Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up
Available in Cob, Horse or Oversize

Don't forget the matching Padded Leather Lead w/ Chain to complete your horse's look!

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

Customers Also Shopped For
Stripes for Jump Poles are available in nine ...
Description:
Stripes for Jump Poles are available in nine bright, beautiful colors. These stripes are thicker than most stick-on stripes available. The 8 ml. Thick vinyl helps resist the abuse of every day use. The color is not printed on the ...
Artists and craftsmen with years of experience and ...
Description:
Artists and craftsmen with years of experience and pride produce traditional vinyl products with your custom colors. Outfit your stall with this Phoenix West Cable Stall Guard, all while containing your horse inside the stall. Choose your vinyl and border ...
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by ...
Description:
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by professionals, this custom-made halter features two strategically placed knots that trigger pressure points on the horse's nose to help maintain control of a difficult or young horse. The halter is slightly rigid, ...
The KensingtonProtective Sheet provides maximumProtection from biting insects, ...
Description:
The KensingtonProtective Sheet provides maximumProtection from biting insects, cuts, and rubs. This sheet providesProtection for up to 78% of UV rays. Favorite Features 1000 x 2000 denier Withstands fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear, even in the most ...
Made from a continuous piece of rot-resistant diamond ...
Description:
Made from a continuous piece of rot-resistant diamond braided poly rope, this halter isSoft to the touch for both horse and handler and the features an extended 10' detachable lead. Favorite Features Brushed nylon Accompanied bySoft, 10' detachable solid-colored poly ...
Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality ...
Description:
Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality memorial at a very affordable price. Crafted for indoor/outdoor use as a garden stone, placed beside an urn or displayed anywhere you want a special reminder of your dog. Our fine-grain black-finish ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you've got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13" bosal featuresHeavy ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.836065573770492 out of 5 by 244.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter I got this halter as a little splurge gift for me and my horse after owning him for a year. This halter exceeded expectations and the nameplate looks so beautiful! This halter was worth every penny I paid for it. I added a couple photos so you can see how smart and handsome it makes my boy look
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful quality! Beautiful halter, very nice quality leather. So nice to have a beautiful halter to put on him for special events
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter. We have 7 of these halters. Quality leather and craftsmanship,they look great and last forever.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I recently purchased this halter to replace a similar padded colored halter. I was very impressed with the quality of it and am happy I purchased it!
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! I bought the black on brown leather halter with personalization and absolutely love it! The leather is great quality and I love that SmartPak attached the name plate to the halter for me. I am very pleased with my purchase and have already shown it off to multiple family members.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks awesome on my black horse I bought the black halter with white padding and it really pops on my black horse. The leather is really good quality and my horse and I are very happy with the halter!
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant halter! Bought this for a friend who has just purchased a fancy dressage horse--needed a fancy halter to match. Purchased this in black with a silver nameplate and the resultis quite stunning! Bought the wrong size initially and had to exchange for a larger size and have the halter plate changed ---no problem for Smartpak customer service--excellent as always!
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice! Great quality, nice looking halter. Horse size fits my fine boneDutch warmblood perfectly.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter Love how well made it is and how soft right out of the bag
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Elegant Halter Beautiful quality. Wish the fittings were brass instead of stainless steel so the name plate would match.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality! After searching for months to find the perfect halter for my picky tastes I finally did! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this halter. It is beautiful and excellent quality. I highly recommend!
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! As a trainer I love this halter! It is comfort during gentling and starting as a halter can be scary to an untouched horse. I train with an ideal that I want to horse to willing do what I ask without pain. This halter is strong and soft without correcting like others and allows me to do the training not the halter. I own several of these in all sizes and each one of my personal mustangs have one!
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good looking The halter looks great. I have been using it for about a month and it seems durable.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great! This halter is attractive and fits well with no rubbing.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best halter I've ever purchased! I love the padding, the soft leather and the overall look and fit. It is the best halter I've purchased for my mare; and the black and white looks fab with her coloring.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a gift and she loved it Thanks for offering the fun colored padding. My sister loved it!
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter, nice price. I bought one of these halters for each of my horses. The first to come was black and turquoise and it looked terrific on my Palamino Paint's face. It was beautiful and very well made for the price. I liked it so much that I bought a second one.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Beautiful padded leather halter. Love the contrasting colors
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter, great price I bought the turquoise/black halter for my Palamino Paint. Not only did it look great, but the quality was excellent. I was so satisfied that I bought a second one in red/black for my buckskin the following week !
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The padding is a nice soft leather, Don't have photo- could possibly send a couple this afternoon, since I bought a black cob size and it would be good for others to see the fit on a long nosed horse. She is a six year old Hanoverian mate.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect halter! I absolutely LOVE this halter! The quality is wonderful and it fits my horse perfectly because it's so adjustable! The engraving team at smartpak was also able to handle my request of having one line bigger than the other lines. I would highly recommend this product. Crossing my fingers smartpak starts making the matching lead in the black and turquoise colors.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I ordered this for my OTTB Bay gelding. He looks wonderful in this and the leather is so soft on his head. The Name plate I had done was beautiful and really shows off the halter which was Black/Havanna.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Great Quality! I absolutely LOVE this halter. Having the ability to adjust both sides of the crown and around the noseband gave the halter a custom-type fit for my 16.2hh TB. The hardware seems durable and attractive, the leather is nice quality and I was pleased with the color (I bought the brown with royal blue padding).
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and strong! I got this for my birthday about a year ago and not only does it stay soft year round but it's strong and looks great too. I got her name on it with a personalized name plate and i personally love it. It fits her head nicely, as it's a horse size, and it seems to run true to size. I would really recommend this halter for any kind of use.
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! It's very pretty! It's comfortable with the padding and very adjustable.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supple, gorgeous, and durable Purchased for myself and again later for a friend in another color. The leather is durable and can withstand some tough love while still being gorgeous. Got Havana with blue and black with purple both with name plates. Pricey but worth it.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice padding! Love it with the name plate. A very nice Halter that works well on a qhorse
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful quality and details! I bought this as a "special occasions" halter for my horse and loved it as soon as I put it on him. Great quality!
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! This is my third time buying this halter This time I bought the black and red It looks so good on my friesian! Really soft and well made
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from saddlebred Bought for a friend and they like it. Going to use it for Show season
Date published: 2016-03-16
  • 2016-08-27T12:13CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_236
  • loc_en_US, sid_3155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders