Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Rambo Plus Flymask

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20224
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

All the extras you're looking for in a flymask!

The Rambo Plus Flymask protects your horse flies and sun exposure in comfort.

Favorite Features

  • Redesigned eye area that includes eye guards to prevent rubbing and maintain the mask's shape (so your horse won't get poked in the eye by his own mask).
  • Detachable nose cover to help prevent sunburn on light colored noses and protect that sensitive area from bugs.
  • Ears are larger than many other masks and made of soft material. 
Sizing It Up

Circumference at rear adjustable closure: Horse (38"), Cob (36"), Pony (34"), Sm. Pony (32").
Circumference at nose adjustable closure: Horse (28"), Cob (26"), Pony (24"), Sm. Pony (22").

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Plus Flymask is rated 4.2286 out of 5 by 70.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mask for horses with long lashes I have had a tough time finding a fly mask that would fit over my horses' large eyes and long lashes. This mask allows for generous amount of space in front of the horse's eyes so it is not squashed against their face.My horse eagerly wears this one and he looks cute in it too! The ears are very long however, but doesn't seem to be a problem.Cannot comment on quality and durability yet since have only used it for a week so far.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs very large Believe all the reviews on sizing. You will be as much as two sizes below the regular fly mask. I got horse size at first and it looked like a small VW. Suggest measure for sizing. Great return policy, thank goodness.It is an excellent mask with extra clearance around the eyes that does not collapse. Masks always bother my horse due to her long eyelashes, but this one she rates A+.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it Looks like a bee keeper but works GREAT!!! Took my horse a day or two to figure out the black seam but it's the best fly mask I've bought!
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ummmm... Can't really comment. I took the mask out of box and put it back in to return to Smartpak. Just to funky.
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It runs way big! I had to get one of these for my 16.2 TB cause I was worried he would rub his eyes with a regular fly mask. First I ordered horse size, then returned for cob.... well he got both of those off in the pasture. So my TB wears a pony size! Luckily it hasn't come off and looks like a proper fit. Love it but do be aware of the sizing!
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bad Flymask Due to insect bites, I purchased a Flybuster sheet from Rambo the other year. I love it! When I saw this flymask, I couldn't wait to get it. The price at $31.95, however, was horrendous. My horse cannot tolerate anything touching her ears (thoroughbred), so when I read that this flymask had large ear holes, I was ecstactic. Unfortunately, neither the description nor the picture showed that it had a mesh that goes around each ear. What a mess. There was no way she would wear it and it was way too big for a "horse" size.
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hard to fit horses My yearling has very wide-set eyes and this is the only fly sheet that doesn't rub against her eyes. Has held up well in turnout and her fairly long ears fit with plenty of room to spare.
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Mask Yet I'm a big fan of Farnam SuperMask II with ears and have a large stockpile of them ready for use. However, after trying this funky cleverly designed fly mask, I am a convert! WOW!I've now purchased all three sizes... we've got lots of different sized horses.... and have found they seem accurately sized. Our biggest warmbloods with the widest faces are wearing horse size, the smaller warmblood is wearing the cob size, and our little quarter horse wears the pony size just fine. There is only a little play in terms of adjustment, so getting the size right is important.Durable!? Absolutely.Yes, they seem a bit pricey, but I think they are worth it.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great in theory, hard to handle As with all my previous Horseware Ireland purchases, I love the the durability of the materials and the excellent craftsmanship that went into this fly mask. It is certain to hold up well.The design is such that the mask creates a tent around the eyes. I thought it would be great to avoid rubbing -- and it definitely didn't rub -- but the hoop doesn't fold up well and the hold mask is relatively stiff making it difficult to store in the barn. It's very large! It comes with its own bag for storage, but I need something that I can just throw on a small stall door hook that won't get in the way.In all -- a great concept, but not for my setup.
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a mask that stays off their eyes. This is a really well made product. I love the stiffener which shapes the mask around the horse's head so there is no worries that the mask is collapsing on the eye or the eye lashes. The mask has ears and comes with detachable nose guard. I've only had it for a month so it's hard to say how durable it is, however, it appears very well made. It runs large. REALLY large. My mare wears a full horse size in Cashel masks. I got her this one in cob size based upon the reviews. I imagine that as with their turnouts, Rambo gears this product at the WB population hence its size. Ears are massive, too!Overall, I'm very happy with this purchase. No longer worried about the mask retaining the shape to avoid eye contact. This will be my go to mask from now on.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Flymask My horse suffered a severe eye infection that resulted in some vision loss and I was told he will always be at risk to pick this up again. I needed a good fly mask that he can wear for turn-out year-round to protect the eye. What I really like about this Rambo Flymask is that it has a stiff band that keeps the mask well away from his eyes (makes him look like a bee keeper). The Velcro latch under the chin is great and despite rolling and some clever attempts at getting it off, he has not succeeded. I have not had it for very long but it looks like it will hold up well. I plan on getting a spare and one for my other horse as well.
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought this one twice Nice mask...it survives months of halter tag. The only down fall is that my horses forelock gets very tangled during a day in the mask. Otherwise great purchase. I have bought this mask for two summer seasons.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable Rambo fly mask stays off my horses face. He needs UV protection year round and keeps this fly mask on. Only drawback, had to cut the ears off...it stays on better with the ears cut off. Referred it to some other people and now have ordered 4 masks for all my horses..
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Mask I've Purchased I've purchased several different fly masks and this one is absolutely the best.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask Horse is content wearing it. Fits and looks very comfortable and keeps the fly out.
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not practical The mask is runs extremely large. It spooked my mare at first glance. She hated the size of it and kept trying to remove it. Great concept but needs some adjustments to be more practical.
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly mask ever!! I have gone through 4 crusader fly masks in two summers and tried several other brands on my horse but nothing fit decent enough to keep. My horse ripped the 4 crusader masks to shreds and literally never kept them on for more than 24 hours. He had 3 masks in rotation at all times.This Rambo mask is seriously the best mask to happen to a horse with a hard to fit head out 24/7 with a herd of horses that play rough. It fits wonderfully and fits snug under his jaw and comes up further towards his throat latch than other masks. My horse has a bit of a roman nose and usually horse size masks are too small but warmblood sizes are too big. He wears a cob size in this mask so they definitely run very big. The horse size was giant on him. He hasn't lost this mask in the field yet. Going from losing it daily to not once yet is a big deal!I just am so happy to have found a mask that stays on and hasn't gotten a single tear in it yet!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-09-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit strange The photos don't really do it justice. The horse ends up looking a bit like a beekeeper from outer space. Imagine putting the hoop part of a hoop skirt into a fly mask, and you get the idea of what it's like. The wire part is supposed to keep the mesh from being squished around the eyes, but it's rather weird. Plus it's impossible to hang on a hook- falls off due to the wire part.On the plus side: it's every bit as durable as you'd expect from Rambo. I appreciated that there were 2 different closures under the chin. If one is broken, it could still stay in place.However, my horse hated it. He took it off every single day in turnout. Even when it was put on under his halter (although it fits better over the halter due to the wire). He would take it off, no rips or tears, no closures undone. He'd just remove it every day. I think a few times an insect got inside the spacious interior & drove him nuts.It does run a bit bigger than the Cashel fly mask.
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Plus Flymask I have replaced fly masks over and over for 5 years to find one that doesn't press against my horse's eyes. He manages to take off, hide, tear up, kick out of his pasture, etc. any fly mask that I use but also hates flies.This fly mask is perfect, it keeps room around his eyes and he has kept it on. I bought 2, one as a backup, but will order more so we'll always have it. It doesn't interfere with the ability to put his halter on over it, as some other reviews mention. It's the best thing I've found. I love the ability to take the nose piece off to wash it. My horse has a white snip down his nose and onto his lip so it's important I keep it from getting sunburned. This is the best fly mask, I wish I had it years ago. I'll never use anything else. My horse is a quarter horse and used a normal horse size.Thank you Rambo! All my horse's blankets Rambo blankets due to their durability so it's not surprise this fly mask is perfect!
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem Solved Very happy with this product. My horse is extremely attractive to those nasty horse flies. She lives outside with her peeps :) so she is vulnerable with the standard fly mask. The Rambo is the best one for her because the nose piece is not extremely long which she objected to on some of the other brands. Thank you SmartPak
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind I have a near-phobia about fly masks because I worry that if the horse rubs her head the mask could collapse against the eye and cause an ulcer. Probably not really a rational fear, I know, but I'm always the last boarder to throw masks on and I check under them obsessively. On the other hand, I believe in full field turnout, and in the mid-Atlantic that means defending my horses against hordes of biting insects. Both my girls have hard-to-fit noggins - cob tends to be too tight in the jowl and horse too big in the muzzle and too long in general. I bought them both cob in this mask and so far so good after about 10 days (24/7 turnout). Each got her mask off once in the beginning - the one because hubby had it WAY too loose. Moreover, in my opinion, though, they are not in a super-playful herd. The masks seem as sturdily constructed as any Rambo product; they seem on track to last at least 2 seasons - likely more unless we get a very playful addition to our herd. The down side is it is very hard to get a halter over this mask. Also, my girls have normal-to-petite ears and they pretty much fill the ears of the mask.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Flymask Purchase Ever The main reason I bought this flymask and separated itself from other products, is that the ears are in lines and not small holes. My horse is allergic to bugs especially with his ears, so when I saw this didn't have small openings for bugs to get in, I wanted it. And so far, no bleeding ears and no tears from bugs. Love it!Also, the unique design of bees keeper's mask intrigued me and allowed for a new frontier in the materials and design of flymasks. I won't ever switch!
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mine Is On It's Way Back! This mask reminds me of a bee keeper's hat. My filly looked like she was headed for outer space. I could deal with the strange appearance, but my filly hated this mask. She managed to remove it without it becoming unfastened. I do not recommend this mask.
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from The fit is just off. Because there is so much space around the eye area, my horse could slip it over his head with no trouble at all. It spent more time on the ground than it did on his face! Great concept, but needs a redesign. Maybe if it fit further down the neck?
    Date published: 2012-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rambo Plus Fly Mask Great The Rambo Plus Fly mask may look like a bee keepers helmet but it does a great job keeping the mesh away from your horses' eyes. The price may be a little steep for a fly mask but it is definately an improvement on other fly masks
    Date published: 2012-05-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Skip this mask Makes no sense....way oversized and twists around. Sent it back.
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected My horses are tough on fly masks. They play tug-of-war with them, scrape them off in the water tank or fence posts, etc. I was skeptical about this mask, to say the least. I loved the design over the eyes, but I haven't had a lot of success with "eared" fly masks- the horses seem to HATE the ear covers on all of the masks I've tried. But, I am tired of fly masks poking the horses in the eye. Even the "Bug Eye" Kensington mask still collapsed enough to irritate the eye. I can honestly report that these masks have been on for a week now, and nothing is touching my horses' eyes. The masks have stayed on, and even my very hot, spooky mare seems to look forward to having her mask put on after a ride. WATCH THE SIZING, though... My little Morgan mare with an Arab-type head is wearing the pony size, and my Morgan with a very "average" sized (horse-size bridles, halters, fly masks) is wearing the cob size in this mask. I don't love the lack of adjustability on the jowl strap- both horses have it as snug as I can get it, to eliminate the gaping behind their ears- but the noseband strap seems OK. I like the length of the mask, too. I'm not using the nosepieces, so I can't comment on the durability or security of that attachment. Overall, I am very happy with the masks- they keep flies out, stay on, and don't poke the horses in the eye. As far as durability, the best I've ever gotten is about a season and a half out of any fly mask, so I don't expect much more than that out of these.
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great concept, but isn't practical Just doesn't fit well behind the ears.Too long on the face. (Horse size for big headed mare)The holes are too large in the mesh. It will only work for bigger bugs.Very difficult to put on and take off halter with the globe protruding around the eyes.My horses were spookier with the black band right in their line of sight.I love the idea of keeping the mask out of the eyes, however it needs to be reworked to be of practical use.
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Realy works THis mask does the job. Bought the bug eye before and it collasped in thier eyes this one has a strong band to hold it away from their eyes. This one never gets in their eyes GREAT MASK
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SERIOUS Fly Mask!!! We just received this mask and I have no doubt it will be the best ever! It is a little "spacy" looking, but hey ... we're not out to win the delicate fashion show. Our horse was just moved from Oregon (wimpy flies) to California (serious issue) so we want to be prepared and I'm confident this will be as good as they get. I wouldn't expect anything else from the team of Smarkpak and Rambo ... RIGHT!!
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    • 2015-05-26T10:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_68
    • loc_en_US, sid_10224, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.