Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Passier Lederbalsam

G. Passier & Sohn GmbH
- Item #10216

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Passier Lederbalsam is a tried and tested leather conditioner that restores and preserves fine saddlery.

Favorite Features

  • Rich in nutrients without chemicals.
  • "Lederbalsam" protects the leather against water and keeps it soft.
  • Does not leave leather tacky or oily. 
  • Sponge included!

Sizing It Up

16.9 oz.

Made in Germany.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Passier Lederbalsam is rated 4.8594 out of 5 by 128.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal treatment to preserve fine tack! I have used this product (which I still cannot properly pronounce) for years. With saddles costing what they do, and qualified saddle makers thin on the ground, Lederbalsam is the best treatment for leather saddles and other tack. My dressage saddle gets a lot of use and my horse sweats heavily. After our workouts I will usually hose off my horse and then hose down my saddle too (don't panic!) getting the sweat, dust, and grime off the leather is very important. Then I apply a light coat of Lederbalsam using an inexpensive paint brush I got at the hardware store- brushing it on is the recommended method of application, and lets you work the Lederbalsam into tight spots and stitching. Buffing with a soft, LINT FREE, cloth removes excess. My leather looks clean, it's soft, supple, and best of all... Lederbalsam does not leave tack slippery! In fact, it adds a bit of grip (not sticky at all) so my seat stays firmly in place at all times! Love this stuff!
    Date published: 2015-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is recommended by fine international saddle makers - so far it is the best product I have used on my Schleese saddle which has quality fine leather. Definite "10"
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It surprised me I got this last week and had a clinic coming up and needed my tack to be clean. This is not your ideal tack cleaner if you looking for something that dries in 30 minutes. it takes 3-6 hours depending on how much you put on, But let me tell you its worth the wait!! My tack came out clean and supple. if your cooling for a touch up cleaner go for the feblings saddle soap spry (works much quicker)
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For Old and New Now that I've found Passier Lederbalsam, I won't be using anything else! I have used it to bring old, dry reins back to life - and it's equally great for giving new leather that "broken in" feel. The cavesson strap on my new bridle was impossible to buckle until I used this conditioner. Smells great, doesn't leave the leather sticky, and even conditions my hands!
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best you can buy! The best leather conditioner out there. Perfect for conditioning new saddles and tack.
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can restore ANY leather I love this leather conditioner. Love it love it love it. I bought it two years ago and I still have half a container left. I use it on my paddock boots and they've held up for 5 years. I use it on my saddle and bridle and half chaps and they look like new. I lent it to a friend who had civil war-era leather to clean and within two coats of this stuff it was almost completely supple again. BONUS: smells like heaven.
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Bought this product about a month ago and it has given new life to all my leather products.
    Date published: 2015-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from leather oil in a can I bought this about 6-7 months ago when I bought a used saddle that needed a little fixing up. it had been a very nice saddle but when the girl got a new one she put her cover on the new one and it sat in the open for about a month. so I bought this and put it on and it made my saddle feel great. it kinda feels like your putting Vaseline on your saddle and you should use it when you aren't planning to ride in your saddle for a day or two, or cover it (preferably) but it comes out great IF you give the stuff enough time to soak in.
    Date published: 2015-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product Love this product . Use it on saddles, bridles, my coach purse, you name it.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Easy to use, smells wonderful. My leather was soft and supple after!
    Date published: 2015-03-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ehhh This product is very sticky. It does do a good job conditioning the saddle and gettin gall of the scratches away but it is very sticky. Sometimes it makes the saddle slippery but most times sticky. I do not like this product and I don't recommend it.
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from spa treatment for leather I absolutely recommend this product. I've used it on several saddles and bridles and I can't believe how much nicer they feel. It breathes new life into older equipment and helps to keep the suppleness in the newer pieces. Also like the fact that you don't need to use a ton of it to see the results. The tin is large enough where it could easily last me the rest of my life. Hands down this is the best leather product I have ever used
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product saved my saddle I bought a used dressage saddle (the saddle is probably 10ish years old) last year and had mixed feelings. It fits my horse, but I didn't love the way it fit me. The leather was old, stiff and slick - my leg slid everywhere and I didn't feel secure. I was toying with the idea of buying a new saddle but decided to try to breath new life into my current one (the cheaper option). I bought this product based on all the great reviews and it didn't disappoint. I gave my saddle a good cleaning with saddle soap, applied the Lederbalsam and let it sit overnight. The saddle soaked up most of it and I wiped the rest off with a cloth. The leather is significantly softer, more pliable and I feel like I can actually ride in my saddle now (instead of sitting/sliding). It did make my saddle slightly tacky but after one ride the tackiness was gone and I was left with a soft, supple saddle.
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I started using this and don't think ill ever buy anything else for my tack!
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for all your leather needs This is my 2nd tin. The first one lasted over 10 yrs. My saddle looks great and it leaves it looking great. I think it also has a pleasent smell. Great product and a good price
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for new and old leather I've had a can of this for the past 10 years and it is finally time to order a new one. It keeps my 45-50 yr old Stubben Siegfried saddle in great shape. Everyone at the barn wants to know how I keep it looking so great. I tell them Passier Lederbalsam.!! I just bought a new bridle for my horse for Christmas. Passier Lederbalsam made the leather buttery soft after just two applications.It leaves the right amount of stickyness to my saddle to help prevent those unscheduled dismounts. Look out, squirrel !! :)My instructor wants a can for herself now after she has seen my tack.Attached is a sepia picture of the saddle. Look at that shine!!
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells so good! I like how this smells and goes on. It seems to be a bit sticky though, even after being rubbed down. Not sure if I like that. I prefer not to stick to the saddle. I will probably continue to use this for periodic conditioning but not often because of the stickiness.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from leather balm This leather treatment is excellent. Not only did it help dry patches on my saddle, but it did wonders for a leather chair at home.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST tack conditioner, hands down! This is my first "real" conditioner. Before I just used a glycerine bar and horseman's one step, but I just realized that I should be taking care if my lease's tack like it's CWD/ANTARES, so I bought this!I first smelled this in my local tack shop, and it has been love at first whiff! I have never tried Effax, so I can't really compare the two, however Effax products contain whale oil and I don't personally support that (AKA I don't want it anywhere near me) so I tried this instead. I LOVE it! It makes my saddle beautifully dark and supple and it creates just the right "good" stickiness/grip. After using this on my lease's halter, he looked like the most loved horse in the barn!So if you love your horse, go for this! I just wish I could use it everyday! (But over-over-conditioning isn't good for the leather.)It would be even better if this came in a chic (possibly limited edition) glass jar- it feels like it will last me forever! A great Equestrian stocking stuffer!)
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! This stuff has really improved my leather! I have reins that needed some serious CPR and this has made them supple and nice without being tacky or greasy. Smells good, works well, and great price for the quality.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome leather care I bought this a month ago and have used it to condition all of our English and Western tack. The leather looks new and is so soft and supple
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful stuff Smells great-not greasy. Leaves leather very nice.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this product!! This is my all-time favorite leather-care product. It makes tack SO shiny and new looking, moisturizers and protects it, and doesn't leave a greasy feeling after it soaks in. The tin lasts forever because a little goes a long way. Love it.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Softens leather well! I bought the lederbalsam to soften up a new pair of leathers that were showing some cracking after one use. After oiled them up and letting them sit overnight the leathers felt softer and more flexible. Used this together with the Passier saddle soap, planning to use both on my saddle!
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutly Amazing! I bought this to revive a used saddle that I bough and it did the job wonderfully! The jar is large and will last a good while which helps me know that Im getting my moneys worth. I would recommend this to anyone looking to revive dried out leather or if you just want to keep your tack conditioned and in great shape.
    Date published: 2014-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A little icky texture but spiffs up a saddle!! This has been great for my saddles so far. One is really old and wasn't taken care of before I had it and it got lots of scuffs out and really brightened the saddle. Did not darken or lighten any of the tack I tried it on. It smells pretty good and a little gets you fairly far. I applied with a sponge and prior to using it I wiped it down with a little saddle soap on a rag. I keep my newer saddle very clean so it didn't need much actual soap cleaning before hand but if your saddle or any other tack is really gross definitely give it a nice cleaning with a damp rag and some saddle soap before you use this product. (I like the saddle soap on a rope!) The ONLY thing I don't like is when I squeeze out my sponge while I'm rinsing it afterwards this gross oily gunk oozes out of the sponge. Maybe try using a rag next time I don't know. The can says use a brush but I have no clue what kind of brush they're talking about haha!
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent leather conditioner I have used Passier Lederbalsam for many years and love this product. It is an excellent conditioner for dry areas of bridles, such as the flash strap which dries out from exposure to my horses' mouth foam. I also use it when I take my bridles apart for a full detailing, where it quickly re-moisturizes the straps around the bit, etc. To be completely honest, I also use Effax Lederbalsam and rate it equally as high as the Passier. Sometimes there are variations in price between the two, so that ends up being the deciding factor. Both are excellent and don't make my leather too limp.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Conditions without making tack oily or greasy Better than plain saddle soap or just oil... conditions, smells great, doesn't make a mess. Makes my saddle leather soft and just the right kinds of sticky
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good as new! Put this on my used saddle I just bought, did a great job and didn't stain the leather or discolor it in any way.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I bought this to condition my saddle. This leather balm is great. Soaks in, softens and smells great. Before purchasing I researched on the internet and this product received great reviews. And I can see why, I agree.
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    • 2016-02-13T14:58CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_120
    • loc_en_US, sid_216, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.