Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Rambo Plus Flymask

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20224
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

All the extras you're looking for in a flymask! The Rambo Plus Flymask protects your horse flies and sun exposure in comfort.

Favorite Features

  • Redesigned eye area that includes eye guards to prevent rubbing and maintain the mask's shape (so your horse won't get poked in the eye by his own mask)
  • Detachable nose cover to help prevent sunburn on light colored noses and protect that sensitive area from bugs
  • Ears are larger than many other masks and made of soft material


Sizing It Up

Circumference at rear adjustable closure: Horse (38"), Cob (36"), Pony (34"), Sm. Pony (32").
Circumference at nose adjustable closure: Horse (28"), Cob (26"), Pony (24"), Sm. Pony (22").

Customers Also Shopped For
Why We Love ThisThe Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 ...
Why We Love ThisThe Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Turnout blanket provides value and durability in one!Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable 1200 denier polyester outer shell Coat polishing polyester lining Patented front leg arches Straight front closures Compatible with the Horseware ...
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly ...
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly sheets! The Amigo BugBuster provides No-Fly ZoneProtection from flies, mosquitoes, ticks and fleas. Unlike many conventional insect repellents, which can have a strong odor and other unfavorable characteristics, No-Fly Zone insectProtection is ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches ...
The Rambo Wug Turnout Sheet with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great features! This blanket offers high-neckProtection from rain and wet conditions, providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...
Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet thatProtects ...
Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet thatProtects your horse from flies, UV damage and wet weather! The Amigo Three-In-One features a contoured waterproof and breathable top section that ensures you peace of mind during unsettled weather by providing your ...
The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is to ...
The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Imported. Favorite Features Waterproof & ...
Horseware style and fit at an economical price! ...
Horseware style and fit at an economical price! This is a fantastic blanket for the money, backed by the Horseware brand that you can trust. Favorite Features 600 Denier Polyester Outer Waterproof and Breathable Coat Polishing Polyester Lined Patented Front ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Rambo Plus Flymask is rated 4.246376811594203 out of 5 by 138.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! A fly mask that has lasted longer than 2 hours. He did get it off in 3 days but its not Dead yet! YEAH!
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even my horse loves this mask! Love this mask. My mare likes to sleep in the pasture and does comfortably. No rub marks anywhere. We've had this mask for 3 weeks the ears are snagged but still intact.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our new favorite fly mask! We have tried various masks which either rub our sensitive-skinned horses, or collapse on their eyes. We even had one brand that we had to cut the ears at the top because the ears weren't long enough! Enter the Rambo Plus flymask...It is very well constructed and doesn't rub nor collapse on the eyes. The ears are sufficiently long for our Hanoverian mares. The mask closes securely under the jaw so that the bugs aren't able to bite our girls under the jaw. These masks look funny and are heavier than most fly masks, so they take a bit of getting used to. They do run large -- both of our 16hh girls wear the cob size, and our 16.2hh girl wears the horse size. The nose pieces remove easily (velcro) to clean them, since those nose pieces can get pretty nasty. As far as cleaning the whole mask goes, we have found that it works well to soak them in a large bucket of soapy water and just spray them off; hang to dry. All in all, I believe the construction of these masks is very well-planned, and worth the more expensive cost.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! My horse has always hated fly masks. I'm not sure if she has unusual eye position, or what...but most fly masks do not give enough eye clearance for her. Finally, got around to trying this mask...it is sturdy, and is far far away from her eyes. She is a warmblood and I ordered a horse size. It fits great. Definitely worth the price. Yes, it looks like she is wearing a lampshade, but she has fly and gnat relief at last!
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea but... I have had this for about 2 weeks. My boy really doesn't like normal fly masks because they touch his eye lashes so I thought this was a great idea. Unfortunately when I went to put it on this morning the "band", for lack of a better word, that holds it away from his face was poking out - kind of like when your underwire bra goes bad. So I'm going to try and fix it but I don't think it has the normal Rambo durability we've come to expect.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally something stays off his eyes Love the way this fits his face just like the picture. However the ears are only taller but still very narrow. As a result my gelding is getting rubs on the sides of his ears! Better than bugs but unsightly when his mask is off.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great! I looked at everyone else's reviews and I'm glad I went a size down. I think horse size would have been too big for my mare. Fits and looks great!
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The search is over! I have an older Swedish Warmblood gelding who has recently developed a pretty severe case of uveitis. He is extremely sensitive to the sunlight but also hates wearing a flymask. If the mask touches his eyes at all he will just rub his face and irritate his eyes even further and or remove the mask. I have spent hundreds on flymasks trying to find one that he will keep on and that won't rub or irritate his eyes. I was skeptical to buy this mask based on the other reviews, but figured i didn't have much to loose at this point and everything to gain. I have only had it a few days so I can't speak as to its long term durability but I will say this mask is everything i have been needing and more! The double straps and snug fit keep the mask secure all day, the wire over the eyes ensure the mask stays away from his eyes even if he rubs his face, the wire keeps the shape of the mask and ensures his eyes are not bothered. He has not even offered to try to rub this mask off, i truly think its because it stays out of his eyes and gives him the comfort he has been lacking with other masks. The sizing is the tricky part, based on most of the reviews I ordered a smaller size that I usually get him. He's 15.3H and bridle/halter wise usually a cob size. I ordered the pony size in this mask and it fits perfectly. It is super silly looking, but that is a very minor price to pay to finally have the relief of UV protection and comfort i have been searching for!
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great but a little bulky This mask works fine but is super bulky. Ear pockets are huge! So my horse looks funny but is not bothered by flies. Love the nose flap which covers his sun sensitive nose.
Date published: 2015-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse size is too big-Rurned It's just too darn big. I have an average old-time type large Quarter Horse gelding. He takes a regular Horse size in everything on his head. This "Horse size" fly mask has ears 4 inches longer, more fit for a mule, and the nose flap hung 2 inches off his nose. Tightened up all the way there were gaps underneath flies could easily get in. If it fit, it would be a useful tool to keep the mask away from the horses eyes. It really looks dorky, but I can see in some circumstances, It would be useful to a horse with problem eyes, medicated eyes, or a mask rubber. Just downsize if you have to have it.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bee keeper look but awesome flymsk This style keeps the material from rubbing my mare's eyes. Stays put. Runs LARGE.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wanted to love it! My horse is a notorious fly mask ripper off-er-- after reading the other reviews I decided to try this, hoping it would offer him the sun protection his pink skin needs, while being more comfortable for him. He seemed to tolerate it for the first few nights, but then I came to the pasture to find him without it, and the fly mask absolutely nowhere to be found! I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and went down a size-- my only complaint about the Cob (my horse is a big paint-- 16.2 or so and LONNNNGGGG) was that the nose flap was indeed short. I hope others have better luck!
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits fine My horse has no trouble with the black band across the top. It sits above the level of his eyes. It cleans with a rinse, or I just use a brush to clean off the mud and shake.
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strange fit but well made My horse is wearing a lampshade! Joking aside, well made with quality materials and obviously designed for the horses comfort. The fit is strange...if it fits at the nose, the throat latch is up against the top of my horses throat. I don't think that is comfortable, so I may not be able to keep it. The next bigger size is huge. My horse is small, 13H and fine boned, the mask that sort of fits is Small Pony size. The Large Pony size is huge.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask! I bought this for my mare whose eyes have been irritated by the dry air and allergies. Her other fly mask occasionally would collapse and bother her. This one is huge but it gives her the eye clearance to keep her much more comfortable. I am very pleased with it.
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mask! I live in Savannah, GA and the bugs are ridiculous! This mask looks enormous in-hand, but trying it on, fit just right to maybe a little large, but the smaller size I think would have been too small. I agree with 2 previous reviews on 2 points: 1) a forelock hole and 2) move the eye-wire up for better eyesite. My horse was stepping very carefully on turnout and I feel now, it's because his view was obstructed. Other than that and in spite of those points, LOVE that the wire keeps the mask off his eyes. Really awesome product! we'll see if it stays on overnight! :)
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice mask but won't stay on my mare at all. I wanted to like it because it's great quality
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! My horse seems to get seasonal eye allergies every June and July. I wanted a mask that would not come close to the eyes, and this one certainly fits the bill. The cob is a perfect fit, really like this mask and hope it lasts a long time.
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Mask! Finally a mask that doesn't get stuck to my horse's face when she rubs. My mare didn't even object the first time I put it on her & she has been very wary of flymasks since previous caretakers took to beating her with the mask when she failed to stand quietly to have them put on. Our ancient gelding appreciates the "sunshade" that protects his old light sensitive eyes.
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I bought this mask for my happy appy with ERU. The best thing ever to keep the mask from rubbing her eyeballs and protect them as well since she is blind now.A few improvements could be made such as a forelock hole and selling replacement nose covers. The nose cover wears out really fast and I don't need an entire new mask, just the nose but they don't sell them.
Date published: 2015-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo fly mask I personally love this mask, it's made very well with quality materials. Unfortunately my silly boy would not lower his head to graze so I had to return it.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Storm trooper! This fly mask is made out of the same durable mesh as the Rambo fly sheets (which are indestructible, I've had my flysheet for 3 seasons now). The only negative thing I have to say about this mask is that the place meant of the wire dome is right at eye level which makes it hard for my one eyed horse to navigate at night. He has no problems seeing around it in day light. I love it because its structure keeps my horse's bad eye from being rubbed and irritated. He loves it too!
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a quality fly mask The reviews on this product were conflicting. Most claimed this mask to be too large overall. And one review claimed the manufacturer re-designed the mask to make it a better fit, I ordered the smaller size, not knowing if this was true. This mask fit my QH geldings ears and face, but was too small to secure around his jaw (he does not have a 'beefy' jaw). I sent the mask back for a refund, as I thought the 'horse' size would be way too bulbus in the forhead/eye area. I wish it fit, the mask is of tremendous quality for sure.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality fly mask! I have been looking for a fly mask that would not rub on my horse's eyes. This one is large enough that it does not touch his eyes and face. It keeps his face cool and bug free! The removable nose cover is great so I can keep it clean without washing the entire mask. Great product at a great price!
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs super small I ordered an oversized and it was tight at the throat latch. Sadly I had to return it. It looks like it would be good for a horse with a smaller head.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works beatifully to protect eye area My gelding Tex had laser surgery above his eye, and I needed to keep the area protected. This mask fits the bill. It keeps the fabric away from the tender area so that it can heal. I think he actually likes it better than his 'regular' fly mask, since it doesn't rub anywhere on his face and lets the air circulate. I'm glad I bought it.
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great, looks nice My houdini of a horse can not get this fly mask off. Looks nice and has lots of space for eyes
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I liked all the features of this mask I did return the mask because my horse would not quit sneezing when it was on. I like the hoop so the eyes are not touched by the mask. I like the flap so the nose is covered - hoping to prevent sunburn. I exchanged this mask for one of the other masks. Transaction was seamless and effortless.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly mask Wow. I thought this was to good to be true. My pony takes every fly mask I have ever tried off his face he hates them. So far this one has not moved he seems very comfortable in it. Worth every penny. I also have this for my 30 yr old mare who is losing her eye sight works great for her too. Highly recommend this mask it dose run big I purchased pony size for both my horses
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stays on! This is the first mask my big gelding has kept on alone in his paddock all night. I love it for that. I don't think he likes the ears though...because if I go to put it on in his paddock, he walks away from me!I may cut off the ears and see if he likes it better.
Date published: 2015-05-28
  • 2016-10-20T12:38CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_135
  • loc_en_US, sid_10224, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders