Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17378
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction.

Keep your horse warm and dry with the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout blanket! This blanket includes all of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers extra protection against the elements and winter drafts.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable
  • Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell
  • High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements
  • Two stainless steel quick clip front closures which can be adjusted to achieve the perfect fit
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps help to prevent the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain while helping to keep the blanket in place
  • Two stainless steel low cross belly surcingles
  • Imported

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6264 out of 5 by 174.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fitting blanket for those hard to fit horses This blanket was the right choice for a difficult to fit horse. I sought guidance from a SmartPak rep and she could not have been more helpful and importantly, accurate!
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket! Excellent price! I called and got great help on which blanket best fit my needs as far as price and needs of horses. Blankets came in about 7 days and I was very happy with what we chose! Blankets fit great and I have very different size horses, so was worried at least one would not work. All fit very good. Horses seem to be very comfortable also:). One of my horses actually lines up behind the other when blanket time comes.... I have to wonder if it's the blanket.... He didn't do this with his old blanket:)
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cozy! Bought this blanket last month after we leased a pony and the blankets he came with were in pretty rough shape. This is so cozy and the high neck is a great feature providing extra warmth from the wind. I think this medium is warmer than the heavy rambo he came with!
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful anf Functional! I just got this blanket out of the box and though sadly I have to send it back because I accidently ordered a size too small. I am very impressed with this blanket and am so excited to re-order it so by gelding can finally wear it. I would definitely recommend this blanket and next time I'm in need of a new blanket I know what I'm going to order.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from runs big but built well Bought this for my nearly 18hh 4YO TB who measures an 81" but has that tall, thin TB build. First purchased an 81" sheet and it was HUGE; may fit a larger breed that fills it out more perfectly. It was hanging off his haunches by inches, way too big. I sized down to 78" and it fits very well. He has only been wearing it a couple of weeks but so far it seems durable. He is turned out with 2 other horses and will likely give the blanket a good "test". Only issue so far is that a portion of the white piping trim near the front closure started coming off, but I trimmed it with scissors and it doesn't seem to be a problem any longer. Thank goodness SmartPak has free shipping both ways for sized items!
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly what I hoped for! I received this blanket today and immediately put it on my horse, as our nights are down in the 20s and low 30s now. The customer service rep recommended a 72, given the measurement of my 15.1 Trakehner/Arab gelding, and it fit perfectly. I rated it a good only because I have not had it long enough to judge durability, but as far as looks, quality of fill and workmanship, buckles and straps, this blanket is everything it is advertised to be, and the young lady who answered my questions could not have been more helpful and pleasant. I could not be more pleased.
    Date published: 2014-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous alternative to pricier options! Can't say enough great things about this turnout. I have a high withered, narrow chested 16H Arab and this fit him great. Plenty of room in the shoulders without being loose. Love the high neck feature which wasn't so stiff it "cut him off" when he had his neck up. He typically wears a 72 and that was the perfect length for him. Color and durability are great. IMO the only difference between this turnout and the Rambo WUG is the price and the hardware. The hardware on the Rambo seemed heavier and more durable. However, if you're looking for a more affordable alternative to the WUG style, I would definitely go with this one. I ended up returning this and buying the Rambo because of the Rambo warranty. I think if SmartPak offered their 10 year warranty plan with this turnout as they do with their Ultimate Turnout I would have made a different choice.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Warm! The blanket is beautiful and I love the high next future
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this sheet!! I have had this sheet for about 3 weeks now. I love it! I have been a "Horseware ONLY" person for the past 7 years with multiple horses because they have been the only kind that don't cause rub marks or bind in the chest. I decided to give this one a chance because of reviews I saw and I'm glad I did! I haven't had it long enough to attest to it's durability, but it fits my TB perfectly. He's been wearing it almost constantly for the past 3 weeks and even though he's freshly body clipped, he has no hair loss or blanket rubs even beginning. The waterproofing is great as well. I will be buying more of these for my other horses when needed!
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made. Nice product. Liked the neck a lot I bought this for my little quarter horse and it didn't fit him - it pulled across his chest and shoulders. The shoulder gussets needed to be 4-6 inches further forward and start an inch higher to fit him nicely. I returned it.
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Heavy Weight Blanket This was a very nice, well made heavy weight blanket but it did not fit my 16.2 big bodied Oldenburg gelding. The length (drop) was too short at the chest and barrel although the length from front to back was good. Sadly had to return and search for a style that might fit my guy better.
    Date published: 2014-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket for the price I bought two of these blankets and am very happy with them. One is for a senior horse with prominent withers. I am pleased to say that this blanket fits him very comfortably and does not rub him at all. The other blanket is for a young playful horse. His blanket also fits him well and does not shift when he romps around the paddock. I wish the blankets were an inch or two longer on the sides and offered the leg arches of some of the similar styles, but I am being picky. This is a great blanket for the price.
    Date published: 2014-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful sheet It fits great and keeps my horse warm on the not so cold nites and keeps him dry when we get an occasional rain!
    Date published: 2014-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I Haven't had a chance to use the blanket. The Fit is great and looks comfortable
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit, great quality I'm going to start out by saying I have a 17.3 roach backed full bodied chestnut Oldenburg mare to give you an idea of what I've got to deal with when picking out blankets. Basically she's tough to fit and picky...The quality of this blanket is top notch; I noticed that immediately. Also, with the warrantee I can't think of a better sheet on the market, either in this price range or jumping up another $100.It fits her well and I appreciate the leg straps being wide and stretchy. She's turned out for the entire day but I fully expect it to hold up to her paddock shenanigans.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wonderful Guy loves this Turnout Because of large, long shoulder and chest muscles from carriage driving combined with nice withers, my horse often has fitting issues, and clearly tells me which blankets he does not enjoy. He obviously Likes this one. Never an unhappily turned ear or a grumpy look when this one comes into the stall. His withers are comfortable now.... For me, the velcro at the chest is not generous enough in size, oddly placed and pretty much, ineffective. But that is the only negative I have with it. I am very pleased with it in every other respect. And it looks great!
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I love this blanet. Fits my large warmblood and the high neck design is awesome is the cold winter months.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket I've only used this blanket for a little while, but I'm pleased with how it fits my Quarab and the quality of the blanket. The feature that sold it me on it was the high neck. I live in the Pacific Northwet (err.Northwest!) :) and wanted to have something that would keep the rain out while not having a tight fit around the shoulders. Works just fine so far.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit Extremely happy with this blanket. The higher neck is The biggest plus. I am purchasing another in heavier weight for winter.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fitting blanket! Tommy says he loves the fit and feel of this new blanket! It fits my pointy withers well and still leaves ample room for my muscled butt! =) I love the high neck to keep me warm agains those nasty winds! Thanks for fitting a hard to fit TB!
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Love the easy front closure and the generous sizing. The elastic leg straps aren't bad like other reviews suggest. My horse always rolls and takes of running and bucking when turned out and i have no problems with the blanet staying in place. The only thing that could be improved is the velcro in the front, it just doesn't stay closed. I have always had rambo rugs and these are just as nice. I absolutely love the blanket (and the price!). I am very happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality and toasty warm I bought this in October to get our boys through the fall "in between" days and I love these blankets!! They are very high quality and the high neck is great for those 40-50 degree days (ours are all clipped). The front clips make these a snap to put on. Love them!
    Date published: 2014-11-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holds Up to the Wyoming Wind!! I have a 14.3 hand Arabian and he is 6 years old. Which means he is still growing in the chest department. On top of that and having high withers and a sloping shoulder, lead me to the high neck feature of this blanket. He is very active and this blanket does stay in place well. I love where the gussets are placed as well. All of the reviews state that this blanket runs a bit large and after a great conversation with a customer service rep, that all know their products, I decided on the horse instead of the pony and am glad that I did! So far I have only had to use this once in a light snow/rain storm with 30 mile an hour winds, the blanket did great!!
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from looks good haven't yet used it, but it looks like it will keep my old paint gelding from the weather. We live in northern Michigan, with severe winter weather and my horses are in/out in all kinds of weather. The high neck will help keep him warm.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality! My TB looks so handsome in his new turnout. Nice quality hardware and seems to fit him well. Runs a little bit on the large side.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The blanket is really first quality. Everything about it is perfect, except the sizing does not fit my mare---the 81 too small, the 84 too big. So I have had to return it. When I get my new horse, you can be assured I will purchase one of your blankets---I especially like the High Neck feature--- it really helps, especially with older horses who tend to be arthritic.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit and perfect price! I haven't had the chance to use this in cold weather yet, but the fill is spectacular. Not too much for those Southern temperatures, but enough that I won't be layering constantly. I can already tell this is going to be a durable blanket for my ultra-active warmblood mare. Her pasture mate loves to rip them apart, but I suspect she won't have such an easy time with this one. When I tried it on, I was worried about it being snug on her potato-like build, but it has plenty of movement through the shoulder and hip. I am very pleased!!
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit Love that I finally found a sheet that fits my 16.1h TB with high withers. Went through five others before I found this one that all were either gaping at the neck or tight on his shoulders - and he's not a big guy, only about 1200lbs when in top condition. This one fits him everywhere and no mane rubs yet. Only issue is that the leg surcingles are completely elastic, so in order to be durable Smartpak had to use a heavier elastic and it is very bulky. There on clips on both ends to I am going to remove the ones that came with is and add some others that work better.
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I needed Just got this blanket about a month ago and it had every feature I was looking for at a very reasonable price. High neck, turnout, open front, tail flap, reasonable price, right sizes, and back leg straps. What more could I ask? Fits beautifully, stays in place, the black looks nice all the time. Unfortunately didn't get to use it for long because the weather turned to spring!
    Date published: 2014-05-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I bought this sheet for my Warmblood gelding. It looked great but unfortunately it didn't fit my guy very well. Too tight around the shoulders. I had to return it. I would recommend it for a narrow chested horse.
    Date published: 2014-04-24
    • 2015-05-22T07:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_168
    • loc_en_US, sid_7378, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.