Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Classic Turnout

SmartPak
- Item #17374
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

You're sure to love this blanket for its classic styling and durable manufacturing at a price that can't be beat!

Favorite Features 

  • Waterproof and breathable 600 denier outer shell is durable and designed to keep your horse dry and protected
  • Nylon lining with the choice of three different weights - Lite (no fill), Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g) so you can keep your horse warm in any weather 
  • Two buckles for simple front closure and
  • Stainless steel low cross surcingles keep the blanket in place
  • Elastic leg straps ensure comfort and flexibility  
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain and also helps the blanket stay in place 
  • Fleece wither protection helps ward off blanket rubs

Imported.

Please note:  We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    A blanket where the bells and whistles come ...
    Description:
    A blanket where the bells and whistles come standard. Extremely well constructed, waterproof 600 Denier rip-stop exterior has reinforced heat-sealed seams and rear darts that are tailored not just folded over. Favorite Features Waterproof VELCRO brand and double buckle closure ...
    The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Combo Neck Turnout made Exclusively ...
    Description:
    The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Combo Neck Turnout made Exclusively for SmartPak offers Weatherbeeta quality at a great price, in a fun, new color only available at SmartPak. This blanket features a high-neck cut providing extra coverage and warmth. Favorite Features Medium weight has ...
    Big D quality and features in this top ...
    Description:
    Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic ...
    Description:
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, nylon lined shoulders, fleece at withers, two surcingels. 640 Denier. 440 fiberfill. Navy blue with hunter green trim and white piping. Turnout: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, ...
    Battle the elements this winter with our toughest ...
    Description:
    Battle the elements this winter with our toughest new neck rug, SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug. Heavy-duty nylon: Originally developed for flak jackets worn by soldiers in WWII to protect them from flying debris, this special weave of nylon is ultra ...
    Top of the line features that no other ...
    Description:
    Top of the line features that no other blankets have! The waterproof 1200 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor. Favorite Feature Waterproof ...
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Turnout is rated 4.5915 out of 5 by 142.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fits well I bought this product a month ago when it was colder here. I thought it would be heavier - it's more like a heavy sheet than a blanket but it will work great when the weather warms up.
    Date published: 2016-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sometimes Simple is Better! I bought this blanket for my older mare about 2 months ago. At first is was the wrong size and then exchanged it for a size bigger. It is super simple and easy to fix to fit her. She has a really thick coat but needed something when it got below freezing cold. It does exactly what I needed it to do and didn't break my bank. Thanks SmartPak for another great blanket!!!
    Date published: 2016-01-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quick turnaround shipping The blanket arrived 2 days earlier than predicted, just before a cold snap! Merri was warm and grateful. Unfortunately, she got a hoof caught in the rear surcingle and tore out all the stitching. I was able to hold it together until we get a bit of sunshine, but I'm disappointed in the stitching.
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! It's wonderful when you can find that perfect fit!
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and warm without being heavy! Seems to be a great blanket! Would definitely recommend this blanket!
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as it used to be I originally purchased a Classic Turnout sheet 3 years ago. What a great sheet! It has held up wonderfully. I purchased another one a couple weeks ago. I am somewhat disappointed in it. The fabric is not as substantial as my old one and although both the old and new one are 72", the new one is smaller and did not fit my horse. The sheet was on sale and I had a coupon, so it was very inexpensive. Since I have another, smaller horse who can wear it, I decided to keep it. It did keep her dry during a downpour earlier in the week. As it's still new it will be interesting to see if it holds up as well as the older sheet.
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fut! I ordered a size 81" for my warmblood and it fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my horse perfectly! I am very happy with the quality. Highly recommend
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit Love this blanket. Perfect fit, perfect weight, Perfect Price!
    Date published: 2015-11-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very helpful! I bought this a few weeks ago. I've never purchased a blanket before so I called customer service and asked a few questions. They were extremely helpful! The blanket is made of very high quality fabric and so warm. I even consider wearing it myself!
    Date published: 2015-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great! I love this blanket! Fits my narrow horse great, true to size. Only thing I don't like is that it has no d rings for a neck cover.
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket, great value! I bought this turnout sheet this past winter. I was looking for a while for something to fit my large Belgian mare. She had already grown her own nice winter coat, so this turnout sheet was the perfect fit- both in the way it fit her body, & in its protection against rain & wind. It isn't filled so it is very easy to throw over a very tall horse! It is cut very generously & I love the big tail flap & Velcro closure on the chest in addition to the two buckles. I bought it in the largest size it comes in & am very pleased. ♥ Smartpak!
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic Fit! I love the way this Blanket fits. It stays put, my horse moves freely and can eat off the ground comfortably. My only wish is that it had surcingles or snaps instead of buckles at the chest.
    Date published: 2015-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still looks new! Here in the Pacific Northwest I have gone through many blankets touted as waterproof only to be sorely disappointed when my horse came back to the barn soaked to the skin. Not with the SmartPak blanket! It has weathered several downpours and deluges. Horse is dry! Wow.
    Date published: 2015-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great! I bought this early this winter, my horse has worn it just about every day and it still looks new! I was worried at first because it is only 600D, but it has held up better than any of my 1200D blankets and it's my only blanket that is still waterproof.The only thing I wish this blanket had was D rings to attach a neck cover to. It fits my horse perfectly and I love the burgundy color!!
    Date published: 2015-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice all around blanket I bought this blanket for my Thoroughbred as a back up to his regular blanket and it turns out I use it all the time! It fits him great and stands up to group turnout. I would definitely recommend this blanket.
    Date published: 2015-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Arabians! I have a 15.1 hand Arab gelding who has been very difficult to fit with a blanket. His back is short, his ribs well-sprung, with a normal (not Quarter Horse) chest. Most blankets and sheets simply fit wrong. I even tried a "Hug" style, but it kept slipping around! This sheet fits, is heavy-duty enough to not slip around, and is just right to protect against rain and wind. (Here in the VA Shenandoah Valley it can be a wind tunnel, with wind chill significant.) He has a good winter coat, so I am using it until the temps drop to snow-level or lower. One more plus: I prefer a rear strap rather than leg straps: this one's rings are high enough that I will be able to convert it to a rear strap if I want to! This is my first try with a SmartPak brand blanket. I plan on purchasing a heavy-duty (warmer blanket with filling) SmartPak when his current warm blanket gives out (ie. before next winter.) Five starts!
    Date published: 2015-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 'smart' blanket! This is a high quality waterproof blanket that keeps Gary dry and protects from the wind.It fits him nicely and looks great .I want to buy another for colder weather
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy and styling Great blanket. Love the color! Good fit and ease of movement
    Date published: 2015-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable Quality I bought this as a xmas present for our horse. The color is rich so our boy looks handsome in it. It seems good quality. He's been wearing it every day since then. It was an affordable price.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet for the price Great sheet for the price. It has nice features such as the extra protection over the surcingle attachment and the shoulder gussets. I bought a second one for another horse who was outgrowing his old one.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smartpak classic turnout blanket Nice quality, fits good, it's not too heavy. I love the color and so far no shoulder rubbing.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit! I bought this blanket almost two months ago. All of the straps allow you to fit the blanket perfectly to your horse. My horse tends to be rough with his blankets, and so far this one has been super sturdy!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality. Fit. Price. I bought this blanket for my tb gelding to use for turnout on those colder mornings. It fits true to size, is comparable quality to a high brand blanket, and was on sale at an amazing price! The front has a velcro closure, as well as two regular buckles. The belly straps are well stitched, and the leg straps are solid! I am so thrilled about this purchase. I wish I bought two. TWO THUMBS UP!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the price! My horse needed a lighter weight blanket that he could wear during rainy or very windy days. This blanket meets his needs wonderfully. Generous cut and could have gone down a size but liked it so much I didn't want to wait to exchange it.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well designed to fit the horse. This is a well made, good looking blanket. It's easy to put on because it's flexible and the front straps are soft and actually fit in the keepers. I like them better than snap hooks!!! The surcingles are attached low and this gives the blanket stability and durability. I want another one but it seems it's been discontinued.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific turnout! I bought the sheet version of this turnout a year ago and I liked it so much that when it came time to replace my gelding's worn-out heavyweight turnout this year, the SmartPak high-neck turnout was an obvious choice. With more adjustability through the chest and deep shoulder gussets, this blanket allows my high-withered, retired TB more freedom of movement than his old Rambo wug did. It hasn't rubbed him anywhere, and the fit is deep enough to cover his sides and belly. (For reference, I ordered a 78" for my 1,050-pound, 15.3h TB). He is turned out 24/7 with access to his stall, and I am pleased to say that the turnout has held up very well in these conditions. It's a great high-quality alternative to pricier wugs, and I will definitely consider getting one for my other horse when the time comes to replace her blankets, too.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect weight I bought this sheet for my mare who tends to sweat under blankets. It offers her protection from the rain without making her overly warm.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket for a great price I have several of these blankets now and am confident of the quality. The only draw backs I have found are the fit around the neck can be sloppy on narrow horses, and there is no label on the blanket indicating weight, making it hard to distinguish between the mid weight and heavy weight once they are in use. But the best thing about Smart Pak blankets is the great staff and a company that stands behind their products.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor performer This fit my broad-chested TB like it was made for him, and it looked great, so I was quite excited. The first rain - just an off-and-on drizzly day - it was fine. The second day - actual rain most of the day - it soaked completely through, neck to tail. It was going to rain again in a couple days (no time to get a new sheet!) so I washed and waterproofed it. Again seems to work OK in drizzles, but the next real rain saw water seeping through. I know it's a low denier, but it is NOT waterproof, and apparently can't be truly waterproofed. Also, got a small tear in the second use that the ripstop worked to stop it (only about an inch long). But on the fifth wear, about an 8" strip tore out. It's a low denier on clearance, there's a reason.... The highlight was SmartPak's customer service!!! They were excellent to me when I complained about this product. So I'm disappointed with this product, but still a loyal customer and happy with the brand overall.
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    • 2016-04-30T16:46CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_133
    • loc_en_US, sid_7374, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders