Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Safe-T Salt Block Holder

Item #11028
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Nearly indestructible, the Safe-T Salt Block Holder is made from one piece of molded plastic making it hard for horses to chew.

Favorite Features

  • Scooped sides and short wings for a snug hold
  • Won't rust or corrode
  • Two holes for mounting recessed screws (not included)
Sizing It Up

Will fit any 2" x 4" salt blocks.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Vinyl Coated Salt Block Holder attaches easily ...
    Description:
    The Vinyl Coated Salt Block Holder attaches easily to the wall of the stall providing the horse with access to either a mineral or salt block.
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Safe-T Salt Block Holder is rated 4.7568 out of 5 by 74.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These! These salt block holders are safe and indestructible. They have survived the Belgian sitting on them and the Dutch horse kicking the walls. Well worth the price. I won't be going back to any other brands.
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is much better quality than the one I bought at a farm supply store. My horse destroyed the other one by bending it & broke it where the screws went into the wall.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from replacement for first one This is an excellent product. The first one I bought lasted 11 years. It is safe for your horses, doesn't rust and looks good.
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST These salt block holders are truly the best. Don't even waste your money on the metal ones. They don't disintegrate, hold the salt til the end, and are SAFE.
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product on the market this is the best salt block holder I have everpurchased. I have bought every style andbrand on the market, and these are by far thebest. They are safe and effective. Nothing torust, nothing to brake off or scratch the horse.Safe in foaling stalls. I am a breeder and wouldnever use an unsafe product in my foaling stalls.This is the best out there.
    Date published: 2011-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have one in each stall I place one in each stall. These blocks are pretty simple. Just slip in salt block. Block Holders keep salt clean and off the ground. Horses can consume salt as desired.
    Date published: 2011-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for your money. This salt block holder is great! I used to use metal ones, but they rusted and bent, and looked TERRIBLE after only a few weeks. This one, however, looks like it's going to hold up to my 2 year old's chewing and roughhousing.My only complaint, and it's a small one, is that the salt blocks are a little big for it..Just a tiny bit, with a little elbow grease you can jam it in. It seems easier for my horses to eat the salt too.
    Date published: 2011-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Salt Block Holder This is a really nice salt block holder, I really like that none of the edges are pointed and won't be able to hurt my horse any. However I have had a hard time finding a salt block that will fit all the way down in it. It would be better if it was just a little bit wider.
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST! Love it. Unlike other salt block holders, it doesn't rust, or crack. It's sturdy, and about as attractive as a salt block holder can be. It is the most expensive one on the market but it really is the best.
    Date published: 2011-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best salt block holder Very sturdy and, best of all, it won't rust. I wish I'd gotten one earlier so I wouldn't have to toss out the rusty ends of salt blocks.
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe salt block holder I bought this to replace a metal salt block holder that was in my horse's stall. The metal one was rusting, getting rust all over the salt block. When they rust, they eventually break apart, leaving sharp metal peices that can poke a horse in the face or eye! This salt holder is the exact right size to hold a salt brick and will never rust. Very easy to install and will never rust! The only salt block holder I use.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bomb-proof I now use these salt holders in all my stalls. Nothing has broken in 5 years, and even the most aggressive salt-chewer hasn't damaged the holder beyond use. I love not having to worry about broken parts. The 5-year warranty is nice, too.Hint: use stainless screws to mount the holder, so nothing rusts.
    Date published: 2010-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice product we are pleased with this salt holder,our horse isnt scratching her eye on rough edges and she can get to salt easier!
    Date published: 2010-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe-T Salt Block Holder This is the best holder to come on the market yet and I have tried them all. I have 10 stalls and gradually I am replacing all the other types as they are destroyed, except for this holder. It doesn't rust or corrode, bend out of shape or chip, I really love it.
    Date published: 2010-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth it Our horse had an old wire coated salt holder and it was worn and had scratched her eye.This new one is great,smooth and she can get to her salt easier.
    Date published: 2010-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Salt Block Holder I just purchased my 2nd Safe-T Salt Block Holder. When I moved my horse to a new barn, I couldn't remove the screws, so I ordered a new one from Smart Pak! Only salt block holder I will ever use. The others are flimsy, fall apart and just aren't safe. This one has held up for many years and still looks new. Don't waste your money on the others.
    Date published: 2010-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Well Made I have been through a lot of holders and this one is great!! It one is VERY heavy duty, easy to use and the warranty is a great selling point!!
    Date published: 2010-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only holder that has survived! This salt block holder has already lasted 10 time longer than the others I have purchased.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from safe The best saltblock holder! I like the rounded, smooth edges and it is sturdy.
    Date published: 2010-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bye Corroded Salt Holder! Easy installation. Salt block easily slides in place in the holder and is secure. Very open design providing easy access for horse to get to salt. Looks great and CLEAN!
    Date published: 2010-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best salt holder but not perfect This order was a replacement for one that-yes, a horse broke. It must've gotten knocked as a whole side of plastic broke off, with a fairly new salt block that was in it. However, over the years we have had many holders-the coated wire, plastic horseshoe, etc. and overall I believe this is the best and safest....almost indestructable, but not quite :) Would recommend, and Smartpak is the only place we have found these holders.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best holder I've found These are much better than the wire holders! They are heavy duty and well designed. No sharp edges, easy to clean and a piece of cake to install. The only caveat is that ten dollars is a little high for a piece of plastic but I expect these will last many years so I guess the price isn't too bad.
    Date published: 2009-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Holder Ever! The Safe-T salt block holders are the best I have ever put up in my barn! They are easy to install with the holes in the back middle of the holder. This allows you to use a drill to place the screws in easily. They are made of a very durable material that appears as though it will last for a long time without the salt corroding it. It has a 5 year warranty! Even one of my horses that is a chewer, doesn't seem to be able to destroy it!
    Date published: 2009-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Might not last as long as it should The 3 year old chewed the corner of this item the first night it was in his stall. He is 'teething' and quite mouthy right now, so I am not surprised. The good thing is there were no sharp edges to injure him.
    Date published: 2009-07-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I like this salt block holder. I have used the wire hanger ones and my horses chew the plastic off. I have also tried the horseshoe ones and my horses bend them out of shape. The only problem with this holder is that the salt block gets stuck to the plastic and is hard to remove.
    Date published: 2009-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this holder! I like these holders so much better than the wire kind that gets all bent out of shape. Just be sure to use stainless steel screws that won't corrode and become impossible to remove.
    Date published: 2009-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but has a small flaw I love these salt block holders but they have a small flaw. It is very difficult to get the bottom end of the salt block out after it has been slobbered on. It takes a screwdriver or knife to loosen the edges of the old salt block in order to remove it and replace it with a new salt block. I like the fact that this has no sharp edges or parts that the horses can bend like the plastic horse shoe salt block holders.
    Date published: 2009-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best salt lick holder on the market I have tried all the salt lick holders out there and this is by far the best one. It does not corrode and it keeps the salt block from crumbling into pieces. This salt block is the safest. There are no sharp edges to cut their tongues.
    Date published: 2009-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indestructable This salt block holder is the best ever - - - we've tried several different brands but this one is deffinately the best.
    Date published: 2009-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best salt lick holder I've seen wonderful product, does not fall apart in the Florida humidity like the others did
    Date published: 2009-04-17
    • 2016-05-01T17:28CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_70
    • loc_en_US, sid_1028, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders