Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Fleece Cooler

SmartPak
- Item #13879

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

This is a staple in our beautiful SmartPak Blanket collection. This piece does double duty! It can be used alone as a beautiful fleece cooler or dress sheet or as a blanket liner on cold, damp nights to keep your horse warm and snuggly. Buckle front closure. One surcingle. Tail cord.

Imported.

Sizes: Small (70 - 72), Medium (74-76), Large (78-80) and XLarge (82 - 84)

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Fleece Cooler is rated 4.6881 out of 5 by 109.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! This item is of good quality. Solid hardware and attractive styling/fit. Nylon lining in the shoulder area.
    Date published: 2016-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fleece Dress Sheets! I ordered two SmartPak fleece dress sheets in different sizes for my two horses. I got the large for my thoroughbred. He is 16 hands and not narrow. Still it fit him well across the chest and the length was a bit long without a saddle, but would be fine over tack. It looked very sharp (hunter green with red and white piping) on a chestnut. Just to see, I tried it on my warmblood and it was too tight across her chest, in fact, it was not close to even closing! Luckily I had read the reviews and ordered the extra large for her. She is also 16 hands, but broader with a large neck and chest. The extra large fit her perfectly, without pulling across the chest. (The navy with the white piping looked sharp on a bay.) I am so glad I purchased these fleece sheets as they seem to be well-made. The only drawback is that the buckle for the surcingle is plastic, so I will have to be careful it is not stepped on!
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm and cozy!! what a wonderful present for my horse, and timely! it's been in the teens here and it's been really nice to be able to throw this on Blanco while he cools down. we even throw this on our horses backs sometimes and gently walk around the arena to cool down in style and warmth. love it!!
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this cooler! I purchased this for my first horse ever, Starscream. He has a blanket clip this cooler works great. I throw it on him when we are grazing outside after a ride or if we are just hanging out and he isn't even sweaty. It absorbs water excellently - we were actually outside just last night and it started randomly raining (Houston, TX checking in!) and when we went inside I pulled it off of him and he was completely dry! So not only does it absorb sweat, it apparently also works great if you get caught in a unexpected rain. I don't really get the tail cord, it's just a piece of rope that you can tie to either end of the blanket but we just took it off and don't use it.
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall a great cooler! I use this to cool out after a hard ride when it's cold out, and this fleece wicks moisture away pretty efficiently while keeping my boy warm enough. It runs a tad large - some extra room at the shoulder and a little long, but he is on the slimmer side at the moment - but the fit doesn't interfere with its job. It's secure enough that I can layer it under a turnout blanket when it's cold. It does get a little staticky if you try to tug it off quickly, but if you remove it carefully it shouldn't be a problem.
    Date published: 2015-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I like the material and the finishing is well done I'm very satisfied with this purchase
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I've had this cooler for 2 weeks and so far, so good! Great fit, great quality and great look. I also got the embroidery do I know which fleece is mine. It looked great!
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice coolder Just bought this cooler in two sizes and so far I am very happy with them. They fit very nicely and stay in place well. The sizing does seem to be a bit on the small side though. I have warmbloods of varying sizes and would definitely recommend the XL for nearly all of them. A really nice cooler
    Date published: 2015-12-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice fit, only okay as a cooler I recently ordered this cooler as I live in a warmer climate but with a non-clipped horse. On chilly riding days, he gets quite sweaty and I thought this would be great to help dry his coat after such rides. The fit is fine - the SmartPak Deluxe blankets and this cooler are a really great fit on my horse. The cooler doesn't really seem to do much to help with drying so I'm a little disappointed with that since that is its purpose. Also, the monogram (my initials) was supposed to be on the left barrel. It really is over the left hip instead and looks really odd. Overall, not thrilled with this one. I do love the SP deluxe blankets but this cooler misses the mark.
    Date published: 2015-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this a few weeks ago and haven't gotten to use it yet. However the quality is amazing for the price. I got an extra large for my 16.2 full bodied Quarter Horse. I had to make the belly strap as tight as it could go but the fit everywhere else is perfect. It will also be a great layering blanket for horse shows.
    Date published: 2015-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits great I bought 2 for my big boys. You can see the moisture on the outside of the cooler, amazing!
    Date published: 2015-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! I absolutely love this cooler! It is super quality and it nice to use every day or at horse shows. Size and colours were exactly how the website described. No complains about this product. Already recommended it to my coach and friends!!
    Date published: 2015-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great detail and price Bought for awards loved the value,detail and quality
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not meant for the long haul I bought this cooler for my mare, who is VERY easy on blankets, about a year and a half ago - excited to have found such a "great deal" on a cooler. Lesson learned. It has since lost it's tailcord (shredded at the pressure points), ripped inside on the nylon liner, and started to come apart at the "leather" (not real) piece that holds on the female end of the buckle. The belly band is also far too long, but that's not really been an issue.The fleece is also very thin, so if your horse is a blanket abuser, and you plan on letting them stand in this, you may want to steer away.I'll be purchasing a RAMBO or a Schneider's cooler when this falls apart this year.
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad I found these coolers I'm so happy I saw these coolers in the catalog. The price is great and the customer service was so friendly and cheerful. They fit our horses perfect and the small size fit's our large standard donkey really well too. Seriously a positive shopping experience buying these coolers. :-) Now the horses and donkey won't be chilled in the trailer after a ride. Thanks
    Date published: 2015-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made This cooler has been a essential cooling off my little mare after workout. It is really well made. I pasture board, so she has a pretty good winter coat already.
    Date published: 2015-11-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and cosy I am pleased overall with this cooler. It fits well and has a closing under the belly which was important to me. The color combo ( green/ wine/ white) is very attractive. I only wish the embroidered name had been centeredbetter over the belly. Otherwise no complaints.
    Date published: 2015-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fleece The SmartPack Fleece Cooler is everything I expected and more... it keeps my horse warm on a chilly day and washes well.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic cooler! I bought this cooler a few weeks ago and absolutely love it! My monogram looks fantastic and I am very happy with the quality of the fabric. Wicks the moisture away quickly and fits my horse well!
    Date published: 2015-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from innovative ideas I really like this cooler - works exactly the same as more expensive ones. I upgraded this cooler with a red&blue quilt (my mom in law helped a lot). The cooler looks even better!! :-) get the cooler and let your fantasy work :-) you can make any design you want on this cooler
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the SmartPak Fleece Cooler! Well made, ultra soft and great fit! Very happy with this product and so is our horse! He'll be cozy all winter in the cold of the Colorado mountains in his new fleece cooler...and so handsome!
    Date published: 2015-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Bought as a gift for my daughters blue roan pony. We purchased the black w gray piping. Looks great on him and fits him well.
    Date published: 2015-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful fleece Beautiful fleece cooler! Very soft and great fit! excited to use it this winter.
    Date published: 2015-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and easy to wash I bought this a month ago and have really liked it! It washes well and keeps my horse warm. It fits well too. Overall a great purchase!
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Quaility! Ordered item thru customer service, sight unseen. Beyond belivable quality.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems durable and has extra reinforcement. So far no pilling
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wicks moisture FAST! Bought this cooler to take to shows, however it works so well at wicking away moisture and heat from my horse, am buying another one for everyday barn use. I is a great product.
    Date published: 2015-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made & nice looking Got it embroidered with horse's name, looks nice on him or hanging on the door. Looks much more expensive than it was.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fleece Cooler Very nice product. I'm giving the coolers away for our year end High Point winners. The embroidery looks really good on the coolers. The winners should like these a lot.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and good fit!!! I needed a fleece cooler for my young horse to travel in. A friend had recently purchased this cooler and I was impressed by the quality/fit/ and price!!
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    • 2016-02-10T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_101
    • loc_en_US, sid_3879, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.