Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17211

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Favorite Features 

  • Beautifully crafted with a raised and soft padded 1" flash noseband and 3/4" browband
  • A perfect schooling bridle designed for daily use
  • Updated hook stud closures on 5/8” cheeks
  • Complete with 5/8" web reins with leather stops

Sizing It Up 

Size: Pony, Cob, Full, O/S

Color: Black with black padding

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.6634 out of 5 by 205.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality I bought this for my QH mare who has a classic small head with big jaws. I read reviews and went with the cob. I would like to sugest to SP to make a QH bridle. The cob cheeks and crown are perfect but the brow band and cavson need to be horse sized. Love the quality of leather.
    Date published: 2015-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality! I bought this bridle about a month ago and I absolutely love it!!
    Date published: 2015-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat the price! I own several of the Plymouth bridles. I'm always so happy with the feel and fit of the bridles at such an affordable price!
    Date published: 2015-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! The bridle came ready to use. It did not require oil or break in time. It is a perfect everyday bridle and allows me to save my fancy one for shows.
    Date published: 2015-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the price but.... Purchased this thinking I'd get into dressage, but then decided to stick with H/J. However, the bridle did get used consistently for several months and has held up well. The ONLY thing that really bothered me about this, aside from it running a bit large (if you have a small-headed AQHA or APHA, may want to go down to cob size), this thing was RIDDLED with scuffs and dents right out of the box. It was obvious it hadn't been used and these flaws were from the manufacturer, I was just very surprised by this-I've never gotten anything from Smartpak that wasn't in mint condition. However, being a cheap bridle, I didn't bother returning it. On a black bridle, issues are easy to hide! If it'd been a hunter bridle, I'd definitely returned it. Over all, a good buy!
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the money! I purchased this for everyday use on my OTTB. The fit of the full size worked well and the quality was outstanding for the price. I would not hesitate to purchase another if the need arises.
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle, great value for the price. I bought this bridle for schooling. I'm very picky about my tack and looked for several months for a reasonably priced schooling bridle that would satisfy me. I am VERY pleased with this bridle!! I've seen much more expensive bridles that aren't nearly as nice looking or as supple as this One. I would even use it for shows. Definitely happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2015-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this bridle!!! Great leather and quality!! I bought the full size for my Welsh Cob and it fits great!! My mom has the same bridle and has had it for 3 1/2 years and it's holding up great. Many years left for this bridle.
    Date published: 2015-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly decent buy! I was supposed when I got this is the mail, while it wasn't as well oiled as some of the other bridles it has very nice leather and it looks like a 100-130$ dressage bridle, after a little oiling and a few rides this bridle looks really nice! I even got a complement on it! This bridle is decent quality and with good care it will last a while!
    Date published: 2015-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this bridle about a month ago, beautiful, nice leather. Was a bit rubbery/stiff but has broken in very nicely. O/S even fit my percherons Sasquatch sized head!
    Date published: 2015-09-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Since my first review was posted and then taken off (?!) I'm re-reviewing this bridle. It's not buttery soft out of the package. It's got a weird green waxy coating that will not come off and it does not improve with oiling/conditioning/cleaning. SmartPak contacted me about it, but to take down my review because I'm voicing my opinion was wrong. Now I'm disappointed in more ways than one.
    Date published: 2015-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality at a Great Price I purchased this item as a donation for a lesson horse. I am very pleased with the fit, quality and price.
    Date published: 2015-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality! Exceptional price! I purchased this bridle four years ago and it has held up remarkably well. I was very impressed with the feel of the leather when I took it out of the bag and four years later it still feels and looks brand-new and cleans up very well. The fit is very true to size as I have used it on three horses and they all are very comfortable in I t which speaks volumes. It's affordable enough for every day use and classy enough for shows. Great value!
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality, low price I used this bridle for the first time this weekend. It fit perfectly. I was impressed that it was pliable and very easy to adjust. I bought this for every day use. I like it so much I think I am going to buy a second one to use for showing.
    Date published: 2015-08-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price I bought this about a month ago and this bridle is great. It looks good on my horse and I really think I got value for my money - would definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2015-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Nice Bridle I received this bridle less than a month ago so its too soon to see how it will hold up. It looks very nice and appears well made, the leather is soft right out of the package. I bought the full size, it fits my Morgan on the highest setting so I'm hoping it does not stretch too much. It looks great on him! I mostly ride him on the trail but he competes in dressage as well, so that's why we needed the dressage bridle.
    Date published: 2015-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle for price New horse and not sure what he was going to need, just wanted a basic bridle to start with that wouldn't break the bank, but would hold up to daily use. This is definitely fitting the bill. Leather is a little stiff, but not terrible, and softened with conditioning and shaping, and appears to be good quality. Good fit from the horse size for a large TB head.
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle for the price. This bridle fits well. I bought the horse size. Though the leather isn't the heavy, fine quality seen in high-price bridles, it is certainly adequate, soft and supple. I haven't had it long enough to know if it will stretch or wear quickly, but I'm quite impressed with it so far.
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and nice I really like this bridle! Great quality for the price
    Date published: 2015-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased This bridle is exactly what I was looking for at a price is so low that I was skeptical at first. But, sure enough, the other positive reviews are right - the leather is of good quality and the bridle is soft and usable from the moment you remove it from the packaging. For under two hundred dollars, bridles don't get better than this. I am very impressed.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! I bought this bridle about a month ago and am very happy with it. The leather is soft right out of the box and doesnt need to be oiled right away. I have noticed that the leather seems to dry out easier than higher priced bridles but a simple once over with Effax has kept the leather looking nice. Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase. I would buy another one tomorrow.
    Date published: 2015-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent buy! I wanted a dressage bridle for showing and this works very well. Soft leather right out of the package. Nice features, looks good on my mare. Definitely recommend for anyone who doesn't want to 'break the bank' buying a bridle.
    Date published: 2015-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle! For the price I feel like I got a bargain as far as quality goes. I'm sure this bridle doesn't compare to some of the $100+ bridles out there, it worked very well for what I was using it for. I'm not a dressage rider but I got it to match a black AP English saddle. It looked really nice on my horse and I think he liked the padding!
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Bridle I've been using this bridle on my sensitive mare for a couple of weeks now. She is very comfortable in this, it fits well. Soft, supple leather. Super price for a good bridle.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plymouth Dressage Bridle I needed to order a larger size and it arrived the next day.
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed!! Wow! I was definitely skeptical about this bridle when I saw the price, but I decided to give it a shot. This bridle is worth EVERY penny and could definitely go in the show ring. The leather is high quality and soft straight out of the box! I highly recommend this bridle to anyone looking for a simple but quality bridle for an excellent price point. The only flaw I would say it has is the reins. I prefer a rubber rein over webbed, but I did use them and they're comfortable and nice! Overall an excellent bridle! Well done Smartpak!
    Date published: 2015-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bargain for the Price!!! The Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is one of my favorite schooling bridles. I've dealt with many brands, but so far this bridle stands its ground against more expensive dressage bridles in the market. The leather is of high quality and could easily be used as a show bridle with the right care. I've purchased 3 so far, one for each of my dressage horses and the fit is great. Horse size fits my large warmbloods and will adjust to smaller horses well (who would possibly have to use cob size). Oversize does run a bit too big, especially the nose band, would only recommend for draft breeds.
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for a Spectacular Price This bridle was a great price for such high quality. It was supple and had great leather right out of the box. I bought the full for my big QH and it fits him very nicely. It goes perfectly with my dressage saddle and its just a great bridle. Thank you to Smartpak for exceptional customer service. I ordered this bridle when the sale was and it was here within 3 days, it was 2 days early. I love this bridle as much as I love Smartpak.
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality for the price I bought this as a training bridle to replace one that got chewed up, and I really like it! It does come out of the box a bit stiff, but a few good sessions of oiling and rolling it around gets it supple enough pretty quickly. Overall the leather quality is much better than I was expecting for the price. It's not a super floppy soft hunter-style bridle, but the thick leather seems like it will hold up well. As for sizing, my TB has a delicate head and usually needs a cob size, but this bridle fit him well in the horse size. The noseband does seem to run small, which wasn't a problem for me but might be an issue if your horse has a large head.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather especially for the price! I was looking for a training bridle so I did not want to spend a lot of money. The feel of this leather was very nice and the fit was perfect. I will not feel worried to use this as a training bridle due to the cost, but really this could go to a show and be proud.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    • 2016-02-10T14:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_197
    • loc_en_US, sid_7211, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.