Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Rambo Plus Flymask

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20224
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

All the extras you're looking for in a flymask!

The Rambo Plus Flymask protects your horse flies and sun exposure in comfort.

Favorite Features

  • Redesigned eye area that includes eye guards to prevent rubbing and maintain the mask's shape (so your horse won't get poked in the eye by his own mask).
  • Detachable nose cover to help prevent sunburn on light colored noses and protect that sensitive area from bugs.
  • Ears are larger than many other masks and made of soft material. 
Sizing It Up

Circumference at rear adjustable closure: Horse (38"), Cob (36"), Pony (34"), Sm. Pony (32").
Circumference at nose adjustable closure: Horse (28"), Cob (26"), Pony (24"), Sm. Pony (22").

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Plus Flymask is rated 4.2935 out of 5 by 92.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mask! I live in Savannah, GA and the bugs are ridiculous! This mask looks enormous in-hand, but trying it on, fit just right to maybe a little large, but the smaller size I think would have been too small. I agree with 2 previous reviews on 2 points: 1) a forelock hole and 2) move the eye-wire up for better eyesite. My horse was stepping very carefully on turnout and I feel now, it's because his view was obstructed. Other than that and in spite of those points, LOVE that the wire keeps the mask off his eyes. Really awesome product! we'll see if it stays on overnight! :)
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice mask but won't stay on my mare at all. I wanted to like it because it's great quality
    Date published: 2015-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! My horse seems to get seasonal eye allergies every June and July. I wanted a mask that would not come close to the eyes, and this one certainly fits the bill. The cob is a perfect fit, really like this mask and hope it lasts a long time.
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Mask! Finally a mask that doesn't get stuck to my horse's face when she rubs. My mare didn't even object the first time I put it on her & she has been very wary of flymasks since previous caretakers took to beating her with the mask when she failed to stand quietly to have them put on. Our ancient gelding appreciates the "sunshade" that protects his old light sensitive eyes.
    Date published: 2015-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I bought this mask for my happy appy with ERU. The best thing ever to keep the mask from rubbing her eyeballs and protect them as well since she is blind now.A few improvements could be made such as a forelock hole and selling replacement nose covers. The nose cover wears out really fast and I don't need an entire new mask, just the nose but they don't sell them.
    Date published: 2015-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo fly mask I personally love this mask, it's made very well with quality materials. Unfortunately my silly boy would not lower his head to graze so I had to return it.
    Date published: 2015-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Storm trooper! This fly mask is made out of the same durable mesh as the Rambo fly sheets (which are indestructible, I've had my flysheet for 3 seasons now). The only negative thing I have to say about this mask is that the place meant of the wire dome is right at eye level which makes it hard for my one eyed horse to navigate at night. He has no problems seeing around it in day light. I love it because its structure keeps my horse's bad eye from being rubbed and irritated. He loves it too!
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a quality fly mask The reviews on this product were conflicting. Most claimed this mask to be too large overall. And one review claimed the manufacturer re-designed the mask to make it a better fit, I ordered the smaller size, not knowing if this was true. This mask fit my QH geldings ears and face, but was too small to secure around his jaw (he does not have a 'beefy' jaw). I sent the mask back for a refund, as I thought the 'horse' size would be way too bulbus in the forhead/eye area. I wish it fit, the mask is of tremendous quality for sure.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality fly mask! I have been looking for a fly mask that would not rub on my horse's eyes. This one is large enough that it does not touch his eyes and face. It keeps his face cool and bug free! The removable nose cover is great so I can keep it clean without washing the entire mask. Great product at a great price!
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs super small I ordered an oversized and it was tight at the throat latch. Sadly I had to return it. It looks like it would be good for a horse with a smaller head.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works beatifully to protect eye area My gelding Tex had laser surgery above his eye, and I needed to keep the area protected. This mask fits the bill. It keeps the fabric away from the tender area so that it can heal. I think he actually likes it better than his 'regular' fly mask, since it doesn't rub anywhere on his face and lets the air circulate. I'm glad I bought it.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great, looks nice My houdini of a horse can not get this fly mask off. Looks nice and has lots of space for eyes
    Date published: 2015-06-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I liked all the features of this mask I did return the mask because my horse would not quit sneezing when it was on. I like the hoop so the eyes are not touched by the mask. I like the flap so the nose is covered - hoping to prevent sunburn. I exchanged this mask for one of the other masks. Transaction was seamless and effortless.
    Date published: 2015-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly mask Wow. I thought this was to good to be true. My pony takes every fly mask I have ever tried off his face he hates them. So far this one has not moved he seems very comfortable in it. Worth every penny. I also have this for my 30 yr old mare who is losing her eye sight works great for her too. Highly recommend this mask it dose run big I purchased pony size for both my horses
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stays on! This is the first mask my big gelding has kept on alone in his paddock all night. I love it for that. I don't think he likes the ears though...because if I go to put it on in his paddock, he walks away from me!I may cut off the ears and see if he likes it better.
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love but bought too small I love this product. It protects without coming close to my guy's eyes. Other fly masks come to close to his eyes.
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our horses love Rambo Plus Flymasks! To add to my earlier reviews! I hope these photos help!
    Date published: 2015-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Mask on the Market!! I purchased two Rambo fly masks and could not be happier with my purchase. Although they are a little expensive - they keep the mesh away from the horses eyes and even my cranky Thoroughbred mare did not mind the ear and nose coverings. She hates to have her ears touched but does not mind the ear covers at all! Since the mask sits away from and off of the face - your horse does kind of look like a bee keeper - but I love how there is no risk of eye injury and no pleats or seams near or around the eye area. CAUTION - the fly masks run a little larger than normal so even on a normal horse - you might want to consider getting the COB size. Would definitely recommend these fly masks to everyone!
    Date published: 2015-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great concept The brilliant design does not overshadow the need for proper sizing. I own a full bred T'bred (16.3, refined bone structure) & an Andulsian/T'bred schoolmaster (16.2, PSG). The concern is the brow band location, which itnterferes with their vision, causing timidity & spooking. perhaps I purchased the wrong size???
    Date published: 2015-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable! Season 3 starts with the same flymasks! Two years ago yesterday, I purchased my first Rambo Plus Flymask from SmartPak.  It was a brand new product at the time.  Today, the little black flies are back in New Hampshire, so we put flymasks on the horses... The SAME flymasks I purchased 2 years ago.Our horses love the Rambo Plus Flymasks.  They don't try to take them off.  There's no reason to.  The masks do not touch the eyes and are apparently comfortable for the horses.Yup, they seem pricey.  But not if you only have to purchase one! Over time, these are VERY economical. The only challenge is in finding the PERFECT fit.  Only my biggest Dutch Warmblood wears "Horse" size.  "Cob" fits the most.   And "Pony" fits the 14 hh Quarter Horse quite well.  I'm glad SmartPak is happy to refund poor fits.
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Fly Mask This is a great fly mask. Yes, it does look a bit out of the ordinary and is more expensive than most, but the style does a fabulous job of keeping the fly mask away from the horses' eyes. I'm in Florida, and it seems that the extra space keeps the horses a little cooler. The material is loosely weaved but tough.Because of the band that keeps it away from the horses' eyes, you can't crunch up the fly mask. It holds up just fine to hang on a fence and hit with a hose. When not in use, you can lay it flat in sort of a semi-circle, but it is a little bulkier than most. Well worth the bulkiness!If you don't have netting on your trailer windows, this fly mask would be wonderful for traveling because the wind won't push the fly mask against the horses' eyes and face.I selected the oatmeal color because I just don't like white fly masks. I always put fly masks over my eyes in order to judge visibility and clarity, and I liked that I could see quite well through it.Do keep in mind that it runs very large. My horses are all about 16 hand Thoroughbreds, and the horse size was much too large for what I consider to be their big heads. The cob size fit them well.My horses didn't like the extra nose piece, and it's easy enough to remove it from the Velcro attachment. For light-skinned horse noses, this would be an added bonus.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Eye Irritation, Long Lasting I have used these fly masks over a year now (the same masks are starting their second summer) on four horses on almost 24 a day hour turnout. Only one has fallen apart, tho the others are beginning to show some wear. I particularly like the fact that the fly mask is tented off the eyes so there is no eye irritation. Sizing of the mask itself is large. For my horses I am using cob size but I repositioned the velcro fasteners with my sewing machine to fit the throatlatch area. The horse size fits my draft cross. A recently received mask is a bit more snug so they have changed the sizing a little bit over time. These are the only fly masks I now use.
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice roomy fit Like that mask supports keep mask off face and eyes. Other masks I've used seem to break his forelock hair until he has almost no forelock left. I'm hoping the supports in the mask will prevent this damage. Only been using for about a month so it's too early to rate durability accurately but it appears well made and sturdy.
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like a tent! This mask is huge! I actually liked the features--seemed very breathe-able with decent visibility and plenty of space for the eyes. (Others might be interested to know that I ordered 6 different flymasks to try simultaneously. I tried them on myself to "see what I could see" through them). I actually might have kept this one to try (my boy is very hard to fit--Thoroughbred head but huge, he's always in between horse and warmblood sizes), but I feared for his safety and the longevity of this mask (which is the most expensive one out there). It is so big and has a semi-flexible piece to keep it "tented" over the eyes (the black trim below the ears in the photo) that I was afraid he would get caught in something (i.e. fence) and hurt himself or destroy it, so I sent it back. If you have a horse on very supervised turnout it might be worth a go.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My horse had a recent injury to his eye so I didn't want the fly mask resting near or around his eye, this was the perfect solution! He is also known for somehow taking his own masks off frequently but has yet to figure this one out. Have been using it for about 1 month and the material is holding up great!
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fly Mask Looks like good product but just to big for my QH.
    Date published: 2014-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Mask Ever! In South Florida the summers are really harsh. We were going thru fly masks it seemed like every other week, they would begin to unravel and other misfortunes would happen to them. Horse would figure out how to take them off each other and they would them become play toys. Rambo Plus Fly Mask has beaten all the odds! Yes, they are more expensive, but I've spent less on these because I have yet to replace a single one. The first few I bought show virtually no wear and tear. Horses have not figured out how to remove them and the round shape keeps the masks off the faces allowing plenty of circulation between face and mask so no more summer skin fungus underneath. I require all the horse to wear these now. I have started to give one to each new border as a welcome gift. We have yet to replace any of them! Great for us, maybe not so great for Rambo, but I thank Rambo for this ingenious design!!!! Please note they run large. Size down one size.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flymask! Mask seems to protect my horse while still allowing air to circulate around her face. Looks different from other fly masks I've purchased, but we like the design. Would definitely purchase another. Runs large, but just measure before ordering to determine the correct size.
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was looking for a mask just like this My horse loves to rub whenever anything touches his face, so the fact that this mask keeps the mesh off of his face has kept it on for once. It does look a bit huge for a flymask (nicknamed the beekeeper) but the fit was really good and I love the reinforced velcro straps. I had to remove the nose extension since my horse kept sneezing with it on, but I love the fact that you have the option. Mask is really well made with sturdy mesh that looks to last better than my last smartpak one. Don't be alarmed at the size and let your horse give it a try.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Over the years I've purchased so many Masks This one might look kinda unusual but for my Quarter Horse it's perfect. Stays away from her eyes, adjusts nicely, heavy duty (and she's Dr. Destruckto). I'm delighted with it. It is a little more spendy then others...yes but this one I can tell is one that will last a long long time. The nose guard protects perfectly and does not collect stuff. Highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2014-07-20
    • 2015-08-26T13:20CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_90
    • loc_en_US, sid_10224, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.