Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Rambo® Original Turnout w/Leg Arches

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18714
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The classic Rambo style, with great updated features!  The Rambo Original Turnout with Leg Arches  features a 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market. Inner lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial with thermobonded fiberfill for longer lasting heat retention so your horse stays comfortably warm all season long. 

Favorite Features

  • 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell is extremely strong and durable
  • Inner lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial with thermobonded fiberfill for longer lasting heat retention
  • The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating
  • Compatable with Horseware Liner System
  • Leg arches for increased freedom of movement
  • Wipe clean tail cord
  • Reflective strips for added visibility
  • Oversize tail flap
  • Removable triple belly surcingle straps make it easier for you to keep the blanket clean
  • Patented "V-front" quick clip closure system with snap allows for easy on and off while Surefit Neck Design helps to reduce pressure on your horses chest and shoulder
  • Lite has 0 g/No Fill, Medium has 200 g fill, Heavy has 370 g 

Imported

Sizing It Up

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Original Turnout w/Leg Arches is rated 4.7347 out of 5 by 49.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just the BEST Since I have a lot of mileage and years under my belt with cleaning and repair blankets....hands down, Rambo holds it waterproof the best and the balistic material cannot be beat. I would not consider buying anything else for my own horses. My only negatives on the newer Rambos, the plastic snaps on the tail straps and the plastic pieces in the surcingles.
    Date published: 2014-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good turnout, just one sewing flaw. This is a very nice turnout sheet. I like how it fits my Morgan, the contours provide better fit, and I really like the reflective silver trim that I can see in the dark! The hardware is durable and the whole sheet is easy to get on quickly, with strong velcro and no-nonsense clips. My only problem was that the front closure had one seam that hadn't been sewn completely (see photos), but I couldn't wait the week for a replacement, so I "made it work." If you order well before the rainy season starts and check the sewing carefully, it should be fine. Now that the rains are over here in California, I have washed it and re-waterproofed with NikWax (as recommended by Rambo), and it looks great and is ready for the autumn.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I bought this blanket for my new horse, along with all the other fill sizes and i love it! Quality if amazing and looks great even when covered in mud ;)excited i wont be having to buy all new blankets every year!
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Rambo blanket, but runs big I have another Rambo blanket that I purchased probably about 4-5 years ago and still looks great! The only problem I had was that I ordered this blanket in an 81, the same size as my other Rambo that fits my horse perfectly. When i put the blanket on him is was a good 3-4 inches too long. My horse normally wears an 80. I had no problems exchanging it for the 78 that fit perfectly. Although Rambo's are a bit pricey they last forever based on my previous Rambo purchase, and are well worth in investment.
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! I'm very happy I bought this product! It has hold up well, and I can wipe mud off very easily! Little expensive, but TOTALLY worth it! One little complaint, the three buckles in the front are very time consuming to put one. Normally whoever puts my horses blankets on only does the front buckles. All in all, this is an excellent blanket!!
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unsurpassed Quality!! I always know I can count on Rambo. I had another blanket, but it wasn't truly waterproof. We live in Oregon, so it needs to be completely effective no matters how much rain falls out of the sky. I really like the reflective tape on the blanket...makes it easy to find him in the pasture at not. The extra Velcro attachments in the front are nice too.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from rambo is great There is nothing like this turnout rug it is worth the money it is now the only rug I will buy
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT !!! I love the new style of the Rambo!! The leg arches and the new front enclosures are the BEST!!! Highly recommend these blankets!!!
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from v-front closure really makes a difference I find that for mine and many other horses, the V-front closure really makes a difference (as long as the blanket is the right size) in reducing pressure and rubbing across the point of shoulder. Plus all the other great features and quality from Horseware/Rambo makes their blankets worth the extra money, but mainly for me, it's how comfortably they fit my horses around shoulders and withers. The poor fits I see for withers and shoulders with so many blankets, for so many horses, make me cringe! Also, I love the high neck/wug style, but for my Morgan mare, with her big, upright Morgan neck, it just didn't seem the right match, so this style is working better for her.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Blanket I bought the Rambo blanket for the up-coming cold weather. I am very impressed with the quality and details of the Rambo blanket. The fit was great and I am so glad I made this purchase. I would highly recommend the Rambo Original Turnout blanket.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo - Consistent Excellence Over the years I have become an ardent fan of Rambo blankets. Especially the Original Turnout with leg arches. The newer fit, especially in the sheet (lite) runs larger than it used to with the change to the current innovative front closure with two Velcro closures and snaps on the bias. Very tough blanket, very waterproof even with somewhat frequent machine washing. My oldest Rambo is greater than 15 years old and is still going strong, although over time the insulation has thinned out (the blanket is a medium weight). I have not been impressed with the blanket liner concept as I have multiple horses that need blankets changed and I see much more shifting of the blanket/liner combo than with the original style. Expensive though it sounds, I have found that single distinct weights work best. They can be layered if need be.
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful blanket This is a great blanket! This is my first Rambo blanket for a TB that I have a hard time fitting. This blanket is perfect for his high withers. I am a Rambo blanket buyer from here on out. Thanks smart pak for carrying great products.
    Date published: 2013-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this turnout! This turnout fit my performance-built Quarter Horse a little big in the shoulder area, but overall I am very pleased with the fit. I like how the blanket stayed put without leg straps.
    Date published: 2013-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo original turnout with leg arches Fantastic turnout. I have 2 and use them on different size, shape horses. They fit well, stay in place and are easy to put on and take off. I have a 200 gram liner for one of the turnouts and have been able to unfasten it from the turnout and pull it off my horse without taking the turnout sheet off. That is handy when I come home and find him getting too warm in the pasture because the weather changed but I don't want to take the turnout off and have him coat himself in mud!
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable blanket I went through two other medium weight blankets in about 4 weeks.So I decided to invest in a Rambo. My horse is always out and he runs and plays and rolls in his blanket so I needed something that would really hold up.The sizing is weird he typical wears a 74 but those ran too small.But so far so good this is a super quality blanket that I hope to have for years to come.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely LOVE RAMBO! I have used Rambo products for years, I absolutely love the fit and durability on all things Rambo. This particular turnout blanket, I own in both the medium and heavy weight and I can highly recommend it!!
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, durability with great closures. The new type rear strap seems to work better than previous blankets. Coupled with the matching neck cover, this combination is the best I've ever purchased
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent investment The Rambo original turnout is a rugged, generously proportioned high quality coat that will last for years to come, outlasting cheaper coats making the higher initial investment of $$$ worthwhile. I own another one of these Rambos which is 10 years old and remains waterproof with no tears whatsoever. I own 5 of the purple Rambo wug turnouts as well which are also excellent but have higher neck coverage to keep rain/snow out. I bought a new green original Rambo this winter for my hard to fit Freisian cross who is very big in the neck and shoulders. The size 84 fits him well through the body though it is a little too long in the back. Rambos run large for a given size dimension when compared to other brands on the market. I think they are especially well suited for warmbloods and draft crosses; however, my Appy and my thoroughbreds enjoy the comfortable fit with NO RUBS. These coats stay in place when the horses run, play, roll or lie down even though I have removed the strap under the tail of each as it collected manure. I highly rec'd these coats for all climates. In the Northwoods of MN the heavy-weight is perfect for the winter. The waterproof sheets without fill are perfect for Spring/Autumn conditions. I wish I could afford to buy some more Rambo sheets for turnout!
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back to My Trusty Rambo Ordered the new Smartpak Turnout with the 10 yr. guarantee, but after less than 5 wears I had to return it. Should have known to stick with a Rambo. Yes, they are expensive, but they are the best I have ever found. You get what you pay for, and with how hard horses are on their clothes, if you can swing it, you won't want to buy anything else. Highly Recommend!
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective RAMBO Turnout Blanket! I have a Morgan horse - she wears a 78 but had to order a 75 to fit her well. I love the construction of this product - heavy hardware, quality craftsmanship. The front closure is totally awesome - two velcro strips and metal hooks ensure complete closure. The three straps under the belly rock and keep this on my horse well. I feel confident that this particular blanket will be what I purchase whenever the need arises. Rambo = Quality.
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from High quality, specific fit After reading the reviews for this blanket i decided i'd take the gamble and order one for my quarter horse. I ordered a size down as recommended. She is built bulky in the hind end and shoulders but is long tall and refined so i thought that it should fit alright. I was excited to open the bag as the blanket is gorgeous, heavy duty, sleek and you can tell is tough as nails. Sadly it couldn't have fit much worse. It was tight in the butt yet hung way too long, and was baggy in the shoulder area. I can see where the reviews saying "built for a thoroughbred" come into play. Thankfully smartpak has free returns so its not that big of a deal. I still rated this blanket high as it is the nicest blanket ive ever handled. Too bad i don't have the horse to fit it!
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Rambo is always a great purchase because of quality and durability. My horse is difficult to fit, but this blanket fits perfectly and I know it will last a long time.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fit problems I purchased this turnout because my horse is really hard on his blankets... So the Rambos are definitely very resistant. But the fit is terrible I think. They are made for giant tall legged horses... "dressing" an arabian with one of those is apparently impossible. I still don't know if I'll keep this blanket or if I'll return it... it's very frustrating because I can tell the quality is amazing. If only they could do a cut for smaller horses, and more room in the shoulder area... (and I got the correct size after trying bigger and smaller...) so that's it.
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Fit. They Last I've stopped trying other blankets and sheets because nothing fits as well, breathes as well, looks as good, or is as durable as a Rambo. Only complaint might be that I don't understand the butt strap they use instead of leg straps. No matter how I adjust it, there is manure all over it and often on my horse's legs and backside. I just remove the butt strap. The blanket stays in place fine on my horses without it.This medium weight is quite warm for our Pacific Northwest climate.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit / Good quality Have had other (the original) rambo blankets in the past that have fit better, stayed in place better, and held up better than any of many other brands I have tried. Also had a Rambo supreme, but one of the front clips has broken and there is no repair/replacement part available, so I like the original closure better! This latest one was ordered for a blanket destroying Selle Francais who is always into something. He is a tall and broad guy and the blanket fit true to his measured size of 84. He and I are both happy with it so far, fits him well and stays in place.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo makes great blankets I have two Rambo blankets, liners, a sheet, and hoods....they're great and while expensive they LAST. Very importantly they FIT my 16.2 heavyset thoroughbred with tall withers - no rubbing. No slipping, no tearing. Still waterproof after two seasons and I'm very happy with them. I personally wasn't crazy about the tail cord instead of leg straps when I first bought them but now have no reason to complain - with or without liners they are always exactly where I left them the night before. Great products.
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Blanket fits my Dutch warmblood mare wonderfully, never comes off her during her night turnout and the reflectors on the side are terrific! Would purchase again.
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! Rambo does it again! This turnout is awesome! I ordered the size 78 for my 16h appendix paint gelding and it fits him perfectly~he is a very active boy and the blanket does not shift at all...I am very pleased! Thank you Rambo and Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I just bought a new rambo turnout sheet with leg arches and love how it fits my appaloosa/mustang cross. I was not sure if it would work since in the past these blankets seem to fit more the Thoroughbred type horses with long deep shoulders. I am glad I finally decieded to spend the money for a sheet I know will last quiete a few years without ripping and will stay waterproof. Our pony has one since last year and the horse he is turned out with has not been able to tear a hole in it all last winter.I also love the new features with the douple velcro at the chest, it gives it some adjustability. Only drawback are the new snaps on the tailcord, I don't like those kind of plastic buckles.
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Turnout with leg arches This was just to replace a old rambo blanket, but this one has the leg arches which the other one did not. The old one got turned on our horse and we had to cut the straps, but with the leg arches it stays on better. I highly recommend any Rambo Blanket for your horse, I wish everyone had one for their animals.
    Date published: 2011-02-15
    • 2015-05-25T09:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_46
    • loc_en_US, sid_8714, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.