Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Classic Fly Mask

SmartPak
- Item #21109

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what your horse needs to keep summer's pests at bay at a price you'll love!

Favorite Features

  • Durable PVC mesh that holds its shape and keeps flys off your horse's sensitive face 
  • Soft mesh ears provides extra protection from pests in sensitive areas  
  • Fleece edging ensures a comfortable fit on the horse's face
  • Wide VELCRO® brand closure keeps the mask securely in place

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Cob, Horse.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Genero Fly Sheet made Exclusively for SmartPak is made from a lightweight polyester mesh that keeps your horse protected from flies and insects. Favorite Features Lightweight mesh perfect for warm climates Singular chest strap Belly Band ...
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece ...
    Description:
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene fabric, a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable. It's made to withstand tough outdoor use. The densely woven ...
    A natural way to condition coats and repel ...
    Description:
    A natural way to condition coats and repel bugs! When you want to avoid harsh chemical pesticides,Wahna Win Super Fly Spray is a safe, natural choice for fly and insect control. The unique blend of oilsincludes catnip, argan, citronella, thyme, ...
    Ultrashield Green offers a natural, eight hour insect ...
    Description:
    Ultrashield Green offers a natural, eight hour insect repellent proven to be effective. Favorite Features Repels and controls biting flies, mosquitoes and gnats Can be used on horses, ponies, foals and dogs Eco-Safe for the entire family Not oily or ...
    Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader ...
    Description:
    Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet Ride protecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride. Favorite Features Same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader&trade pasture fly mask ...
    Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect ...
    Description:
    Chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more! Favorite Features Designed for comfort with soft durable materials and fully lined seams Provides UV protection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily ...
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features ...
    Description:
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features double fastening VELCRO Brand closure with heavy elastic neck strap for safety and double eye darts for maximum room in the eye area. Favorite Features Full mesh coverage of the ears, lined ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is rated 4.1935 out of 5 by 124.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Court Jester Ears This fly mask has made my OTTB's turnout time bearable. The biting midges were chewing his ears up, but his mask has kept them out. We do get a giggle out of how long the ears are. For a warmblood, they would be super, but they give my guy the appearance of a court jester or a floppy bunny. No matter, it's turnout, not a beauty contest, and he's happy.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this fly mask! This is the only mask my horse hasn't lost yet. The Velcro is really strong and mask keeps it's shape and stays out of the eyes.
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great!! Love this mask. No rubs. Stays off eye area too. Looks awesome
    Date published: 2015-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Smart Pak i order a fly mask in May and I love it, also I ordered boots in April and love those as well
    Date published: 2015-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love This Fly Mask!! I had originally purchased a SmartPak Classic Fly Mask for my big boned thoroughbred who has large ears and a long face and a pasture mate who was more than willing to help him take his mask off. I was very pleased with the quality of the mask and the way it fit. I have since purchased 2 more - one in a cob size for my other thoroughbred who has a very fine head and for my foundation QH who has a shorter face but is broad through the jaw. I love the ease of putting these masks on, I love the way that they stay on. The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask has worked out great for my herd of 3.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent fit Liked the price point on this fly mask. I have had it for a few weeks now and there is no sign of wear. (Horse out 24/7) The fit is ok, not a huge fan of the large closure under the jaw, it helps to keep the mask secure, but it also left a small rub.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly mask! This mask has a great fit, strong, double Velcro closure, with plenty of room around the eyes. My pony loves to destroy all his "clothing" & he has yet to even get this mask off! That's a major plus in my book!
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the SmartPak Fly Mask! I own 3 horses and they have 3 distinctly different heads - a large boned thoroughbred with a big head and big ears, a fine boned thoroughbred with a very typey head and a foundation quarter horse. They are all geldings and fly masks receive a lot of play so there was always an ear out or mask gone when I would check on them. I ordered the SmartPak Fly Mask for all 3. The large TB and the QH both took the standard horse size and the fine boned TB took the cob size. The masks fit well and stay off their eyes and most of all are on at the end of the day in the pasture. Love them!
    Date published: 2015-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Flymask Super durable, the Velcro is very nicely constructed. I his name embroidered on it in bright blue and it looks adorable. Everyone at my barn wants to get one for their horse. It's an excellent quality for a very reasonable price.
    Date published: 2015-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super satisfied My pony was notorious for ditching her fly mask in the past. Since she has had this one for almost a month now, it has remained on and completely whole!!
    Date published: 2015-05-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse is scared of it I tried this on my horse and he does not like it. He is blind in one eye and I believe the shinier finish is the problem. It is well made and looks very sturdy. I wish he would like it.
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from runs small Great product but runs small. Tried it on my three quarter horses and didn't fit any of them. Fit a little Morgan mare at the barn though.
    Date published: 2015-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable! Tough fly masks that are holding up well on my 3 horses. Only comment is that the ears are huge! Despite that they fit well and are very durable so far.
    Date published: 2015-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality & nice velcro The horse I bought this for is a bit hard to fit - her jowl is deceptively wide - she wears a horse size bridle and halter but horse size in this product did not fit her jowl.Since I liked the construction and materials on the mask so much I am using it on another horse who really didn't need a new mask yet.
    Date published: 2015-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice mask The Velcro is super strong and wide. The ears are very big so are floppy on my small eared horse, but a very good mask!
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy mask This mask has plenty of eye room and a great velcro closure. Would have given it a 5 if it had more nose protection.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from issue with fit This fly mask is so well made. I love the closure. Unfortunately, the ear space is too far apart for my quarter horse and does not allow him free ear movement (middle fabric pushing his ears down). Needless to say - he has been attempting to get it off ever since I put it on him. His fly mask from last year, fit great - purchased from smart pak but different brand (unfortunately it is no where to be found in tack room). I guess I should have gone with that one but I love all of smart pak's line - I gave this one a go. To me, it seems this mask is for a arab.... just not a good fit:(
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very well made I have had this for over 3 weeks and my mare has yet to destroy it (this is a first). The weave on this mask is very tight so it works for florida midges (no-see'ms). My only complaint is that they need a warmblood size for bigger horses. Also I suggest a place for the forelock AND a connection on the top (poll) so you can connect the mask to a fly sheet that has a neck. If you can fix those 2 problems you will have the best fly mask on the market.
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product. Only received and tried on for sizing. Runs a little big but don't think can size down and ears to long, but not too concerned about that. Like the width across the face with no interference with eyes. One of my mares managed to remove her masks so I will be interested to see if the wider velcro strap will help with that. . .haven't used yet so can't say anything about durability, etc. but looks like will hold up.
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very secure Velcro, extra room for eyes The video for this ad is spot on. Just bought and used briefly at the end of the fall. Seems very durable with extra room for the eyes. My mare has kind of big ears and this fits very well, which might mean the ears are a bit large for the average horse.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor fit and Visibility This mask unfortunately didn't fit my horse but he is hard to fit--he has a Thoroughbred head but it is huge! So, he's always stuck between horse and warmblood sizes. Every flymask I've tried is either too big or rubs him. Ears were too small and didn't fit correctly underneath. Those are our own personal problems but others might be interested to know that I ordered 6 different flymasks to try simultaneously. I tried them on to "see what I could see" through them and this one had very poor visibility. I did like the fabric from a cooling perspective, though--seemed like it would deflect instead of absorb the sun.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will Be Live To Used Another Year I bought this in May and used it until August and it will easily last through another fly season next year. The Velcro is super sticky, and my horse (who happens to live in a destructive herd of geldings) never got it off once. The price is great. Only wish it came in more colors.
    Date published: 2014-12-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fits Great, but needs a closure redesign I bought four of these because they fit really well and don't tend to rub beneath the chin like most fly masks do. The closure is this really wide double Velcro that works great, but it is not securely attached on the side where it is sewn to the mesh. Within two weeks all four masks, worn by four different horses, had become un-wearable due to the Velcro detaching from the mask. It is not difficult to fix with a sturdy sewing machine, but it is a disappointing result. This definitely needs to be fixed in production/design.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY - and indestructible fly mask!!! My horse is incredibly destructive on her clothes, and incredibly bothered by the bugs. After destroying two fly masks within a week of wearing them, I bought this mask. And never looked back! I love that there are massive eye darts and the contour of the mask itself, but the best feature of all is the super heavy-duty velcro closure that keeps the mask on through all of my mare's antics!! It still looks new after being used all summer - and my horse has not slipped it off even once!
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stays on really well! embroidery came out great! This fly mask stays on perfectly! the ears are a tad huge on my QH lol look more like mule length lol!The embroidery came out wonderfully!
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Velcro closure is the best I have seen. SmartPak fly mask is excellent quality...Very happy I purchased it.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on This fly mask holds the record for staying on my horse. He is playful, as is his pasturemate, and he was coming in every day without his mask. I had given up on putting one on him until I decided to give this one a shot. I think it is the double Velcro that does the trick.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from so far so good Decided to try this mask based on positive reviews. Overall it is holding up although I don't expect more than 1 season from any mask. The ears on every brand I have tried just don't last when the rest of the product is still good.The ear covering needs to be made from the same tough fabric as the face covering.
    Date published: 2014-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from More room for the eyes Compared to the Cashel crusader fly mask, which has always been my go-to, this fly mask gave my mare noticeably more room around her eyes, which helped with how itchy her face was getting. The ears started to fray pretty quickly so I'm not sure how long it will hold up (have had it about three weeks so far), but if it lasts a couple of months it'll be well worth it even if I have to replace it more often for the increased comfort it's given my mare compared to cashel's.
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic My horse is always trying to find a way to rip off his fly mask- and he has gone through several- this one is the longest lasting one yet and it has yet to be demolished! It's Velcro strap is really secure
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    • 2016-02-09T14:41CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_11109, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.