Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Passier Lederbalsam

G. Passier & Sohn GmbH
- Item #10216
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Passier Lederbalsam is a tried and tested leather conditioner that restores and preserves fine saddlery.

Made in Germany.
Favorite Features

  • Rich in nutrients without chemicals.
  • "Lederbalsam" protects the leather against water and keeps it soft.
  • Does not leave leather tacky or oily.

Sizing

16.9 oz
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Lexol® Neatsfoot Leather Conditioner is an all time ...
    Description:
    "Lexol® Neatsfoot Leather Conditioner is an all time classic favorite amongst many equestrians due to its fantastic reputation of pro-longing the life of your leather, and protecting your tack investment. This formula both softens leather and helps prevent cracking. Lexol® ...
    "For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi ...
    Description:
    "For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi is a great alternative to traditional saddle soap. Leather Combi's grease free formula penetrates leather and does not attract dust. With regular use, leather is non-slip, tear-resistant, smooth and insensitive to water ...
    "Effax Glycerine Soap cleans all types of smooth ...
    Description:
    "Effax Glycerine Soap cleans all types of smooth leather quickly, gently and thoroughly. Obstinate dirt as well as dust and sweat marks can be removed easily. Cares for the leather, makes it smooth and gives it a new shine. Incl. ...
    "Pink, thick, and greasy, use Ko-Cho-Line Leather Dressing ...
    Description:
    "Pink, thick, and greasy, use Ko-Cho-Line Leather Dressing as a waterproofer on everyday tack and to soften and restore old hardened leather. Also fantastic for prepping leather for storage - a good coating of Ko-Cho-Line will prevent mold and mildew, ...
    "Leather Therapy Laundry Solution is a one-two cleaning ...
    Description:
    "Leather Therapy Laundry Solution is a one-two cleaning punch for riding apparel and tack! Clean and condition natural and synthetic leather, fabric, and sheepskin items in your washing machine. Voted Horse Journal's product of the year! ? Made in the ...
    "HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed ...
    Description:
    "HEY Leather Combi Wash is a specially designed detergent for leather-textile combinations. This amazing product cleans leather and all leather-textile combinations without a detrimental effect on color. It also preserves the function of material combinations and is kind to seams ...
    "Why We Love This Belvoir Tack Conditioner Spray ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This Belvoir Tack Conditioner Spray softens, preserves and shines saddlery leather. Contains a pure, clear quality soap formulated from vegetable oils including coconut oil and glycerine. Formulated for regular use to condition, protect and supple leather. Favorite ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Passier Lederbalsam is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 140.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best there is A jar of this stuff lasts several years, so go for it and get the best. YOur tack is worth it.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes Please! This stuff works wonderfully on leather goods, it also doesn't leak out of it's container if it tips over. Which I have had happen with other leather products and there goes your money if the bottle tips over and later you find a puddle of money on the tack room floor. You also tend not to have to use very much of this product to get good results.Also one great thing about this with the way it is package is you can leave the rag/sponge you use to apply it in the tin and don't have to worry about where it went when you need to apply this to your leather goods.
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite leather conditioner This is definitely my favorite leather conditioner. Not oily or sticky.
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Really helps to keep my leather supple and in great shape!
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Stuff!!! I love this leather conditioner. I first used it working as a groom and we would use it before every show and I feel in love with it! I then bought it for myself and use it every time I clean my tack. I used it from basically every other weekend to random tack cleanings. Even when you use it a lot it lasts a long time. I dont think I will ever go back to a different product. It makes leather soft, shiny, and supple. AMAZING PRODUCT!!!
    Date published: 2012-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Because your tack is worth it Simply the best. Not oily, won't damage finish over time like many conditioners will. My saddle maker sings its praises, so I bought it for my Passier and my Adam Ellis. I also use it on my chaps, boots, and bridle. Worth every penny.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drool-Worthy Leather Dressing The scent alone makes this worth purchasing (mmmmm.... Beeswax!), but the value doesn't stop there. This stuff is very easy to use (I try to use it once every couple of weeks when I'm not riding much, and every week when I am) and makes any leather happier and more supple. Clean your tack as usual, wipe it on (I've just assigned a tack-cleaning sponge to live in the canister for the purpose), let it percolate until your next ride, and buff any residue off before you tack up.THE GOOD: classic formula takes good care of all leather (not just Passier!)THE BAD: it is pricey, but not compared to the cost of replacing tack.THE YUMMY: you'll be hankering for fresh biscuits with honey every time you smell it.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good leather conditioner This is a bit pricey for how much you get but it does a great job at keeping your leather nice and supple, and is easy to apply with a tack sponge. One of my favorite leather conditioners.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Stuff This stuff works very well and smells nice. Leaves the leather soft, supple with a nice soft sheen
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product I use this on everything. It is great on tack whether it is needing some TLC or is already well-cared for. Friends have also used this product on their leather shoes. I like to use it especially after oiling my tack. It also has a pleasant smell.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Heavenly! This is my second can! Love this stuff! It smells like honey! Nicely conditions my tack and saddles. NOT JUNK! Will only use Passier Lederbalsam!
    Date published: 2012-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Leather Conditioner! This is one of the best leather conditioners that I have ever used. I have been using it on my dressage saddle and dressage bridles. it smells wonderful and leaves my leather soft and smooth. It's not sticky, nor is it oily - at all. It does work better in the warmer months as the product is hard when it's cold. Here in central California our winters are mild enough that I am able to soften the product just by warming it up in my hands. If you're looking for a good leather conditioner, this is it!
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stuff Ever I had used some from a friend and loved that it did not leave any residue on my tack. It has condition my tack extremely well and I would not recommend anything else or use anything else from now on. Not to mention it smells great!
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for stiff leather This really helped soften and condition the leather on an older saddle. Did not leave any gunky residue either. I've even used it on my reins.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! Passier lederbalsam is fantastic. I use it on all of my leather tack to help it become soft and supple. Plus, it smells really good! :) I usually just apply it with my hands which makes them really soft afterwards.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best conditioning product ever! While I have never had this for my own tack, I used it at a good friend's barn on their tack when I rode their horses every day that I was there while I was home and the tack was sooo soft and supple. Highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's okay... I bought this from SmartPak, because they don't carry Effax Leder Balsam & I didn't want to purchase one thing of it & have to pay more $ than it cost to ship it.It is ok compared to Effax, it has a slightly pleasant smell-it makes me think of chemicals, not saddles. It is a bit greasy, not all of the product soaks into the leather (good leather).I wouldn't purchase it again if I had to do over again.
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever! Recently bought a new saddle and would not use anything else!
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revived Decade-Old Leathers! Passier Lederbalsam is my conditioner of choice for all of my tack. Last week I used it on decade-old stirrup leathers that were so stiff I couldn't bend them, and after one application of Lederbalsam, they were back to being supple and soft. It's the first thing I apply to any new strap goods I receive, and it's also responsible for keeping my older saddle in like-new condition. Love this stuff!
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stocking stuffer I use this consistently on everything leather..saddle, bridle, boots, halter. My tack is very seasoned and I keep it looking good with this product.
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best! I use Lederbalsam after every ride and cannot say enough about how fabulous it is! I had been using another "popular" tack cleaner, but splurged on the Lederbalsam when I bought a new saddle. What a great purchase that was! Not only has it kept my new saddle looking amazing, but it has made my old bridle look absolutely wonderful again as well! It is well worth the price and I will never use anything else again (aside from the Passier Saddle Soap, which I use before the Lederbalsam once a week to keep any grime from building up).
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous product This will be my last product review as after many reviews left I still did not win any $25.00 .This product does not need any review , it is a classic and the best in the world.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My leather loves it! I love it too! This leather condition is very nice. It works into the leather well, esp. if you use you hands to warm it up and bend and roll the leather. It soaks in well and does not leave the leather gunky.
    Date published: 2011-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product I like this product it isn't to heavy or sticky, dries well and keeps leather soft
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff This is a great conditioner and helps you stick to the saddle!
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Took a bit, but I got it! I ordered this a while ago and when I first used it I was not impressed. It was hard to get off and it made my leather very slimy. The other day I was cleaning my tack in the sun and I applied this to my old stubben, my old hunter bridle, and my Plymouth dressage bridle. I had always heard that sitting your tack in the sun would open up the pores of the leather and it would absorb conditioners better. Well I am a believer now! My saddle and bridles soaked this stuff right in. I applied it an within minutes it was almost gone! My stubben was fairly stiff before applying this, but afterwards it was noticeably softer and more supple then before. The same was true for both of my bridles. Funny enough, the Plymouth bridle, which I purchased from SmartPak, isn't even very old, but it came in a bit stiff for my liking and now it's much much nicer as far as how soft and supple it is! I would highly recommend this product to anyone with older or stiff leather products, but be sure to apply it in warm weather or in direct sunlight because it works 90% better than inside in a cooler environment.
    Date published: 2011-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from long time user easy to use. keeps tack in good shape.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummmm Best leather conditioner ever. Guaranteed to make your leather smile!!
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! My trainer turned me on to this product and now I'm hooked. Since tack costs an arm and a leg, I really want to take good care of mine. Nothing does a better job on my boots, saddle and bridle.
    Date published: 2011-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super soft and supple Love this stuff. Used it on my brand new Harwich dressage bridle and after one treatment it was perfect!
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    • y_2017, m_1, d_21, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_131
    • loc_en_US, sid_216, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders