Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Rambo Plus Flymask

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20224
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

All the extras you're looking for in a flymask! The Rambo Plus Flymask protects your horse flies and sun exposure in comfort.

Favorite Features

  • Redesigned eye area that includes eye guards to prevent rubbing and maintain the mask's shape (so your horse won't get poked in the eye by his own mask)
  • Detachable nose cover to help prevent sunburn on light colored noses and protect that sensitive area from bugs
  • Ears are larger than many other masks and made of soft material

Imported

Sizing It Up

Circumference at rear adjustable closure: Horse (38"), Cob (36"), Pony (34"), Sm. Pony (32").
Circumference at nose adjustable closure: Horse (28"), Cob (26"), Pony (24"), Sm. Pony (22").

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a ...
    Description:
    A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensuresProtection and long lasting ...
    Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly ...
    Description:
    Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Three hole cap for ears and forelock provides stability ...
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece ...
    Description:
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene fabric, a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable. It's made to withstand tough outdoor use. The densely woven ...
    The Rambo Fly Buster is a greatoption for ...
    Description:
    The Rambo Fly Buster is a greatoption for the horse owner looking to provide the ultimate fly armor for their horse in the summer. This fly sheet istreated withNo-Fly Zone Technology to help repel flies in addition to your flyspray. ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Plus Flymask is rated 4.271 out of 5 by 107.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our horses love Rambo Plus Flymasks! To add to my earlier reviews! I hope these photos help!
    Date published: 2015-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Mask on the Market!! I purchased two Rambo fly masks and could not be happier with my purchase. Although they are a little expensive - they keep the mesh away from the horses eyes and even my cranky Thoroughbred mare did not mind the ear and nose coverings. She hates to have her ears touched but does not mind the ear covers at all! Since the mask sits away from and off of the face - your horse does kind of look like a bee keeper - but I love how there is no risk of eye injury and no pleats or seams near or around the eye area. CAUTION - the fly masks run a little larger than normal so even on a normal horse - you might want to consider getting the COB size. Would definitely recommend these fly masks to everyone!
    Date published: 2015-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great concept The brilliant design does not overshadow the need for proper sizing. I own a full bred T'bred (16.3, refined bone structure) & an Andulsian/T'bred schoolmaster (16.2, PSG). The concern is the brow band location, which itnterferes with their vision, causing timidity & spooking. perhaps I purchased the wrong size???
    Date published: 2015-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable! Season 3 starts with the same flymasks! Two years ago yesterday, I purchased my first Rambo Plus Flymask from SmartPak.  It was a brand new product at the time.  Today, the little black flies are back in New Hampshire, so we put flymasks on the horses... The SAME flymasks I purchased 2 years ago.Our horses love the Rambo Plus Flymasks.  They don't try to take them off.  There's no reason to.  The masks do not touch the eyes and are apparently comfortable for the horses.Yup, they seem pricey.  But not if you only have to purchase one! Over time, these are VERY economical. The only challenge is in finding the PERFECT fit.  Only my biggest Dutch Warmblood wears "Horse" size.  "Cob" fits the most.   And "Pony" fits the 14 hh Quarter Horse quite well.  I'm glad SmartPak is happy to refund poor fits.
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Fly Mask This is a great fly mask. Yes, it does look a bit out of the ordinary and is more expensive than most, but the style does a fabulous job of keeping the fly mask away from the horses' eyes. I'm in Florida, and it seems that the extra space keeps the horses a little cooler. The material is loosely weaved but tough.Because of the band that keeps it away from the horses' eyes, you can't crunch up the fly mask. It holds up just fine to hang on a fence and hit with a hose. When not in use, you can lay it flat in sort of a semi-circle, but it is a little bulkier than most. Well worth the bulkiness!If you don't have netting on your trailer windows, this fly mask would be wonderful for traveling because the wind won't push the fly mask against the horses' eyes and face.I selected the oatmeal color because I just don't like white fly masks. I always put fly masks over my eyes in order to judge visibility and clarity, and I liked that I could see quite well through it.Do keep in mind that it runs very large. My horses are all about 16 hand Thoroughbreds, and the horse size was much too large for what I consider to be their big heads. The cob size fit them well.My horses didn't like the extra nose piece, and it's easy enough to remove it from the Velcro attachment. For light-skinned horse noses, this would be an added bonus.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Eye Irritation, Long Lasting I have used these fly masks over a year now (the same masks are starting their second summer) on four horses on almost 24 a day hour turnout. Only one has fallen apart, tho the others are beginning to show some wear. I particularly like the fact that the fly mask is tented off the eyes so there is no eye irritation. Sizing of the mask itself is large. For my horses I am using cob size but I repositioned the velcro fasteners with my sewing machine to fit the throatlatch area. The horse size fits my draft cross. A recently received mask is a bit more snug so they have changed the sizing a little bit over time. These are the only fly masks I now use.
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice roomy fit Like that mask supports keep mask off face and eyes. Other masks I've used seem to break his forelock hair until he has almost no forelock left. I'm hoping the supports in the mask will prevent this damage. Only been using for about a month so it's too early to rate durability accurately but it appears well made and sturdy.
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like a tent! This mask is huge! I actually liked the features--seemed very breathe-able with decent visibility and plenty of space for the eyes. (Others might be interested to know that I ordered 6 different flymasks to try simultaneously. I tried them on myself to "see what I could see" through them). I actually might have kept this one to try (my boy is very hard to fit--Thoroughbred head but huge, he's always in between horse and warmblood sizes), but I feared for his safety and the longevity of this mask (which is the most expensive one out there). It is so big and has a semi-flexible piece to keep it "tented" over the eyes (the black trim below the ears in the photo) that I was afraid he would get caught in something (i.e. fence) and hurt himself or destroy it, so I sent it back. If you have a horse on very supervised turnout it might be worth a go.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My horse had a recent injury to his eye so I didn't want the fly mask resting near or around his eye, this was the perfect solution! He is also known for somehow taking his own masks off frequently but has yet to figure this one out. Have been using it for about 1 month and the material is holding up great!
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fly Mask Looks like good product but just to big for my QH.
    Date published: 2014-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Mask Ever! In South Florida the summers are really harsh. We were going thru fly masks it seemed like every other week, they would begin to unravel and other misfortunes would happen to them. Horse would figure out how to take them off each other and they would them become play toys. Rambo Plus Fly Mask has beaten all the odds! Yes, they are more expensive, but I've spent less on these because I have yet to replace a single one. The first few I bought show virtually no wear and tear. Horses have not figured out how to remove them and the round shape keeps the masks off the faces allowing plenty of circulation between face and mask so no more summer skin fungus underneath. I require all the horse to wear these now. I have started to give one to each new border as a welcome gift. We have yet to replace any of them! Great for us, maybe not so great for Rambo, but I thank Rambo for this ingenious design!!!! Please note they run large. Size down one size.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flymask! Mask seems to protect my horse while still allowing air to circulate around her face. Looks different from other fly masks I've purchased, but we like the design. Would definitely purchase another. Runs large, but just measure before ordering to determine the correct size.
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was looking for a mask just like this My horse loves to rub whenever anything touches his face, so the fact that this mask keeps the mesh off of his face has kept it on for once. It does look a bit huge for a flymask (nicknamed the beekeeper) but the fit was really good and I love the reinforced velcro straps. I had to remove the nose extension since my horse kept sneezing with it on, but I love the fact that you have the option. Mask is really well made with sturdy mesh that looks to last better than my last smartpak one. Don't be alarmed at the size and let your horse give it a try.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Over the years I've purchased so many Masks This one might look kinda unusual but for my Quarter Horse it's perfect. Stays away from her eyes, adjusts nicely, heavy duty (and she's Dr. Destruckto). I'm delighted with it. It is a little more spendy then others...yes but this one I can tell is one that will last a long long time. The nose guard protects perfectly and does not collect stuff. Highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2014-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn't rub the eyes I have a blind horse with issues about his eyes that makes it necessary to have a mask that doesn't lie close to his face. This mask has finally solved that problem for me. The mask is covered with flies when we bring him in, in the morning, but I can feel good to know that the flies aren't on his face instead.We do have to make sure the mask is put on snugly however, because he managed to remove it one time by rubbing on a fence. I found the mask, undamaged, with the Velcro still in place.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from A little too weird I did not keep the fly mask. It is well made, and I imagine it works well, but it was an unusual style and shape so I sent it back. Really just a personal choice.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs to be more durable I purchased this mask a year ago. now into the second season the bottom strap has torn away. It is stitched into a softer section of the material. The overall fit runs large. The construction is very good. They have incorporated a middle ribbing that keeps the mask well away from the face. The low score I gave is for the durability of the straps.
    Date published: 2014-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protects eyes and keeps bugs out! I bought this fly mask for 2 reasons: 1 is that my horse had a trauma to his left eye (prior to me adopting him from a rescue) and he is blind in that eye so I wanted to make sure the fly mask would not cave in on his eyes, and 2 is that I wanted a durable mask with ears and nose extension to protect against debris and bugs the size of small birds (yep, Minnesota)!I am very pleased with this mask. My horse wears it comfortably for tunrout all day (8-10 hours), and it has been very durable. The 2 velcro straps are very strong, and the hard plastic brow band does a nice job of keeping the mask off my horse's eyes. Size runs very big - my average sized Morgan needed a Pony size - I was a tad skeptical, but it fits perfectly. I am confident this mask will last all season for us. An excellent value and product.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Well Made It will stay on with the fastening system it has. The first time I couldn't figure out how to get it off, LOL! It is strong and well made. It looks like the fly mask from outerspace. The only thing I think is it is a little harder for the horse to see through. It should last many fly seasons.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea, quality issues. I bought this fly mask at the end of last season and just took it out of the package a few weeks ago. It looks weird, but does seem to do the trick - keeps the flies off and the mask off of my horses eyes. Unfortunately, one of the straps already tore off. I am generally impressed with the quality of Rambo products - they're worth the extra money - but a little disappointed this already broke. I can still use it because the main strap is fine, but will see if it holds up through the summer.
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Roomy This is a nice flymask. Very roomy and does not come in contact with eyes. As pictured, there's definitely room for a halter to be worn underneath. I like the removable nose attachment. Great quality. I gave it 4 stars based on its size. My horse has a regular sized head--so I'm reluctant to go down to the pony size.
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this mask! Best fly mask I've ever used on my horse. They do run large though. I have a small thoroughbred and found even the cob was a bit too big and went with the pony size. He used to end up losing all his other masks but this one stays on very well. My horse does roll a lot and scratch his face and lose the other ones but Rambo Plus stays on very well. I love that the mask keeps it's shape and off his eyes! The mask is going into it's second season and still looks great.
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from The horse bee keeper mask Thats what I am calling this fly mask. As it is so big! Was way to big for my 14.2 quarter horse and he was not thrilled with it. My thoroughbred kept flaring his lips. It was clear they did not have the level of comfort with traditional masks. Good concept needs work. Smartpak took them back. I really wanted these to work.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird Way too big.. I don't think even if it fit my horses would keep this on.. Super bulky all the way around .
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Lasting I have one of these that is now entering its third summer of use. Yes, it's worn looking, but nothing is ripped and it's fully functional. As others have mentioned it does run large. I originally ordered the cob for my large pony but it was far too big. My oversized head QH wears it.
    Date published: 2014-04-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great in Theory But just couldn't fit it to my big girl. After reading other reviews, I tried the cob size first on my 16.2 4 yo WB mare who usually wears oversize. It just didn't go far enough down her nose and looked super weird. So I exchanged for a Horse size, which looked to fit her much better. It's slightly like a beekeeper hat. But she has big eye bones, which usually get rubbed by regular fly masks, so I was eager to try this one. Unfortunately, while the Horse size fit her length-wise, it's too wide. I came back to the barn the day after first leaving it on her and there it was on the ground. She has never taken off her other fly masks and I'm not dealing with that for a $30+ pricetag. Too bad. I did like that I could see her face through it. I'll be returning. I tried.
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Plus Flymask When I first opened the package, I thought the flymask was HUGE! And well, it is. It's like a little tent for your horse's head. Though my horse looks like a beekeeper, I bet he is much more comfortable in this mask than any other. Dirt on the mask will not touch him, it won't bother his eyes, and it is well made (like any other Rambo product). The ears are just right; not too big, not too small. There are two Velcro strips to keep the mask in place. It easily fits over the halter if you need to leave it on. Great product overall.
    Date published: 2013-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money This mask has held up remarkably well considering my mare can destroy a fly mask in a matter of hours. I have tried just about every mask that is sold and spend about $100.00 per season on masks for her. Typically, she rips the eyeballs out after a mere few hours. She has been wearing this mask for about a month now, and while there are a few strings hanging, the eyeballs are still intact. The ears are flimsy and ridiculously long, and she did rip one of the ears off. Also, the velcro around the jaw area doesn't stay closed. But hey, she still has it on and that is what is important to me!
    Date published: 2013-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ingenious design I have an Appy mare who has to wear a flymask 24/7 for sun protection. The design of this mask works great at keeping the mesh away from her eyes. It fits securely and has yet to get pulled off. I put it on in April and it's still going strong. The only wear area is the trim that covers the plastic stay, but it doesn't seem to be affecting it's usefulness.Fitwise - It runs big! My mare has a big head. For reference, the horse size Cashel and Farnam masks are too small. The XL sizes in both are a smidge to big. In this mask she wears a Cob. The horse size could be snugged up to fit, but then I found that the plastic stay was right in her line of vision. Also, the ears are ridiculously long. Like mule ear length long.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flymask This is a unique design flymask, that actually seems to be gentler on the horses eye area. I have had three other brands and this one by far is the nicest. It seems to run a little large though - normally my warmblood couldn't wear a standard horse size and it fits her perfect. My other two horses have average size heads and I purchased cob size for them and they fit fine.
    Date published: 2013-08-21
    • 2016-05-29T16:11CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_104
    • loc_en_US, sid_10224, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders