Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat

Item #13877
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Keep your dog warm and dry this winter with our Thinsulate lined waterproof/breathable coat.

The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat's 220 grams of fill provide superior warmth while the 600 denier nylon shell is durable enough to withstand even the toughest play. The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat features VELCRO® brand chest and belly closures allow for easy on and off. Imported.

Please note: Waterproofed items should not be tumble dried.




 

Sizing

Dogs are measured from between the shoulder blades (highest part) to the base of the tail.

Round up to the nearest size.

Small (13")
Medium (15")
Large (18")
X-Large (21")
XX-Large (24")
XXX-Large (27")


 
What Customers Say:
You Might Like

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 240.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleek & warm Such a well-made turn- out sheet! Just the thing for cool days & over a fleece liner on truly cold temps!
    Date published: 2015-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best there is I have always loved thinsulate coats. They last year after year on my extremely active dog. Hands down the best coat for keeping your dog warm and dry
    Date published: 2015-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have three of these coats Coats keep my greyhound and whippets warm and dry.My dogs have long back measurements so I bought sizes accordingly - greyhound was XXX large and whippet are X large.
    Date published: 2015-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Fits my German Shorthair well. He is long and lean, and it stays in place. Keeps him warm while I'm in the barn.
    Date published: 2015-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from discharge fits my greyhound Great quality, keeps my greyhound warm and dry.measure your dog's back for correct size.
    Date published: 2015-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits every body type! I have bought several of these over the years for my dogs and daycare dogs too! We live in Maine, so having these jackets are a quick go to item that does it's job well. They wash and dry wonderful as well. My dogs say Thank Woo!
    Date published: 2015-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coat and Great Service From SmartPak This is a great dog coat. I've had one for my older dog for almost 7 years and it has held up very well. I was worried about the velcro holding up, but it has been just fine. I just bought one for my new rescue but I ordered the wrong size and had to send it back to SmartPak. I was expecting it to take a while for the exchange, but I got the larger size in the mail JUST TWO DAYS LATER!! I did not know it was even possible to process an exchange that quickly, and at no extra charge! A+ to SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fit yet I have purchased several coats for my 80lb boxer mix over the years and none have ever fit as well or stayed in place on him as well during walks. It keeps him warm and dry (though not warm enough for really frigid temps) and the colors are beautiful with his fawn coat. Best one we've bought so far!
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect doggy coat I bought this just in time for the winter, my lab mix is 50 lbs and the xl fits great. She is normal hot natured but with the snow this jacket was perfect and she loves it!
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coat! This doggie coat looks great and Belle loves it! Seems to be comfortable for her and keeps her warm and dry. We bought the XL and it fits fairly well for a broad-shouldered dog (60lb pit bull). Length is perfect. Easy on and off. She is one happy girl. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome dog coat! We bought this dog coat for our French Bulldog. She wears it 24/7 in our frigid Northeast climate. It is so easy to take on and off, and the nylon lining keeps dog hair from building up. Great design and wonderful quality!Another major plus is that our pony has matching SmartPak blankets!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! This is the perfect coat for our dog! It is basically a tiny horse blanket, exactly what i was looking for. Our dog is a Ridgeback/Pit mix, about 55lbs, and the XL fit perfectly. It keeps him warm and dry, excellent product.
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money Bought this about a month ago, my large shepherd was not able to get it of (as he always did with the others). It kept him warm and when it rained it just rolled off of him. Best money spent.
    Date published: 2015-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from so far so good Fit our Dobie according to measurements. Walked him the rain a few times and works well.
    Date published: 2015-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features This a great coat for my Ernie. Warm and keeps him dry. East to put on him.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice looking but shifted Nice looking, well made,but it shifted when dog moved.
    Date published: 2015-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket!!!! My dog has never had a hesitation to wear a jacket, the problem has always been finding the RIGHT jacket. I am ecstatic about this product. The fit it perfect, the design is smart and is just excellent. The quality is outstanding. The straps and velcro are strong. This is how a jacket for dogs should all be designed! It is a show-stopper for people that we walk by and ask where we got it! The way it fits around his front shoulders and chest ensures that it will not slip and tilt to one side while smartly offering proaction from the elements around his chest. Movement is free and unrestricted. The lightweight is comfortable for him, but provides warmth, windbreak, and waterproof. The icing on the cake is the personalization. My dog is a member of our family and I insist on the best for him - this jacket is far and away the best looking, best designed, and best way to protect him from the elements.
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from added to fleece one for cold overnite in trailer Top notch construction. Washed great as well. I love garments for man, dog, and horse from Smart Pac
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog approved Sammy & I moved from CA last spring. This is her 1st dog coat and it is perfect. I like that it is warm but light due to her age & arthritic hips. Well made, nice looking. I ordered 2 different sizes and was able to return free the one that didn't fit. My shopping experience couldn't have been any easier and great price too. It arrived just in time for a morning 2 degree walk. Sammy loves it and that's good enough for me!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit I got this for my male Welsh Corgi that weights 33#. I ordered a large and it fits perfectly. I love the little darts in the back that will help keep it in place. I already have thinsulate turnout blankets for my horses so I knew this would be great warmth without the bulk. So many times the belly band on blankets is made really wide and I particularly wanted a narrow band as being a small short legged dog a wide band hits him to far back if you know what I mean! So the belly band wraps at mid body. Easy on and off also another plus. One more thing, I worried that a Large would come to far down on his legs making it difficult to walk but it doesn't, it allows for easy shoulder movement. This will also be great for dog shows and walks. Love it!
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the one! I've tried several coats and believe this is the one! Very happy with the fit. It will allow me to move without being constraining. I think it will be warm too! I am a boxer, about 75 lbs. My grandma got me an XXL for Christmas. Recommended by my boxer buddy who has one too. Mine is navy blue. I look very handsome, I'm now ready to go for walks in snow or cold!
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made Terrific coat! Repels rain and is warm too. Nice color.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my Farm/House Dog Even though my dog hates all things clothing, she has been kept warm, dry, and relatively clean with this blanket. I love that it matches all of my SmartPak blankets and my other custom bags (since my colors are Hunter green, burgundy, and tan). Love it, and will buy more in the future!
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute and functional I ordered an XXL for my 70 lb lab puppy which fits great with room for him to grow. Stays on great, plus he looks adorable and stays warm at the barn!
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Great! I got this turn-out coat for my very old Golden Retriever. I was looking for things to keep her old bones warm, she lays out on the deck most of the day, or under it, even if it's snowing. I can't say she loves it, but she allows me to put it on her & she enjoys it because I make a fuss over her & tell her she looks so nice in it. I got the hunter green with maroon trim & it is a good color with her fur. It stays on fine & covers her well. With the velcro it's easy to put on & take off. I looked at others that had a buckle in the middle of the chest & didn't think that would be comfortable. I like Thinsulate products, so I was glad to find it as a lining for this coat. Very happy with it so far.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality & overall great product! The heat is not lost after a walk when I removed the coat. My dog was warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Best dog coat I've purchased. Excellent quality and fit. Washed well.
    Date published: 2014-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two paws up! My name is Fern and I'm an active young Australian Cattle dog. My mom bought me this coat because I am out at the barn in all kinds of weather and in the winter I sometimes end up wet and shivering. This coat is easy to run and play in and the green looks sharp with my blue heeler markings! The easy Velcro closures mean I don't have to sit still for very long while my people put it on, so like that too. My dad worried it might make me look like a pampered poochie but he put it on me for our guys-only camping trip in the Appalachian mountains so I think that speaks volumes about the cool factor. Buy this coat and recieve lots of happy puppy kisses!
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great! This just came in the mail a few days ago. While the cold weather hasn't hit us just yet, it is definitely on the way. Vixen already has a thick coat, but I wanted a little something extra just in case that nasty Polar Vortex comes back. She is an 85lbs German Shepherd, about 25" from the base of her neck to the start of her tail, so I got her the XXXL which ended up fitting just right. She's tried it on a few times and it hasn't slowed her down and it doesn't seem to bother her. VERY easy to put on and take off. We will be keeping this product!
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Jacket! I just got this in the mail and I love the colors and the quality. It was everything as described. It is a very nice jacket and fits well. I ordered a 3X even though the chart says for my dog a 2X was fine. But the 3X really fits well.
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    • y_2017, m_1, d_22, h_14
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_220
    • loc_en_US, sid_3877, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders