Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Fleece Dressage Girth

SmartPak
- Item #16118

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

An everyday favorite! Easy care (100% washable!) and quality construction.

Equifleece lined for chafeless comfort, a favorite for both schooling and showing. Elastic on both ends to equalize girth pressure. Stainless steel roller buckles. Nylon reinforcements.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Fleece Dressage Girth is rated 4.6853 out of 5 by 197.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth Nice girth for the price. Could be a little more substantial and have a thicker fleece. Time will tell how it holds up to wear and tear.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy for horses The girth is soft, easy to clean & I love all of the elastic to keep everything neat.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft , nice This fleece girth is nice, soft, and durable. It seems to be comfortable for my horse
    Date published: 2015-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this girth because it sounded like just what I was looking for at the right price. It turns out it is. It seems to be nice and comfy and good quality. My trainer was impressed enough to want one for herself.
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable and economical A wonderful girth for the price, and my sensitive thin-skinned TB mare likes it quite a bit. I love that you can just throw it in the washing machine, and despite being a "budget" girth, it looks very nice, especially with the billet keepers. My only note is that the buckles DO rust if you let them sit wet, so I just wipe them off after a ride/wash.
    Date published: 2015-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great price and quality Very very happy with this girth, I have ridden with it too loose and its fine (I didn't slide off, but don't recommend doing that). Quality is great for the price.
    Date published: 2015-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanyed Perfect girth for schooling or lower level showing. Easy to wash and billets fit nicely in the keepers. Very clean looking. Will be buying this girth again for different horses. Great product for great money.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Budget Girth For those of us on a budget, this girth is simply perfect. Fits my guy well so I am a happy camper.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Nice fleece, strong elastic, stainless buckles all make this a great girth. My horses find it comfy and it looks nice.
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Changing my review I wrote a 5 star review 11 months ago for this product. Unfortunately the buckles have rusted so much that I'm going to have to throw the girth away. I will not be buying SmartPak girths in the future unless they fix the buckle issue (the buckles on my long girth are also rusting). It's a shame, I like this girth otherwise.
    Date published: 2015-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fleecegirth My horse get girth rubs in the winter. This girth is soft and cozy and protects him getting rubs.
    Date published: 2015-03-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable for the horse Nice enough girth for the money. I like the elastic on both ends, but the fleece seems to get pulls in it too easily.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the money My stubben girth was slipping and making my gelding girthy. Picked this up on a recommendation. Excellent girth for the price point. No more saddle slipping, no more girthy pony. Thanks smart pak!
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed My horse has a sensitive belly and even the soft touch girth, with a girth cover, give her sores. This girth is just what she needed and doesn't rub anywhere!
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Need to change the buckles! I have three of these girths, one older and two newer ones. It washes great and works great for everyday use. My only problem is the buckles on the newer ones have started rusting where as the older one has not and all three sit in an air conditioned tack room together. Smartpak must have changed the material used for the buckles.
    Date published: 2014-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice girth for the price I bought this to replace an similar one that was too small. I like that it has a bit of elastic in it which makes it easier to put on. I haven't washed it yet so I can't say how well it will hold up to washing. The fleece seems to be reasonably thick, and the price was very reasonable.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth Easy to adjust for comfortable fit! like the fleece to prevent rubs.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value. Very nice girth for the money. Does shed a lot of fleece though when you clean it. This is the second one that I have bought because I like it so much.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, comfortable I bought a second one of these to keep in my show trunk. I also bought the SP Dri-Lex. (I like that one better.)
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for every day I've purchased the Smartpak fleece girth before & they're great for every day use and/or showing. This is my favorite girth because my saddle has long billets and there are extra loops to tuck the billets in. They wash and wear pretty well for the price!
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the elastic I bought this girth about a year ago because it was cheap, but I keep going back to it because I believe my horse prefers it. The fleece is nice, but after a few months sort of mats down, I just try to brush it up after every use. The thing I think my horse likes is the very stretchy elastic. I have two other $200 leather girths, also with elastic, but they don't stretch as much. Excellent product, I'm getting another one.
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth! This is a great girth. Like the fact that it has elastic on both sides to make adjustment much easier
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My new mare is extremely cinchy. I tried several different (mostly leather) options and this is so far the only one she'll tolerate. I like that there are elastic buckles on both sides for added comfort, that there are keepers for the straps, that it's washable and easy care, and that it's budget friendly!! I will be ordering more for my jumping saddle too.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best girth I have ever used. Had a fancy leather contour girth, but causing rub spots and sores. My horse immediately went better in this girth. I will say my saddle fits well, so I do not need a girth to help prevent saddle movement etc.
    Date published: 2014-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great girth! I bought this for a mare who tends to be very cinchy and she's doing great with this. Great quality for the price!
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality product for the price! I really liked this girth. It seems to be a great quality product and it has an affordable price. What I liked the most, compared to my old girth, is the elastics on both ends that makes it easy to adjust it on the horse and the multiple keeper loops to keep the billets nicely tucked in. Plus, the soft fleece provides my mare a comfortable ride and is rub free.
    Date published: 2014-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Schooling Girth! I have had this girth for over a year now and I love it, it has held up really well to probably 40+ washes in the laundry, and several rides each week. I also have the lettia coolmax girth which did not hold up well at all. I plan on ordering another smartpak fleece girth to replace the lettia one in the near future. I use this girth mostly at home and at schooling shows. The extra billet strap holders are nice and keep my horse looking neat and presentable even just hacking around. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice girth for the price I needed a shorter girth for my monoflap jump saddle--this girth does the job at a great price. Like the double elastic and my horse seems to appreciate the soft fleece. Just wish it came in brown!
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes a happy horse! I've had this girth for a few weeks now. I bought it to replace a neoprene girth that chaffed my TB gelding and made him cranky. Now he's happy! The elastic allows me to snug the girth enough to keep my saddle in place while allowing my horse to move and breathe easily. The fleece is soft and thick and provides the TLC my TB's delicate skin needs. I haven't laundered it yet, but the fleece responds to a firm brushing up from a stiff bristled brush. Perfect for every day use, and you can't beat the value for the price!
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought this as my first dressage girth. I really like it. It washes well. My horse seems to be comfortable in it. I like the elastic and fleece. I am sure it would be fine to show in but I plan to use it for everyday schooling. I really like the extra keepers to keep the billet straps held down as well. Great buy for a great price!
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    • 2016-02-11T15:11CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_178
    • loc_en_US, sid_6118, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.