Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

SmartPak German Martingale

SmartPak
- Item #17448
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SmartPak German Martingale set comes with both the specialized reins and martingale. The martingale forks go through the bit and snap to any of the four D rings on the reins. Change the rein settings to increase or decrease pressure. Neck and girth pieces are fully adjustable. The martingale and forks are made of soft pliable Brown leather. The reins are Brown cotton web with leather stops. Buckle end rein closure. Stainless steel hardware. One Size.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tannedNorth Americanbridle leather available and expert craftsmanship.Carefully crafted to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak. Traditional style with raised and fancy stitch accents.Stainless steel hardware. 1/2 inch ...
    Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Complete adjustability and comfort for your ...
    Smarter gear for smarter riders! A great training ...
    Description:
    Smarter gear for smarter riders! A great training aid for establishing proper headset. It's fully adjustable, so you can find the perfect fit for a variety of horses. The Rockin' SP Running Martingale was designed utilizing the same smarts, obsessive ...
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship.Carefully designed and manufactured to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak. Extra fine stitching and supple rich leather finished with stainless ...
    Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Elastic Breastplate is ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Elastic Breastplate is built to last for everyday schooling! Made with eye catching SmartPak Blue elastic whichallows for greater freedom of movement whileyour horseis moving or jumping. The elastic insertsminimize the restriction on your horses ...
    Arc De Triomphe strapgoods are made from the ...
    Description:
    Arc De Triomphe strapgoods are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather is unique ...
    Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Traditional raised running martingale, with delicate ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak German Martingale is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please Read Before You Buy I was looking for a German Martingale, I saw the reviews saying some pieces did'nt for correctly. I still bought it & ALL THE PIECES FIT. I am in love with this product. The leather is soft. I am buying another one!
    Date published: 2015-08-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't fit anywhere. I chose this martingale over others because Smartpak has great customer service. I read the reviews and figured that it had a 50/50 chance on fitting one of my four horses. It didn't. It's too small in the girth attachment, too small in the neck strap, and too large in the rein attachment. The only reason I'm keeping it is because I have a friend who can do leather repair to shorten the reins and lengthen the girth strap.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hopefully just what I need I've just started training with a German martingale, but after borrowing a friend's once, I just decided to jump in & buy my own. The leather is very nice & it is well-made & looks very durable. The reins are a good length and easy to hold. I like this product.My only complaint is that the actual working part of the martingale (the long ends that go thru the bit to clip onto the reins) are on the shortest setting and I have nowhere shorter to adjust them if I need more effectiveness. I could tie knots in them, or take them to a leather worker, but I wish they were a couple inches shorter instead. (for the record, my horse is 16.2hh)
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for my horse Seemed to make my hot horse even more nervous so I returned after one ride. Easy to use however. Truly the "fool-proof" version of a draw rein.
    Date published: 2014-12-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Martengalerings are in wrong position to really be effective. The leather quality was very good. I returned due to the ring placement being in bad locations. Thanks
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality I really like the quality of the leather, and the fact that the reins have rein stops, unlike so many of the other brands. My only complaint is that the martingale is a bit too long. I had to tie knots in the leather to make it the correct length for my horses neck
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great schooling martingale at a great price Such a great schooling martingale for a great price. Its perfect for the occasional schooling tool for my young horse to encourage him to round and stay soft. I can't speak a ton for durability since I don't use it a ton, but it seems like it would last a long time.The pros:Nice quality leather, great stitching. Soft right out of the box. Looks like it is very durable.The cons:The fit: My horse has a shorter neck and compact build but solid shoulders. It fits my 16hh Oldenburg/TB cross on the 4th (shortest) ring. A horse any smaller might have problems. It doesn't fit "just right", but it does fit. I guess if you are making an item in once size only it is tough for it to fit "just right" for such a variety of horses.Also the leather is a little bit heavier than my preference. I guess that will make it more durable in the long run but I can't help but wish it was a little bit thinner/lighter. But that is being pretty picky!Overall and excellent buy! And again smartpak has the best customer service so you really can't go wrong with this.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather and well made Big difference in how my horse carries himself. Was worried that this was too large for my Polish Arab, but it does the job nicely. There are four rings on the reins instead of the usual three. I am using the last ring so am thankful for that. If not for the fourth ring, I could not have used this as it would not have served it's purpose. The stitching is tight and strong, nicely put together. I would have liked to see a swivel clip on the martingale part - (the ends that pass through the bit and clip onto the O rings on the reins). The way it is made is such that I am constantly "fixing" the piece from the martingale to sit evenly through the O ring on the ends of the bit. I use a german martingale for my western tack and although much cheaper than this one, they used the swivel clips on the reins. Makes for no fussing on keeping the pieces sitting evenly on the bit.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Have had this martingale for a month. I was impressed by how soft it was out of the box. Will be too big for a cob.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice, built for larger horses I bought this at the recommendation of my vet, to help with getting my mare to stretch down a bit more and not drop her back. It is very nice quality and I like the sturdy web reins very much. I do wish it was made in a Cob size, though... with a compact 15 hand horse, the forks are way too long and I have to tie a knot in them and use the tightest setting. I am getting them shortened by 6 to 8 inches!
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! 4 adjustment rings and very sturdy web reins. Great product and price
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best Pieces of Tack Ever I have a few pieces of tack that I love and cannot do with out. This is one of them. It is a great cross between draw reins and a running martingale. It has the leverage of the draw rein without the akwardness of the double rein. It disengages when the horse puts his head down and yields. I can adjust it from on the horse, if I want it to have more or less effect. I can't speak to the durability as I have only had it a month. I have several friends who are going to get them on my recommendation. I am currently using it for dressage and my weekly jumping lesson.
    Date published: 2013-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've only owned this two weeks so cannot comment on durability but from the looks of the quality I don't think that will be a problem. Unfortunately no one seems to make german martingales for small horses so we had to tie knots in the forks for it to fit. Web reins are not my favorite either but I don't recall seeing anything different on the market. At least this set included the martingale and the reins.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice! I had previously purchased a German Martingale from another vendor and returned it because the reins were way too long and slippery - then I decided to purchase this. I was unsure about the webbed reins and that's why I didn't purchase this first. So glad I returned the other and purchased this set. Leather quality is nice and webbed reins give me the secure grip I was looking for. I have a 17 hand Warmblood and the martingale fit him fine (on the last hole!) what are u waiting for? Returns are free!
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product but fits weird I have to agree with the other reviewers, this is a really nice product but it doesn't fit my horse. The neck strap is too short and the martingale reins are way too long for my horse. He's a 16H Morgan cross so he's a bit more upheaded and the long reins will never come into play when I ride, even on the shortest adjustment. I really wanted this to work as its a quality product but unfortunately I will be returning it.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Right I have a Hanoverian who is only about 16.1 hands but I couldn't find a German martingale to fit him. (What do people with really big Warmbloods do?) Well, this martingale fits just right, it's high quality leather and well made. Thanks, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Alas...too small! I have been searching for a german martingale with web reins for some time. The quality of this martingale was very good. Unfortunately the neck loop did not reach around the neck of my Haflingers - could have used at least another 3 inches of leather...a little more if I didn't want the buckle hole to be at the end of the leather. Unfortunately I had to send it back, but as always, SmartPak customer service on the return was top notch.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from martingale Love this martingale. It's easy to apply and appears to be comfortable. It does the job well.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps my student figure things out Nice quality, but runs large. Don't really like to use such training aids, but it is helping my student to figure out what it feels like to have a horse on the bit. she rode without the German Martingale yesterday, and was able to figure it out!
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Training Aid Very nice quality for very reasonable price. Great training aid. Would recommend this product
    Date published: 2012-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Built The leather is supple and of good quality. The hardware used is also substantial but not clunky. The reins are web reins, and it would have been nice to have a leather rein option, as well as a black colour option. I would definetly buy them again.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Training Aid Wonderful training aid to use on horses whose riders don't have the best hands!!!
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful I love you this product! My tb does wonderful with it.
    Date published: 2012-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tack I purchased the German Martingale from SmartPak after shopping around and consulting with some friends who use one...the SmartPak martingale is beautifully made, the leather is a great quality, and the reins are comfortable in the hands. I've only used it for a little while, so I can't attest to the durability of the product, but so far I am very pleased. The set does run fairly large -- I am using the very last setting, but it works well for my 15.2 Quarter horse/Appaloosa cross. This martingale is a great value, and it does exactly what I purchased it for.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy Great price. Good leather. Looks great on my horse. I would recommend it to everyone with light hands.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A German martingale that won't break the bank. Aside from the actual use of the martingale (which works well for some horses, and not for others), I quite like this martingale. It's definitely affordable compared to other German martingales and just as well made. The stitching was nice and tight, and it came in a beautiful, rich chocolate color. It's held up well so far, too. My only complaint is it's a little tight for my fairly big-shouldered, but overall narrowly built 16.2 TB. I wish they came in different sizes, but I still wouldn't hesitate to purchase this again. And, best of all — it's a SmartPak product, what's not to love?
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i have been trying to find a german martingale to fit my 17.3 h thoroughbred/warmblood cross and decided to try this as a last shot. it fits great. i also use it on my 16.0 h arabian/saddlebred and fits him great as well with room to adjust on both horses. soo happy. it is hard to find equipment that fits my big horse let alone something that fits both w/o buying double the equipment. thank you smartpak
    Date published: 2012-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPurchase This is a very nice German Martingale for the price. The leather is soft, pliable and a very nice brown as the ad states. The only downsize is I wish the neck piece was a bit larger. I have a Saddlebred with a high head, which caused it to be a bit tight, even though there are several holes for buckling adjustments. I did have to make a few new ones myself. Overall it is a very good value.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful quality We bought this to help with control of a new horse who was spooking a bit and carrying head too high. The quality is beautiful and it works nicely...I would recommend this as a tool in a training kit. Size: our horse is a 16.3 rangy Thoroughbred and it fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2011-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent overall I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this martingale. I like that it has 4 D-rings instead of 3, though they are more closely spaced than some others I have seen. The proportions are a little strange: the neck strap is on the last hole from the end on my 15.2 hand mare with an average size neck, yet the straps that connect to the reins are a bit longer than I would like ideally. But, overall I am very happy with it and think it is a good value.
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    • 2016-05-24T17:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_43
    • loc_en_US, sid_7448, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders