Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Padded Replacement Leather Crown Piece

Item #12289
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Did your horse break the leather safety release on his halter?

The Replacement Leather Crown Piece is 23" long and is for halters with a break away leather crown piece. Neoprene Padded. Brown or Black.

Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

Made in USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    TheKensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish ...
    Description:
    TheKensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional! Favorite Features Triple stitch, 1" nylon webbing with padded nose band Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8" poly lead adds a touch of fashion ...
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive ...
    Description:
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive double raised detailon the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert ...
    The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use.This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that isSoft and supple from day one. Favorite Features Brass plated hardware Beautiful havana color ...
    Web cheeks and nose with leather reinforced ends, ...
    Description:
    Web cheeks and nose with leather reinforced ends, snap throat and adjustable nose, double crown buckles and solid brass hardware. Leather with navy cotton or hunter green cotton. Favorite Features Ends of webbing are reinforced with leather Adjustable noseband to ...
    The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
    Description:
    The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle designgive this halter avery traditional look, makingit aclassic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown thread is flattering on ...
    The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only ...
    Description:
    The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only the highest quality durable nylon webbing, thread, and hardware to ensure practical durability for years to come. Hardware includes solid brass buckle square and snap along with brass-plated rings. Favorite Features Adjustable ...
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
    Description:
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Padded Replacement Leather Crown Piece is rated 4.73469387755102 out of 5 by 49.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product for cheap! I got this to replace an old worn out leather break away.. I have a 16hh OTTB who wears regular horse sized things. I feel like this runs a bit small, you couldnt use it on a draft. BUT it is super soft right out of the package! and the padding is nice and wide. The brown is also a nice deep coloring! I dont think you can beat the price for it either!
    Date published: 2016-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice! Much nicer than breakaway strap which comes with most safety halters. Instantly classes up halter. Definite get!
    Date published: 2016-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Great quality. Stronger than others ones from the other big horse catalogue. Will still break cleanly just not as easily as others I've tried. Will buy again and again.
    Date published: 2016-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Perfectly My mare broke crown piece and this replaced it worked perfectly
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect replacement Perfect fit to the halter that was purchased from Smartpak a few years ago.
    Date published: 2015-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thick and Wide! I bought this last month after one of my show geldings panicked and ripped his leather halter. No it does not match his old leather turnout halter but for a leather turnout halter...it does it's job perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality I recently bought this to replace a broken strap on our break away halter. It is very nice and great quality.
    Date published: 2015-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits perfect. This is a great solution to broken hatters. When your breakaway halter breaks don't buy a new halter, just buy this replacement piece.
    Date published: 2015-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Purchased a month ago. I didn't think I would like the neoprene lining ... it's hot in Florida, but it doesn't seem to be causing any skin irritation. Good size--lots of options (we're on the smallest holes) and sufficient quality of leather. Very fairly priced. I am going to order a backup with my next smartpacks.
    Date published: 2015-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice replacement Good replacement for a broken crown piece. Not the best quality and I'm not a fan of the type of padding, wouldnt look right with a really nice halter, but is great for a break away or just a around the barn halter. Just not quite show quality.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful replacement Used to replace headpiece on a nylon halter. Excellent replacement. Better than the original headpiece
    Date published: 2015-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have for Baker breakaway halter This replacement crown is an absolutely necessity for the Baker breakaway halter. I ordered the halter a few years ago, and when my horse jumped back while hand walking (and I'm a very small person), the crown it came with immediately snapped in half and I had a loose horse. I ordered this replacement crown for the halter and it's been perfect. I've had two break and only when they were supposed to. My horse came to me with a bad habit of pulling back while tied/cross tied, and this replacement crown has the perfect amount of hold while breaking at the right time. He very rarely pulls back now. It's beautiful and looks great on the Baker halter. I always keep a spare in my tack locker in case my gelding decides today is the day cross ties are scary! They hold up really well too. My last one lasted for about a year until he pulled back pretty hard with the farrier a month ago.
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was soo happy to find this- at long last! Have been looking for this as a replacement for anoth halter. And looking. And looking! SmartPak came through(again). I'm happy to have the extra padding at his head- especially travelling.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful and good quality, but way too small I bought this a couple of weeks ago to replace one that broke. I tried it on the horse sized leather halter and it fit on the first hole on each side. I have a 16.1 warmblood with a normal sized head.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Ordered this after my strap broke- this padded version is really nice! Really pretty dark brown color and so far is holding up well. Happy I went with this version over the regular replacement pice.
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality supple leather Ordered this to replace a broken crown piece and I like it more than the original crown piece! Soft and supple, and the padded part is soft as well.
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great, simple piece! Bought this to replace a broken strap on a really nice, quality padded leather halter of mine. I was skeptical and planned it as a quick fix until I could replace the halter since I was certain it wouldn't match, but it looks great. The leather is nice and thick, not the thin stuff of traditional "breakaway halters" (but the neoprene is not sewn where the crown piece buckles, so it is still "breakaway"). The neoprene is not cheap at all, and looks like leather from any distance. I'm pleased with the purchase.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement piece. I bought this to replace a leather padded crown piece. It was very well made and attractive. A great alternative!
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice replacement option I bought this crown piece to replace when my horse broke his on cross ties. It's a heavier duty leather than what the halter came with. I like the heavier leather, I think it would break if he got caught on something in turnout, but if he tosses his head in cross ties it looks like it will hold up. As far as sizing I still have one more hole left on each side and he usually wears warmblood/oversize halters and bridles adjusted to almost the biggest setting. Unless you have a draft or an exceptionally long faced horse I'd think this piece will fit.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product When your horse's halter crown piece gives way and breaks, the leather crown piece from SmartPak is an excellent replacement. Top quality.
    Date published: 2013-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice value Great way to solve a broken halter. Not the best quality leather in the world, but reasonably priced. Fits is average for a horse sized halter.
    Date published: 2013-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Substantial! Love this crown piece. I got it after my baker halter snapped. The baker crown piece was really flimsy and this makes the halter really lovely. Great price too
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product, runs very short I purchased this to convert a non_ breakaway halter into a safety halter. I replaced the crown but had to add another buckle because it was so short. Very nice quality though, looks like it will hold up well. The neoprene is a great addition and the leather looks top notch. But my 16 hand thoroughbred is not that big and this was still too short.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Nice enough and well made, but it seems to either be too long or needs more holes punched. I have it on the top hole on both sides on my average head sized horse. Would like more adjust-ability. Frustratingly the top hole on one side is covered up by the neoprene padding so it is not useable. Seems to be poor attention to detail on someone's part.
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement piece This piece even better than leather. It's a little sturdier and doesn't break as easily as leather.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! Where have these been all my life? No more stiff, ugly, cheapo replacement breakaway crown pieces on MY darling's halters! Just because we need safety, doesn't mean we need to live without comfort and elegance, now does it. Bought my youngster's first "big boy" halter, bought the nameplate for field turnout at the trainer's, saw this and ordered it, I am delighted! Soft, richly grained black leather, even the holes are crisply punched! Nice generously padded crown area with textured neoprene. Looks rich on navy/brass nylon halter. Kept the plain leather one that came with halter for the spare. You will be happy with this.
    Date published: 2012-03-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only for small horses I bought this for my average sized horse and it was way too small and had to return it. Must be cob sized. Good quality though!
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too small!! Great quality and value, but only comes in horse size. Bummer. It was too small for the horse I purchased it for, but it will be fine to have on hand for my smaller horses. I purchased the same crown piece at my local feed store in a Warmblood size and it fits perfectly. SmartPak should definitely carry more sizes, as I know there are a lot of big and tall horses out there!
    Date published: 2011-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal I bought this replacement crown for my gelding's leather halter after he broke it pulling back in the crossties. Brat. I didn't want to dispose of the halter as it was quality and decided it was just as easy to order a replacement crown. I was very happy when it arrived. Good quality and affordable in case I have to replace the replacements.
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly on my exsisting halter and looks great.
    Date published: 2011-01-07
    • 2016-07-24T10:22CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_45
    • loc_en_US, sid_2289, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders