Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Repel-X Lotion

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13487
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The reliability of Repel-X in a smooth, spreadable lotion. Repel-X Lotion is excellent for spot treatment around eyes, muzzle, ears and wounds. Cypermethrin formula with botanically-derived pyrethrins to repel and kill biting flies, filth flies, biting gnats, ticks and lice. One application of Repel-X Lotion works 5 to 7 days.

Includes sunscreen and conditioners for healthy skin and coat. Non-greasy Repel-X Lotion formula won't collect dust or dirt. Easy to apply with a convenient flip-top bottle for one-handed application.

8 oz. flip-top bottle

Customers Also Shopped For
Bronco Gold Fly SprayProtects your horse from nasty ...
Description:
Bronco Gold Fly SprayProtects your horse from nasty flies while giving him a healthy shine!Repels and kills stable flies, horn flies, house flies, face flies, horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and gnats. Favorite Features Repels many different kinds of insects ...
TheQuikStrike Fly Abatement Strip is easy to use. ...
Description:
TheQuikStrike Fly Abatement Strip is easy to use. Uses an advanced, patented, triple action attractant that brings flies in to feed on the station. 2 pack. Advanced, triple action attractant Attractant lures flies from feeding areas Curved surface design facilitates ...
Get long-lasting flyProtection withTri Tech 14 Fly Spray ...
Description:
Get long-lasting flyProtection withTri Tech 14 Fly Spray by Farnam. This fly spray is a customer favorite thatProtects against horse, house, stable, face, horn and deer flies, gnats, lice, deer ticks and mosquitoes.With the combination of two ingredients, Tri Tech ...
Bronco "e" Fly Spray isan insecticide and repellent ...
Description:
Bronco "e" Fly Spray isan insecticide and repellent for use on horses, ponies and foals as well as a premise spray for useon barns and stables.It is formulated for better penetration of the hair coat. Citronella scent. Newly designed superior ...
Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, ...
Description:
Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, in barns, stables, corrals and homes. The Fly Stik contains no insecticides, no poisons and no hazardous chemicals. Can be used around animals, kids and pets. Favorite Features Fly Stick Jr is ...
? Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap ...
Description:
? Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides an ecomonical solution to those persistent and potentially harmful Stable Flies. Also known as Dog Flies, these pesky flies attack horses, livestock, dogs, and humans, leaving you and your animals prone ...
Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six ...
Description:
Ready-to-use, economical Repel-X formula is effective against six fly species, mosquitoes, gnats, chiggers, fleas and ticks, including deer ticks which may transmit Lyme disease. Favorite Features Repel-X is a long-lasting water-base formula containing natural pyrethrins Newly designed superior spray bottle ...
out of 5
93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Repel-X Lotion is rated 4.813953488372093 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I have been using this all summer and it works!!!!
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I bought this because my horse to keep flies away from his face and it really does work. He barely has any flies near his eyes and it doesn't build up or leave a greasy feel.
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than swat Great for keeping flies away from underbelly in turnout. First time no bites the next day. Happy horse!
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! My horse is body clipped so I was worried about the bugs irritating his belly and ears where his skin is really exposed and this product works great to keep the bugs away on those extra sensitive areas!
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does a great job I tried this on the advice of my friend to keep the bugs out of my horses' ears - just to see if I could avoid using fly masks during the very hot, humid summer weather. My horses are field boarded 24/7, and the insides of their ears would get so crusty and sore from the bugs. Since I started using this just once a day, I have noticed a HUGE difference. All of the crustiness is completely gone and there are absolutely no signs of any bugs in or around their ears. I also use it in place of an ear bonnet when riding. It is absolutely not greasy and does not smell bad. This is a fantastic product and I recommend it to everyone.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE Best Product for Face & Ears The only thing that keeps my horse's face and ears clear from pesky flies and mosquitoes. It smells wonderful and is very gentle on the skin.
Date published: 2015-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Immediate results and my horses don't react from having it applied. Some of the oil based sprays may sting a little but this gets no reaction.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repel-X Lotion I used this product for the first time in 2014 and was pleased with its effectiveness on my gelding who is extremely sensitive to insects. I used it on the areas recommended by the company and he didn't get any bug bites throughout the summer or fall! Very happy with the results.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trying it out I haven't used this product yet due to the cold weather upon us already.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't need fly mask anymore! Great stuff! The fly mask made my girl so hot and sweaty on her face. Heard about this and I put a little below her eyes about every 3 days and no fly mask needed!
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well We use this on our horses faces and around the ears. Some of our guys don't like fly masks so we use this instead. It works well for us.
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'll stick with spray on a brush I got this because I had been using fly spray applied to a grooming brush to put on my horse's head. I thought this might be more effective and easier. The labeling is contradictory. The description on SmartPak indicates that it's for spot treatment around the eyes, muzzle and ears; but, the small print on the bottle says don't get it anywhere near the eyes and be careful to not get too much near the ears. I put it on carefully, but didn't see any difference between this and fly spray on a brush. But, the next day, when I came out, every spot where I put this was covered in dust and mud and was hard to clean up. I have a flea-bitten grey horse so it may not bother someone on a darker horse. For me, I can't see any reason to use it when other options work as well and don't make a mess to clean up the next day.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet ride My mare does much better with this than a over the bridle fly mask. I wish it came in a larger size to last all summer.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's about time!! This is a product that has been needed for some time!! Love it and it works great !!
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from keep bugs at bay I used to use only swat under chins, in ears, etc, now I have gone back to using repel-x lotion. It really seems to be working better and doesn't have any greasy residue.
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works and lasts! I've used Repel-X Lotion for a number of years. It lasts about 3 days and is particularly great if applied to the tailhead and belly to prevent gnat bites. I also prefer it for use on the face, as it works well, the horses don't mind the scent, and the container doesn't start leaking like many of the roll-ons.
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from love the smell I love the smell of this and I'm sure as a spot treatment on the face and around wounds would be good but as a daily use, no, too expensive that way. I've used it on the underbelly of my horses about three times each using a glove and well, just not totally satisfied with it. Otherwise I would recommend for wounds, etc.
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful Product This is a helpful product for ears and face. Use it every year.
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so good I bought this based on the good recommendations. Well, here in the muggy southeast we need something much stronger. This product is very runny and ineffective after about an hour.Went back to Endure, which has a bit more staying power.
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kept the Flies Off! Just finished saddling up for a late afternoon ride, as the sun starts to set and the flies ATTACK! I had sprayed my mare down a few times anticipating flies, but they we out with a vengance that afternoon! Out of desperation to get some relief from the flies AND a ride in, I grabbed the Repel-X Lotion and just started rubbing it on her. The flies vanished, not just let off, but vanished. We were able to have a pleasant ride and when I got back to the barn, everyone asked how I was able to stay out so long with all the flies!The lotion is light, water-based without a heavy odor and lasts for quite a while, I'd say day or two. Works well on legs during fly season to help with stomping. Doesn't leave a greasy residue on your horse or attract dirt. Washes off easily. You only need a small amount in spot areas, so the small bottle will last awhile. Not as convenient as a spray, but it works if your horse is covered in flies! Worth taking the time to open the cap and rub it on legs, face, underbelly areas, anywhere!
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well I really like this product. It is very usful in keeping flies away from my horses eyes when riding, and also after I remove their masks in the evening, during those last few minutes before the sun sets. It also has a pleasant smell.
Date published: 2012-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this stuff I am skeptical of most fly repellents actually doing anything, but Repel-X Lotion does and it works great. I use it as a spot treatment on ears, bellies, chests, and anywhere else flies are really eating. It has a light, pleasant scent, spreads smoothly and leaves minimal if any residue, seems mild enough for sensitive horses, and keeps flies from biting for several days. A bottle also goes a long way; I only need one or two per horse for an entire fly season. Best spot-treatment on the market for flies that I have found.
Date published: 2012-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this I put this on my horse's face as he's quite a diva about bugs flying around his eyes and ears, and it truly works wonders. I apply it about twice a week, as with all the sweating and bathing that goes on in Florida, it really only works for about three solid days. After those three days the bugs start to come creeping back. Definitely worth the purchase, and I will keep buying this for him when this bottle runs out.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff! Was furstrated @ not being able to find this locally. So pleased to be able to add this to my smart pack order. My guy is a bug diva so this lotion makes a great difference when I ride!
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Easy to use under bellies and private parts which are sensitive to ticks. Love the way it goes on.
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haven't Tried It Yet I haven't tried this product yet. I bought it to use at the shows this summer or underneath his belly when he is turned out in the summer.
Date published: 2012-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repel-X Lotion Repel-X Lotion is just a super product. It does not leave a greasy film and really does keep the insects off of those tender areas where I like to use it.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly repellent out there! I use this product on all of my horses. Just put it on a sponge and wipe it on their belly and face. Works great on fly spots on the belly. This is a must have for sensitive skin horses.
Date published: 2011-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Buy I use the Repel X lotion on my mare's face and it works very well. It's also very easy to apply and is reasonably priced.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from favorite for face This lotion works better than any roll on or sponge applicator product, it is gentle, has basically no scent & I like that it has sunscreen it it as well
Date published: 2010-09-09
  • 2016-07-27T10:31CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_3487, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders