Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

  • Why We Love This
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up
Available in Cob, Horse or Warmblood

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.7911 out of 5 by 158.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have some issues with the description of the halter. First, the halter is listed as 1", but with the padding it is actually 1 5/16. This was to bulky for my mare. Second, the buckle on both sides of the halter has "smartpak" stamped black into the brass hardware. This might not bother me if I were being sponsored by smartpak, but I am not. I have included a photo so that you can see what I am talking about. Really this is too bad becuse the quality of the leather is beauitiful.
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Needed a really nice halter for show season and with my black mare this halter looks just stunning. Nice leather, pretty shape/design.
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely halter I bought this for my gray mare. She looks positively smashing in it. I've received many compliments on it. It's nice leather and well made. Very happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Soft yet durable - great quality for reasonable price
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Well Made I bought this halter a few weeks ago and am absolutely in love with it. I bought it in havana/havana and its very beautiful. The leather is soft yet strong. I bought the cob size and it fits my 15.1 welsh X very nicely. See picture below for the adorableness :)
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Class Halter This halter is so attractive. Have had many compliments on it around the barn. Very very pleased with the quality. The horse size fit my 17 hand thoroughbred very nicely.
    Date published: 2015-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite Halter This is the second one of these I have purchased. The fit and craftsmanship is excellent. If the darn horse next door doesn't chew on it I expect it to last many years.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter! Love this halter!! Never thought I would go for a blue padded halter, but this is lovely and matches my geldings eyes!! Very soft leather!! Does run a little smaller than the triple stitched smart pak halter without padding, but the warmblood size still fit my big-headed horse!! I got the name plate customization as well and it looks lovely! I also bought the padded leather lead with chain and it matches very well!
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect halter This halter is very well made, gorgeous, and fits true to size. Resistances that were occurring in my rope halters have been completely resolved with this well fitting, gentle halter.
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Leather Halter! This looks beautiful on my Warmblood and guys him great! Love the padding and adjustability of it! Had a nameplate put on as well and just LOVE it!
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully made This is very nice leather and wonderfully made. It was on sale too, which was great!
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks nice! I received this halter as a Christmas gift. It does run small so I needed to send it back for oversized. I love the red and black, it is well made for the price! Thanks Smartpak for making sized returns free! I never hesitate to order from you.
    Date published: 2015-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! I love this halter. The leather is very soft and it looks great on my horse!
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT I bought this for my first horse, and if my dad allows me to get more this will be my go to halter. This entire thing is great quilaty and made to last. I love it in everyway. The monogram in is also very well done!
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality Very nicely built. Soft leather. Very pleased. Priced well.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from NIcely Made But a Bit Thick I got the red/black combo in cob size for my Arab and it fit very well. The red is a nice rich red and is evenly placed behind the black leather (no weird waves). The leather is sewn nicely and while it's double thickness, it's soft and pliable. But... because of the double thickness, the crown piece doesn't easily slide through the buckles. I keep the "working" side of that piece unbuckled past the tongue. I've had it several months and it's working out very nicely, even with a loose flap for a crown piece.
    Date published: 2015-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! This halter is awesome, especially for the price!!! I just got a new horse and wanted an inexpensive halter because she is so young and I didn't want to worry about her breaking a really expensive halter. This halter is so much nicer than I thought it would be! The leather is so supple and really a very nice quality. It is just as nice as some of the really expensive haulers.
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Big design flaw affects Cob size halter only. :-( I really, really wanted this halter to work. It's beautiful - the turquoise color was perfect and looked great behind the black leather, and the leather was nice and supple. HOWEVER, there is a serious issue with the ring on the chin piece where you'd clip the lead rope to - the diameter is too narrow to slip over the adjustment buckle for the chin strap. I have other color padded halters that I ordered from England, and have never had this experience - all of the rings have always been large enough to slip over the buckle with ease. I called SmarkPak and they were great about looking into it for me. Turns out this affected all of the cob-sized color padded halters they had, but that the horse-sized ones were just fine. They suggested I return it since it couldn't be easily fixed, nor did they know when they'd be able to get new ones in with the larger ring in place. Just wanted to alert anyone wanting a cob-sized color padded halter to call first to see if they've remedied this issue first, rather than having to mess with having to return a Christmas gift that should have been perfect right out of the chute. I'm disappointed that they didn't catch that before shipping them out to customers....
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! I LOVE this halter! The leather is beautiful and so soft. I oiled it since I always oil my leather, but this hardly needed it. The stitching is tight and I'm sure it will last.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Soft Halter I expected to love this halter and I was not let down. I am saving it to unwrap on Christmas, thus, I have not put it on my horse yet but I know she will look good in it. I have a chestnut Weltmeyer mare with a flaxen mane/tail and I got the Havana/Green halter. I had debated about getting the pink or red because it was so pretty but green goes with a chestnut so well and it matched my lead rope. Straight out of the box, the halter is very supple and soft, the throatlatch snap is awesome. My last halter was basically the same thing in black/white and with the other kind of snap and it eventually broke so I decided to upgrade to this halter. I definitely recommend it. Ps. the Havana is a deep brown, not a bright or light brown.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from bought this halter for a Christmas gift, I thought it had gold plate and metal on halter but it was platinum color. nice but not what I expected.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from New Halter I have just received this halter and it looks very nice. The leather is soft and plush.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality Super quality. I also got the name plate and it looks awesome.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft and beautiful This halter is gorgeous! I have the black and white one with a custom nameplate and I love it! The only down side is that the leather is not very supple and needs a lot of oil before use. Also could run a bit small but easily adjustable
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks so classy on my bay! Bought the black with red padding and am really pleased how dressed up my bay with a large star looks in it! Not too stiff new either.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFUL! I am very, very happy with this leather halter!! It is soft and beautifully made! I have wanted a nice leather halter for many years but didn't want to spend the money when the regular ones work just fine. I'm sure glad I did! It is sharp, classy and my horse seems more comfortable. The quality is fabulous and it will last for years and years and years!
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY NICE Very happy with this halter. Very nice for the price. The cob size runs smaller than I thought so I had to return for the horse size. The return process was very easy and I received the larger size very fast, even with the engraved nameplate.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I bought this to ship my mare across the US and for the $$ it is fantastic and beautiful.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality Halter I bought two of these halters in Havana with nameplates for my chestnut TB. They are beautiful, soft and very well made. The engraving was perfect. I'm very happy with this product!!
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter My horse's color is turquoise and this halter fits great with the rest of his things. The leather is soft yet strong, and the fit is great.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    • 2015-05-22T08:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_151
    • loc_en_US, sid_3155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.