle horse beautifully. He is a gentleman who is hard on blankets but this one has stayed put and kept him warm through a blizzard and an ice storm. All of the straps are firmly attached and easily adjustable without chafing or tangling. I would buy this blanket again in a heartbeat.
    Date published: 2016-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome look, fit and warranty for teh price! I bought this blanket recently for my 18 hand TB and it fits like it was tailor made and looks great! Cannot beat the warranty as its 10 years no matter if torn, looses waterproof etc. how could you go wrong with this blanket? AND it fits a neck rug where a lot of other brands I have found do not since I have upwards of 20 blankets for my horse! as far as turnouts, this will be the brand I get as long as the warranty stands! Great!
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One for every horse. I bought blanket a year ago for my mare who shared a pasture with a bonified blanket destroyer. The blanket still looks brand new. I was so impressed with how the blanket fits, and holds up, I now have all 6 of my horses wearing the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout.
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handsome sturdy blanket! I bought this a month ago for my 15.3 thoroughbred. He is normally very destructive with blankets, but it has held out great so far! Very pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2016-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit!! Hoping this holds up and excited that is has a great warranty.
    Date published: 2016-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bought it for the warranty Fits well adjusts easily good color selection.I would recommend it to my friends.
    Date published: 2016-02-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Had to exchange 2 blankets I bought both a medium & a lite SP Ultimate blanket 3 years ago. They both were damaged. The medium blanket's front clasp broke and the back flap tore off. A large tear formed in the side of the lite blanket. After calling customer service, they requested that they could do an exchange but only if I washed both blankets and returned them. Because it was winter, I didn't want to return them and leave my horse without blankets. Instead, I resorted to buying 2 extra blankets before the return so my horse had blankets while I returned the damaged ones. Inconvenient for me and my checkbook but eventually I was reimbursed for the original 2.
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product The product was a good fit for my horse and I know that she will be comfortable in it. Lots of other boarders at my barn use this blanket and they LOVE it.
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A 10 year blanket! We purchased this Ultimate medium weight after 2 years experience with an Ultimate light weight. At our boarding barn I have seen numerous turns outs ripped and torn. Some after a year, some after a few days. What these animals do to destroy blankets is beyond me. Our blanket is still intact!The only downside for me is that I wish there was a choice of piping colors so I could easily distinguish between light / medium weight.Bottom line: I want to make one purchase and be done! There seems to always be something more this horse needs and I like that a replacement blanket will not return to my list again for 10 years. I like that!
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    • 2016-05-05T14:55CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_418
    • loc_en_US, sid_10621, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders