Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Plymouth Basic Fancy Stitch Hunter Bridle by SmartPak

Plymouth by SmartPak
- Item #17210
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Plymouth Basic Hunter Bridle by SmartPak is crafted from durable imported leather. It's quality workmanship is shown in it's fine details and stainless steel hardware. Complete with 5/8” plain laced reins. Perfect for everyday use, and an unbeatable value! Available exclusively at SmartPak.
Color: Chocolate Brown
Imported

Customizable! Add customization to this bridle, and a nameplate will be attached or laser inscribed with your desired text.

Coordinates with:
Plymouth Clincher Browband by SmartPak
Plymouth Standing Martingale by SmartPak
Plymouth Web Reins by SmartPak

Favorite Features

  • Crafted from durable imported leather
  • Stainless steel hardware
  • Raised noseband & browband
  • Customizable!

Sizing

Available in sizes Pony, Cob, Full, Oversize

Cheek pieces are 5/8" wide

Reins are 5/8" wide x 54" long

Raised ½” noseband and browband (except O/S which is 5/8")
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, stylish hunter bridle suitable ...
    "An Arc de Triomphe Signature Bridle, designed for ...
    Description:
    "An Arc de Triomphe Signature Bridle, designed for sponsored rider Anne Kursinski, the Starman bridle is similar to the Imperial in looks, yet has padding on the crownpiece and sports a wider noseband. The noseband has a convertible flash (completely ...
    "The Black Oak Aster Hunter Bridle combines exceptional ...
    Description:
    "The Black Oak Aster Hunter Bridle combines exceptional value, with the quality craftsmanship & details KL Select products are known for. The Aster has a timeless look with a round raised, padded fancy stitched noseband and a matching padded browband. ...
    "The Dr. Cook's Leather Bitless Bridle was developed ...
    Description:
    "The Dr. Cook's Leather Bitless Bridle was developed by Dr. Robert Cook after years of research, inspiration and perspiration! The Dr. Cook® Bitless Brides are marketed all over the world and used in all disciplines. It is the most accepted ...
    "The Harwich Bling Dressage Bridle by SmartPak offers ...
    Description:
    "The Harwich Bling Dressage Bridle by SmartPak offers a classic look with a touch of sparkle and style. This Harwich bridle is crafted from durable vegetable-tanned leather and features a padded crank noseband and monocrown. The fashionably curved browband has ...
    "The Harwich Figure 8 Bridle by SmartPak is ...
    Description:
    "The Harwich Figure 8 Bridle by SmartPak is beautifully crafted jumper bridle made from durable vegetable-tanned leather. It features a padded noseband, browband, monocrown, and a removable fleece nose pad. The superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and ...
    "The Harwich Flash Bridle by SmartPak offers outstanding ...
    Description:
    "The Harwich Flash Bridle by SmartPak offers outstanding quality and features traditional designs with sophisticated and subtle treatments. Harwich bridles are crafted from durable vegetable-tanned leather and feature a padded noseband, browband, and monocrown. The superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Basic Fancy Stitch Hunter Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 73.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price I bought this bridle for my medium pony and am really pleased with the quality of the leather. Much nicer quality than other bridles in this price range. I've used it about a dozen times after only oiling it once and the leather is supple. The browband and throatlatch run large, so it may not be the best fit for a smaller pony.
    Date published: 2012-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle! I just received this bridle today, and I am very pleased! It is a gorgeous brown color. The non raised parts are quite supple already, and there are no scuffs! I was wondering, however, if this has a wax coat that will need to be removed?
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! I would absolutely 100% recommend this bridle! Great leather (not too high of quality, but great for the price) with beautiful stitching and hardware! I just got it and it oiled up beautifully to a nice oakbark (dark brown) color that looks great! I can't comment on durability as I just got it, but it looks very sturdy yet not bulky. I will be using this bridle on many different horses while in college so I needed something cheap, but wanted to fit in at a big hunter barn. It definitely looks like it's worth way more than $50! So pleased! Will definitely order again in the future!
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks small but fits well I recently bought this bridle for my mare to be an every day bridle as well as a show bridle for smaller shows and so far so good. As I was assembling it I noticed that it looked small and wondered if it would fit her. She has a standard horse sized head so I ordered the horse size. It fits well even though it looked small. I am very happy with this bridle. I did not need to use oil to make it ready to be used though I do plan to oil it before shows to make it look even better.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT FIT GREAT FITTING BRIDLE ON A PRETTY PONY. ORDERING FULL SIZE FOR MY HORSE
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A pretty good bridle I have just recently gotten this bridle so I dont know about Durability but it works well. I bought Oil with it because some reviews had said it was stiff but mine wasnt. I will probablly oil the reins which seem like the only stiff part. I use this bridle every day and so far so good.
    Date published: 2012-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle Bought this for new TB's that have finer heads than our other horses. After reading reviews i ordered the Horse size thinking it ran a bit small. Nope, if anything I thought it was a bit large for a Horse size. We have a Pinto with a giant head - fills up the average Horse size everything: bridle, halter and i am two holes down from the top on the cheeks and centered on the caveson. He has to have a 16" browband and this fits him well. I was happy with the quality and suppleness, no plans to oil it anytime soon. Keeping this one for the Pinto, he was shown in a local Medal class in it and looked just fine. Reins on the horse size are a bit thick for my taste, remind me of reins on foxhunting bridles. My hand is a glove size 7 and they feel a little bulky to me and also my daughter who has slightly smaller hands. Stitching is nice and I compared to a Bobby's bridle in local tack shop and stitch count looks the same. Keepers are not miserably tight either - as long as they don't stretch I will be happy. Ordering a cob size for the TB's and hoping the reins will be thinner.
    Date published: 2012-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks like my expensive Bridle This is a nice bridle. My trainer was impressed and she is picky. She was amazed when I explained the price. I bought this as a schooling bridle but I think it can double as another show bridle. It came out of the package stiff (of course) but softened up with use and cleaning.
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bridle Really nice bridle, especially for the price. It was soft out of the box, it has stayed nice through schooling and minimal showing. That is right, I have used this bridle at local shows, and it fits in wonderfully. Can't say anything bad about this purchase.
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think this is a decent bridle for the show. The only issue I have seen with it is how thin the leather is and it stretches very easy.
    Date published: 2012-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I purchased this bridle as my old bridles are all falling apart; the fancy stitch nosebands have been broken, the reins are coming unlaced or have been broken, etc. Decided to try this out as the reviews were so positive on it instead of spending as much or more and only getting the noseband or reins. I was not at all disappointed! Very similar to the Bobby's English Tack Brand even though the leather for this is made in India. Like it better than any other cheap bridle I have seen and I wouldn't even hesitate to take my sales horse babies to the shows in it. you really can't tell the difference on between the more expensive bridles. Does need oiling at first to get it softer. But totally worth the price!
    Date published: 2012-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plymouth Bridle I am very pleased with my purchase of this bridle! You can't beat this for the price. The quality of the leather goes far beyond what I had expected. The reins are supple right out of the package and the bridle itself has very good quality hardware. Great for schooling or shows.
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the money! I have been very happy with this bridle. I bought it for my daughter's pony in July of 2011 and it has held up well. I did have to get a cob to fit her--the pony size was very small and would fit only an extremely tiny head. The cob works on a big small pony and on a big medium.
    Date published: 2012-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value and Quality Overall this is a great bridle! Nice quality, and a great price, but just to get nit picky, the leather is stiff, but of course it will soften with use (it just takes some time) and some of the dye comes off- I have noticed only behind the ears; Now this wouldn't be that big of a problem if you have a darker horse, or even a chestnut, as opposed to my flea bitten grey, but after about a month or so, I don't see anymore color coming off. Overall great bridle,and the best quality I have seen for this price.
    Date published: 2012-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for price Got this as an early Christmas present. Have had the same no-name bridle for the past 5 years so was time for a new one. Chose this one because of the great reviews and because of Smartpak's customer service. I wasn't QUITE as pleased as I thought I would be with the reviews that were given, however it WAS what I expected for the price. The leather is pretty good, still a bit stiff but no cracking or anything. One thing I liked about it was that it was easy to buckle and the leather ends actually fit through the loops. I had a new bridle once that was impossible to buckle. It oiled up nicely and is still a bit stiff, but softness comes with use. Fits well, can't comment on durability as I've only used it once so far. One thing I don't necessarily like is "Plymouth" stamped out on the crown piece, it's not that big of a deal, but I'd rather it be more discreet.
    Date published: 2011-12-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprising for price Like other reviewers, I was impressed with the quality of this extremely reasonably priced bridle. The stitching was good and the leather took about a month with frequent oiling to become supple. The sizing is a little strange- knowing that other reviewers had said that theirs' were small, and that my horse was maxing out my horse (generously sized, I was told) Edgewood, I ordered an oversize. He's in almost the smallest hole all around in this bridle so I really hope there isn't much stretching.
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for price. I purchased this bridle based on the reviews, and I'm very happy with the quality. Leather is nice and supple and stitching neat. Looks like a $200.00 bridle without the price tag.
    Date published: 2011-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Worth It For the price of this bridle it was better quality then I expected. Very well made, and for the price I was expecting something really stiff that I would have to oil, but it was not it was soft. Fits my stocky QH perfect.
    Date published: 2011-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I purchased this for my daughters new pony and was really surprised at the great quality, supple leather and fit. Fit her medium pony perfectly and we didnt even need to oil it to make it soft. I plan on buying one for my horse! Would definately recommend this bridle.
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pretty! This looks very pretty on my Quarter/Draft X. He has a larger face and a roman nose and this bridle makes him look more refined. The cheekstrap was long and I had more than enough room to buckle it. The fancy stitching darkened on the first oiling, but later lighted up so that it stands out. Nice bridle and a nice price.
    Date published: 2011-04-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality, runs small. I bought this bridle for my small thoroughbred who has always worn cob sized bridles/halters. This bridle comes nice and soft and ready to ride in, and is good quality especially for the price but runs VERY small. I had to return it and am waiting for a horse size.
    Date published: 2011-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle Purchased this bridle almost a year ago now as a backup/schooling bridle. I had my doubts when I first ordered it; I'm really demanding on the quality of my leather tack, especially because I worked at a tack shop for a long time. Went for it because of all the rave reviews. It was beautiful right out of the box, and with a couple of oilings and a week of use, it was as soft as a bridle 3 times the price. The stitching is perfect. All the reviews on the Plymouth bridles are true! The cob size fit my 14.3 hand Quarter horse gelding perfectly, and it now fits my 15.3 hand TB/Warmblood cross as well; it's a true cob/small horse size. Love this bridle, and it has held up well to almost daily use. The more you use it, the better it looks and feels. Recommend it 100%. Thank you, Smartpak, for such a great product!
    Date published: 2011-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional quality for the price If I hadn't bought this bridle myself, I'd never guess it only cost about $50. The leather is very nice and oils well, and the stitching is even. I'm always a little horrified when I see more expensive tack with sloppy, uneven stitching. My only issue is that I'm using a cob size on a small-headed Quarter Horse, and he would be better off with a horse size browband and reins. Neither of these are major issues, however, and I wouldn't hesitate to buy this again.
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle! My horse is currently on vacation so I have not actually used this bridle yet, but my initial impression is that it is a very nice bridle for the money. I rated it based on my initial observations and once it's been used for a while I'll re-evaluate. I previously bought the padded Hanover model, thinking the wider nosebad would help my horse's not-so-pretty head, but after using it I think it really doesn't do him any favors. So I'll keep the Hanover for everyday schooling and once this one is broken in a bit will keep the Plymouth for shows only. Initially, I'm very pleased at the quality for a low price.
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle for the Price I bought this as an inexpensive bridle to use at the occasional Hunter show where my eventer-esque figure-8s and flash nosebands would be out of place - and now I'm using it as a first bridle for my youngster. Overall a very nice bridle for the price - my only complaint is that the browband on the horse-size seems quite small...my TBs don't have particularly large heads, and the horse-size fits well everywhere except that the browband was too tight!
    Date published: 2010-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT bridle Despite needing a bit of oiling, the product looks great and has held its own. The leather started to strip after I showed in the rain but it is barely noticeable. Would recommend this product as a schooling bridle rather than a show bridle for that reason.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for the money. I bought this bridle for a new pony.It fits well and looks really good.It's a great bridle for the money.
    Date published: 2010-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product, excellent value perfect for everyday use, well made, and great quality. I use it as as a schooling bridal.
    Date published: 2010-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Quality I LOVE my Plymouth bridle. It's quality is just a step below Edgewood, but at a fraction of the price. The leather was soft and not rubbery like one would expect from an inexpensive bridle. I am super-pleased with this bridle and will recommend it to everyone.
    Date published: 2010-05-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice purchase I bought this bridle based on the great reviews that it got. I was happy with the purchase, but it is a very fine bridle. My thoroughbred has a very fine head so it works well.
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_69
    • loc_en_US, sid_7210, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders