Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

POMMS Premium Equine Ear Plugs

Item #17741
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

POMMS Premium Equine Ear Plugs
are designed to allow your horse to hear normal tones, while greatly reducing distracting or loud noises. POMMS “comfort plus” design protects your horses sensitive ears from wind, water and debris.

Favorite Features

  • Washable and re-usable
  • Comfortable
  • Secure (won't fall out)
  • Non-irritating
  • Soft, pliable, discreet, and durable
Sizing It Up

One size fits most.
2.5" diameter.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    POMMS Premium Equine Ear Plugs is rated 4.56 out of 5 by 75.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a Pair That Fit! My mare has the overly large ears and I have tried three different types of ear plugs before I bought these, mainly because they had been out of stock at the time. I tried the Equifit T-Foam ear plugs, synthetic ear puffs and regular ear puffs. These are the only ones that have fit her large ears! All the other ear plugs fell out before I even walked to the ring! If you have a horse that has abnormally large ears or a horse that moves her head quite a bit, I would highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my mare has attention issues for sure and frankly im extremely hard to please. these are better then i could have ever expected. they keep her head between the reins and my butt in the saddle. she's a completely different horse with these in and i intend on buying 2 more sets just so that i never have to be without them. it is however important that you listen to the instructions and roll them in AND OUT other wise they pull the little ear hairs and cause pain. LOVE THEM.
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Earplugs! While these plugs look and feel like cat toys they really do work! I have been using them for about 6 shows and so far they have worked miracles. My horse no longer hears the loud speaker or spooks at random noises. They really take the edge off of the stress level and make for a happier horse and rider (:
    Date published: 2012-03-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for my Mare! These are the second set of ear plugs I've tried on my 12 y/o TB mare. She is such a character! She shakes them out every time. I think I need to try the soft cotton looking ones next. I think that these are too firm for her liking. However, they are great quality so I gave them to my sister to use on her horse.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pomms - Best For the Sound Sensitive Horse Pomms are effective, stay put, and are practically invisible in the ring. Long lasting! A great value - especially for horses in which ear plugging allows them to have a successful career.
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than cotton My horse lives in a very large equestrian center with a lot going on......a lot to spook at by anyone's standards. Many horses require some sound abatement assistance so they don't kill off their riders. My horse is one of those horses.For years I used cotton, but you have to relace it, and keep buying more. Also, cotton sometimes gets shaken out.I've tried the fabric style balls, but they don't decrease sound as much as cotton, and, they get dirty, shaken out and matted if you wash them.I tried these after my trainer tried them in my horse's ears.They stay put, they don't get matted after washing, they don't need frequent cleaning.Who knows how often I'll have to replace them compared to the other options, but it's not looking like I'll have to very often if at all.Thus, they do the job.They look and feel like cat toys.They do, however, seem expensive for what they are, compared to the initial cost of the alternatives, but maybe over the long run, they are more cost effective.
    Date published: 2012-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!! My very solid gelding, who hardly ever reacts badly, suprised me when I switched circuits and started showing in a covered arena, versus an outdoor. The echo off of the roof when the announcer speaks, was just really hurting his ears, and I pretty much just lost him after that. He would react so horribly everytime the announcer said something. So, I started trying ear plugs on him. The fleece didn't do anything, and the other foam plugs did a great job of blocking sound, and I had a calm show horse again, but they were just too big and awkward. I could tell he was really uncomfortable with them, and was constantly trying to shake them out. So, I tried these, and they are amazing!! No more head shaking, he's very calm and focused on me, and not bothered by the loud noises. He's very comfortable with them, and what I love most is they STAY IN!! I'm going to buy a couple more pairs in case I loose one. 100% recommend them to anyone.
    Date published: 2011-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely Helped! After reading the last review, I had to try these. My barn is located very close to a small airport where helicopters are constantly running. These earplugs have definitely helped my 3 yr old be able to focus on me and her training when the sound seems too much to bear.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved The Day!!! One of our barn's is located next to the Navy's OLF. The planes use our barn as a marker to fly over which is very loud and vibrates the ground. I purchased these ear plugs and now we are able to teach even with the planes flying :D
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive but they work I think these plugs are overpriced everywhere (SmartPak is one of the more reasonably priced) but they work great. They stay in place and filter out the unwanted distracting noises.
    Date published: 2011-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful item This is a great little item, undetectable, works great. Makes every horse look like a happy horse.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'll Plug these Plugs! These ear plugs are what we call "cat toys" around the barn. They are small, lightweight foam balls that look a little like tiny, soft golf balls. They are quite a bit spendier than the cat toy version in the pet stores but those don't come in "horse colors" so they are worth it for showing. They are discreet, since they are small and soft you can really push them down into the ears, where they aren't obvious to the eye. They stay put much better than the fuzzy ones, and are easier to clean and re-use.
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great! These were easy to put in my spooky mare's ears, and she didn't seem to mind them at all (although she does love to have her ears rubbed)! She shook her head a few times, they stayed right in place. She could definitely still hear some things, but she seemed to be able to focus more on the task at hand, opposed to every noise going on outside the ring.
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay I don't believe there is a such thing as 'comfort plus' design....They're basically just cat toys. Nothing special.However, I really like these. They do wonders for my very spooky horse. I use these all the time. They actually stay in! He fusses a little, but after a few shakes, he knows he has to be a big boy and deal with them. The POMMS ear plugs are one of the best at blocking out sounds. I like the idea of this product. They're easy to clean, and don't get lost in my massive collection of horsey stuff.I just wish they were more comfortable for him. I feel like he's not 100% comfortable, and is more comfortable with the fuzzy plugs. I want to try the Equifit plugs!I'd recommend these for the horses who have experience with ear plugs. These are his first pair. I wish I had gotten fuzzy ones to start him off, even if they do come out easily.
    Date published: 2011-05-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money These two foam balls are similar to what you can buy for your cats at the pet store for under $1 each. Here they charge you ten. My horse did not care for the insertion process and taking them out can be hard as they are small. They can be easily lost on the barn floor. But once in, they stayed in and she was less spooky. The concept of the product is good but too expensive for what they are.
    Date published: 2011-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! These do not shake out, they are also easy to put in and take out considering how small they are.
    Date published: 2011-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product These ear stuffies are easy to put in and hard for my daughters pony to shake out, she doesn't seem to mind them and they definitely cut down on the spooky noises.
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ok Bought these after trying the fuzzy ones. They work well and fit nice, but I wouldn't say they can't shake them out! My horse has gotten his out a couple times and I stuff them in pretty far. BUT I do think they work fairly well. My horse is horrible in the indoor arena in the winter and every little creek or slight noise he leaps in the air. So these help ALOT, but not completely...but worth a try!
    Date published: 2011-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little Expensive These are basically foam balls, nothing real difficult, the packaging looks more expensive than the foam.They look effective, I have not used them since I am going to make a youtube video on how to expose a horse to ear plugs.I will post on my channel: horseawarenesshttp://www.youtube.com/user/horseawareness/
    Date published: 2011-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than the wool ones These ear puffs work so much better than the wool ones because they stay in the ears. It is much better than when the wool ones get loose and go flying across the ring accompanied by vigorous head shaking.
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plugs that stay put! My horse is really sensitive and can shake out ear plugs in about 5 seconds. These are so light and fit well, they don't bother her at all. No head shaking, tossing, etc. Great product!!
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I like these much better than the fuzzy ear plugs and they seem to work very nicely and fit well.
    Date published: 2010-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pomms Love these ear stuffies! Great for indoor & outdoor to mask the sounds that distract your horse. Easy to put in & take out.
    Date published: 2010-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! These ear plugs are a great value and great quality. They stay put all day! Best ear plugs at a great price.
    Date published: 2010-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These I absolutely love these. I have tried the fluffy ear plugs on my mare before and she would shake her head and they would go flying. These do not bother her at all and best of all they stay put.
    Date published: 2010-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Takes the edge off We drive a pair of Haflingers. One is more sensitive than the others. The POMMS allow us to give louder commands to the lazy one without overexciting the one who is already working.
    Date published: 2010-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ear Plugs I love these! They help my horse concentrate in noisy situations and don't bother him. When I forgot and left them in, he was in his stall relaxed with the plugs still firmly in place when I returned after a few hours.
    Date published: 2010-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product These ear stuffs are the best! They're soft and easy to insert and remove. My young horse is capable of focusing on the tasks that I ask of him instead of hearing all kinds of noises that otherwise may spook him. These plugs do not break up, flake, or are flimsy. They are very durable and well made.
    Date published: 2010-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase! My mare is 6 and easily distracted in the course. Any other type of ear plug bothers her too much, she'll shake her head and try to throw them out. She doesn't feel these plugs at all, and concentrates so well, I can't compete without them!!
    Date published: 2009-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Less head shaking My mare is super reactive to sounds, so I've tried the fuzzy ear plugs to keep her focused on work. Unfortunatly, she shakes her head the entire time they are in, so I gave up. These work so much better! She doesn't seem to be nearly as bothered by them as the fluffy ones, and they did help her concentration when noises could pose a problem. They are easier to put in as well (although slightly more difficult to remove - but i haven't lost one yet!)
    Date published: 2009-08-20
    • 2015-05-25T10:11CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_68
    • loc_en_US, sid_7741, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.