Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord

Horseware Ireland
- Item #19535
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord can be used to replace the usual tail strap on Horseware blankets. 
Imported

Favorite Features

  • Elasticized PVC covered cord is flexible and easy to clean taking the pressure off fittings and straps

 

Key Specifications
  • Denier:
  • Fabric:
  • Fill:
  • Closure Style:

Sizing

30cm - 60-69 blanket
40cm - 72-75 blanket
50cm - 78-81 blanket
60cm - 84-87 blanket.
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Special Features Elasticized PVC covered cord is flexible and easy to clean taking the pressure off fittings and straps.
Customizable No
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The ultimate in protection! The Stretchies Hood reduces ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate in protection! The Stretchies Hood reduces rubbing on the shoulders, protects the coat from sun bleaching, helps to reduce hair growth, and polishes the coats. Fully adjustable Stretchies Hood has an easy-to-fasten zipper closure. Elastic and center yoke ...
    "Rambo Stormsure is a flexible adhesive designed specifically ...
    Description:
    "Rambo Stormsure is a flexible adhesive designed specifically to contain and waterproof the nicks that your blanket may get through the years. Made in United Kingdom Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to ...
    "The Sleazy Sleepwear Stretch Hood with Zipper is ...
    Description:
    "The Sleazy Sleepwear Stretch Hood with Zipper is the perfect protection for your horse! The Sleazy Sleepwear Stretch Hood with Zipper can aid in protecting braids and bands, keeping your horse clean, training a mane to lie flat or fall ...
    "RapLast is a unique product which uses natural ...
    Description:
    "RapLast is a unique product which uses natural ingredients to prevent horses from chewing on wraps, blankets, wood, manes and tails, and more. There's one word to describe it: Effective! This is because RapLast works in three ways; by sight, ...
    "Rambo Blanket Wash is a laundry solution concentrate ...
    Description:
    "Rambo Blanket Wash is a laundry solution concentrate specially made to safely clean your horse blankets. Also great for cleaning leather trimmed breeches and wool or down-filled articles. Case of 12. Made in USA"
    "The Smartpak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed ...
    Description:
    "The Smartpak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Imported. Also Available: Matching SmartPak Deluxe Pony Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g) Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart"
    "All the features you need for a comfortable ...
    Description:
    "All the features you need for a comfortable and warm horse! The SmartPak Stable Blanket has 640 Denier nylon outer shell with a full nylon lining, perfect for use in the barn or as an additional layer when the temperature ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 78.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm ordering them for all our blankets! This has worked out so well, we have decided to replace all of our tail cords with this. The PVC coating really helps keep it cleaner (which means healthier!) and it's easy to remove when needed.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile! I purchased this over a month ago to use with my schnieder turnout blanket in place of the leg straps and it works great. It's so much faster blanketing without leg straps. I have even used it with the schnieder turnout attached to a rambo liner without shifting. My horse is a size 78" blanket
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Replacement cords I'm thankful for replacements and hoping the new cords are more durable in low temps...as here they come...
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Way to Upgrade Old Rambos I bought four of these tail cords for some of my older Rambos that are still serviceable but came with the nylon tail cords. I was tired of trying to clean the manure off of them, and found that the metal clips broke, got stuck on things, etc. So I decided to purchase these as replacements for the nylon tail cords. I like them much better, as they are easier to clean. My only concern is that the clips are plastic, and I'm not sure they will be able to take a hit. But I thought they were worth a shot for the price and convenience.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant idea! Love this - SO smart! The Rambo Bungee Replacement tail cord is the perfect answer to the yucky problem of constantly dirty blanket tail cords. It's a clear plastic tubing covering a bungee cord, it's very pliable, and is so much easier to clean that I don't feel like I need to "glove and gown" to maintain it. The clips are really tight, so be careful adding or removing. The length should be listed in inches, not cm, both the relaxed length and the maximum extension of the cord.
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great accessory for Horseware products! Got one for each of my horses going on 2 years ago.  They've been on various sheets and turnouts probably 400 days and nights per horse and still in good shape.  So much nicer than what comes with the Amigo and Rhino range blankets.  The plastic tube keeps them clean, no rubs, the plastic clips haven't broken or gotten stuck and  they are easy to thread through liners.  My trainer requested a pair for Christmas for her horse! (Shhhh - Don't tell her)
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works really well Works well , better than the tail cords or straps. I bought 40 cm for a size 81 ameigo stable blanket. I would definitely purchase more for other horseware blankets I have.
    Date published: 2013-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blanket accessory purchase ever! My mare has stomach issues and these tail straps are the easiest ever to clean. She is blanketed a good part of the winter and I have used these tail straps on all of her blankets for several years and they are all still in good condition and continue to make her blankets more comfortable to wear.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I bought a used rambo blanket and it was missing the tail strap. This works perfectly. Thanks for carrying these and making it so easy to add stuff in for free shipping along with my smartpaks every month!
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement for any blanket I use this tail cord on all of my blankets and coolers, regardless of brand. They are super easy to keep clean and have held up well against my rambunctious cow horse. For the blankets/coolers that have nylon straps for the tail cord, I added dee savers, and they work great. Also easy to keep clean.http://www.smartpakequine.com/dee-saver-4153p
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Easy Clean Covering I love the freedom a tail strap gives the active turned out horse over leg straps that either rub or set in blanket to high, low forward or back for horse's comfort. I hate how gross tail straps get and they are impossible to keep clean and maintain and can cause skin fungus, dreaded tail itching and draw flies if not kept spotless. This is a perfect solution, fits well, works well and if you have 2 of them you can just change out each morning and wash/dry hang the spare for next day.I only have one complaint - the plastic snaps. They are super hard to get on and off and almost break while doing so. If you have cloth dees for the tail strap area, forget about it - they will never go on so I use this on my blankets with metal dees. Thin and light weight metal snaps would be a Huge improvement on this already great product.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tail cord I've ever used This tail cord is the best I've ever used. So easy to clean, doesn't get disgusting like the previous ones I've used, which are impossible to get completely clean in my opinion. Would definitely recommend and they are all you will find in my barn ;-).
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a much improved tail cord from the one that comes with their blanket.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Goo replacement tail strap It's difficult to find replacement tail straps for horse sheets and blankets. This is a good find.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fix Some days this winter I went to find an entire manure stuck onto one of the nylon butt straps. I got this to fix the problem and it seems to be great. I went with a 40 cm one on a 78" blanket for a big TB because when i measured what I had the adjustable tail strap as that was close and I dislike arriving at the barn to find the wind has blown the blanket up over her butt.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good replacement tail strap for blankets Product runs smaller than you'd think. I like that it is coated with plastic. Not sure how long the plastic snaps will hold up, but they may surprise me.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Common Sense Win! Great idea, beats those nylon straps that get crusty and stiff!
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke within a week Don't buy this bungee cord, mine broke within a week!
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They should have come up with this sooner! Such an improvement on the poo-caked nylon tail straps. Much more sanitary!
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from clean hind legs! I love the shoulder/neck/body fit of the Rambo/Amigo blankets, but the tail strap was directing, ahem, waste all over my mare's hind legs. She's more wide than long, so the blanket that fits best drops off her croup a bit and the tail strap was in just the wrong place. Waste builds up on it instantly and makes the problem worse. Her legs were stained all winter, and I was worried about flies and skin problems from being dirty so much of the time. This vinyl-covered round cord bounces less waste onto her legs and doesn't get build-up. It's a big improvement.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bungee Tail Cord I like the PVC covering over the bungee, but after 2 months of use the plastic snap broke. Not sure if I will buy another due to the cost.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great These tail cords are great! Very easy to clean. A little tricky if you are unhooking them each use, but fine if you are able to leave hooked. I am replacing all my tail cords with these! Some people have been concerned with durability since they are plastic. I have all four of my horses wearing these on their turnouts and not one has been broken in over a year.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this thing! I bought a Rambo sheet back in the Summer. My horse is turned out alone and isn't hard on his blankets and sheets. I loved the tail cord on my sheet so I ended up getting another one! They are very tough and not easy to get off (which is a good thing). I have never had any problems finding the blanket up over his butt. This was a good buy!!
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These should be on every blanket. This tail replacement cord should be the standard that every company puts on their blankets/sheets/coolers/etc. The PVC coating is so easy to clean, and the whole product is very durable and made to last; it really helps keep the blankets on as well. Highly recommend any flimsy tail cords be replaced with this one!
    Date published: 2012-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from About time! This PVC coated tail cord is long overdue. So much easier to clean and weighs more than the previous strap, so seems to help keep the back of the turnout from blowing open as much (we have amazing wind here). I bought one size smaller than recommended just to help keep the wind out, and it seems to help. If you don't have wind issues, I would do with the size they recommend.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so great I like that the cord is covered in plastic so it's easy to wash. However, the clips are very hard to squeeze open and clip to the metal rings. I had one break on me the first time I tried to clip it. Thank you SmartPak for replacing it promptly and free of charge!
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A "MUST HAVE"!! This is the best tail cord EVER! When they started showing up on new Rambo's people at my barn would say "finally!" and "brilliant!". I recommend my clients get SmartPak blankets and buy this tail cord to replace the SmartPak leg straps (which are too stretchy and have buckles that stick). Best of both, for only $13 more! the plastic keeps them clean, dry, and are so easy to clean. A MUST HAVE FOR BLANKETS OF ANY BRAND!!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from About Time! One of the frequent gripes people have about HorseWare horse clothes is the lack of leg straps. I understand they are designed so they should not need them. But their blankets, coolers, layers and quarter sheets often have just a 'filet string', which we all know is there just to collect..... grime. This replacement strap is a much better idea: flexible plastic tube with slightly stretchy bungee inside, and plastic clips on either end, attaching to the rear D or V rings. "Grime" and manure is much easier to clean from these. (SP does not want to see the word p**p on these reviews, it seems!) HorseWare should consider using THESE instead of the useless 'filet string' on their items, especially given the cost of their products. The filet string seems cheap, not in line with their product image. Not certain on the durability of the plastic parts, but replacements cost about the same as a pair of leg straps. Thanks, HorseWare, for finally hearing your customers' critiques.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from RAMBO TAIL CORD JUST GREAT! I am so happy with this great Rambo tailcord . I bought 10 , then, I just got my 2nd ten so I can replace all tale cords in the barn!This product is really really great if you have a very old horse or a Mare ! I hope they hold up!
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement tail cord especially for mares i replaced the tail cord on my mare Rambo lite weight blanket because I no longer wanted to take off and wash the urine soaked tail strap.The plastic covered Bungee tail cord is great. Does not get soaked just wipe it off once in awhile.
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_23
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_76
    • loc_en_US, sid_9535, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders