Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Rambo Plus Flymask

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20224
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

All the extras you're looking for in a flymask! The Rambo Plus Flymask protects your horse flies and sun exposure in comfort.

Favorite Features

  • Redesigned eye area that includes eye guards to prevent rubbing and maintain the mask's shape (so your horse won't get poked in the eye by his own mask)
  • Detachable nose cover to help prevent sunburn on light colored noses and protect that sensitive area from bugs
  • Ears are larger than many other masks and made of soft material

Imported

Sizing It Up

Circumference at rear adjustable closure: Horse (38"), Cob (36"), Pony (34"), Sm. Pony (32").
Circumference at nose adjustable closure: Horse (28"), Cob (26"), Pony (24"), Sm. Pony (22").

Customers Also Shopped For
A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a ...
Description:
A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensuresProtection and long lasting ...
The Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ...
Description:
The Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ultra breathableSoft knitted polyester fabric with UVProtection to keep your horse cool andProtected from the sun and bugs all summer long. Favorite Features Classic Horseware cut with patented front leg arches Integrated ...
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly ...
Description:
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly sheets! The Amigo BugBuster provides No-Fly ZoneProtection from flies, mosquitoes, ticks and fleas. Unlike many conventional insect repellents, which can have a strong odor and other unfavorable characteristics, No-Fly Zone insectProtection is ...
Save with a blanket bundle! Specifically designed to ...
Description:
Save with a blanket bundle! Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, Rockin' SP blankets offer superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. This coordinating set includes key pieces of your horse's ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches ...
Description:
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great features! This blanket offers high-neckProtection from rain and wet conditions, providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...
Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet thatProtects ...
Description:
Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet thatProtects your horse from flies, UV damage and wet weather! The Amigo Three-In-One features a contoured waterproof and breathable top section that ensures you peace of mind during unsettled weather by providing your ...
Save with a blanket bundle! Includes the Rockin' SP ...
Description:
Save with a blanket bundle! Includes the Rockin' SP Quilted Stable Blanket (220 g of fiber fill) and Rockin' SP Nylon Stable Sheet. Use individually or layer, depending on the temperature! Favorite Features Unique Rockin' SP cut with broader chest and shoulders, broader hindquarters, ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Rambo Plus Flymask is rated 4.224806201550388 out of 5 by 129.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse size is too big-Rurned It's just too darn big. I have an average old-time type large Quarter Horse gelding. He takes a regular Horse size in everything on his head. This "Horse size" fly mask has ears 4 inches longer, more fit for a mule, and the nose flap hung 2 inches off his nose. Tightened up all the way there were gaps underneath flies could easily get in. If it fit, it would be a useful tool to keep the mask away from the horses eyes. It really looks dorky, but I can see in some circumstances, It would be useful to a horse with problem eyes, medicated eyes, or a mask rubber. Just downsize if you have to have it.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bee keeper look but awesome flymsk This style keeps the material from rubbing my mare's eyes. Stays put. Runs LARGE.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wanted to love it! My horse is a notorious fly mask ripper off-er-- after reading the other reviews I decided to try this, hoping it would offer him the sun protection his pink skin needs, while being more comfortable for him. He seemed to tolerate it for the first few nights, but then I came to the pasture to find him without it, and the fly mask absolutely nowhere to be found! I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and went down a size-- my only complaint about the Cob (my horse is a big paint-- 16.2 or so and LONNNNGGGG) was that the nose flap was indeed short. I hope others have better luck!
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits fine My horse has no trouble with the black band across the top. It sits above the level of his eyes. It cleans with a rinse, or I just use a brush to clean off the mud and shake.
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strange fit but well made My horse is wearing a lampshade! Joking aside, well made with quality materials and obviously designed for the horses comfort. The fit is strange...if it fits at the nose, the throat latch is up against the top of my horses throat. I don't think that is comfortable, so I may not be able to keep it. The next bigger size is huge. My horse is small, 13H and fine boned, the mask that sort of fits is Small Pony size. The Large Pony size is huge.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask! I bought this for my mare whose eyes have been irritated by the dry air and allergies. Her other fly mask occasionally would collapse and bother her. This one is huge but it gives her the eye clearance to keep her much more comfortable. I am very pleased with it.
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mask! I live in Savannah, GA and the bugs are ridiculous! This mask looks enormous in-hand, but trying it on, fit just right to maybe a little large, but the smaller size I think would have been too small. I agree with 2 previous reviews on 2 points: 1) a forelock hole and 2) move the eye-wire up for better eyesite. My horse was stepping very carefully on turnout and I feel now, it's because his view was obstructed. Other than that and in spite of those points, LOVE that the wire keeps the mask off his eyes. Really awesome product! we'll see if it stays on overnight! :)
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice mask but won't stay on my mare at all. I wanted to like it because it's great quality
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! My horse seems to get seasonal eye allergies every June and July. I wanted a mask that would not come close to the eyes, and this one certainly fits the bill. The cob is a perfect fit, really like this mask and hope it lasts a long time.
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Mask! Finally a mask that doesn't get stuck to my horse's face when she rubs. My mare didn't even object the first time I put it on her & she has been very wary of flymasks since previous caretakers took to beating her with the mask when she failed to stand quietly to have them put on. Our ancient gelding appreciates the "sunshade" that protects his old light sensitive eyes.
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I bought this mask for my happy appy with ERU. The best thing ever to keep the mask from rubbing her eyeballs and protect them as well since she is blind now.A few improvements could be made such as a forelock hole and selling replacement nose covers. The nose cover wears out really fast and I don't need an entire new mask, just the nose but they don't sell them.
Date published: 2015-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo fly mask I personally love this mask, it's made very well with quality materials. Unfortunately my silly boy would not lower his head to graze so I had to return it.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Storm trooper! This fly mask is made out of the same durable mesh as the Rambo fly sheets (which are indestructible, I've had my flysheet for 3 seasons now). The only negative thing I have to say about this mask is that the place meant of the wire dome is right at eye level which makes it hard for my one eyed horse to navigate at night. He has no problems seeing around it in day light. I love it because its structure keeps my horse's bad eye from being rubbed and irritated. He loves it too!
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a quality fly mask The reviews on this product were conflicting. Most claimed this mask to be too large overall. And one review claimed the manufacturer re-designed the mask to make it a better fit, I ordered the smaller size, not knowing if this was true. This mask fit my QH geldings ears and face, but was too small to secure around his jaw (he does not have a 'beefy' jaw). I sent the mask back for a refund, as I thought the 'horse' size would be way too bulbus in the forhead/eye area. I wish it fit, the mask is of tremendous quality for sure.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality fly mask! I have been looking for a fly mask that would not rub on my horse's eyes. This one is large enough that it does not touch his eyes and face. It keeps his face cool and bug free! The removable nose cover is great so I can keep it clean without washing the entire mask. Great product at a great price!
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs super small I ordered an oversized and it was tight at the throat latch. Sadly I had to return it. It looks like it would be good for a horse with a smaller head.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works beatifully to protect eye area My gelding Tex had laser surgery above his eye, and I needed to keep the area protected. This mask fits the bill. It keeps the fabric away from the tender area so that it can heal. I think he actually likes it better than his 'regular' fly mask, since it doesn't rub anywhere on his face and lets the air circulate. I'm glad I bought it.
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great, looks nice My houdini of a horse can not get this fly mask off. Looks nice and has lots of space for eyes
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I liked all the features of this mask I did return the mask because my horse would not quit sneezing when it was on. I like the hoop so the eyes are not touched by the mask. I like the flap so the nose is covered - hoping to prevent sunburn. I exchanged this mask for one of the other masks. Transaction was seamless and effortless.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly mask Wow. I thought this was to good to be true. My pony takes every fly mask I have ever tried off his face he hates them. So far this one has not moved he seems very comfortable in it. Worth every penny. I also have this for my 30 yr old mare who is losing her eye sight works great for her too. Highly recommend this mask it dose run big I purchased pony size for both my horses
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stays on! This is the first mask my big gelding has kept on alone in his paddock all night. I love it for that. I don't think he likes the ears though...because if I go to put it on in his paddock, he walks away from me!I may cut off the ears and see if he likes it better.
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love but bought too small I love this product. It protects without coming close to my guy's eyes. Other fly masks come to close to his eyes.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our horses love Rambo Plus Flymasks! To add to my earlier reviews! I hope these photos help!
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Mask on the Market!! I purchased two Rambo fly masks and could not be happier with my purchase. Although they are a little expensive - they keep the mesh away from the horses eyes and even my cranky Thoroughbred mare did not mind the ear and nose coverings. She hates to have her ears touched but does not mind the ear covers at all! Since the mask sits away from and off of the face - your horse does kind of look like a bee keeper - but I love how there is no risk of eye injury and no pleats or seams near or around the eye area. CAUTION - the fly masks run a little larger than normal so even on a normal horse - you might want to consider getting the COB size. Would definitely recommend these fly masks to everyone!
Date published: 2015-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great concept The brilliant design does not overshadow the need for proper sizing. I own a full bred T'bred (16.3, refined bone structure) & an Andulsian/T'bred schoolmaster (16.2, PSG). The concern is the brow band location, which itnterferes with their vision, causing timidity & spooking. perhaps I purchased the wrong size???
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable! Season 3 starts with the same flymasks! Two years ago yesterday, I purchased my first Rambo Plus Flymask from SmartPak.  It was a brand new product at the time.  Today, the little black flies are back in New Hampshire, so we put flymasks on the horses... The SAME flymasks I purchased 2 years ago.Our horses love the Rambo Plus Flymasks.  They don't try to take them off.  There's no reason to.  The masks do not touch the eyes and are apparently comfortable for the horses.Yup, they seem pricey.  But not if you only have to purchase one! Over time, these are VERY economical. The only challenge is in finding the PERFECT fit.  Only my biggest Dutch Warmblood wears "Horse" size.  "Cob" fits the most.   And "Pony" fits the 14 hh Quarter Horse quite well.  I'm glad SmartPak is happy to refund poor fits.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Fly Mask This is a great fly mask. Yes, it does look a bit out of the ordinary and is more expensive than most, but the style does a fabulous job of keeping the fly mask away from the horses' eyes. I'm in Florida, and it seems that the extra space keeps the horses a little cooler. The material is loosely weaved but tough.Because of the band that keeps it away from the horses' eyes, you can't crunch up the fly mask. It holds up just fine to hang on a fence and hit with a hose. When not in use, you can lay it flat in sort of a semi-circle, but it is a little bulkier than most. Well worth the bulkiness!If you don't have netting on your trailer windows, this fly mask would be wonderful for traveling because the wind won't push the fly mask against the horses' eyes and face.I selected the oatmeal color because I just don't like white fly masks. I always put fly masks over my eyes in order to judge visibility and clarity, and I liked that I could see quite well through it.Do keep in mind that it runs very large. My horses are all about 16 hand Thoroughbreds, and the horse size was much too large for what I consider to be their big heads. The cob size fit them well.My horses didn't like the extra nose piece, and it's easy enough to remove it from the Velcro attachment. For light-skinned horse noses, this would be an added bonus.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Eye Irritation, Long Lasting I have used these fly masks over a year now (the same masks are starting their second summer) on four horses on almost 24 a day hour turnout. Only one has fallen apart, tho the others are beginning to show some wear. I particularly like the fact that the fly mask is tented off the eyes so there is no eye irritation. Sizing of the mask itself is large. For my horses I am using cob size but I repositioned the velcro fasteners with my sewing machine to fit the throatlatch area. The horse size fits my draft cross. A recently received mask is a bit more snug so they have changed the sizing a little bit over time. These are the only fly masks I now use.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice roomy fit Like that mask supports keep mask off face and eyes. Other masks I've used seem to break his forelock hair until he has almost no forelock left. I'm hoping the supports in the mask will prevent this damage. Only been using for about a month so it's too early to rate durability accurately but it appears well made and sturdy.
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like a tent! This mask is huge! I actually liked the features--seemed very breathe-able with decent visibility and plenty of space for the eyes. (Others might be interested to know that I ordered 6 different flymasks to try simultaneously. I tried them on myself to "see what I could see" through them). I actually might have kept this one to try (my boy is very hard to fit--Thoroughbred head but huge, he's always in between horse and warmblood sizes), but I feared for his safety and the longevity of this mask (which is the most expensive one out there). It is so big and has a semi-flexible piece to keep it "tented" over the eyes (the black trim below the ears in the photo) that I was afraid he would get caught in something (i.e. fence) and hurt himself or destroy it, so I sent it back. If you have a horse on very supervised turnout it might be worth a go.
Date published: 2014-12-29
  • 2016-08-28T12:04CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_126
  • loc_en_US, sid_10224, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders