Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Passier Lederbalsam

G. Passier & Sohn GmbH
- Item #10216
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Passier Lederbalsam is a tried and tested leather conditioner that restores and preserves fine saddlery.

Favorite Features

  • Rich in nutrients without chemicals.
  • "Lederbalsam" protects the leather against water and keeps it soft.
  • Does not leave leather tacky or oily. 
  • Sponge included!

Sizing It Up

16.9 oz.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Passier Lederbalsam is rated 4.8632 out of 5 by 117.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! My trainer turned me on to this product and now I'm hooked. Since tack costs an arm and a leg, I really want to take good care of mine. Nothing does a better job on my boots, saddle and bridle.
    Date published: 2011-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super soft and supple Love this stuff. Used it on my brand new Harwich dressage bridle and after one treatment it was perfect!
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing for all leather This is the only leather product I will use anymore. My old trainer got me hooked on it and it has brought saddles back from the dead! Love it, and I use it on all my leather stuff.
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for tack old and new The winter weather has left both my old tack (25+ years) and newer tack very dry. My old faithful conditioning products just weren't helping. This product has helped bring back the luster to the old bridle, softened and conditioned the new bridle, and my saddle feels great!
    Date published: 2011-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great leather conditioner Love this leather conditioner. It helped an old saddle go from dry to supple in record time. A little bit goes a long way, so the can will last a while. Great product!
    Date published: 2011-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Conditioner! Wow, I am in love with this stuff for deep conditionings. I don't think I will use it often, as it seems like 2-3 times a year would be plenty with this heavy conditioner but it sure brings old tack back to life. It makes all my leather soft and supple again, and really seems to make a big difference in my overall tack's well being. I love how it makes my tack ever so slightly tacky after using it but its not sticky or gross. Its a great product.My mom even steals it and uses it on our leather furniture once a year!
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stuff It was recommended to me by my saddler to get some sort of Lederbalsam instead of using oil. I have to say this makes my saddle (and all other leather products i use it on now!) feel so soft, and just great. It smells like a vanilla candle to me too, and makes my saddle a little tacky, not slippery. My friends have used it too and they really love it as well. It seems like it will last quite awhile, so well worth the money spent!
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the Best I use this and Effex Leather Combi...it's all you need for perfect tack...clean, pliable, not sticky.
    Date published: 2010-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Leder-AWESOME! I love all Passier products! Ledarbalsam truly leaves my leather apparel shining, clean and conditioned. I use a can every 3 months, as you need very little! Beware, you really do need time to let it sink in, and wear jeans you don't care about, it stains. Start with Passier Saddle Soap for amazing results. All in all, Passier has hit the ballpark with this!
    Date published: 2010-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well have been trying a bunch of different stuff lately. only used this once so far. love it almost as much as stubbens product. makes leather soft but need to have time for it to sink in!
    Date published: 2010-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow This is the BEST tack cleaner I've ever used . LOVE THE SMELL and the conditioner is really good too.
    Date published: 2010-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best conditioner out there I've tried just about every conditioner out there, and Passier Lederbalsam can't be beat for the price. It leaves every piece of tack soft and supple with a shine that lasts! Plus, it dries without leaving the tack sticky. Even with cheap or very dry leather, you will see instant and lasting results. You can use it so sparingly that the jar will last a long time and you'll get your money's worth.
    Date published: 2010-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Conditioner Don't waste your money on Leather CPR and other combination soaps/conditioners. A bar of glycerin soap, a sponge and some Lederbalsam and you'll have the nicest leather in the barn. The scent is great, too!
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love this stuff Not only does this product keep my brand new saddle soft and supple, it smells wonderful. It is the only product I used to break in my saddle. It also gives the saddle a bit of "grip" that is much appreciated.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a classic for a reason What can I say? There is a reason the competition strives to match the quality of Passier leather care products - and never quite succeeds.
    Date published: 2010-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buttery Soft Leather Lederbalsam is amazing! I live in the desert and my saddles and bridles really need a good leather dressing. Lederbalsam leaves all my leather tack buttery soft. The only drawback I've found is not to use it right before a show on the saddle flaps and leathers. It makes a distinctive squeak as my tall boots rub against the saddle. I don't have that problem if I just use Passier saddle soap for 'show cleaning.'
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this product The best leather conditioner I have found - with one treatment, leather is noticeably softer and more hydrated. Let it soak in and then rub off with a soft towel, and it gives my saddle a wonderful, subtle shine
    Date published: 2010-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feels and Smells Great Love this conditioner! Really soaks in and makes all leather feel great. It has a pleasant powdery smell too. I wouldn't use anything else after cleaning my leather.
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps leather soft I bought this to replace a similar brand that smartpak doesn't carry. It has met all my needs. It keeps my tack soft and supple without leaving it oily or slippery. It smells good too! It leaves leather slightly tacky which provides great grip for those questionable rides.
    Date published: 2010-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best leather conditioner This leather conditioner is the best! It keeps your leather soft and supple, not tacky. You only need a little bit at a time so the container lasts quite awhile.
    Date published: 2010-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best for Passier This conditioner makes my Passiers look brand new again! I set them out in the sun for a bit to open up the leather pores, rub in, and rub off.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST Conditioner!! This is definitely the BEST saddle conditioner out there.It completely restored my saddle and bridle. I was using other cleaners and conditioners, but they were not doing a thing and my leather was cracking horribly.Passier Lederbalsam COMPLETELY brought it back to life! At least 90% of the cracks disappeared with the first treatment.My friend, who saw the saddle/bridle before couldn't believe they were the same items.I will never use anything else again. :)
    Date published: 2010-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite I've tried a lot of leather conditioners, and this product is far and away my favorite. I have a saddle with pre-treated "grippy" leather, and there are only a few conditioners that really work well on it. This product soaks in well and doesn't leave any residues. It won't stain your clothes and it smells wonderful! I use it on my reins too, and it makes them so supple and soft!
    Date published: 2010-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Stuff This is the best leather conditioner I have ever used. Brings life to even old and dry leather
    Date published: 2010-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! This is the best leather conditioner I have ever used. Bonus: it smells good! It makes my saddle super soft and adds just enough tackiness to the seat.
    Date published: 2010-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from USING FOR OVER 28 YEARS Bought my first can in 1983 in Spain. Have been using it sparingly since. It has kept all my tack wonderfully butter soft even after many years under desert conditions. Would recommend this hands down!!
    Date published: 2010-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best Nothing outperforms this product on leather. It is worth the price.
    Date published: 2009-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS STUFF!!! This is fantastic stuff! First of all--it smells like honey, which is AMAZING! Secondly, it does an amazing job at conditioning my leather goods. I had an old, nasty leather halter, that looked beautiful after two applications of this! It does wonders for my saddle as well. I bought it new, and Lederbalsam made it all soft and buttery! :) As a plus, it also makes your saddle "sticky." Being a dressage rider, this is a great plus for a little extra security!! Great product that I'll always keep on hand!
    Date published: 2009-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff I bought the Lederbalsam a few weeks ago and have had amazing results. I left it on for only an hour on a brand spanking new saddle and it softened up considerably. After a few days I conditioned it again and left it on overnight which a lot of online reviews recommended and my brand new very stiff saddle now feels ten years old.This stuff is amazing and I would recommend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2009-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful results have looked all over for this product, great on anything leather, shoes, halters, bridles...love the results.
    Date published: 2009-10-19
    • 2015-05-27T09:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_112
    • loc_en_US, sid_216, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.