Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout

SmartPak
- Item #17378

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction.

Keep your horse warm and dry with the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout blanket! This blanket includes all of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers extra protection against the elements and winter drafts.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable
  • Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell
  • Lite (no fill), Medium (220g) Heavy (360g)
  • High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements
  • Two stainless steel quick clip front closures which can be adjusted to achieve the perfect fit
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps help to prevent the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain while helping to keep the blanket in place
  • Two stainless steel low cross belly surcingles
  • Imported

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout is rated 4.6473 out of 5 by 224.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, great blanket! I love the fit of the high neck turnouts. This is my first year getting away from the standard fit blanket and changing to this style. Fits my fast growing yearling very well and there is lots of room for adjustment as she grows. Also keeps her very dry, hasn't soaked through or wicked in from the edges like all of the other blankets I've used in the past.
    Date published: 2015-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Just bought my first Smart Pak blankets this year and so far am very happy. They fit very nicely and stay put on the horses out in the pasture. So far, no rubs and they seem to be pretty comfortable for the horses. Like the weight of them too. They aren't too heavy but keep them plenty warm enough.
    Date published: 2015-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good price and durable I have 2 versions of this blanket: the medium fill for my pony and a no fill to serve as a rain sheet for my older gelding. Both fit very well. I've not had rubs, and the pony's has lasted a year looking good as new despite his constant rubbing.
    Date published: 2015-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I bought the sheet earlier this year as it was in our barn colors and I have a TB so I wanted to get the high neck. I loved the fit so much that I ordered the other two blankets for the winter. My horse measures an 80, but I chose to order the 78 and it fits him perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in everyway. I was searching for a blanket that would not only provide warmth and protection from the rain but mostly I was looking for comfort as my old Arabian has a short body with high withers. I love everything about this blanket; easy on and off, full protection and my horse doesn't just tolerate this blanket, he actually seems to love wearing it.
    Date published: 2015-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality made, definitely water proof! Love this sheet! We recently had a day of 20 hours of rain. My horses go in and out of their stalls and shelters so on went their rain sheets. My mare was 100% dry whereas the other horses were wet in sections under theirsheets. The other 3 brands are well-known brands, but did not stand up to Smartpak.In addition, my mare is a diva and is very picky about the fit of her blanket. If she's not 100% comfortable she lets me know. I'm happy to say she has not complained about this sheet yet!Double thumbs up to Smartpak!
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice! Seems to be pretty sturdy and I love the color. If it holds up well through the winter I will be buying more next year!
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I love the high neck on this well fitting blanket.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket We bought this blanket for our large warmblood as a light weight turn out. It fits great, looks really sharp, breathes well and is a good price. Seems durable as well but we turnout individually so not sure how it would handle other horses biting at it. Very happy with the purchase.
    Date published: 2015-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great blanket for the money! All of my horses have one of these blankets. They wear well and offer good coverage. My only wish is for a faster solution than leg straps for taking on and off.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit for the high-withered Previously, I have been buying Rambo's exclusively for my big, very high-withered warmblood because they are the only blankets I have tried that do not give him rubs and pull/bind on his withers. I am pleased to report that SmartPak's Deluxe High Neck T/O also fits my horse great and for a significantly better price. Can't comment on the durability, it's only been in use a few weeks, but the workmanship looks very solid.
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think we have a winner ! This blanket fits my stocky Quarter Horse very well. There seems to be no pressure points over the withers, nor on the point of her shoulders. The length of the drop is just right,too. The color is nice, though it was not a deciding factor on whether or not I made the purchase. I'm only curbing my enthusiasm because I haven't yet tested it's waterproof promises. Presuming it's waterproof, I will upgrade my rating to Five Stars.
    Date published: 2015-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket and Very Durable I bought this blanket for my 16.1 1/2 H bigger bodied thoroughbred. It for very well, but as he needed up more it rubbed a little so I bought a sleezy and it didn't rub anymore. Very durable, I have had 0 repairs and it was worn on him basically 24/7 in the winter and he lives out with 5 other geldings. It kept him dry through the crazy NY winters that are always really rainy and extra wet snow. I'm buying this same blanket again for my new horse, I LOVE. it.P.s. I bought the heavy weight
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from beautiful, but does not fit! A friend bought this blanket for me and my horse. He is an average sized 16hh OTTB, hes not wide by any means. Every blanket I get is a size 78 and fits him well. Needless to say we got a 78. The blanket is BEAUTIFUL, I was so excited to get it! HOWEVER it does not fit his front at all. Its wayyy too narrow and the space for his neck is way too tight. It pushes down on the top of his neck a lot. When the blanket is buckled its too narrow in the chest, so much so that he wouldnt even be able to put his neck down without choking or braking the blanket snaps... The rest of the blanket fits perfectly, its very odd. Unfortunately this blanket is getting returned...
    Date published: 2015-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet Very happy with it. I have a blanket with light fill as well. Keeps my horse happy until his bug sheet goes on. He likes the feeling of pressure on his chest and seems more relaxed when wearing something high necked.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I am new to horses so I never owned a blanket. I bought the heavy weight and medium weight at the beginning of winter and I am so glad I did! I live in southern IL and occasionally the windchill factor can be 40 below zero! My horse is a dominant mare, loves to boss other horses, loves to roll in anything. These blankets held up perfectly!!! At the end of the season I brushed them off, hosed them down, put them in the washer and dryer - and they still look like new!!!
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive and sturdy I've had this blanket for awhile now and not only is it gorgeous, but my horse has been unable to destroy it. Looks great, kept him warm throughout a rough New England winter, and is as sturdy as competitors' blankets that are twice the price!
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice blanket I haven't washed it yet. I hope the loft in the blanket does not mat down.
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I bought this blanket about a month ago, to fit one of my geldings who has prominent withers, causing running and poor fit. This blanket was absolutely the perfect solution. This neck on the blanket goes much further up the horse's neck, solving the issue of other blankets falling way behind this horse's withers, and causing irritation and rubbing. As well as this blanket style helped solve our particular fitting issue, I feel like this style blanket would suit any horse. This blanket has the great options as most Smart Pak's blankets do-My favorite being the so-easy-to-buckle chest snaps. GREATEST FEATURE, EVER!! Thank you, SmartPak, for once again delivering an excellent product.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality and great fit This blanket is one of the few that fits my large warmblood. Fantastic quality with many features (i.e. rubber surcingle spacer locks). Very fairly priced with outstanding SpartPak shipping and service
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the turtleneck Perfect weight, great colors, turtleneck keeps my horse warm
    Date published: 2015-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Turnout, Nice Fit... I bought this in the no-fill in the 84" to replace an aging Rambo for a 4 and a half year old Oldenburg gelding who is 17 hands or more and still growing. I liked the fit, at least for now. This horse is still a little bit lanky, but has a large chest and very deep girth. The blanket covered adequately on his side and fit his chest on the largest setting, so no room to expand, but okay through the spring. The length was good and the blanket did not appear snug, he looked comfortable. The high neck fit well with a little bit of room. He is a ruiner of turnouts, both his and his little herd of mares, so time will tell about that aspect. This blanket fits him the same as his old Rambo, so it does run generous, however, I probably could have gone up a size. If this works out, I will replace the mare's turnouts over time with the same item. The hardware seems fine, including the leg straps. The velcro in the front won't stick well as soon as some hair gets in it, but I can live with that for the price.
    Date published: 2015-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the picky horse I have been using this blanket for this winter season, almost every day for 24/7 turnout. My thin-skinned TB who doesn't grow hair has been quite comfortable in the heavy weight. The high neck seems to take all the pressure off her sensitive withers and I am happy to report no mane rubbing! The quality is excellent, very waterproof even in sleet and rain, and brushes completely clean easily. I also like how it is not tight over the shoulder and yet doesn't shift. Runs true to size. Would highly recommend, especially for the price! I am looking to purchase it in the no fill weight since I am so happy with it!
    Date published: 2015-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage. Had to size up for my big Oldenburg Mare, as it was too snug in the neck. Went from 84 to 87. But bought it to go over her turnouts for extra protection from wet and wind.Very pleased with the quality.
    Date published: 2015-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I have 6 horses in the pasture and they are very hard on each others blankets. This one has held up very well. I love the fit and the higher neck. I will buy two more for my other horses.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality Love the blanket!! It is such good quality and fits most of my horses body shape really well.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, perfect weight. I first purchased two of these high neck blankets in Medium weight for two different horses... one a still gangly 4 yo and the other a hefty warmblood. Each fits fantastically. I've since purchased three more of them in heavy weight... for the same two horses and the third for a thoroughbred. Fit is great on the third horse too. I favor high necks and these especially sit comfortably vs. binding down as some other high necks I've owned. The warmth factor for the mediums and the heavy are exactly what I would have expected. Love this blanket.
    Date published: 2015-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and great look! This is the 2nd of these blankets I've bought and I haven't been disappointed yet. They look awesome and they fit great as well. They also go on and off easily. My teen daughter who is only 4'11" can easily manage putting on and taking it off of her 16 hand appendix quarter horse. Love the high neck especially if windy with rain or snow blowing. Another great product from Smartpak!
    Date published: 2015-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around quality I am very happy with this sheet. The shoulder gussets are deep enough for movement without rubs, and the high neck keeps the rain from running down the neck and behind the withers. It seems like it is built to last through rain and muddy rolls.
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket, fits well I bought this blanket for my tb/warmblood cross and it fits very well. Seems well made and sturdy.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    • 2016-02-10T14:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_216
    • loc_en_US, sid_7378, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.