Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Classic Fly Mask

SmartPak
- Item #21109

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what your horse needs to keep summer's pests at bay at a price you'll love!

Favorite Features

  • Durable PVC mesh that holds its shape and keeps flys off your horse's sensitive face 
  • Soft mesh ears provides extra protection from pests in sensitive areas  
  • Fleece edging ensures a comfortable fit on the horse's face
  • Wide VELCRO® brand closure keeps the mask securely in place

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Cob, Horse.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Genero Fly Sheet made Exclusively for SmartPak is made from a lightweight polyester mesh that keeps your horse protected from flies and insects. Favorite Features Lightweight mesh perfect for warm climates Singular chest strap Belly Band ...
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece ...
    Description:
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene fabric, a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable. It's made to withstand tough outdoor use. The densely woven ...
    A natural way to condition coats and repel ...
    Description:
    A natural way to condition coats and repel bugs! When you want to avoid harsh chemical pesticides,Wahna Win Super Fly Spray is a safe, natural choice for fly and insect control. The unique blend of oilsincludes catnip, argan, citronella, thyme, ...
    Ultrashield Green offers a natural, eight hour insect ...
    Description:
    Ultrashield Green offers a natural, eight hour insect repellent proven to be effective. Favorite Features Repels and controls biting flies, mosquitoes and gnats Can be used on horses, ponies, foals and dogs Eco-Safe for the entire family Not oily or ...
    Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader ...
    Description:
    Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet Ride protecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride. Favorite Features Same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader&trade pasture fly mask ...
    Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect ...
    Description:
    Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more! Favorite Features Designed for comfort with soft durable materials and fully lined seams Provides UV protection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily ...
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features ...
    Description:
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features double fastening VELCRO Brand closure with heavy elastic neck strap for safety and double eye darts for maximum room in the eye area. Favorite Features Full mesh coverage of the ears, lined ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is rated 4.1935 out of 5 by 124.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable! We bought these for our 2 year old colts who like to lose and destroy flymask. They have had them for 2 months and they are still holding up well. The only thing about these mask that make them four stars and not five is that the ears are overly big.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well-made and durable. This mask is sturdy and stays on well! My only complaint is that the ears are too long.
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Mask I have had I love this fly mask and allMy horses keep them on and they are very durable
    Date published: 2015-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable! Mac can see much better at night with this fly mask and it is does not rub on his eyes. Super fly mask!
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great velcro! A boarder bought this mask a year ago it worked great and is still completely intact. Heavy duty velco keeps the mask on and fitted well.
    Date published: 2015-09-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unique fit This mask has a strange fit I bought a horse size for my paint who wears a cob bridle and it was really tight on his cheeks
    Date published: 2015-09-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wanted to love this Loved the material and fit, but lasted less than 24 hours:( my mare is not even hard on fly masks, but apparently she needed to scratch her ear which caused a huge hole.
    Date published: 2015-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this fly mask It's doesn't come off! Finally my horse can't take it off in the stall because it stays in so great. The Velcro underneath his chin is the best quality I've seen yet on a fly mask.... Very durable
    Date published: 2015-08-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Broke on day 2, but is still functional I bought this about a week ago and by day two, one of the velcrow straps looked like the stitching had come unraveled and came off. Since there are two velcrow straps, the mask can still be secured on...the fit is great on my tb/warmblood. I would have given it five stars if it weren't for the velcrow!
    Date published: 2015-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value, True to size Great quality, love the softness to it. Great value, very comparable to the other brands on the market but with a great guarantee. Thank you
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from too big Bought this for a warmblood and still too big...not workable
    Date published: 2015-08-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way Too Big! At the time of purchase, this was the only fly mask with ear protection that was on sale. Because of how bad the flies are this time of year, I was very anxious to get this on my horse ASAP once it arrived. When I first pulled it out of the packing, I was shocked at how HUGE it was! It looked like it was meant to fit on a draft sized horse. After fitting it to my horse, I quickly realized the ears are MUCH too long and need to be cut down to size. Because of the misperportional size, this fly mask makes my horse look absolutely ridiculous. After a few days of wear, I've come to notice that the mask has started to rub my horse's cheek bones raw. Unfortunately, I'll have to keep using this mask until I can find a replacement. Needless to say I'm not impressed and I'm extremely disappointed in the quality (even with the sale price!). I will say that the material feels very strong and durable and the Velcro is very sticky.
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sticks like glue I put this on my horse that always gets out of his fly mask. So far he has only got it off once. The Velcro is really strong. The ears are a bit long but not much of a problem. My horse seems happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-08-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from SmartPak fly mask Nice quality but too small for average horse in the horse size. I had to return it.
    Date published: 2015-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually stays on! My mare always itches her head against my gelding and manages to rub her fly mask off but this one stays on. The Velcro is very tight!
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It does the job The ears on our other fly mask got all torn up. This mask is mad of better material. I love the double hool-and-loop closure. My only issue with that is the first closure barely fits his jowl, the second one is big enough to secure the mask.
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable! This mask is everything it was advertised to be. I wish it had a place for the forelock to come through, and was just a little lighter fabric. But when you make the fabric lighter you sacrifice durability. The Velcro is great, and holds securely. I prefer the Cashel masks, but for the price I would recommend this mask!
    Date published: 2015-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sturdy velcro strap I usually use the Crusader mask with ears. My guy is four, rolls a lot and if he's next to any other horse even somewhat fun he tends to get into fly mask wars. So needless to say, we've already sewn up two Crusaders in two months (they haven't re-ripped yet since I sewed by the way). But I got one of these to see if the slightly cheaper version would work since it seems like we'll be going through a lot of masks. I don't like the ear material as much (not as ventilated it appears) but I do like the very simple and wide velcro strap closure. That is the the weak point on my Crusaders so I think this might be harder to destroy. Used for a few weeks so far without incident. Will keep you updated when he's next to his five year old bff. He is a large headed warmblood, the biggest size could be a tooooooouch bigger for my preference in the FL heat but will at least keep the bugs out.
    Date published: 2015-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! Love the extra wide and overlapping Velcro, the points on the ear covers is a little funny looking but the mask has stayed on my horse and that's says a lot as both my horses make it their daily mission to rub off their masks!
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very durable This is a very durable fly mask. It's a little shorter on the nose then I expected, and a thicker material, but it works.
    Date published: 2015-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on well! It's the best fly mask I have purchased and it fits well on my mare.
    Date published: 2015-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for my Icy! I just bought the cob size for my Icelandic gelding and I have to Say that this is the best fitting mask for his head. Other masks have left gaps for flys to get I between the mask and his face. The fit is perfect. ❤️ Bought the horse for my big Paint mare and it unfortunately does not fit her. I have about a 1/4 inch coverage on the Velcro. SmarfPak needs a larger size please!
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy Doesn't even have a frayed thread and my horses pasture mates are halter/fly mask destroyers.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality Good quality fly mask. Have not tried to wash them yet. I bought 2, one cob for my Paso Fino one horse size for my 14.2 Quarter Horse. Size is good. It is hard to peel open the strap, but that is good so horses don't pull it off.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from durable bought this for my thoroughbred gelding and was really happily shocked by how strong this mask is! It has really strong double sided velcro at the throat latch that really keeps the mask secure without rubbing. Buying another one today for my other horse who is a true houdini in the pasture.
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as good as Cashel I got these about month ago, they run huge in head. It worked ok on my paint but too big for mustang had to send back. The ears are way long and get too narrow. I'll pay the extra $5 foe Cashel brand.
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the BEST!! Great fitting, super sturdy!! This mask has practically perfect design- ears fit well, eye area is where it should be, and the Velcro closure is the best ever! Super secure, but easy for humans to remove!
    Date published: 2015-07-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smart Pak Fly Mask I tried the smart pak brand of fly mask because it was cheaper than the cashel crusader one that I usually buy. The ears were extra long and flopped over on my average size horse. The eye portion did not stay puffed out and often were indented in towards his eyes instead. I was not pleased with the shape of this product and will continue to use the cashel crusader in the future.
    Date published: 2015-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly mask The years are a little large but I'd rather have those two large the two small but the best feature is the Velcro underneath it's very wide and holds it on it's very hard for them to pull it off it stays in place
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Double Velcro Fastener I would go ahead and rate this with 5 stars, but I haven't had it long enough for the "time test". I love it because it stays on our horse that always manages to get his fly mask off out in the pasture. I also like the light color - seems like it would reflect the suns rays well.
    Date published: 2015-06-20
    • 2016-02-08T14:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_11109, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.