Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Classic Fly Mask

SmartPak
- Item #21109
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what your horse needs to keep summer's pests at bay at a price you'll love!

Favorite Features

  • Durable PVC mesh that holds its shape and keeps flys off your horse's sensitive face 
  • Soft mesh ears provides extra protection from pests in sensitive areas  
  • Fleece edging ensures a comfortable fit on the horse's face
  • Wide VELCRO® brand closure keeps the mask securely in place

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Cob, Horse.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is rated 4.2222 out of 5 by 81.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable and stays in place My horse has worn everyday this now for the past three weeks. The design is very good. It is a tiny bit snug under throat latch and he does not have a large head. I especially like the double velcro closure.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase I bought this fly mask a little over a month ago for my two horses. It's done a great job of protecting their eyes and ears from the flys. My only complaint is that the ears are quite large, so the ends are starting to fray a little bit. Other than that, it seems to be of great quality.
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Odd fit, couldn't keep it, :( I've used Cashel masks, and thought this design looked similar, but with a heavy duty velcro. Some reviews stated that it ran large, so I gave the horse size a try for my draft X. The overall fit was great, even in the ears but the velcro didn't even come close to meeting. I'm not sure what shape of face this was designed for. . . .I'd love if a warmblood size was offered!!
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice looking mask but WAY too small I liked the looks of this mask and I ordered 5 but after trying it on 3 normal horse sized heads - I gave up and returned them all - just too small under the throat - the velco barely met on 2 of them and not at all on one and these are not big-headed horses. I would have also liked the nose to be longer.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nicely made but too small I was really hoping this would fit as my horse managed to lose (as in never been found...) two cashel masks last year. The fit wasn't even close to meeting under the jaw. He's about 15:2, a TWH with the typical larger head but other "horse" sized masks have fit. Wish there were a large horse size and I'd try another one! Free return shipping was awesome.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had potential, but runs too small This mask had everything I was looking for, including a great eye dart design that gives much more clearance than any other mask available. It seems very durable and well made, and I didn't mind that the ears were a little long or that the Velcro was incredibly grippy (in fact, I considered that a big plus!). But the horse-sized mask was too small for my quite average-sized 16-hand TB; I could not even get the edges to meet beneath his jaw, and he does not have a large head. Unfortunately, I had to send it back.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value The Velcro on this mask is so strong I have trouble getting it off my horse. (I have very arthritic hands)The mask fit my horse great but the Velcro battle was too much on a daily basis. I ended up trading fly masks with a friend who's horse gets his ripped off by his neighbor on a regular basis. It's been 2 months now and the mask is still on her horse and in one piece!
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product and decent price I have been a Cashel fly mask user for years but may be changing my opinion. The last two Cashel masks I purchased only lasted one season which has not been typical of the previous ones. So I decided to give one of these a try. I really like the eye darts as they keep their shape better and give them more room. My guy isn't very hard on masks so it has stayed in good shape so far. He has only gotten it off once. Holy velcro batman! It takes two hands and lots of pulling to get the double-velcro loose to take it off. The ears are really long and pointed but other than looking odd, don't hurt anything. Overall I'm pretty pleased with it and am interested to see how it holds up next season.I would also love to see a long nose version of this mask!
    Date published: 2013-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Fly Mask I'm extremely happy with this fly mask. It was an impulse buy because they had a promo for free customization so I had my horse's name put on it. I am happy to say the quality is great and the embroidery is perfect. After a month there are no tears or rips and the Velcro is still holding strong. My only complaint is it is slightly smaller that what I would prefer for him (he's a 16 hand dutch warmblood). Other than that I absolutely love this fly mask and I have a good feeling that it will last much longer than most masks.
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this mask! This mask is a great value - I'm reviewing for my second time because I just purchased a second! As I said in a previous review, it runs a bit large, but I haven't had problems with bugs crawling up the 2-3 fingers width of "gap" nor has my mare tried to take it off - she loves this mask! Hasn't rubbed her already tiny forelock. Ears are a little large on her, and are susceptible to damage by velcro but is a great value for it's features.
    Date published: 2013-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask Love this fly mask.I like the room around the eyes,does not push in on their eyes at all.I will order these masks again for sure.
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Flymask. I bought this fly mask so I could trail ride my gelding without his face getting eaten alive! This flymask fits great. It seemed large, but it fits his head perfectly. It is easy to wash and very durable for the price.
    Date published: 2013-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durability plus Our pony's fly mask takes a beating. If it's not being pulled on by a playful pasture mate, then he is rubbing it along the fence, or water trough. The cob fit is super and the extra wide double velcro closure keeps it on. I haven't had to go out into the pasture and put it back on since we started using it. Awesome!!
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Classic fly mask This really was my best purchase ever! I have had horses most of my life, several different brands of fly masks, none of the others can hold a candle to this one, I absolutely love it. The fit is just right, it stays on, doesn't move around, the quality is exceptional. I have never come across a fly mask this well made, we are in Florida, fly capital of the USA, and it holds up beautifully. Wish I would have known about this one, years ago.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit I was so happy and delighted with the quality and price of this fly mask.It surely will hold up to my rascle horses.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great for us! This was the first fly mask I've bought with ears - I like that it has the features I liked in Cashel masks without the price tag or the silly forelock opening. Velcro is strong and the size works well for my mare who despite a cob sized bridle wears a regular Supermask in horse size. Washes up nice. Wish the mesh was a little more rigid - it seems to be coated, which gives it a quality feel, but I don't trust the eye darts 100% to stay out and away from her eyes. So far, I'm very pleased!
    Date published: 2013-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Fly Mask Overall this is a nice mask. Quality materials and more than enough velcro to keep it on.Roomy through the eye area, but the ears are rather hilarious. The ear covers are very long and pointy and look more like horns than ears.My horse it is on is not very destructive, so can not speak to durability yet. Do I mind making my horse look like evil beast with floppy horns? No, because he makes me look silly on a regular basis.
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bummed! My horse is extremely hard on fly masks, doesn't keep them on, shreds them to pieces and leaves them at the farthest point possible in the paddock... I was hoping that this fly mask would work for him since it is cheaper than the Cashel ones and looks as if its about the same quality. I couldn't get the Velcro any where near close to fasten under his jaw and the ears are quite big. My guy is a 16h QH that wears the average horse size and I've never had this problem. I tried to put it on him again a second day thinking I may have been doing it incorrectly but there was no way I was going to squeeze his mug into it. Strange!
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secure Mask I bought 2 Smart Pak fly masks this spring. One horse size for my warmblood, and one cob size for my thoroughbred who has a small, fine head. I think they run small, since the cob was too small for my thoroughbred and had to be sent back, and the horse size was too small for my warmblood. It did fit the thoroughbred and stays on very well due to awesome velcro! I found the quality to be very good and on par with the more expensive type I usually buy. Buying the Smart Pak brand saved my about $5.00 each. I don't think they make an oversize one, but if they did I would have no problem ordering one.
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Part Donkey? I got a lot of laughs at my barn when they saw this mask in use the first time. The ears on it are very long and my horse looked like Eeyore. The Velcro closure is the best I have ever come across on a mask and is one of the few she hasn't been able to get off. After two weeks of weekly washing, the mask looks like it's been in use for an entire season as the soft material around the edges seems to have worn down already. Another missing feature is a hole for the forelock. With a couple of updates, this could be a great mask.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great masks These are a nice quality mask that stay on at a good price. What more can you ask for!
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Houdini can't get this off! A really nice fly mask. I had tried several Cashels and some other brands, but they didn't last 1 night out with my little TB. Last year, we even tried turning him out with a halter over the fly mask, but he got them both off! I had given up and resigned myself to putting roll-on fly repellent on his face when I saw this and decided to try it. After a week of wearing it, he's come in every a.m. with it on! Don't know if it's just more comfortable or the wide velcro keeps it in place. It DOES run small. My horse is 15.3 and wears a cob bridle, but the cob size in this was too small, maybe because of the wide velcro band. Horse size fits fine.
    Date published: 2013-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well My horse has long ears and a narrow face. This one fits her well. Also, it's half the price and seems tougher than another major brand (she tore an ear in that mask within two weeks).I'd buy more of these.
    Date published: 2013-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product Great mask for the price, Velcro is almost too strong, hard to take off because the Velcro is so strong. The only thing I would like is a slit for the forelock like the cashel masks.
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fly mask fit I found the mask was well put together but the fit was not good for my guy... too tight on his eyes. Unfortunately, common problem it seems. Materials and workmanship seemed very good.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very roomy around my horse's eyes I bought this fly mask strictly because what I was using made my horse constantly rub his left eye. I was looking for something that was very roomy near his eyes. This was a great find and it fits him well. He's only been using it for about a week so I don't know how it'll hold up but if it does, I'll get him another so I can switch them out for washing.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Functional fly mask Fits great, not the most attractive styling as far as fly masks go but will do its job!
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from nice but too small I really liked the ear covers on this mask and the velcro closure which looked very secure. However, the closure across the under surface of the cheeks could not even begin to fasten over the face of my 16.2H Hanoverian gelding, and he is not a heavily built horse. I had to return it. Would be nice if they made a warmblood size.
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needs a little tweaking... First of, I'd like to say that I love Smartpak and have loved all my Smartpak purchases. This fly mask, was nice, but not quite what I was looking for. The material is a bit heavy for my guy- he tends to get them off if they are too bulky. The ears on the horse size were far too large, while the encloser was tight around my horse's face. I exchanged this mask for the Cashel "Ride Quiet". the material is much lighter.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Flimsy Ears I like the overall quality of this flymask except for the ear coverings. Within 2 days I had pulls in them and the next day - holes. I think the material needs to be a little bit tougher.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    • 2015-05-27T09:46CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_76
    • loc_en_US, sid_11109, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.