Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Thinsulate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #11968
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

High performance turnout delivers surprisingly lightweight warmth at an unbeatable price. Rugged, 1200 denier waterproof, breathable ripstop polyester outer with a full nylon lining. Thinsulate provides the equivalent of 220g of fill without the weight; you'll throw this on your horse with ease.

Favorite Features

  • Polished stainless steel hardware
  • Double Buckle & VELCRO® Brand front closure
  • Removable elastic leg straps
  • Tail Flap
  • Shoulder Gussets
  • Dual bias surcingles
  • Fleece at the wither

Imported.


Sizing It Up

Sizes run large so you may want to consider ordering a size down if your horse is in between sizes.

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Thinsulate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.7027 out of 5 by 74.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I bought this for my 2-yr old. Like the light weight and easy to buckle.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thinsulate Blankets Are the Best!! I've had this blanket for over two years now and am extremely pleased with it. I use only thinsulate blankets, including this one and the similar SmartPak ones, for my three horses. Thinsulate is great because it doesn't weigh a lot and isn't bulky, but yet is warm.My youngest horse pulls and tugs at everything and likely does so to this blanket when I'm not looking. The blanket has withstood that and rolling and everything else that my not-so-gentle horses do to it overnight in the pasture.One added bonus to this blanket is that it has reflective piping, which is great when you're looking to find the right horse in the pasture in the wee morning hours.The quality of the back leg straps is the only downside and you'll need to replace those, but the quality of the blanket is well beyond a 5, so I'm still rating it a 5 overall.It would be great if SmartPak offered this blanket in other colors.
    Date published: 2014-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value So far so good - haven't had the blanket very long - but very impressed with the quality. It fits my large Friesian very well in the neck and shoulder area - so the review that it was on the large size was an added bonus. I would say that you should order a size down if you are unsure.
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from loved the blanket My issue is after less than three weeks one of the straps has torn off. Is there anything you can do to help me . I feel this was a waste of money even though I loved the blanketq
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy i havent actually used this yet, but have tried it on my horse.the neck fits well and the blanket is easy to put on and take off because it is lightweight and i am a small older person. my horse has a narrow chest so it seems a bit roomy. the next size down was too small in length.i have a little dog coat of smartpak thinsulate, and i dont think it will ever wear out. im thinking the same about this blanket.
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality! This blanket is put together very well and is warm without being overly bulky. I find the rear end flap isn't as wide as say a Rhino, but it fits the bill very well.
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect weight! I have just replaced my possibly 10 year old Thinsulate blanket for a new one for my new horse. (I gave the old one away, as it was no longer water resistant, but still serviceable!) I hope the new one will have the vitality of my first one! I love the light weight of these turnouts and they are very handy for layering when it gets very cold or the weather gets nasty.
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from neck too small Overall nice quality of construction and fabric. Disappointed that I had to return, but neck opening was too small. I felt that if my horse tried to graze all day in pasture that the neck would bind and rub. It even looks tight on the model horse in the catalog photo.
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket!!! Love that this blanket it light but has the warmth of a medium weight!!! Highly recommend this blanket!!!
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit First blanket for a new horse and the fit was perfect. The only things I would change are the front buckles- I prefer the combination buckles with the clips but that's a preference I feel saves time.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made blanket Fits like a glove, warm,but not too heavy.....very pleased with overall quality and workmanship.....
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lightweight and warm This is a great medium weight blanket, very light and warm.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tight Fit Around Chest and Neck This blanket did not fit my 2 horses around the chest and neck. They would not be able to comfortably eat hay or graze. One is a stocky build QH and the other is a QH/TB. After going through 3 different brands of blankets from Smartpak the Rockin' SP Classic waterproof turn out blanket, medium weight fit the best.The Rockin' SP runs a touch small, so I just went up a size for both horses.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from perfect purchase I live in the north east and I've had my new thoroughbred for 2 months she had been previously left out 24 /7 for the last two years of her life before I purchased her and came to me grossly underweight this is a great blanket for her for her first winter, with all day turn out and in the barn at night as it offers warmth without the weight and gives her a chance to adjust. Her body so far 2014 has grown a lot more hair than her barn mates the barn manager feels that her body wasn't expecting to have a barn and was over compensating so this blanket should get us through most of the winter the shoulder gussets will give her room to move as she gets fatter I have no fear that this blanket will last us for many nice years ahead it's very well constructed.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product The blanket not to heavy but has the extra protection for a mid-weight blanket
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from light weight for the weanlings and should be warm As far as I can tell they are of good quality. Haven't tried them on the weanlings as of yet, been too warm. I'm sure they will test the durability and fit when they on put on them.
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Just received this blanket earlier this week and I absolutely love love love it! Looks so adorable on my horse and fits her great! Will definitely be ordering more of these for my other horses!
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout Love this light weight turn out fits my mare to a T.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Survives Day-Long Game of Blanket Tag This blanket fits my tall, skinny TB gelding perfectly so I had a good reason to like this blanket...but I really began to love this blanket when I saw my guy and his pasture buddies play the equine version of flag football - after hours of running, tugging, nipping and poo-rolling, the blanket was a) still in one piece, b) was still in place and c) still looked amazing! I've gotten lots of compliments on how handsome he looks in this - so of course I had to buy the rest of the Smartpak line!
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I purchased a SmartPak Thinsulate Turnout Blanket for my Arab mare who never gets much of a winter coat and liked it so much I bought another one for my daughter's QH mare when we had to temporarily pasture board her with no shelter. I didn't really realize until this winter, though, just how nice it is having really good blankets. We have been rediculously cold here in NW Wisconsin this winter. So I dug out a couple of blankets I 'inherited' from a friend and put them on a couple of our other horses. Both survived the 1st night but were literally hanging off of the horses in the morning. After the 2nd night, 1 was shredded and both were again hanging off the sides of the horses. Never before has there been a winter where I wished I could blanket all the horses with a Smartpak blanket - I'll be saving to buy more (they're worth it!) BTW - the 1st one I purchased is going on year 2 and it still looks brand new after I wash it. And it is on my mare almost continuously in the winter.
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking, fit well Blanket fits well on my 15.3 hand quarter horse.  Looks good and seems to be good quality.  I like that it is lighter in weight to handle, but still provide the warmth of a medium weight blanket.  
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Blanket! I have purchased this thinsulate blanket and the related SmartPak ones and love them all. They are lightweight yet warm, and each of my thinsulate blankets have held up well for my three not-so-gentle mares.The leg straps will need to be replaced in short order, but I still rate this a 5 because it excels in every other way. Also, there is a reflective strip on the edge of the blanket, which helps when trying to find your horse in the wee hours of the morning.This blanket fits well and is durable. The horse can lay down comfortably with this blanket, and it doesn't look horrible after many wearings. It washes beautifully at the commercial laundromat, but hang dry it; don't put it in the dryer because that wears down thinsulate.It may be priced a little more than similar blankets, but it's lightweight and durable and worth it.
    Date published: 2013-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Three winters and counting My Thinsulate Turnout Blanket has officially made it through three Minnesota winters. I actually purchased a replacement, thinking it wouldn't make it, but (other than being muddy), it still looks great, with a few easily mendable rips from other horses. One thing I like about this turnout is how thin it is-- I can mend it on my own machine, so I'm saving the price of sending it out for mending. So far, the replacement blanket is staying in it's packaging. Hopefully this will make it another winter or two. I always get compliments on it because it's very good looking and obviously well-made.
    Date published: 2013-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous. Really pleased with this blanket. My horse is tough on his blankets and this one has not one sign of wear, although it's only been used for a couple months. My horse usually wears a 74-76, ordered a 75" and fits him perfectly. The high neck is a little snug on him, though it fits well through the shoulders and I've not noticed any rubs, so I'm happy. The hind leg straps tend to slip (ie... get longer, but they aren't actually stretched out), so they require adjusting nearly every time I'm out, but they could easily be replaced, and the blanket stays secure, so I'm not really bothered. Finally, can't forget-- the thinsulate seems to do an adequate job providing warmth, despite it's deceiving light weight!
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality This blanket is awesome. I had a really bad chest injury that I'm recovering from and this blanket has been so nice because it's so lightweight.My only wish is that it had snaps on the front and better quality leg straps (they get loose every other day or so).I got a 68" for my 14h cutting horse mare. She's very slight and this blanket fits very well.
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket Well made blanket, feels durable. Warm and light. However leg straps are very flimsy and stretch out quickly. Blanket fits true to size. Overall I am pretty happy with it and would buy again.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic turnout! Compared to others I have purchased, this is one of the best!
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good blanket Very light and plenty warm. I have not had it long enough to make comments about durability but it appears well made. It fits true to size. My horse wears 78 which is what I ordered and it fits well. The only complaint I have is leg straps so far. They are kind of flimsy. Otherwise great blanket. Would buy again
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Going strong This is the third Minnesota winter for this blanket, and I am very pleased with it. The leg strap issue is an annoyance--they stretch out pretty quickly. The blanket is very light and attractive. One of the benefits of it being made with Thinsulate is that it's thin enough for me to mend it myself on my own sewing machine, and it fits easily in my washer, so no need to pay someone to wash and mend. It's had a few minor tears, easily mended. The blanket is very attractive as well. I'll buy another one when it's needed, but so far it's looking great.
    Date published: 2013-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I purchased this blanket in a 66 for my 2 yr old cutting mare who is very slight and 14.1hh. This blanket fits great in the shoulders and is nice and light to throw over her. I've had it for about 2 weeks now and so far, no destruction! I have some notorious blanket destroyer pasture mates out with her, but so far there's only a few scuffs on it. Though it could be because she is younger and quicker than them too...The only thing I wish it would have were clips in addition to the buckle straps. I keep it buckled and pull it over her head most of the time, but the clips are so convenient.
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    • 2015-05-27T09:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_71
    • loc_en_US, sid_1968, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.