Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Don't forget the matching Padded Leather Lead w/ Chain to complete your horse's look!

Made in the USA.

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. Havana halters will have a brass nameplate, and Black halters will have a nickel nameplate.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware
Key Specifications
  • Material: Leather
  • Breakaway: No
  • Metal Type: Solid Brass, stainless steel
  • Customizable: Engraving

Sizing

Pony, Cob, Horse, Oversize
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Material Leather
Breakaway No
Metal Type Solid Brass, stainless steel
Width 1"
Special Features Soft padding with a rolled throat latch
Customizable Engraving
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The beautiful Arc De Triomphe Premium Halter is ...
    Description:
    "The beautiful Arc De Triomphe Premium Halter is perfect for many uses. Having snaps on both sides of the throat, it makes for the ultimate grooming halter. Also, with buckles on both sides of the crown, there is the convenience ...
    Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality ...
    Description:
    Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality memorial at a very affordable price. Crafted for indoor/outdoor use as a garden stone, placed beside an urn or displayed anywhere you want a special reminder of your dog. Our fine-grain black-finish ...
    "The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only ...
    Description:
    "The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only the highest quality durable nylon webbing, thread, and hardware to ensure practical durability for years to come. Hardware includes solid brass buckle square and snap along with brass-plated rings. Please note, this ...
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
    Description:
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
    "The Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives ...
    Description:
    "The Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you’ve got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13” bosal features heavy double filled ...
    "These beautiful trunks are completely customizable. Design yours ...
    Description:
    "These beautiful trunks are completely customizable. Design yours today! Prices include 2 colors (body color & border on each vinyl surface), stainless steel top on chrome trimmed trunks, vinyl top on brass trimmed trunks, finished birch interior with a sliding ...
    "Keep your barn organized! Many options ensure that ...
    Description:
    "Keep your barn organized! Many options ensure that you will find the whiteboard to fit your needs. A variety of erasable marker/tack boards to choose from. Approximately 24"" x 36"". Please allow 8 weeks for delivery."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 312.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Halter This halter exceeded my expectations. Not only is it beautiful soft supple leather, it fit my friends horse perfectly straight out of the box with no adjustments. The blue trim is the icing on the cake along with the nameplate. I am absolutely thrilled!
    Date published: 2017-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter!! Beautiful halter, quality leather, completely adjustable, nicely padded. Love the option for stainless nameplate with the black halter.
    Date published: 2017-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It seems very well made and I love the padding...and it fits my big-headed horse
    Date published: 2017-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from As described This is a quality halter - nice soft leather and good hardware. Price very appropriate for this product.I bought the black/white for my mare, and it is striking. The engraved name plate is also outstanding.Fit was good - but do admit that the rolled chin leather piece is firm and for that reason getting the fit just right is a challenge (seemed to make it too tight during some of my initial adjustments).
    Date published: 2017-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Absolutely Love It! I recently ordered this and just received this halter yesterday and I love it! The leather is great quality and the added name plate came out stunning! It also fits my big Quarter Horse's head perfect. Thank you SmartPak for making such a great product!
    Date published: 2017-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love it. I bought this several weeks ago, in cob, for a Morgan. It fits beautifully, the padding is soft, the leather is great quality and I would definitely order it again. Eventually, I'd like to get the matching leather lead.
    Date published: 2017-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I ordered this halter with a custom nameplate and it arrived in about 4 days. The quality of the leather is excellent.
    Date published: 2017-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Wanted to get my boy a fancy halter as a gift, since I've owned him a year now. Love the teal/black color and padding. He seems to love it too! It slides nicely over all of his hair. :)
    Date published: 2017-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this halter for my mare who recently retired, its a good quality padded halter. The accent color looks great on her! Only downfall is it is a little snug and I would of ordered the next size up.
    Date published: 2017-04-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice quality This halter came out of the bag fairly supple, although it was slightly stiff around the throat strap
    Date published: 2017-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality This is my second one I bought, with the nameplate and I love them!! The leather is beautiful! The quality is great!! I will buy more in the future for showing and new horses!!
    Date published: 2017-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Padded, adjustable and fits well I bought a new horse and hence the need for a halter to fit her. She has a long refined head but narrow especially at the muzzle. This halter adjusts well and fits fine. I was a little disappointed that it didn't smell of good leather as I expected. it is nicely padded. I bought horse size black on black with the silver hardware. It looks good without distracting from her pretty head.
    Date published: 2017-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful halter. We have several of these halters. They are attractive and sturdy.
    Date published: 2017-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Leather and Hardware So happy with this halter. Its soft and supple so no rubs on my horse. Its a great fit and such a beautiful halter to look at! Nothing to dislike
    Date published: 2017-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, Soft Padded Halter! I bought this for my 17 h TB because I NEVER can find a halter to fit him! All the halters I get him are just Huge on him & hang down way to low on his face even though I have them on the last hole! They then irritate him & he rubs them off! This one is fully adjustable at the crown & the nose & fits him perfectly! It's top quality leather & soft right out of the box. I'd definitely recommend this halter! He's a Gray so I bought him the black with Teal trim, BEAUTIFUL!! I would however recommend you get the Small nameplate if you order one. I got him the regular size one & it's larger than I'd like but I'll keep it anyway. Thanks!
    Date published: 2017-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I've only had this halter for a couple weeks and I love it so much! As soon as I took it out of the packaging it already felt nice and soft. After being on my horse, it has sharpened very nicely to his face structure and has become even more supple!
    Date published: 2017-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality halter! I bought this halter to use at shows - it looks great and the leather has a very nice feel.
    Date published: 2017-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful leather I've now purchased two of these halters. The leather is beautiful and holds its color extremely well. They are supple and the hardware makes them look very professional. Their adjustability is a huge plus.
    Date published: 2017-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Halter! I really like that this halter offers silver as a choice for the metal. And I liked the customization of the color choices! It fits my horse nicely and looks sharp.
    Date published: 2017-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best halter ever! smartpake staff made it easy to purchase a beautiful new halter. When it arrived it was of high quality leather,sturdy,and nicer than it looked in the catalog. I was thrilled. The fit was perfect . One of the nicest halters I've seen out in the marketplace. Will be purchasing another.
    Date published: 2017-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supple soft leather True to size and the leather is really soft and supple. Our Horse loves it !
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this halter!!! I received this halter as a Christmas present and I love it so much! It is great quality, soft leather, and I got it in turquoise and black which I love on my horse. Totally recommend to engrave it with your horse's name as well!
    Date published: 2017-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning! My boy looks fabulous and the material is nice and gentle on his face! The black and purple match his weatherbeeta blanket too! :)
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely halter I purchased 20 of these halters to present as year end awards for the Indiana Quarter Horse Association. All of the feedback from our members was very positive. They are very nice halters, I wish that I had been lucky enough to to win one!
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Most important: HE likes it Noseband soft as butter, such a difference from the stalwart 10-year-old Dover Saddlery halter it replaced. (No knock on that product; but 10 years of aging in the elements hardens leather). My only complaint, and it's not really a COMPLAINT, is what seems like a lot of extra leather at the throat latch. Certainly doesn't interfere with the product's use. Bottom line: the horse is delighted
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely halter fits my draft cross I received this halter in black/turquoise as a gift for my draft cross, Ted. The "oversize" fits him perfectly. I love the soft, colorful padding. The black leather and stainless steel fittings are high quality. Ted is going to look very handsome at shows this summer!
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft and attractive halter I bought this in black and red for black horse. I first bought him a cob because I have a smartpak triple stitch halter in cob size (for another horse) that fits him perfectly, but this cob ran much smaller than the triple stitch cob. No worries, since there are free returns! The leather is very soft and supple, I'm very pleased with the quality of this halter. It looks super sharp on my horse! I ordered the nameplate separately in case sizing didn't work out and because I was worried I'd get a brass nameplate when I wanted a nickel one to match the hardware (as some reviewers mentioned).
    Date published: 2017-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! Great value for the price, can't wait to see my son's pony in her new halter at the next show!
    Date published: 2017-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it It looks nice e. It fits well. It seems to fit comfortably. The quality feels good, as well as looks good.
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this halter! I bought this as a gift for my mom for Christmas and it was everything and more than what I expecting! The leather is soft and supple right out of the box and it fit her horse perfectly! He is on the smaller side and wears 'cob' and it fit as expected. It's nice that the lower part of the halter is adjustable as well so you can get the perfect fit. I ordered the black and Havana color and it's stunning on jax (he's a bay). All and all GREAT buy for the price! I would definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    • y_2017, m_5, d_24, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_304
    • loc_en_US, sid_3155, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders