Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

One K Defender Matte Helmet

One K
- Item #21807
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The One K Defender Matte Helmet is sure to keep you cool with two side, two front, one back, and two center stripe vents! This all-around stylish helmet is great for both schooling and showing in a number of different disciplines!

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Polycarbonate and Advanced ABS Composite outer shell with an injection molded shell design
  • Inner lining is anti-microbial, moisture wicking, quick drying, and washable
  • Stainless steel mesh
  • Comfort padded harness with synthetic suede lining and Fastex buckle
  • ASTM/SEI F1163-15 certified

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Developed for ...
    "Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the ...
    Description:
    "Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the Ayr8® Leather Look the latest choice in equestrian protective headwear. The Leather Look Ayr8® requires minimal care to maintain its brilliant appearance. The lining features interwoven silver ions, providing anti-microbial protection against ...
    "The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest technology with sophisticated design to create the ultimate in equestrian fashion! This helmet features a smooth, matte finish created with an exclusive mark-resistant paint made specially in Britain for easy maintenance. With ...
    "Just when you thought riding couldn’t get any ...
    Description:
    "Just when you thought riding couldn’t get any “cooler.” The Charles Owen Pro II has ventilation holes in the front and rear for maximum airflow and ultimate comfort. The removable cover has a visor and mesh front that will keep ...
    "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen Ultralight Euro Helmet is a popular fiberglass jockey skull with a streamlined design. Lightweight and deep-fitting with a soft edged three point harness made from high strength nylon. Four discreet vents to keep you cool on course. ...
    "The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked ...
    Description:
    "The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked velveteen and has a rounded removable breakaway visor and coolmax lining. Easily adjustable dial ensures a snug fit while high flow vents keep you cool. YKK adjuster clip and buckle are positioned ...
    "Inspired by women classic hats the Miss Shield ...
    Description:
    "Inspired by women classic hats the Miss Shield is equipped with a long visor and a customizable frontal band. The Miss Shield has been designed on the base of classic Samshield helmets (Shadowmatt and Premium) and has thesame technical features" ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    One K Defender Matte Helmet is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 103.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! I bought this helmet a month ago and absolutely love it. Great quality, very comfortable, and works for schooling at home or in the show ring.
    Date published: 2017-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love My One K I'm so happy with my One K Defender helmet. It is so comfortable and looks great! I did notice that this style tends to run small. I had to return the Medium size for a Large size; which SmartPak replaced in no time! I opted for the Matte finish, rather than suede, simply because I do a lot of trail riding. I typically prefer the look of suede, but I didn't really want to commit to the maintenance or constant fear of getting rained on. The matte finish looks sleek and I've gotten several compliments
    Date published: 2017-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This helmet is perfect for all seasons because of the great ventilation. Another wonderful feature about this helmet is the removable liner. After a hot ride in the sun, you are guaranteed to sweat and all you have to do is remove the liner and throw it in the wash to keep it clean and let it air dry. This helmet protected my head on a uncalled for fall where if I hadn't been wearing a helmet it would have been very bad. I would take my One K over my Charles Owen any day! Not to mention this helmet is perfect for any discipline, and shows. I give it two thumbs up! :-)
    Date published: 2017-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Helmet!! I bought this helmet 8 months ago and absolutely love it. I have fallen a couple times, and this helmet has kept me safe and protected. It is super light weight and very ventilated. I receive a lot of complements when wearing this helmet. It is an awesome helmet for schooling or competitions. This is an overall wonderful helmet.
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Price I recently bought this helmet since I really needed a new one fast and could not afford the very expensive custom helmet that I wanted. I am really happy with the fit and quality. Looks neat and professional. I also ride a lot of different disciplines (jumpers, dressage, eventing and even have a few hunters and polo ponies I exercise) and it can look the part for all disciplines. Recently rode in a big clinic with Mark Leon in it and it poured the second day...I LOVED that it did not get soaking wet and was easy to just wipe off with a towel. I ride in the rain a lot so this is huge! A lot better than riding in the rain with my old suede CO. Great every day helmet...even great for showing on a low budget.
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfy! Got husband helmet about a month or two ago and use it for some schooling and all of my hunter and jumper shows. It's so gorgeous looking and flattering. It's soooo comfortable and cushy. I also love how you can literally feel the air flowing through the top. It also a great price!
    Date published: 2016-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable Very comfortable helmet, looks great and reasonably priced.
    Date published: 2016-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and lightweight I really love the look of this helmet. It's very lightweight and doesn't attract dirt and grime like the suede, and it's the first I've found that is truly low profile on me. Best of all, I feel well and truly secure in it. The harness especially is just very secure and holds my melon in. I haven't crashed in it (fingers crossed) but I feel like it would be secure, however it is so lightweight that is slightly disconcerting.
    Date published: 2016-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet A 2nd one for my daughter. She has 1 for schooling & 1 for show
    Date published: 2016-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soooo comfortable! I bought this during International Helmet Awareness Day and I love it! It fits, it's comfortable, attractive and I LOVE the removable liner that can be thrown in the wash and have spares. During the summer months, riding 3-4 horses a day, my helmet used to be considered an environmental hazard! Now I won't have the cold, clammy helmet that never dried out overnight. And it came quicker than they promised. So overall another great shopping experience from Smartpak.
    Date published: 2016-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet This helmet is so comfortable, lightweight, and cool (especially on the hot summer days). love that it's low profile. I use it as an everyday helmet and will be purchasing one for shows in navy!!
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! I bought this for myself first and now for my daughter. Great fit, good airflow, great price. Nice enough to show in. I HIGHLY recommend this product. I bet in a year they will double in price.
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! Great fit, true to size. Love the look of this helmet, low profile. Converted from a CO, and this One K looks much less bulky on my head than the CO.
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Comfortable! I bought the One K Defender Matte Helmet a few weeks ago after studying and comparing all of the helmets and I extremely happy with my purchase. It is cool, comfortable and I don't get headaches while wearing it. I highly recommend :)!
    Date published: 2016-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a child also We bought this helmet for my 12 yr old after she had a charles owens jr8. This helmet is very comfortable and she loves it. It fits perfect looks great.I just bought one for myself. Cant wait til i can use it! I love my Samshield and use it for shows.
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice helmet Very comfortable, finally found s helmet that works for me.
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy! Just purchased the navy in medium (wear a 6 7/8) and it fits perfect and very comfortable. Very stable on my head versus my Charles Owen AYR8. I really like the placement of the harness directly under my chin versus further down with my Charles Owen. Definite buy.
    Date published: 2016-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I bought this helmet for my granddaughter and she loves it.
    Date published: 2016-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! So happy with my purchase! I had wanted to get something a little classier for dressage/stadium than my CO skull cap. The Samshield was exactly what I wanted, but I was so sad to try it on and have it look like a mushroom on me. I figured since the One K was pretty much the same silhouette that it would have the same effect on my head, but it was so speak. I love that I can wash the liner and that I can just snap a larger or smaller one in depending on if I want my hair up or down. Although, I would love to see some for size options for the liners, the small is to tight with my hair up and the medium is a little too big (though I'm sure I could add some extra padding if I wanted to commit back to riding with my hair up). I LOVE the ventilation, my helmet doesn't get nearly as sweaty or smelly as any of my CO helmets. I also love that the helmet doesn't scratch very easily. Only other complaint is that I do wish the chin strap could go just a little tighter on the smaller helmets. Overall, this helmet is fabulous and I haven't seen anyone that's head isn't flattered in it! They are so versatile, they are so popular in dressage and eventing and are even making there way to the hunter/jumper rings! Also the number of top athlete's riding in these helmets give a little piece of mind. A +!
    Date published: 2016-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite helmet This helmet is stylish and comfortable! It is lightweight and it is ventilated nicely.
    Date published: 2016-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great new helmet Bought this for my daughter after working with the incredibly helpful staff from Smartpak at Rolex. She loves the fit and feel and I love the security and design!
    Date published: 2016-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful helmet, Great fit I absolutely loved this beautiful helmet, and would have kept it, but the chin strap was a no go for me. The fit was perfect, the blue color was a delight. I ride trails only, and wanted a new, well vented helmet. At first I was "oh this is it!" ( I ordered 3 different helmets to try) but I was sad at the chin strap. I spend several hours at a time out riding the mountains, and was afraid this would cause me great discomfort. I suppose if I rode only an hour it would be ok, but it was very distracting. I'm going to say this is a nice oval shape. I would definitely have kept it, but for the chin strap. I also had my horse girls try it, they loved it too, but again the chin strap (we all trail ride) So that's why 4 stars, it would have easily been 5.
    Date published: 2016-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable Light weight. Great fit. Would recommend to my friends
    Date published: 2016-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever worn!
    Date published: 2016-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from similar style pricier helmet - not as customized This OneK is a similar build to the Samshield for 1/2 the cost ... certainly the customization of the Samshield (specific hat sizing vs sm/med/lg) is nice - and they add a few side products which might be nice - winter warmers) ... but for anyone budget conscious, this one fits the need with a much more affordable price!And yes, if you are on the cusp of the top sizing for your head measurement - order the size up.
    Date published: 2016-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buy for a nice looking helmet Great fit, comfortable, doesn't give you a "bucket head," phenomenal buy for the price.
    Date published: 2016-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I have ridden several times in this helmet and my head stays cool. Very comfortable I don't mind wearing it for several hours at a time!
    Date published: 2016-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great helmet at a more reasonable cost I love this helmet! Super comfy -- just put it on and forget about it. It looks stylish and "show worthy" without a price tag north of $400. Definite thumbs up.
    Date published: 2016-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, looks sharp Good buy. Comfortable fit and doesn't make your head look like a giant dome.
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy Time for a new helmet brought me shopping here, since I'm a SmartPak customer.I liked the look and venting features advertised, since I live in a very warm, humid area, so I ordered the One K. Love the fit, it is snug but not uncomfortable, well padded and appears to breathe fairly well.
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_12
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_101
    • loc_en_US, sid_11807, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders