Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Piper Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak

- Item #20947
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Too Fun to Have Just One

The Piper Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak are the perfect choice for breeches to wear in the schooling ring. With many stylish color options to choose from, these breeches can be mixed and matched to create the perfect outfit. The ergonomic design and features make these breeches comfortable to wear all day long with excellent shape retention. Once you put them on, you’ll want another pair! 

Favorite Features

  • 2” contoured waistband to eliminate gapping
  • Comfortable, natural rise hits below the belly button
  • Ergonomic shaped panel at the calf to eliminate bulky closures
  • Synthetic knee patch for fantastic grip and durability
  • Euro seat and front zip
  • 63% Polyester, 32% Viscrose, 5% Spandex


Sizing It Up

Sized from 22R-36R & 22L-36L

Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches also available!

Customers Also Shopped For
The Bradley Plus Ribb Knee Patch Breeches are ...
The Bradley Plus Ribb Knee Patch Breeches are guaranteed to be your favorite breech where comfort and style collide. 2" wide mid-rise waistband is fashionable and helps provide a smooth midsection with great coverage Ribb fabric is stretchy while offering ...
Look stylish and modern in the Stars & ...
Look stylish and modern in the Stars & Stripes Knee Patch Breeches! Featuring a style of knee patches, they are crafted with silicone paneling for security in the saddle. Embellished with contrast stitching on the belt loops, star embroidery along ...
Tradition just got better - Dress to perform ...
Tradition just got better - Dress to perform with confidence and style in the Tredstep Symphony Rosa Side Zip Knee Patch Breeches. Tredstep's Classic Motion Fit design combined with TS Evolution fabric redefines traditional standards resulting in a range of ...
The Equine Couture Bobbi Breeches are a stylish ...
The Equine Couture Bobbi Breeches are a stylish riding breech made of stretch denim fabric with contrast stitching. Made with jeans style 4 pockets, these breeches come with the CS2 bottom for comfort, ease of wearing, and better fit. Imported.Favorite ...
The International Breech is made with a super ...
The International Breech is made with a super light and stretchy fabric. It provides comfort while keeping you cool. The ultra flattering true-waist fit and ankle length inseam are added perks while you're in the saddle. Favorite Features Flattering Fit ...
The Equine Couture Sportif Schooling Breeches are both ...
The Equine Couture Sportif Schooling Breeches are both comfortable and innovative! This breech introduces the Comfort Fit System (CFS) leg bottom made to fit any length or width leg. TheSoft stretch leg opening offers a perfect, seamless comfort underneath your ...
out of 5
90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Piper Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak is rated 4.476120499632623 out of 5 by 1,361.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PURCHASE!! Perfect breeches everytime! Cant have enough of them!
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really cute but cheap quality I bought these in August and have worth both of the pairs I purchased 4-5 times (mild use, 1 horse wax ride) . My grey and pink pair has a lot of wear and pilling on inner thighs and the euro seat is sagging and stretching and unacceptable amount. The blue pair also is pulling very badly. I love the style and colors, just really disappointed with the quality.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor fit I wanted to like these breeches since they seem to have a variety of colors and go on sale often. However, I found the turquoise wasn't as vibrant as pictured when I received my gray/turquoise pair and the fit was just not for me.The waist was huge, the back pockets seemed large/generally unflattering, and the legs fit OK. I felt as though I'd have to go down 3 sizes in the waist, but then the rest of the pant would have fit oddly. I couldn't fix the issue with a belt either. I loved the fit of the Piper knits, but these fit very differently. Just an odd unflattering fit. I thought about exchanging, but just sent them back for a return.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite pair of breeches! I've had a pair of these breeches in Merlot for years without any ripping, stretching, loose threads, etc. I bought a second pair recently and found the material to be the exact same great quality. They've retained their shape through washing and drying (typically lay them flat to dry) and without any color fading. Best schooling breeches!!
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Piper Beeeches I loved the color. Awesome style. Great pants. Comfortable to ride in.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The great breeches I bought this a couple weeks ago. Absolutely amazing. Great quality. I can tell it is going to last a long time! I got the grey/turquoise color(really pretty)
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very impressed love love love these breeches very breathable and stretchable. will definetly get another pair!
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really is too fun to have one! Really liked these breeches, they live up to the hype! I liked them so much I already bought a second pair! They look so nice and go with everything (I got the grey and aqua) They fit nicely and are comfortable. They look more professional then schooling tights and I have gotten lots of compliments on them! Ran true to size
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfortable I bought these breeches a month ago and where them all the time. They fit really well and are true to size. I feel like I am wearing yoga leggings and could wear them all day. That being said they are thick enough that I don't get rubs etc. when riding. I got them in the brown color and love that I can wear them multiple times before washing--they don't show the dirt! I just ordered a second pair!
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Breeches overall This is my second pair of Piper breeches and so far the fit and quality is great. My only complaint is that the teal piping is hunter green in lots of spots.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfy! I bought these breeches on sale, and they fit great! Love the rise. The material is a tad heavy for me (I live in Florida!) Overall great product.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I look and feel amazing! Never have been so impressed by a pair of breeches! So far they've been worn in 90 and 50 degree weather and never cease to be extremely comfortable. Very functional, I love all the pockets and the wide waistband so I can wear a wider belt. Not only this, but I've gotten lots of compliments from non-riders on how good they look- not to brag, but they make my booty look amazing. Often find myself wanting to wear them around town, they're so comfortable and make you look and feel great. Can't wait to get myself another pair!
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breeches Bought these breaches for my daughter to where schooling. She is 52 and about 115 pounds and the size 24 regular fit great. She loves them as much as her tailored sportsmans.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit but wears quickly I bought these after finally finding them on sale. I really like the fit and the material. I was disappointed to find that after two dressage works the thigh material was pilling like a fleece sweatshirt. It's not super visible but now I feel it more. Kind of bummed out but they will make a decent work breech.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breech! I bought this product a month ago, and am so happy I did. The Piper Breeches are super comfortable, and affordable. Ride in them every time.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect fit Love the fit and the look of all my Piper breeches. I bought the gray/turquoise pair thinking that the gray would be a little lighter as shown in the photos, however it turns out to be a very dark gray, like a deep charcoal.
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stitching coming out after 2 washings! I bought these for my daughter from the Smartpak tent at the Rolex Kentucky 3 Day Event this spring. She loved the fit & color. However, after just 2 washings (gentle, cold cycle & line dried), the stitching is already coming out.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just awesome! These riding pants are great. I've used them a couple of times now and the fit and material is fantastic for summer riding.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing fit, great colors! I now have 5 or 6 pairs of these breeches in different colors, and they're amazing! They fit better than pretty much any other breeches I have (I have larger hips and a smaller waist), and they look great. I love the variety of colors - they even have my barn's colors! My one complaint is that the stitching seems a bit inconsistent, especially on the belt loops - some of them are perfect, but other pairs the raw edges become exposed and the bottom of the belt loops have become unstitched after only a month or two.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome cute breeches Comfortable and great value. Love the piping! Nice quality breech for lessons!
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Until... When I first got them I was very happy with the overall product. I bought my usual size and they fit great. They are not tight at the waistband so if you don't wear a belt you will be spending a lot of time pulling them up. However that never became a problem for me as I always wear a belt. Unfortunately I've started having a problem. It's been 3 months, wearing about every other day, washing them about every 2 weeks and always letting them air dry and not having a sing issue. That is why i was very disappointed when I went to put them on today and noticed the fabric had been stretched out on the butt as if a baseball had been out in them to stretch them out. Now the fabric sags of the pants. I am the only one who has worn them so I don't know what could have cause this stretch. I would not recommend this product seeing it does not hold up to a summer at the barn.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase These pants are comfortable, fit very well and look great. I bought two pairs and will definitely buy more.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice breeches but seem to run small in size had to return them
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made breeches I bought these for my daughter who is very petite and has a hard time finding breeches that fit. These fit her great, are very well made and we love the colors! She likes them so much, we just bought her another pair.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not impressed I used the sizing chat and order size where I fell when it got here it it didn't fit like I was hoping it is made from someone that doesn't have hips.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality great price Decided to buy these during the last flash sale and I'm glad I did. I loved them from the second I tried them on. It's like wearing leggings while riding they're so stretchy! The bunch behind the knees a bit but nothing I can't get over. These breeches were warm while I was riding (which will be great in winter) but cooled me down fast in the summer heat when I was done. They run a bit large so if you're in between I'd suggest sizing down if you like a nice tight fit. Easily my new favorite pair of breeches! Can't wait to get more!
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Second Skin The breeches feel like a second skin; never in stock
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Bought these in the wheat with teal color, and was surprised that they are actually a great show color! The fit is very true to size and the only issue I have found with them is that they gap just a little bit in the back, but is fixed with a wider belt.They go in the washer and dryer fine, but I just turn them inside out to be on the safe side. They are really a great breech and I cant wait to be able to buy more colors!
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for everyday! I have 6 pairs of these pants! I wear them everyday and I LOVE each pair so much!
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome These are so much more economical then some of the traditional brands but fit much better and hold up to multiple rides and washes.
Date published: 2016-08-17
  • 2016-10-20T13:13CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_93, tr_1,268
  • loc_en_US, sid_10947, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders