Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

One K Defender Matte Helmet

One K
- Item #21807
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The One K Defender Matte Helmet is sure to keep you cool with two side, two front, one back, and two center stripe vents! This all-around stylish helmet is great for both schooling and showing in a number of different disciplines!

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Polycarbonate and Advanced ABS Composite outer shell with an injection molded shell design
  • Inner lining is anti-microbial, moisture wicking, quick drying, and washable
  • Stainless steel mesh
  • Comfort padded harness with synthetic suede lining and Fastex buckle
  • ASTM/SEI F1163-15 certified

Sizing

What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Following the success of the original Antares Helmet, ...
    Description:
    "Following the success of the original Antares Helmet, the Antares designers created a new style with a more classic and conservative look. Complete ventilation keeps air flowing through the vents, keeping you cool and comfortable. Gorgeous Nubuck covering with a ...
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmet is the latest blend of tradition and technology. This low profile helmet combines fade resistant velvet side panels with a vented velvet center for maximum airflow. It's the perfect combination of classic and cool! ...
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Developed for ...
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Plus Helmet is the ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AYR8 Plus Helmet is the same great AYR8 helmet that riders love, now with a removable liner! This helmet features a low profile that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air ...
    "GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline ...
    Description:
    "GPA Speed Air 4S helmet from the Redline Collection by GPA is filled with top notch safety features. With 50 years experience in the business and following a patented principle, the Reline generation of helmets allows for a new level ...
    "The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked ...
    Description:
    "The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked velveteen and has a rounded removable breakaway visor and coolmax lining. Easily adjustable dial ensures a snug fit while high flow vents keep you cool. YKK adjuster clip and buckle are positioned ...
    "Inspired by women classic hats the Samshield Miss ...
    Description:
    "Inspired by women classic hats the Samshield Miss Shield is equipped with a long visor and a customizable frontal band.Designed on the base of classic Samshield helmets (Shadowmatt and Premium) and has all the same greatsame technical features and benefits! ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    One K Defender Matte Helmet is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 133.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly Very comfortable fit. Love the blue color. Added bonus of the removable and washable liner. Very satisfied.
    Date published: 2017-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it I love this helmet. It is super lightweight and perfect for Florida riding. The fit is also great. My only complaint is that the chin strap leaves black marks under my chin after I ride. I'm not sure if this is typical if these helmets or not. I have another One K Helmet with suede that does not leave marks. Overall great helmet.
    Date published: 2017-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous color, great fit. This is my second OneK. I love these helmets. Comfortable, nice profile, reasonable price.
    Date published: 2017-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful helmet I bought this helmet to have a new schooling helmet, but it is so nice, I'm saving it for showing
    Date published: 2017-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfy and great looking! I had a GPA for 12 years and knew I was really due for a new helmet. I got the OneK and I love it! I have the matte black and dirt wipes right off. The only thing I have to get used to us the chin strap sit a little far forward on my chin compared to the GPA strap.
    Date published: 2017-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable and good looking Bought this to replace my Charles Owen which i wasn't a huge fan of. I got the oval long and it is SO COMFORTABLE!! Great and beautiful helmet for a fraction of the cost!!! My head measured 56 cm, so i got the med and large; the medium ended up being a bit big, so we may have measured wrong. I just added a bit of extra stick in foam padding and it is good to go though.
    Date published: 2017-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and pretty I could not believe how comfortable this helmet felt on my head the moment I put it on! It feels secure without squeezing, and it's very pretty and low-profile. I bought the matte finish for schooling, but it's really nice enough to show in. I've never had a helmet with air vents in the front before, and I never knew how much of a difference that would make in keeping my head cool. The back of the helmet allows you to tuck your hair up or make a low ponytail.
    Date published: 2017-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet This is a very comfortable helmet. I got the long oval version. Seems really well made. Very happy with it
    Date published: 2017-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable helmet I have ever put on I have owned nothing but Charles Owen's for the last 20 years ... and I love them. But when One K came out with the "long oval" size - I was intrigued as that definitely describes the shape of my head. This is the first helmet I have ever put on that didn't put any extra pressure on my forehead. And .. I love the removable liner
    Date published: 2017-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I find the One K helmet very comfortable. I love the removable liner, very easy to keep fresh, especially in the summer.
    Date published: 2017-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love this helmet! This helmet is lovely! Fits like a glove and is super chic!! I added a closeup of the helmet and one of me wearing it for the first time before a ride with Dolce. The matte is so pretty!
    Date published: 2017-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome helmet Breathes so much better than the Charles Owen I had before and fits perfectly. Really glad I went with this helmet
    Date published: 2017-10-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from too round I ordered this helmet only to find that it wasnt the right fit for me. The regular One K defender was a round fit. The "long oval" version of this helmet fit me a lot better (but still wasnt a perfect fit for me) and allowed me to put my hair up in my helmet. Ultimately I went with a different helmet brand because it just fit my head better. This is a very popular helmet that looks great on a lot of people. The one thing that I really hated (other than the fit) was the harness. The harness straps are stiff and angled really far forward. Because of the stiffness, you can't change the angle, which made the harness too far forward and uncomfortable.
    Date published: 2017-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice helmet This has a great fit, is comfortable and not to hot. Some reviews I had read prior to buying stated that the chin strap was goofy, but I found for the shape of my face that it fits fine.
    Date published: 2017-09-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful design, fixed ear straps poor fitting I admired this helmet in my barn, so I tried. But the fixed angle ear straps are hard to 'fit', or they are fixed, so you can either fit in them, or not. Unfortunately, this design was too uncomfortable.
    Date published: 2017-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the look! Sizing was accurate. Just wore to my first show. Helmet was very comfortable and I am pleased with the look. The fit of the harness is different than my old helmet and I found that a little distracting, but just when I wasn't riding. However, I like the look of the harness so I probably just need to get used to it.
    Date published: 2017-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I truly like the way the one k fits. I have two low, one for show & one for schooling. The price is right.
    Date published: 2017-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits well and looks good I took the plunge and upgraded to a higher quality helmet. And I'm glad I did. This one fits better/doesn't shift on my head, has a more comfortable chin strap, chin strap doesn't loosen by itself, and I don't look like a bobble head. The matte finish adds a modern, clean look. I didn't think a better helmet would make much difference, and this may sound funny, but I enjoy putting this helmet on every time I ride.
    Date published: 2017-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and cool I bought this helmet and a Samshield and like the OneK better. It's really lightweight and very comfortable. The washable liner is genius. I wish the OneK had the option of the different style liners like the Samshield has. Some of the black dye from the chin strap rubbed off on my neck. It wasn't a big deal, but something to be aware of.
    Date published: 2017-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable with Great Ventilation I have had this helmet for about a month and a half. I got this helmet because I was looking for a quality helmet with a removable/washable liner. This helmet is so comfortable with great ventilation! It also has a great price tag for the quality! I recommend sizing up if you wear your hair in a hairnet. My head measured perfectly for a large but it was too small. So I had to size up to a x-large.
    Date published: 2017-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! This helmet fits great and the vents really help keep my head cool!
    Date published: 2017-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and get a lot of compliments I finally decided to upgrade my helmet and chose this one because of it's middle of the road price. I'm very happy with it. It is comfortable to wear because the chin strap doesn't rub and the shape fits my head snugly. People have complimented me wearing it, so it must also look nice. I've never received compliments on a helmet before! I also like the matte finish. It's not slippery to carry and dirt still comes off easily. I recommend it if you are looking to move up from one of those sub$100 helmets and can stomach the sticker shock (it's a jump up, but not as pricey as the super high-end helmets).
    Date published: 2017-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever owned!
    Date published: 2017-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It I bought this a month ago. Comfortable and fits great. Also looks stylish!
    Date published: 2017-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Helmet ! After trying many different brands of helmets, I decided to try the One K. I LOVE it. Lightweight, comfortable and affordable.
    Date published: 2017-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet!! Bought this for my son who has a hard to fit round head and it fits him great. He also lines the fact it doesn't make him have a "mushroom head"
    Date published: 2017-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very comfortable Just purchased this product. Have worn in the arena 3-4 times. Fits me snugly (22.5 in/57.15cm - ordered large) but is extremely comfortable. Only a 4 rating because I have not had any experience in warm weather...and wonder if the padding will make it too warm - will see. Have had compliments on how it looks.
    Date published: 2017-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! I bought this helmet a month ago and absolutely love it. Great quality, very comfortable, and works for schooling at home or in the show ring.
    Date published: 2017-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love My One K I'm so happy with my One K Defender helmet. It is so comfortable and looks great! I did notice that this style tends to run small. I had to return the Medium size for a Large size; which SmartPak replaced in no time! I opted for the Matte finish, rather than suede, simply because I do a lot of trail riding. I typically prefer the look of suede, but I didn't really want to commit to the maintenance or constant fear of getting rained on. The matte finish looks sleek and I've gotten several compliments
    Date published: 2017-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This helmet is perfect for all seasons because of the great ventilation. Another wonderful feature about this helmet is the removable liner. After a hot ride in the sun, you are guaranteed to sweat and all you have to do is remove the liner and throw it in the wash to keep it clean and let it air dry. This helmet protected my head on a uncalled for fall where if I hadn't been wearing a helmet it would have been very bad. I would take my One K over my Charles Owen any day! Not to mention this helmet is perfect for any discipline, and shows. I give it two thumbs up! :-)
    Date published: 2017-01-08
    • y_2018, m_1, d_21, h_10
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_129
    • loc_en_US, sid_11807, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders