Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Classic Fly Mask

SmartPak
- Item #21109
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what your horse needs to keep summer's pests at bay at a price you'll love!

Favorite Features

  • Durable PVC mesh that holds its shape and keeps flys off your horse's sensitive face 
  • Soft mesh ears provides extra protection from pests in sensitive areas  
  • Fleece edging ensures a comfortable fit on the horse's face
  • Wide VELCRO® brand closure keeps the mask securely in place

Imported

Sizing It Up

Cob, Horse.

Customers Also Shopped For
Soft but tough technical polyester mesh allows for ...
Description:
Soft but tough technical polyester mesh allows for maximum air flow to keep your horse cool in the summer, whileProtecting your horse from flies and sun bleaching. Favorite Features Provides 70%+ UVProtection Adjustable belly wrap Freestyle Tail Flap offer full ...
The environmental solution to pesky flies! Fly Predators ...
Description:
The environmental solution to pesky flies! Fly Predators are beneficial insects and the natural enemy of flies. These insectsnever bother humans or animals but feed on fly larvae to interrupt thebreeding cycle of flies.Sprinkle on manure areasmonthly to control fly ...
The KensingtonProtective Sheet provides maximumProtection from biting insects, ...
Description:
The KensingtonProtective Sheet provides maximumProtection from biting insects, cuts, and rubs. This sheet providesProtection for up to 78% of UV rays. Favorite Features 1000 x 2000 denier Withstands fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear, even in the most ...
TheWilker's Combo-Quilt Wraps are the best! They stay ...
Description:
TheWilker's Combo-Quilt Wraps are the best! They stay put, last FOREVER and offer great support. Favorite Features 50/50 broadcloth top with 100% cotton flannel underside Quilted over " foam Available in a variety of colors to match your barn colors ...
Ultrashield Green offers a natural, eight hour insect ...
Description:
Ultrashield Green offers a natural, eight hour insect repellent proven to be effective. FavoriteFeatures Repels and controls biting flies, mosquitoes and gnats Can be used on horses, ponies, foals and dogs Eco-Safe for the entire family Not oily or greasy. ...
TheBlue Ribbon Fly Sheet isahome staple that now ...
Description:
TheBlue Ribbon Fly Sheet isahome staple that now has horse show appeal! This super durable 17 x 11 Denier textilene mesh fabric provides 80% UVProtection to prevent coat bleaching and will actually keep your horse cooler in the hot sun. ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is rated 4.156424581005586 out of 5 by 179.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mask, slightly large ears I bought this within the last few weeks and I love it! It fits my OTTB gelding great. The ears are a bit big, but I don't mind as I'd rather have too big than too small!
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it I bought cause it was a light color, stays on my mare well.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just What I Needed Finally, a fly mask that doesn't rub my mare's face AND she cannot get it off. The quality is great and there is plenty of room around the eyes so no more rubs. The wide velcro keeps the fly mask on her face. Smartpak must have listened to everyone's complaints and designed a fly mask to solve them. Also great value for the price.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems fairly durable, but fits odd Purchased this about a week ago for my boy. A lot of people complain about the ears being very large.. They are larger than typical flymasks, but my horse has gigantic ears, so that's good for me! However, it (horse size) just barely fits around his jaw, it also sits sort of high on his nose, BUT.. He does have a very long face. Overall, it seems durable, and I managed to get it to fit, so I would definitely suggest it to other with normal or petite horse heads. It would be great if they made it in oversized without changing the fit of the ears!
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fit Nice fit and nice material. Pretty durable but I noticed the ears were getting a little fuzzy from normal wear, but I'd buy one again.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits well! I bought this for my TB who has a big head and small ears! The mask fits perfectly (other than the ears are too big!). I really like the double velcro to help it stay on, he's the only one that never seen gets it off in the field!
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of the fly masks! This is, by far, the best fly mask we have tried. The Velcro is exceptionally strong and so far the mask has held up to 24 hr use with no fraying, tearing, or wear. I will definitely be buying more of these for the rest of the horses in our barn.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizing is Weird I tired both the cob size and the horse size and they both did not fit my horse so I returned both. My horse usually has a cob sized head and the velcro on both was way too small. The length of the velcro is the same on both the horse and cob size and the ears are way too big.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays put! This is the first fly mask that my mare can't get off!
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great new smart pak product Bought these fly masks for my three horses. Love the extra wide Velcro.. Horses can't rub the off. Thanks smartpak
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice mask, but runs very small This mask is tough and has a very secure closure, BUT it does not fit on any of my horses. I had to improvise an extension on the jaw closure which is not very secure, so I have to go find it in the pasture often (so the white color actually helps!).
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice mask, but didn't fit my horse I'm disappointed that this mask didn't fit -- it was too tight in the jowl -- because I wanted to like it. It looked to be decent construction, and I really liked the extra-wide Velcro closure. But the fit was off. A friend said it fits her Quarter Horse's wedge-shaped head perfectly. If that describes the shape of your horse's head, then you might find this mask worth a try.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits great! I love the way this fits my horse, but he is hard on things and within 3 days had ripped a hole in one of the ears. On the plus side, he hasn't been able to ditch it out in the pasture! It stays on!
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Been using daily for a while, so far so good! The velcro is good quality and the mesh is great. I love the ear coverings too, however, even on my beefy QH gelding, the horse size mask is way big. He's only slipped it off once so far, but the tips of the ears hang off and he makes a great jester, but not the look I was going for. It still fits around the throat latch fine, and has tons of room around the eyes, which isn't a bad thing, and fits well around the muzzle. I got it monogrammed and was confused because it doesn't actually say anywhere the location of the monogram for this product, but for those wondering, it goes horizontal on the bottom of the nose band portion of the mask, and it came out great. I like it overall, though the size isn't perfect, I fear the Cob size wouldn't have worked either so i'll stick with it.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used to love it- go back to original sizing Please go back to original sizing. The ears are now huge but the area around the jaw/face is way smaller. I loved this fly mask before but the new one I cant even close. Would have been 5 stars like I reviewed last time had sizing not changed. It was the only mask my horse cannot get off and has lasted over a year.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits great! I bought this for my OTT STB who has a long narrow nose, and it fits her well. She hasn't gotten it off yet.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Great strap and good material. Stays put on the most excitable horses. Ears run large
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stays on well I have 3 quarter horses and so far they have not been able to get these off even when their neighbor tries to help. That extra big velcro is great! They are a bit snug around the cheeks and yes the ears are comical but they are staying on which is most important to me. Please add an inch to the throat and take an inch from the ears. If there was one that would fit my ottb 's gigantiac head I would buy it!
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems Sturdy My gelding is pretty good at ruining fly masks, but this one seems like it will be pretty sturdy. The only thing is that the ears are pretty long, but this doesn't affect the function for him.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not true to size I purchased these fly masks back in 2012 and love love them and they are just starting to show wear and tear so I figured it was time to buy new ones. I purchase Horse size the first time so I purchased Horse size this time. The masks did not even come close to fitting my horses........way to small!!!!! The velcro would not even touch. I contact Smartpak and sent them pictures of how the old masks fit and how the new ones fit to see if they may have been market wrong. They said they would contact the manufacture to ask. They did refund my money for all four masks however I said I really don't want my money back I want the fly masks because I loved them. I have not been contacted back from them in regards to what the manufacture said so I guess I have to go through the painful process of finding new fly masks that where as good as these where.BEWARE OF SIZING ~ all four of my horses did not fit the new masks but fit the old ones......confused and disappointed!!!!
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small but well made. The mask was too tight for my warmblood, but put on my rescue thoroughbred with a smaller face.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Secure Velcro This fly mask has lasted longer than any other so far.6 weeks and I can still use it. My horse's neighbor is notorious for destroying fly masks and he has been unable to tear it off. The Velcro holds but he has now torn he mesh from the stitching. Oh well. The price will allow me to buy several throughout the summer.The fit is funky. I have large horses and,the jowl was tight and the ears were huge. Both of my guys looked like jesters
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and durability at a great price It is made to last and takes the elements while being a good price
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good! As others have said, unless your horse has giant ears, he is going to look like a total goofball in this fly mask (i.e. court jester). However, my Houdini of a paint has not been able to get this off thanks to the super strong Velcro under the chin, so who cares if he looks a little special in it?! There is some wear showing on the ears after only a few days (he probably rubbed it in an effort to get it off unsuccessfully). Time will tell how durable it is, as Ollie will put it to the test! I read in the Q&A that this mask blocks 95% of UV rays - if that's true, awesome, but add it to the product description! That's a HUGE selling point for those of us with white faced horses without pigment around their sensitive eyes. Also, a long nose option would be great!
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Classic fly mask Purchased this a few months ago. Unfortunately, my horse has already lost the mask, but it fit ok. Liked the fly mask but wish the ears were made of a different material as hay easily stuck to it.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask I bought these just as bug season was starting. I am really glad I did.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Large ears I bought this fly mask in the standard size for my 17h OTTB. He has small ears for his size, but the ears on this mask are HUGE on him. He looks like Yoda with the extra fabric hanging off the sides of his ears. Overall I'm happy with the rest of it and I am keeping it. The face fit him well. If your horse has big ears, don't worry about fit!
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Fit The features and fit are good. Smartpak rep. was helpful and great guarantee. I'm hoping this will hold up through the summer. Good product for the price. Speedy delivery.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Funky ears, but it works! The long ears make my horse look a bit like a jester, but it stays on very well. I especially like the wide, double closure velcro. Wish it came in a long nose version.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, stays put Bought this for my gelding with a large head and it fit him wonderfully. The Velcro is wide and helps this mask stay in place, ears are roomy and it is the right amount of stiffness to keep off the face. This is a high quality flymask.
Date published: 2016-05-14
  • 2016-07-29T11:03CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_171
  • loc_en_US, sid_11109, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders