Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Passier Lederbalsam

G. Passier & Sohn GmbH
- Item #10216
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Passier Lederbalsam is a tried and tested leather conditioner that restores and preserves fine saddlery.

Favorite Features

  • Rich in nutrients without chemicals.
  • "Lederbalsam" protects the leather against water and keeps it soft.
  • Does not leave leather tacky or oily. 
  • Sponge included!

Sizing It Up

16.9 oz.

Made in Germany.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Passier Nylon Lined Stirrup Leathers are made ...
    Description:
    The Passier Nylon Lined Stirrup Leathers are made of butter soft leather with a nylon insert. The leathers are narrow and smooth and will not stretch over time. Favorite Features 20 holes are at half hole increments to enable more ...
    Highest quality glycerin Passier Saddle Soap for clean, ...
    Description:
    Highest quality glycerin Passier Saddle Soap for clean, soft leather. 6.8 oz. Made in Germany.
    Shoe and leather care in compact form! The ...
    Description:
    Shoe and leather care in compact form! The new Effax Leather Care Kit contains the perfect care products for riding equipment in a practical case for use when travelling. The high-quality effax products care for leather while cleaning and protecting ...
    Passier Stirrup Leathers are hand-sewn from the best ...
    Description:
    Passier Stirrup Leathers are hand-sewn from the best leather. Passier Stirrup Leathers retain their length, the holes are firm, and they have curved stainless steel buckles which adapt to the saddle perfectly. Black. Lengths: 130 cm (51"), 140 cm (55"), ...
    The Dubarry Leather Care Trial Pack is a ...
    Description:
    The Dubarry Leather Care Trial Pack is a sample pack of some of Dubarry's essential footwear cleaning products. Keep your favorite footwear looking great for years to come! Dubarry footwear is made to last, using the finest quality leather that ...
    Mad Cow Leather Care is a special all ...
    Description:
    Mad Cow Leather Care is a special all natural blend of glycerin soap and conditioners. Smells good, too! Formulated for everyday use. 8 oz or 16 oz.
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Passier Lederbalsam is rated 4.8626 out of 5 by 131.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! Passier lederbalsam is fantastic. I use it on all of my leather tack to help it become soft and supple. Plus, it smells really good! :) I usually just apply it with my hands which makes them really soft afterwards.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best conditioning product ever! While I have never had this for my own tack, I used it at a good friend's barn on their tack when I rode their horses every day that I was there while I was home and the tack was sooo soft and supple. Highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's okay... I bought this from SmartPak, because they don't carry Effax Leder Balsam & I didn't want to purchase one thing of it & have to pay more $ than it cost to ship it.It is ok compared to Effax, it has a slightly pleasant smell-it makes me think of chemicals, not saddles. It is a bit greasy, not all of the product soaks into the leather (good leather).I wouldn't purchase it again if I had to do over again.
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever! Recently bought a new saddle and would not use anything else!
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revived Decade-Old Leathers! Passier Lederbalsam is my conditioner of choice for all of my tack. Last week I used it on decade-old stirrup leathers that were so stiff I couldn't bend them, and after one application of Lederbalsam, they were back to being supple and soft. It's the first thing I apply to any new strap goods I receive, and it's also responsible for keeping my older saddle in like-new condition. Love this stuff!
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stocking stuffer I use this consistently on everything leather..saddle, bridle, boots, halter. My tack is very seasoned and I keep it looking good with this product.
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best! I use Lederbalsam after every ride and cannot say enough about how fabulous it is! I had been using another "popular" tack cleaner, but splurged on the Lederbalsam when I bought a new saddle. What a great purchase that was! Not only has it kept my new saddle looking amazing, but it has made my old bridle look absolutely wonderful again as well! It is well worth the price and I will never use anything else again (aside from the Passier Saddle Soap, which I use before the Lederbalsam once a week to keep any grime from building up).
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous product This will be my last product review as after many reviews left I still did not win any $25.00 .This product does not need any review , it is a classic and the best in the world.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My leather loves it! I love it too! This leather condition is very nice. It works into the leather well, esp. if you use you hands to warm it up and bend and roll the leather. It soaks in well and does not leave the leather gunky.
    Date published: 2011-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product I like this product it isn't to heavy or sticky, dries well and keeps leather soft
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff This is a great conditioner and helps you stick to the saddle!
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Took a bit, but I got it! I ordered this a while ago and when I first used it I was not impressed. It was hard to get off and it made my leather very slimy. The other day I was cleaning my tack in the sun and I applied this to my old stubben, my old hunter bridle, and my Plymouth dressage bridle. I had always heard that sitting your tack in the sun would open up the pores of the leather and it would absorb conditioners better. Well I am a believer now! My saddle and bridles soaked this stuff right in. I applied it an within minutes it was almost gone! My stubben was fairly stiff before applying this, but afterwards it was noticeably softer and more supple then before. The same was true for both of my bridles. Funny enough, the Plymouth bridle, which I purchased from SmartPak, isn't even very old, but it came in a bit stiff for my liking and now it's much much nicer as far as how soft and supple it is! I would highly recommend this product to anyone with older or stiff leather products, but be sure to apply it in warm weather or in direct sunlight because it works 90% better than inside in a cooler environment.
    Date published: 2011-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummmm Best leather conditioner ever. Guaranteed to make your leather smile!!
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! My trainer turned me on to this product and now I'm hooked. Since tack costs an arm and a leg, I really want to take good care of mine. Nothing does a better job on my boots, saddle and bridle.
    Date published: 2011-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super soft and supple Love this stuff. Used it on my brand new Harwich dressage bridle and after one treatment it was perfect!
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing for all leather This is the only leather product I will use anymore. My old trainer got me hooked on it and it has brought saddles back from the dead! Love it, and I use it on all my leather stuff.
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for tack old and new The winter weather has left both my old tack (25+ years) and newer tack very dry. My old faithful conditioning products just weren't helping. This product has helped bring back the luster to the old bridle, softened and conditioned the new bridle, and my saddle feels great!
    Date published: 2011-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great leather conditioner Love this leather conditioner. It helped an old saddle go from dry to supple in record time. A little bit goes a long way, so the can will last a while. Great product!
    Date published: 2011-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Conditioner! Wow, I am in love with this stuff for deep conditionings. I don't think I will use it often, as it seems like 2-3 times a year would be plenty with this heavy conditioner but it sure brings old tack back to life. It makes all my leather soft and supple again, and really seems to make a big difference in my overall tack's well being. I love how it makes my tack ever so slightly tacky after using it but its not sticky or gross. Its a great product.My mom even steals it and uses it on our leather furniture once a year!
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stuff It was recommended to me by my saddler to get some sort of Lederbalsam instead of using oil. I have to say this makes my saddle (and all other leather products i use it on now!) feel so soft, and just great. It smells like a vanilla candle to me too, and makes my saddle a little tacky, not slippery. My friends have used it too and they really love it as well. It seems like it will last quite awhile, so well worth the money spent!
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the Best I use this and Effex Leather Combi...it's all you need for perfect tack...clean, pliable, not sticky.
    Date published: 2010-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Leder-AWESOME! I love all Passier products! Ledarbalsam truly leaves my leather apparel shining, clean and conditioned. I use a can every 3 months, as you need very little! Beware, you really do need time to let it sink in, and wear jeans you don't care about, it stains. Start with Passier Saddle Soap for amazing results. All in all, Passier has hit the ballpark with this!
    Date published: 2010-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well have been trying a bunch of different stuff lately. only used this once so far. love it almost as much as stubbens product. makes leather soft but need to have time for it to sink in!
    Date published: 2010-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow This is the BEST tack cleaner I've ever used . LOVE THE SMELL and the conditioner is really good too.
    Date published: 2010-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best conditioner out there I've tried just about every conditioner out there, and Passier Lederbalsam can't be beat for the price. It leaves every piece of tack soft and supple with a shine that lasts! Plus, it dries without leaving the tack sticky. Even with cheap or very dry leather, you will see instant and lasting results. You can use it so sparingly that the jar will last a long time and you'll get your money's worth.
    Date published: 2010-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Conditioner Don't waste your money on Leather CPR and other combination soaps/conditioners. A bar of glycerin soap, a sponge and some Lederbalsam and you'll have the nicest leather in the barn. The scent is great, too!
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love this stuff Not only does this product keep my brand new saddle soft and supple, it smells wonderful. It is the only product I used to break in my saddle. It also gives the saddle a bit of "grip" that is much appreciated.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a classic for a reason What can I say? There is a reason the competition strives to match the quality of Passier leather care products - and never quite succeeds.
    Date published: 2010-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buttery Soft Leather Lederbalsam is amazing! I live in the desert and my saddles and bridles really need a good leather dressing. Lederbalsam leaves all my leather tack buttery soft. The only drawback I've found is not to use it right before a show on the saddle flaps and leathers. It makes a distinctive squeak as my tall boots rub against the saddle. I don't have that problem if I just use Passier saddle soap for 'show cleaning.'
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this product The best leather conditioner I have found - with one treatment, leather is noticeably softer and more hydrated. Let it soak in and then rub off with a soft towel, and it gives my saddle a wonderful, subtle shine
    Date published: 2010-06-29
    • 2016-04-29T16:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_122
    • loc_en_US, sid_216, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders