Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat

Item #11971

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Some days even hardy dogs need a little extra warmth. Use our soft fleece coat alone or as a base layer under a second coat on extra-frigid days. Its VELCRO® Brand closure along with surcingle and chest closure offers easy on/off and adjustability.

Favorite Features

  • Machine washable
  • Shrink resistant

Imported

Click here to see this item embroidered.

Sizing It Up

Small (13")
Medium (15")
Large (18")
X-Large (21")
XX-Large (24")
XXX-Large (27")

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat is rated 4.7348 out of 5 by 132.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice product, but doesn't fit my Basset! The dog coat is beautiful, soft and well made. However, it does not fit my Basset properly. I bought the Large, since she is 18 inches from shoulder blades to base of tail, but since her legs are so short and stubby, the coat reaches the ground and practically looks like a dress! I wish they made coats for long-bodied, stubby-legged dogs!
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! Easily the best-made dog coat I've ever seen, and the price can't be beat! It looks and feels like it should be twice the price.
    Date published: 2011-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! What a nifty little coat - really great quality! I really like how well it is made and it looks like it will hold up to wear and tear!
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lost in Days! I have a Pit Bull that loves to be outside while I do horses. I purchased the coat for him to be outside while I fed horses and to wear while we walked when it was chilly outside. The fit was SMALL! I followed the measuring directions and it was extremely short on him, it didn't even come down to the bottom of his belly. The Velcro is not as sturdy as it could be. He lost it while going potty in the woods, still haven't found it. I have a heavy Riders International on for him and fits like a dream, so I just keep using that one, its just so much heavier.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Beauty of a Coat! Recently bought the SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat for my little lab mix dog. This coat fits his body perfectly and he does not mind wearing it at all. The velcro snaps makes it so easy to put on and take off. Also, he looks very dapper in his coat if I must say so myself! I highly recommend this fleece coat for anyone's dog. Your dog will stay warm and look extremely stylish!
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super value excellent non-restricting design, warm, soft, comfortablel; a lighter weight jacket that doesn't bind with bulk and offers a custom fit with velcro closures. my border collies love 'em !
    Date published: 2011-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I never thought I would need a dog coat in FL. Great price and the sizing was perfect. Great for cold evening walks or days when the cold wind just won't quit. I was really pleased with this purchase. Thanks!
    Date published: 2011-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice dog coat This is a great product- fits well and holds up to my labrador who goes riding with me. Dirt, hay, etc. brush right off. Also works as a lining with a "turnout" sheet over the top. Well put together, nice looking and easy to put on.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket! Nice quality, fits great, should wash easily as well.
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Find! I bought each of my Labs a coat.....I was so pleased at the quality of these coats! And the dogs LOVE them! They run with them on as freely as they do without them! And the price is fantastic!
    Date published: 2011-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made & very good value Beautifully made, and great value for the money. The double-thick fleece is very warm, and the straps and velcro attachments are heavy duty. Easy to put on and off. It made an old lady Rottweiler very happy. Thank you Smartpak for another great product.
    Date published: 2011-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FLEECE DOG COAT Beautifully made complete with his name on the left hip. I have all ready washed it and it comes out great. The material did not pill. I like that it can grow with him. I have not had any static issues either.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice idea My dog decided to pull it off and use as a toy the third time he wore it. I had to sew the belly strap back together
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking & great value! I have two Standard Poodles and they are very athletic; the coats fit them well, stay on while they rough house and where so economical. The trim detail and weight of the fabric make them look like I paid a lot more. Only drawback - I would love to see some other colors - I would buy a second one for my pups.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Fleece 2 GREAT blanket coats. I love them...the dogs love them. My daughter purchased same for her dogs...she's hooked on SmartPak too.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy and Cute I wasn't so sure my 3 year old lab would go for this, but she actually loves wearing it! We save it for really cold, windy days, and it makes her walks a lot more enjoyable. Now if I could get her to like booties for her paws we'd be all set!
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat This is absolutely a great dog coat and I've tried a bunch. They are either to long, don't attach well, to hard to get on, etc. This one is well fitted, robust velcros that won't rip off after a few yanks, a generous fleece, washes great, just an all around great value for the price. This is a total WINNER!!!
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME COAT We purchased this coat for our boxer who does not have any fat on him. The coat came faster than anticipated. The quality, color and workmanship are excellent. The weight of the fabric is unbelieveable for the price. And it is so easy to put on and take off. We are extremely satisfied and look forward to purchasing more items from you. Zeke loves his coat and looks so handsome when we walk (not to mention he is warm!!!). Thank you.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coat Cheap! I live in the south and so I hesitated to buy a coat for my large dog for the very few and far between snow days that we have. When I saw this one at this price, I snapped it up as an early Christmas gift for her. We had frigid temps for most of December AND we got 10 inches of snow the day after Christmas. The coat was GREAT! She was very comfortable in it and romped in the snow for hours while wearing it. The quality of this item is outstanding, even though the price is low, the quality most definitely is not. It's been through the wash twice already and it only seems to get cozier. I would definitely recommend this item to others.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not for small dogs I bought this for my 10.5lb Chihuahua mix who measures 12" from shoulder to tail. I ordered the small (website says for 13") given coats that are sized for his length are usually tight in the shoulders, small is the smallest size SmartPak has, and he typically wears a small in coats/sweaters. The small in this coat was HUGE on him.
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great by itself or as a liner for other dog coats This dog coat lives up to the high expectations I have developed for SmartPak products. It's everything you say it is: high quality, warm, and fits well. Morti always gets excited now when I put his new coat on him because it means we are going out for a walk and fun outside. I have used the fleece coat by itself, and in our recent blizzard, I used it as a liner for extra warmth under the SmartPak Thinsulate dog coat which I purchased at the same time. Customer service is great too; the coats arrived the day after I placed my order. Thanks!
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep Him Warm My dachshund loves his new fleece jacket. I think he will be in hibernation until Spring. Thank goodness the jacket keeps him warm.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fleece Coat My Doberman stays snug and warm in this beautiful coat! It stays nice even when I wash it, which is often! Thank you. PLT
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good value These are real nice coats. Very good quality for the money. They are miniature horse blankets for dogs and made with "horse blanket" level quality. I'm amazed that they fit my bull terriers very very nicely. That's rare. Most coats don't fit these dogs well. I have not washed them yet. But I imagine cold water wash with velcro done up, and air dry, that these will do very well. I would buy these coats again.
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Excellent fit, great quality, washes well.Bought this for my 14 year old yellow lab and it is perfect. She lays on the cold barn floor and I wanted to protect her.Kiefer LOVES her coat and I love it on her.Soft, good weight, and better fit than the more expensive blanket from another source. Might get her a second one in the other color!
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, lightweight blanket I have kept this on my geriatric Doberman mix 24/7 since the weather got cold. She is comfy and much warmer. Very pleased with the purchase, especially for the price.
    Date published: 2010-12-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from warm, well made, but... Very good warmth and quality, but my Boston Terrier's skin under the arms was rubbed raw from the rough edging used. If the edges were soft, the coat would be great for the cold climate we live in. A good fit, but a little large around the neck.
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase I really like this blanket, its warm but not bulky and fit great!
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fleece Dog Coat My yellow lab is 13 years old and needs a little extra warmth, this coat is great, she loves it so much I bought her two. I am very happy with the way this product is made. I would rate it a high quality item.
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two paws up! Bought this for our lab/pointer mix to help him through our Chicago winter that hit early this year. I probably should have gone a size bigger (XXXL?) but even so, it's a lovely coat. He's worn it for a few weeks straight now, no rubs that I've found and it's definitely helped. He's worn it both alone and under a "turnout" blanket for the really cold/wet days and it still looks new. Will be ordering another one.
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    • 2016-02-13T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_126
    • loc_en_US, sid_1971, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.