Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Baby Pads

SmartPak
- Item #16525
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Simple, practicality! Once you try it, you won’t be able to ride without it!

Favorite Features

  • Wicking lining gives our baby pad a little more substance than others you may have tried
  • 100% cotton baby pad with a wicking
  • 100% polyester lining
  • Machine wash cold and dry

Imported

Sizing It Up

Measures 26" spine, 17'' drop

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Baby Pads is rated 4.3579 out of 5 by 95.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great as a western pad liner I use this as a liner for my western saddle pad. Instead of folding it the way it would normally go i fold it longways or hot dog style and it fits perfectly under my western pad. This is so much easier to wash and keep clean than a bulky, heavy fleece western pad. It is very good quality and super easy to wash. It keeps my horse cooler under a heavy, hot western saddle and pad in the summer.I can tell a difference in the amount of sweat under saddle after a ride. Its not expensive either so you can buy multiples for in between washings.
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great and affordable! I haven't had mine for very long but i love it. It is lightweight which is good for the summer and it is big enough to reach just the bottom of the leg flap on my saddle.
    Date published: 2015-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great product! I absolutely love them and the price was right. I have only used it a handful of times. so far it still looks brand new show quality.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Pad The thing I really love about this pad is the moisture-wicking lining. My main problem with baby pads is that in warm weather the horse's sweat bleeds right through onto the saddle. The fleece type lining on this pad helps absorb some of the sweat and keep it off the saddle. The pad has a shorter drop than most regular saddle pads, so if you have a longer flapped saddle the saddle flap will probably come down farther than the pad. This is the case with my saddle and I don't have a problem with it, however it is something to note. My only complaint with this pad is that it does not have a contoured spine, and even on my horse who has fairly average withers, it puts pressure on them. However I have yet to find a baby pad with a contoured spine (except ogilvy, but I'm not paying that much for a baby pad) so it's not a problem exclusive to this product.
    Date published: 2015-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I have multiple SmartPak baby pads and I love them all! The best quality baby pad I have found. I have washed my many, many times and they still look brand new!
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad, great price! I bought these personalized pads for my students and was pleasantly surprised with the quality and softness. Thanks again, Smart Pak! Another great product!
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I bought a 3 pack of the black baby pads and got them embroidered. They are great quality! I love that they are fleece lined.. Totally worth the purchase!
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I did not like this pad! I got this to use under my half pad. I understand it is a baby pad but the first thing I did not care for is the size, I feel like it is super small and short. It also moved around a ton while I rode, scrunched up and rode back all the way under the saddle. I did like the underside material however.
    Date published: 2015-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite baby pads to use These are great! I've bought other baby pads and my horse hates them, there were the only ones he hasn't tried to grab out of my hands when I'm putting them on. They fit a lot better than the other brands I've tried.
    Date published: 2015-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made I bought this to use under western saddle and pad for our welsh pony. It fits great. I have a hard time finding western tack to fit our welsh ponies and this has worked out great.
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only one complaint It is possible I am an idiot, but this pad doesn't mark the center which means I never get it even on both sides. It is a constant failing struggle. Otherwise, I really like it. I use it to protect my EcoGold half pad without adding bulk, and it does a great job.
    Date published: 2014-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! I bought this to go under my new memory foam half pad and it works great. Very well made and it's nice and thin. Keeps my pad from getting dirty and looks great! I also like the felt underside
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I bought a few of these for xmas presents and am thorough pleased with them!
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great basic pads I use these under my half pad and while they are a very basic, no frills type pad, they do their job and they do it well. Other pads, even baby pads, would end up damp after some summer rides, but the backing on these pads really does wick away the moisture. I haven't had any issued with slippage either. Finally, I love that you can buy them in a three pack.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Sturdy for a Baby Pad! I've been using these pads for about a month now and I'm thrilled with what I received! They have a cool moisture-wicking back, are made out of a more durable and sturdier fabric (more like a normal pad than a baby pad), and haven't slipped while I have used them. They are a touch long but I like them like that compared to other more square pads. Overall I'm very happy with these and will definitely be purchasing again when I am in need!
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice baby pad for the price This is a good baby pad to use for the price, but it does have a different texture underneath than the normal quilted feel that is the top. I didn't mind it, but another lady at my barn didn't like it so she returned hers. I've been using the pad for a few months now and it seems to be holding up to every day use and frequent washings.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I bought this with a gift certificate that I'd received & it's beautiful! I got the light blue thread for my embroidery & it matches wonderfully! I will definitely be buying some more in the future !
    Date published: 2014-07-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Find something else... These pads bunch up a lot. These were a mess - the sweat bled right through them and left really dirty spots that did not wash out. I'm all for Smartpak products, but these were really a waste of money.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I love these pads! They allow my thick fleece half pad to fit with the girth that normally doesn't fit with a normal saddle pad so I'm happy they are thin! Great buy! But if you don't want a thinner saddle pad then don't buy these!
    Date published: 2014-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Pad Bought two of these because they were at such a great price and SmartPak was offering free monograms. I got one with my initials and the other with my last name. Both turned out beautifully but the pads weren't what I expected. They're extremely thin (pretty much no padding), I'm not really liking the material they used for it, and the inside pills up after just one wash. But, the inside of the pad did seem to help wick off some sweat off my horse.
    Date published: 2014-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Baby Pad Great Price I bought this baby pad when SmartPak was doing one of their free embroidery days and I am very pleased. The baby pad is perfect for my needs.
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality, but doesn't work for me This looks very nice on, is a good thickness, is much larger than I thought it would be and seems soft on the underside, however it slips very badly on my horse after 15 minutes or less. It bunches all up, so I really won't be able to use it without causing him discomfort. I have this problem with many saddles pads on him, and generally find if it doesn't have a girth loop it is going to move. I think if you have any worry it might slip, avoid it, but if you are one of those lucky people whose horse rarely has a saddle pad slip on, this is a good product.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice basic pad but small These are fine, basic baby pads. They wash and wear well, but are a little stiffer than my cotton ones and are kind of small. They just barely provide the coverage for my small jumping saddle. Wish they were a good bit bigger and softer...
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok pad. I'm smartpak's biggest fan but not with thiss pad.  Prefer a shaped baby pad.  This runs small and slides back when used with my half pad.  Unfortunately I bought several to have monogrammed.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customization was wonderful! This item was even better when I received it than the catalog picture. Very nice and will look great in show competition. I had it customized, and was very happy with the result.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft on the inside, sharp looking on the outside Not only are these baby pads a staple, I got my barn's logo and my name on them. The gal on online chat was very helpful getting the embroidering done correctly. The pads are the envy of my barn now!I have other customized smartpak baby pads that I have used for years. Even though they are white, they clean up nicely.
    Date published: 2013-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these baby pads! Bought these for my girls. I love the white because I can bleach them and get them clean. Love the free embroidering that comes with being a Smartpak customer! They was great, wear great and they look awesome.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase! This baby pad has a nice thickness. Quality cotton with a nice lining. The length is great - you do not have to fold. I chose the "let smartpak pick the color" option and it turned out lovely. Overall a nice value!
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from This pad is okay. I bought this pad looking for a black baby pad. Ordered with pink embroidery(very cute and free with barn saver shipping, thanks smart pak!) however the pad does fit strangely. It is not very wide, barely comes down to the bottom of the saddle flap, and is very long across the back. Tends to bunch slightly under my saddle.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I was thinking I purchased these pads to go under my saddlepad in the "shedding" season to make the laundry easier. The hair really sticks to the underside which is a little fuzzy, since it's wicking material. Not like the previous baby pads I had that were cotton quilt on both sides. Which is what I was told these were.....But that's not to say they don't do their job. The are a little smaller than my saddle pad in the length but that's not a problem.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    • 2015-08-30T14:34CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_85
    • loc_en_US, sid_6525, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.