Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat

Item #11971
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Some days even hardy dogs need a little extra warmth. Use our soft fleece coat alone or as a base layer under a second coat on extra-frigid days. Its VELCRO® Brand closure along with surcingle and chest closure offers easy on/off and adjustability.

Favorite Features

  • Machine washable
  • Shrink resistant

Imported

Click here to see this item embroidered.

Sizing It Up

Small (13")
Medium (15")
Large (18")
X-Large (21")
XX-Large (24")
XXX-Large (27")

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat is rated 4.7373 out of 5 by 118.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat This is absolutely a great dog coat and I've tried a bunch. They are either to long, don't attach well, to hard to get on, etc. This one is well fitted, robust velcros that won't rip off after a few yanks, a generous fleece, washes great, just an all around great value for the price. This is a total WINNER!!!
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME COAT We purchased this coat for our boxer who does not have any fat on him. The coat came faster than anticipated. The quality, color and workmanship are excellent. The weight of the fabric is unbelieveable for the price. And it is so easy to put on and take off. We are extremely satisfied and look forward to purchasing more items from you. Zeke loves his coat and looks so handsome when we walk (not to mention he is warm!!!). Thank you.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coat Cheap! I live in the south and so I hesitated to buy a coat for my large dog for the very few and far between snow days that we have. When I saw this one at this price, I snapped it up as an early Christmas gift for her. We had frigid temps for most of December AND we got 10 inches of snow the day after Christmas. The coat was GREAT! She was very comfortable in it and romped in the snow for hours while wearing it. The quality of this item is outstanding, even though the price is low, the quality most definitely is not. It's been through the wash twice already and it only seems to get cozier. I would definitely recommend this item to others.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not for small dogs I bought this for my 10.5lb Chihuahua mix who measures 12" from shoulder to tail. I ordered the small (website says for 13") given coats that are sized for his length are usually tight in the shoulders, small is the smallest size SmartPak has, and he typically wears a small in coats/sweaters. The small in this coat was HUGE on him.
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great by itself or as a liner for other dog coats This dog coat lives up to the high expectations I have developed for SmartPak products. It's everything you say it is: high quality, warm, and fits well. Morti always gets excited now when I put his new coat on him because it means we are going out for a walk and fun outside. I have used the fleece coat by itself, and in our recent blizzard, I used it as a liner for extra warmth under the SmartPak Thinsulate dog coat which I purchased at the same time. Customer service is great too; the coats arrived the day after I placed my order. Thanks!
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep Him Warm My dachshund loves his new fleece jacket. I think he will be in hibernation until Spring. Thank goodness the jacket keeps him warm.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fleece Coat My Doberman stays snug and warm in this beautiful coat! It stays nice even when I wash it, which is often! Thank you. PLT
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good value These are real nice coats. Very good quality for the money. They are miniature horse blankets for dogs and made with "horse blanket" level quality. I'm amazed that they fit my bull terriers very very nicely. That's rare. Most coats don't fit these dogs well. I have not washed them yet. But I imagine cold water wash with velcro done up, and air dry, that these will do very well. I would buy these coats again.
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Excellent fit, great quality, washes well.Bought this for my 14 year old yellow lab and it is perfect. She lays on the cold barn floor and I wanted to protect her.Kiefer LOVES her coat and I love it on her.Soft, good weight, and better fit than the more expensive blanket from another source. Might get her a second one in the other color!
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, lightweight blanket I have kept this on my geriatric Doberman mix 24/7 since the weather got cold. She is comfy and much warmer. Very pleased with the purchase, especially for the price.
    Date published: 2010-12-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from warm, well made, but... Very good warmth and quality, but my Boston Terrier's skin under the arms was rubbed raw from the rough edging used. If the edges were soft, the coat would be great for the cold climate we live in. A good fit, but a little large around the neck.
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase I really like this blanket, its warm but not bulky and fit great!
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fleece Dog Coat My yellow lab is 13 years old and needs a little extra warmth, this coat is great, she loves it so much I bought her two. I am very happy with the way this product is made. I would rate it a high quality item.
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two paws up! Bought this for our lab/pointer mix to help him through our Chicago winter that hit early this year. I probably should have gone a size bigger (XXXL?) but even so, it's a lovely coat. He's worn it for a few weeks straight now, no rubs that I've found and it's definitely helped. He's worn it both alone and under a "turnout" blanket for the really cold/wet days and it still looks new. Will be ordering another one.
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY nice for the price. I bought one of these dog coats when they first came out years ago. The coat held up perfectly for 6 years. I bought a new one...but only because the new ones have pretty white piping on them. The original one was gifted to my sister in law's dog and is still in great condition. I highly recommend this dog coat and the price can't be beat. Its too bad they don't come in more colors though and it would be nice if the 'drop' on the sides were a bit longer. I have very large/lean Rhodesian Ridgebacks and the edges could come further down their sides. These coats would look like mini skirts on a rounder/fatter dog.
    Date published: 2010-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality and fit for the price These fleece blankets are an excellent quality and fit for the price. I have shopped elsewhere and found nothing to measure up. Of course, we had horses for years and these coats are well modeled on the horse blanket, to fit even when very active.Although I have used this purchase a short amount of time, I have used the same type last year on a bigger dog and was very happy withit.
    Date published: 2010-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Like A Glove Mabel has had her new coat for 3 days. We love the fit, ease of entry and exit and the velcro closures that are difficult to undo for Mabel. It fits so she can run, jump and play without fear of losing her coat. We are done chasing after coats now that we have this one.
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great find!! The quality of these coats is very high. "Horse blanket" quality...and that's good!! The fit: OMG, these are the first coats I have ever ordered that fit true to size. And they fit my breed, a notoriously hard breed to fit because of their muscular chest.These are a fantastic coat especailly for the price. Have seen coats costing twice as much that are not as nice. Hope to have them for a long time!
    Date published: 2010-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best for everyday I have tubby French Bulldogs and lean Jack Russell and now a pug, and you can get these to fit ALL of those. With this many dogs and all wanting to get out on cold mornings, the dogs line up for their coats. Easy of dressing is a big deal around here.They wash well, and I have some that are 2 years old going on 3 and still look good. (not perfect but they've been well used.)THIS time I got them monogrammed and it's a big help!
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Senior Dog LOVES his coat! My Lab doesn't like the cold and now that he is getting older he likes it even less. I got him this coat to help keep his senior bones warm in the winter and he just LOVES it. He waits by the door for me to put it on him and happily trots outside without a second thought when it is cold. He is also spending more time outside playing with my Rottie when it is cold instead of hanging around inside. This coat is easy to put on and the velcro straps stay put so it doesn't slide off when running. Take a careful look at the sizing before you purchase - this coat comes in many different sizes so be sure to measure before you buy. I am very glad I got this for my guy and I know he is too!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fleece dog coat on the market!! I've been using these fleece Smartpak coats since they first came out. They have held up marvelously and you cannot beat the price!! I also love the option to (very easily) personalize them. Love these coats!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lil sweater! Got this coat for my Pit Bull/ Shar Pei mix who gets cold during the fall/winter months. I was delighted with the quality and fit of the product! I've bought him other sweaters online, larges are always too small for him and got him the dog snuggie, which just sucked. Best $20 I've ever spent on dog apparel! He even gets excited when I put it on him. The free customization was a BIG plus too! SO HAPPY we finally found the perfect coat for Turkish!
    Date published: 2010-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 'MR TUTTER' My handsome rescue greyhound, Mr Tutter LOVES his coat esp with his name on it! The quality of this coat is superb! It keeps him nice and warm on the cold morning here in NC as we hike the woods looking for 'deer' to watch! LOVE THE COAT!!
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SEXY-GIRL LOVES IT! My greyhound (resue) Sexy-girl, loves her coat as we walk 2 miles a day in the woods here in NC! and she sure does look cute in it!! I love the coat, the quality and the fact that she is warm on very cold mornings as we 'look for squirrels'!
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat Great price and value - just wish it was made in the US - LOL. I returned it since it did not properly fit my dog and selected an alternate dog coat available at SmartPak, which my Welsh Terrier boy happily sports just about every day. He seems to be very happy with his new "Horseware" look blanket! :)
    Date published: 2010-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this purchase Nice fit keeps my little dog nice and cozy. I turn down the heat at night so she wears this for her PJ's to stay warm at night.
    Date published: 2010-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value great choice Dog coat looks great and fits well for the measurements and when the sub-zero weather hits it will be great
    Date published: 2010-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible customer service Awesome reliable customer service, never a problem.
    Date published: 2010-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great indoor coat also I have a pitbull who gets a chill and likes to be covered when possible. This coat works great. The quailty seems good, I have not washed it yet. I would of liked it embroidered but was afraid it wouldnt fit. It fits true to size my pitty is about 50lb and measured 22 inches from neck to tail.
    Date published: 2010-01-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good product, poor shipping I purchased this product as a gift, with monogramming. Two weeks later, it arrived without any monogramming. Although they refunded my $ for the lack of monogramming, as it was a gift it was a real disappointment to not have the dogs' name on the product. Also, this item runs small, so if the dog measures 12 to 14 inches in length, order a medium instead of a small.
    Date published: 2009-12-18
    • 2015-05-22T08:20CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_113
    • loc_en_US, sid_1971, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.