Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SmartPak German Martingale

SmartPak
- Item #17448
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SmartPak German Martingale set comes with both the specialized reins and martingale. The martingale forks go through the bit and snap to any of the four D rings on the reins. Change the rein settings to increase or decrease pressure. Neck and girth pieces are fully adjustable. The martingale and forks are made of soft pliable Brown leather. The reins are Brown cotton web with leather stops. Buckle end rein closure. Stainless steel hardware. One Size.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak German Martingale is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice, built for larger horses I bought this at the recommendation of my vet, to help with getting my mare to stretch down a bit more and not drop her back. It is very nice quality and I like the sturdy web reins very much. I do wish it was made in a Cob size, though... with a compact 15 hand horse, the forks are way too long and I have to tie a knot in them and use the tightest setting. I am getting them shortened by 6 to 8 inches!
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! 4 adjustment rings and very sturdy web reins. Great product and price
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best Pieces of Tack Ever I have a few pieces of tack that I love and cannot do with out. This is one of them. It is a great cross between draw reins and a running martingale. It has the leverage of the draw rein without the akwardness of the double rein. It disengages when the horse puts his head down and yields. I can adjust it from on the horse, if I want it to have more or less effect. I can't speak to the durability as I have only had it a month. I have several friends who are going to get them on my recommendation. I am currently using it for dressage and my weekly jumping lesson.
    Date published: 2013-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've only owned this two weeks so cannot comment on durability but from the looks of the quality I don't think that will be a problem. Unfortunately no one seems to make german martingales for small horses so we had to tie knots in the forks for it to fit. Web reins are not my favorite either but I don't recall seeing anything different on the market. At least this set included the martingale and the reins.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice! I had previously purchased a German Martingale from another vendor and returned it because the reins were way too long and slippery - then I decided to purchase this. I was unsure about the webbed reins and that's why I didn't purchase this first. So glad I returned the other and purchased this set. Leather quality is nice and webbed reins give me the secure grip I was looking for. I have a 17 hand Warmblood and the martingale fit him fine (on the last hole!) what are u waiting for? Returns are free!
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product but fits weird I have to agree with the other reviewers, this is a really nice product but it doesn't fit my horse. The neck strap is too short and the martingale reins are way too long for my horse. He's a 16H Morgan cross so he's a bit more upheaded and the long reins will never come into play when I ride, even on the shortest adjustment. I really wanted this to work as its a quality product but unfortunately I will be returning it.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Right I have a Hanoverian who is only about 16.1 hands but I couldn't find a German martingale to fit him. (What do people with really big Warmbloods do?) Well, this martingale fits just right, it's high quality leather and well made. Thanks, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Alas...too small! I have been searching for a german martingale with web reins for some time. The quality of this martingale was very good. Unfortunately the neck loop did not reach around the neck of my Haflingers - could have used at least another 3 inches of leather...a little more if I didn't want the buckle hole to be at the end of the leather. Unfortunately I had to send it back, but as always, SmartPak customer service on the return was top notch.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from martingale Love this martingale. It's easy to apply and appears to be comfortable. It does the job well.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps my student figure things out Nice quality, but runs large. Don't really like to use such training aids, but it is helping my student to figure out what it feels like to have a horse on the bit. she rode without the German Martingale yesterday, and was able to figure it out!
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Training Aid Very nice quality for very reasonable price. Great training aid. Would recommend this product
    Date published: 2012-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Built The leather is supple and of good quality. The hardware used is also substantial but not clunky. The reins are web reins, and it would have been nice to have a leather rein option, as well as a black colour option. I would definetly buy them again.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Training Aid Wonderful training aid to use on horses whose riders don't have the best hands!!!
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful I love you this product! My tb does wonderful with it.
    Date published: 2012-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tack I purchased the German Martingale from SmartPak after shopping around and consulting with some friends who use one...the SmartPak martingale is beautifully made, the leather is a great quality, and the reins are comfortable in the hands. I've only used it for a little while, so I can't attest to the durability of the product, but so far I am very pleased. The set does run fairly large -- I am using the very last setting, but it works well for my 15.2 Quarter horse/Appaloosa cross. This martingale is a great value, and it does exactly what I purchased it for.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy Great price. Good leather. Looks great on my horse. I would recommend it to everyone with light hands.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A German martingale that won't break the bank. Aside from the actual use of the martingale (which works well for some horses, and not for others), I quite like this martingale. It's definitely affordable compared to other German martingales and just as well made. The stitching was nice and tight, and it came in a beautiful, rich chocolate color. It's held up well so far, too. My only complaint is it's a little tight for my fairly big-shouldered, but overall narrowly built 16.2 TB. I wish they came in different sizes, but I still wouldn't hesitate to purchase this again. And, best of all — it's a SmartPak product, what's not to love?
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i have been trying to find a german martingale to fit my 17.3 h thoroughbred/warmblood cross and decided to try this as a last shot. it fits great. i also use it on my 16.0 h arabian/saddlebred and fits him great as well with room to adjust on both horses. soo happy. it is hard to find equipment that fits my big horse let alone something that fits both w/o buying double the equipment. thank you smartpak
    Date published: 2012-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPurchase This is a very nice German Martingale for the price. The leather is soft, pliable and a very nice brown as the ad states. The only downsize is I wish the neck piece was a bit larger. I have a Saddlebred with a high head, which caused it to be a bit tight, even though there are several holes for buckling adjustments. I did have to make a few new ones myself. Overall it is a very good value.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful quality We bought this to help with control of a new horse who was spooking a bit and carrying head too high. The quality is beautiful and it works nicely...I would recommend this as a tool in a training kit. Size: our horse is a 16.3 rangy Thoroughbred and it fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2011-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent overall I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this martingale. I like that it has 4 D-rings instead of 3, though they are more closely spaced than some others I have seen. The proportions are a little strange: the neck strap is on the last hole from the end on my 15.2 hand mare with an average size neck, yet the straps that connect to the reins are a bit longer than I would like ideally. But, overall I am very happy with it and think it is a good value.
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Odd fit This a very nice piece of equipment. Very nice leather. The fit is odd. The yoke is high on my horses neck no matter how I adjust it and the forks are really long. Almost too long for my horse. However I don't anticipate needing to use it o ton so I can live with these minor issues.
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful, well made german martingale I was surprised by how nice the leather felt and looked. You don't always see such quality from an "in-house" brand.
    Date published: 2011-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good for the purpose I hate to have to even use this gadget, but with a headtosser it has proved to be a lifesaver. I don't have to deal with anything more than the regular rein, and it only comes into play when the horse makes a wrong move. Nice leather and hardware on this, a better deal than many available for a German Martingale. Have to say that I find the stops on the web reins kind of "sharp" to hold, but I loathe web reins so that may be what is causing my dislike here!
    Date published: 2010-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economical Quality Purchase This is an easy and pratical training aid which is easy on the horse's head and mouth.
    Date published: 2010-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Great quality german martingale. It was a little on the large side for my daughters horse, we need more of a cob size, but I would not hesitate buying this for a full size horse.
    Date published: 2010-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for young horse Although traditionally geared more for the jumper rider, this German martingale helped me with my young dressage horse. It prevented him from putting his nose to the sky without tying his head down. It was a little small for the larger warmblood type, however, and I did have to add a loop around the girth to make it longer. But it did safely solve the problem in a non-evasive manner.
    Date published: 2010-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant Results wow..i bought a DHH...very hi headed but soft mouth...i needed a product to help ..not hinder..this does exactly what i wanted..soft contact.The matingale is beautifully made..the web reins are a BONUS...fantastic for the price....Kudos to SmartPak
    Date published: 2010-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality for the price Good quality construction for the price. Fits my average size horse well with lots of room for adjustment smaller or larger.
    Date published: 2009-09-14
    • 2015-05-25T10:20CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_37
    • loc_en_US, sid_7448, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.