Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

  • Why We Love This
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up
Available in Cob, Horse or Warmblood

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.8125 out of 5 by 176.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Bought this amount a month ago and the leather is very supple. With new halters I usually have a hard time adjusting them because the leather is so hard. This halter required no break in time and looks great.
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Quality Ive bought plenty of halters before and this one supersedes all of them! The quality is amazing the color is fabulous. I also purchased the nameplate and the engraving is beautiful. Won't be buying any other halters ever again! I opted for the cob size for my quarter horses head.
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, Love the colors!!! I bought this halter about a month ago ,and I love the way it fits on WallE....
    Date published: 2015-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter! I have been looking for a black leather halter with white padding for a long time and this is the nicest leather at the best price. It's very soft and supple and looks great on my horse. I'd recommend getting a nameplate and having SmartPak put it on for you. It looks super snazzy!
    Date published: 2015-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super fit for my quarter horse I first bought a similar halter at Dover but the horse size was too big. So I ordered the Cob size from Smart Pak. It was too small. Since I thought it was the same maker I almost didn't order the horse size through Smart Pak. Sooo glad I did! It fit's my Quarter Horse's head perfect! Although they look like similar makers, the one from SmartPak fits very different and is perfect!
    Date published: 2015-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome feel and fit looks wonderful , her name plate adds a touch of class
    Date published: 2015-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made, good quality very nice halter....I bought it for my Gypsy Vanner and it is nice enough to use for showing.; I'm very pleased.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice halter! I bought two of these halters to replace 12 year old ones that were finally looking shabby. I'm very happy with the quality of the leather and fittings for the price.
    Date published: 2015-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter Absolutely in love with this halter! I've previously purchased SmartPak's double stitch halter and loved the quality and have always wanted this halter and had to wait for my color combination and size to be in stock. Love that the halter is butter soft out of the box (just like my other halter was). The turquoise is more of a teal, but it's still gorgeous! And the nickel name plate is a beautiful addition. I personally don't think that this halter runs small like a lot of the reviews state, as my gelding is in between a cob and a horse size and the cob fits him perfectly! Thanks for an amazing product, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic halter for a fantastic price Great quality, very nice halter, can easily double as a barn and show halter!
    Date published: 2015-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost too attractive for turnout:-) Love this halter. Fits well, nice soft leather and is very attractive. Unfortunately I had to replace the first one I purchased, as a pasture mate had a taste for the nose band. Lesson learned, too pretty for turnout:-)
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Padded Halter A really nice halter for the money. I have a thoroughbred/draft cross who has a rather nice head. He wears a regular horse size bridle so that is what I went with as far as size for the halter. It was a bit small, so we had to return it (easy!) for a warmblood size which fits perfectly. He is a bay and looks so handsome with the green lining.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and fits my Draft X well I have a 3/4 Perch, 1/4 TB mare with a HUGE head! This halter fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Halter and personalized name plate was birthday present for my boy as we prepped for 2015 show season. He is quite handsome in it!
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! Beautiful leather halter. Fits my AQHA gelding (the horse size) perfectly. Soft, elegant leather, nice hardware and rolled throatlatch. Personalized with a gold plate and it looks really nice.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought recently after my horse broke her halter... Love this halter! Padded and nice for her comfort and adorable on her. I went with the Havana and blue! Thank you Smartpak
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super-soft leather out of the box! We've had this halter for about a month. It was so soft right out of the box- no need for conditioning and breaking in. It is very high quality, and it looks like it would have cost much more. I am very pleased with this purchase, and our pony looks like a million bucks!
    Date published: 2015-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great and high quality... This is a beautiful black leather white lined halter. Perfect for daily use, and nice for a show halter too. I added the chrome nameplate and it looks perfect!
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! High quality halter...love the color of the halter and padding. The oversized fits my 17.3 warmblood perfectly!
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! My mate actually has 2 of these haletrs, one for home and just bought the second to go to shows. They are beautiful, durable and they last!
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Halter I love that this halter is different than other halters. It is beautiful and good heavy duty and quality.
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have some issues with the description of the halter. First, the halter is listed as 1", but with the padding it is actually 1 5/16. This was to bulky for my mare. Second, the buckle on both sides of the halter has "smartpak" stamped black into the brass hardware. This might not bother me if I were being sponsored by smartpak, but I am not. I have included a photo so that you can see what I am talking about. Really this is too bad becuse the quality of the leather is beauitiful.
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Needed a really nice halter for show season and with my black mare this halter looks just stunning. Nice leather, pretty shape/design.
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely halter I bought this for my gray mare. She looks positively smashing in it. I've received many compliments on it. It's nice leather and well made. Very happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Soft yet durable - great quality for reasonable price
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Well Made I bought this halter a few weeks ago and am absolutely in love with it. I bought it in havana/havana and its very beautiful. The leather is soft yet strong. I bought the cob size and it fits my 15.1 welsh X very nicely. See picture below for the adorableness :)
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Class Halter This halter is so attractive. Have had many compliments on it around the barn. Very very pleased with the quality. The horse size fit my 17 hand thoroughbred very nicely.
    Date published: 2015-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite Halter This is the second one of these I have purchased. The fit and craftsmanship is excellent. If the darn horse next door doesn't chew on it I expect it to last many years.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter! Love this halter!! Never thought I would go for a blue padded halter, but this is lovely and matches my geldings eyes!! Very soft leather!! Does run a little smaller than the triple stitched smart pak halter without padding, but the warmblood size still fit my big-headed horse!! I got the name plate customization as well and it looks lovely! I also bought the padded leather lead with chain and it matches very well!
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect halter This halter is very well made, gorgeous, and fits true to size. Resistances that were occurring in my rope halters have been completely resolved with this well fitting, gentle halter.
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    • 2015-08-29T12:48CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_169
    • loc_en_US, sid_3155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.