Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Safe-T Salt Block Holder

Item #11028
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Nearly indestructible, the Safe-T Salt Block Holder is made from one piece of molded plastic making it hard for horses to chew.

Favorite Features

  • Scooped sides and short wings for a snug hold
  • Won't rust or corrode
  • Two holes for mounting recessed screws (not included)
Sizing It Up

Will fit any 2" x 4" salt blocks.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Safe-T Salt Block Holder is rated 4.7612 out of 5 by 67.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Salt Block Holder This is a really nice salt block holder, I really like that none of the edges are pointed and won't be able to hurt my horse any. However I have had a hard time finding a salt block that will fit all the way down in it. It would be better if it was just a little bit wider.
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST! Love it. Unlike other salt block holders, it doesn't rust, or crack. It's sturdy, and about as attractive as a salt block holder can be. It is the most expensive one on the market but it really is the best.
    Date published: 2011-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best salt block holder Very sturdy and, best of all, it won't rust. I wish I'd gotten one earlier so I wouldn't have to toss out the rusty ends of salt blocks.
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe salt block holder I bought this to replace a metal salt block holder that was in my horse's stall. The metal one was rusting, getting rust all over the salt block. When they rust, they eventually break apart, leaving sharp metal peices that can poke a horse in the face or eye! This salt holder is the exact right size to hold a salt brick and will never rust. Very easy to install and will never rust! The only salt block holder I use.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bomb-proof I now use these salt holders in all my stalls. Nothing has broken in 5 years, and even the most aggressive salt-chewer hasn't damaged the holder beyond use. I love not having to worry about broken parts. The 5-year warranty is nice, too.Hint: use stainless screws to mount the holder, so nothing rusts.
    Date published: 2010-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice product we are pleased with this salt holder,our horse isnt scratching her eye on rough edges and she can get to salt easier!
    Date published: 2010-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe-T Salt Block Holder This is the best holder to come on the market yet and I have tried them all. I have 10 stalls and gradually I am replacing all the other types as they are destroyed, except for this holder. It doesn't rust or corrode, bend out of shape or chip, I really love it.
    Date published: 2010-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth it Our horse had an old wire coated salt holder and it was worn and had scratched her eye.This new one is great,smooth and she can get to her salt easier.
    Date published: 2010-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Salt Block Holder I just purchased my 2nd Safe-T Salt Block Holder. When I moved my horse to a new barn, I couldn't remove the screws, so I ordered a new one from Smart Pak! Only salt block holder I will ever use. The others are flimsy, fall apart and just aren't safe. This one has held up for many years and still looks new. Don't waste your money on the others.
    Date published: 2010-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Well Made I have been through a lot of holders and this one is great!! It one is VERY heavy duty, easy to use and the warranty is a great selling point!!
    Date published: 2010-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only holder that has survived! This salt block holder has already lasted 10 time longer than the others I have purchased.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from safe The best saltblock holder! I like the rounded, smooth edges and it is sturdy.
    Date published: 2010-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bye Corroded Salt Holder! Easy installation. Salt block easily slides in place in the holder and is secure. Very open design providing easy access for horse to get to salt. Looks great and CLEAN!
    Date published: 2010-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best salt holder but not perfect This order was a replacement for one that-yes, a horse broke. It must've gotten knocked as a whole side of plastic broke off, with a fairly new salt block that was in it. However, over the years we have had many holders-the coated wire, plastic horseshoe, etc. and overall I believe this is the best and safest....almost indestructable, but not quite :) Would recommend, and Smartpak is the only place we have found these holders.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best holder I've found These are much better than the wire holders! They are heavy duty and well designed. No sharp edges, easy to clean and a piece of cake to install. The only caveat is that ten dollars is a little high for a piece of plastic but I expect these will last many years so I guess the price isn't too bad.
    Date published: 2009-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Holder Ever! The Safe-T salt block holders are the best I have ever put up in my barn! They are easy to install with the holes in the back middle of the holder. This allows you to use a drill to place the screws in easily. They are made of a very durable material that appears as though it will last for a long time without the salt corroding it. It has a 5 year warranty! Even one of my horses that is a chewer, doesn't seem to be able to destroy it!
    Date published: 2009-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Might not last as long as it should The 3 year old chewed the corner of this item the first night it was in his stall. He is 'teething' and quite mouthy right now, so I am not surprised. The good thing is there were no sharp edges to injure him.
    Date published: 2009-07-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I like this salt block holder. I have used the wire hanger ones and my horses chew the plastic off. I have also tried the horseshoe ones and my horses bend them out of shape. The only problem with this holder is that the salt block gets stuck to the plastic and is hard to remove.
    Date published: 2009-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this holder! I like these holders so much better than the wire kind that gets all bent out of shape. Just be sure to use stainless steel screws that won't corrode and become impossible to remove.
    Date published: 2009-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but has a small flaw I love these salt block holders but they have a small flaw. It is very difficult to get the bottom end of the salt block out after it has been slobbered on. It takes a screwdriver or knife to loosen the edges of the old salt block in order to remove it and replace it with a new salt block. I like the fact that this has no sharp edges or parts that the horses can bend like the plastic horse shoe salt block holders.
    Date published: 2009-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best salt lick holder on the market I have tried all the salt lick holders out there and this is by far the best one. It does not corrode and it keeps the salt block from crumbling into pieces. This salt block is the safest. There are no sharp edges to cut their tongues.
    Date published: 2009-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indestructable This salt block holder is the best ever - - - we've tried several different brands but this one is deffinately the best.
    Date published: 2009-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best salt lick holder I've seen wonderful product, does not fall apart in the Florida humidity like the others did
    Date published: 2009-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clean to the last drop! This salt brick holder is the best! No more finding the last 1/3 of your salt brick on the ground in the stall covered in you know what!
    Date published: 2007-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS HOLDER This holder is safe and has no sharp edges that your horse can get cut or his hair caught in like the wire or horseshoe one. Doesn't rust or bend. This is great!
    Date published: 2007-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from happy with it This is a tough salt block holder- it really holds up and doesn't rust which is why I like it.
    Date published: 2007-02-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chewers won't destroy this My horse chews like a rodent but she didn't destroy this salt block holder. This is the first salt block holder that has lasted more than 6 months; it has lasted more than a year and is still in great shape, despite my horse's best attempts to destroy it. It costs a little more than other salt block holders, but the durability makes the price well worth it.
    Date published: 2005-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This salt block holder stands up to abuse I've tried several types of salt block holders and this is the first one to withstand the "Cowboy" test. Cowboy is my 16.2H Quarter Horse and he quickly destroys all the other salt block holders I've tried. This is a very tough, rust-proof holder.
    Date published: 2005-01-01
    • 2015-08-26T13:18CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_63
    • loc_en_US, sid_1028, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.