Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

Plymouth by SmartPak
- Item #17211
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This



Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Color: Black with black padding

Favorite Features 

  • Beautifully crafted with a raised and soft padded 1" flash noseband and 3/4" browband
  • A perfect schooling bridle designed for daily use
  • Updated hook stud closures on 5/8” cheeks
  • Complete with 5/8" web reins with leather stops

 

Sizing

Available in sizes Pony, Cob, Full, O/S
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and ...
    Description:
    "Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and classic choice! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area, the redesigned genuine ...
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, innovative bridle. Ultra soft ...
    Why We Love This ?The Black Oak economy ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This ?The Black Oak economy Larkspur Dressage bridle combines exceptional value, with the quality craftsmanship & details KL Select products are known for. The Larkspur features a clear crystal browband that adds sparkle and dresses up the ...
    "The Micklem Diamante Competition Bridle with English Leather ...
    Description:
    "The Micklem Diamante Competition Bridle with English Leather combines the unique design of the original Micklem Competition Bridle with high quality English leather and stylish details. Micklem bridles are designed to fit the horse's skull and prevent uncomfortable pressure points. ...
    "Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak ...
    Description:
    "Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak is proud to introduce the Plymouth Elite. The Plymouth Elite takes all of the wonderful features of the Plymouth line, and adds additional enhancements such as a true padded monocrown, buckle closures, ...
    "The Dr. Cook's Beta Bitless Bridle was developed ...
    Description:
    "The Dr. Cook's Beta Bitless Bridle was developed by Dr. Robert Cook after years of research, inspiration and perspiration! The Dr. Cook® Bitless Brides are marketed all over the world and used in all disciplines. It is the most accepted ...
    "Especially kind and comfortable! The Passier Special Caveson's ...
    Description:
    "Especially kind and comfortable! The Passier Special Caveson's unique bit recesses is especially gentle on the horse's mouth. The new 40mm noseband shape avoids any contact with the bit ring so that even the most sensitive of horses will not ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 239.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this bridle because I needed one to match my new dressage saddle. It is great for the price! The leather is soft right out of the package and my boy seems happy in it. My only complaint is that the keeper on the noseband doesn't adjust, so the excess hangs down. But overall, this is a great purchase if you need a good schooling dressage bridle!
    Date published: 2016-10-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tight in the browband I'm very glad I read the previous reviews. My 15.2 paint has a very refined head and usually fits somewhere between cob and full sizes. Usually I go with the cob size for him, but I saw a lot of the reviews mentioned the browband was a bit snug so I opted for full size this time. The browband is definitely on the small side - it fits him perfectly, even though we're on the smallest hole for the cheek pieces. The noseband is a little on the small side as well, but not unusable. I feel like the cob size probably would have adjusted better, but the browband and noseband would have been too snug. The bridle itself is beautiful, though. Very soft leather, easy to buckle and unbuckle, and the noseband and browband have nice padding on them - I didn't realize from the photos and description that they were padded. Very happy with my purchase, would buy again!
    Date published: 2016-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So supple! I am so impressed with the leather quality. It's so supple and soft and looks great!
    Date published: 2016-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, supple leather I bought this bridle a month ago and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality and the feel of the leather. I was able to use it right out of the bag and it fits my horse well. I hope they keep this bridle at this price point for a long time and I find the need to purchase another!
    Date published: 2016-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great Value ! I bought this a month ago and what a great value looks like I paid a million bucks!!
    Date published: 2016-09-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality but comes with Pony Reins I bought this bridle for my 3/4 Arabian Mare in a cob size. It fits her beautifully, the leather is a nice an supple and you can tell it is well made. For the price I couldn't ask for better. However my mare is 15 hands, she has a small head and a long neck, it came with pony reins. If she stretches even a little bit, the reins are on the buckle. However this is a common issue when you own an Arabian, someday they will make cob/arab sized headsets AND reins!
    Date published: 2016-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice bridle for the price This bridle is a great, everyday piece of tack, the leather starts out supple and soft enough to use immediately. The size I ordered was too small (new horse right between cob and horse so always guessing, no fault of Smartpak) and returning was a breeze. Already owned a larger size so am still using this bridle everyday and very happy with it. Love SmartPak!
    Date published: 2016-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Quality - Very Impressed! I bought this for my youngster as an every day bridle starting under saddle - the quality is incredible. The leather was soft and supple coming out of the box, it is a bridle made of substance, and I am very impressed! The price is more than affordable, and the value is astounding. I would highly recommend this product to future shoppers! I will be buying a second for my new mare!
    Date published: 2016-08-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quality but not for my horse Check the photo closely. You'll see the buckles are against the cheeks if the horse. Makes for clean looking lines, however, would rub the horse raw if worn for any amount of time. It was returned.
    Date published: 2016-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good bridle I got this inexpensive bridle for my filly, who is part draft, but very short. Fits her very well, and is nice and soft.
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from gGeat quality bridle for the money. The leather is very soft for a brand new bridle.
    Date published: 2016-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value By far this is the best bridle at this price. It is very high quality and looks very nice. I have noticed that the noseband in the cob size is a tiny bit short, but it fits on the last hole.
    Date published: 2016-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price Nice leather was lightly oiled. Only reason I didn't give five stars was the slightly lower quality reins compared to the quality of headstall. The reins will work just fine but they are rough enough to definitely require gloves each ride
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle Very nice quality. Was just too big for my thoroughbreds tiny head!
    Date published: 2016-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle I bought to show at one dressage show just to see how my new mount would do at a show. Nice bridle, I did buy the cob size and fits nice on my NSH who is about 15.2. The brow band is a bit small but other than that its a really nice work bridle.
    Date published: 2016-05-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for the price.
    Date published: 2016-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tremendous value I am a new dressage rider, transitioning after being a hunter/jumper rider for 10+ yrs. I purchased this because I have the hunter Plymouth elite fancy stitched bridle and have been happy with it. I also found it difficult to find budget friendly options at local tack stores. I am beyond thrilled with this bridle! If I did not see the price, I would have easily assumed this was $100+. The leather is super soft and does not even need oiled out of the box. Plus with smart perks, you get 10% off and free shipping!
    Date published: 2016-05-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I expected The quality matches the price. Just what I needed.
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like it... This had great reviews and I guess I'm overly concerned but it seems tight on his poll, although my trainer's bridle fits exactly the same. I want to exchange for the (I guess it's a newer style) bridle with the caveson integrated into the crownpiece, and is padded. It does fit him, though, and he goes in it just fine. And the crownpiece seems wide to me.
    Date published: 2016-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I have an OTTB and we usually compete in hunters, but my barn was having a home schooling dressage show and I thought it would be fun for us to do a little intro A test. Bridle was super soft and flexible right out of the bag. He's only worn it a couple of times but it is super great quality and I'm sure it'll hold up!!
    Date published: 2016-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality! Very nice quality for the price, easy to break in, great fit!
    Date published: 2016-04-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle This bridle doesn't seem to be the greatest of qualities, but is nice enough to show in. The cob size seems to run a bit small in the noseband circumference compared to the many other cob sized bridles I own.
    Date published: 2016-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value, wonderful bridle I bought this as a schooling bridle but it is really good looking and so am showing in it also
    Date published: 2016-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle I bought this dressage bridle for my mare as we are getting into dressage. She has a large head that usually is hard to fit, but the horse size fit perfectly. The leather wasn't stiff upon arrival, it was nice and supple. The bridle isn't too thick either, which is what I was worried about. For the price, this is a very nice bridle
    Date published: 2016-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very decent bridle Bought two---one for a pony and one for a horse. Leather is way more supple for the economical price than I expected. Appearance is quite good. Am sure we will have these for a good long time.
    Date published: 2016-03-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent for the price I purchased a cob size. The noseband needs to be worked to make it more flexible. I wound up taking it off for now as i'm just using it for training purposes and keeping it rolled and conditioning it to make in more pliable. Surprisingly, i can only use the last hole on the noseband as well and my mare has quite a dainty face and is only 13.2, so maybe the noseband is a bit short.But for the price, not bad. Easy to adjust buckles, etc. for a new bridle. Will work just fine for training purposes.You probably won't get a better quality bridle in that price range.
    Date published: 2016-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply but Classy I bought this bridle about a month ago and I love it. The leather is nice a supple but also great quality. It looks super snazzy on my Arabian cross!
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comparable to much more $$$ bridles! First of all, I love Smartpak, and knowing they would happily accept a return I took a chance on this bridle. My hunter schooling bridle is a Vespucci, my show bridle is a smartpak Wellfleet, and I ride in a custom CWD, so I'm a bit picky with my tack. I'd rather save up and get exactly what I want than settle for less. Well, we recently decided to take some dressage lessons (we do hunters) and I wanted a nice bridle but didn't want to sink a bunch of $ into it. I figured I'd give this bridle a chance, based on the positive reviews. Well I was almost in total shock when I opened it- this bridle is wayyyy nicer than expected, and far nicer than anything under $100. The leather is so soft and beautiful, I was almost confused if they sent the wrong bridle, but sure enough it's stamped "Plymouth" on most pieces. If you're not sure if you want to risk buying a "cheap" bridle, do it! It's gorgeous! Smartpak rocks!!!
    Date published: 2016-02-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizing is off I swear mine was miss marked. I ordered a full size and its ginormous on every "normal sized" horse I put it on. It fits like an oversize. I'm afraid to get a cob because cob size is usually way too small on my horse. Unfortunately I bought this over a year ago so I'm stuck with it, but it's a beautiful bridle. The leather is really nice and seems really durable.
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-02-08
    • y_2017, m_1, d_20, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_230
    • loc_en_US, sid_7211, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders