Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

One K Defender Matte Helmet

One K
- Item #21807
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The One K Defender Matte Helmet is sure to keep you cool with two side, two front, one back, and two center stripe vents! This all-around stylish helmet is great for both schooling and showing in a number of different disciplines!

Favorite Features

  • Polycarbonate and Advanced ABS Composite outer shell with an injection molded shell design
  • Inner lining is anti-microbial, moisture wicking, quick drying, and washable
  • Stainless steel mesh
  • Comfort padded harness with synthetic suede lining and Fastex buckle
  • ASTM/SEI F1163-15 certified

Imported

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmetis the latest ...
    Description:
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmetis the latest blend of tradition and technology. This low profile helmet combines fade resistant velvet side panels with a vented velvet center for maximum airflow. It's the perfect combination of classic and cool! Stay-soft ...
    TheSamshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's ...
    Description:
    TheSamshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption.Swarovski crystals provide a show-ring sparkle; each ...
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet ...
    Description:
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Favorite Features Front air ...
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Crystal Fabric Top Helmet ...
    Description:
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Crystal Fabric Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision that will get you noticed in any show ring! The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside ...
    Designed for serious competitors, the Troxel Avalon is ...
    Description:
    Designed for serious competitors, the Troxel Avalon is a modern low profile platform packed with performance features. Metallic vent stabilizers and state-of-the-art 3D weave mesh give the Troxel Avalon an unmistakable look as well as maximum air intake. A custom ...
    Adda little sparkle into your everyday life or ...
    Description:
    Adda little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ringwith the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet! Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the blackweather resistant microsuede side panels. Styled ...
    Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the ...
    Description:
    Up-to-date styling, fit and unparalleled safety make the Ayr8 Leather Look the latest choice in equestrianProtective headwear. The Leather Look Ayr8 requires minimal care to maintain its brilliant appearance. The lining features interwoven silver ions, providing anti-microbialProtection against sweat and ...
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    One K Defender Matte Helmet is rated 4.6575 out of 5 by 73.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fit Very comfortable (once I traded my L for and XL) and cushy liner wicks sweat away quickly. Large enough for my hair to be up or down in a pony tail.
    Date published: 2016-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfy! This helmet is super comfy and light! And the vents help a lot especially when the weather gets warmer.
    Date published: 2016-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable helmet. I have a very hard time finding helmets that a large enough, yet do not have a huge profile. I have always worn Tipperary helmets, but have been unable to find a T2 lately. After tons of research I tried this One K. The XL did fit comfortably, but the helmet profile just appeared huge. I returned it for a L, and tried it with an XL liner as many people had advised. The fit feels the same, and it feels much less cumbersome overall. Very comfortable helmet, well-ventilated, and I quickly got used to the more forward chin strap.
    Date published: 2016-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I just received this and I love it! It is gorgeous.
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! Great price! I had an IRH helmet before this for awhile and recently bought the One K Matte Defender and I love it. It's a great price, super comfy and look great!
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this helmet! I've had this helmet for about a year and a half and I originally bought it because my CO GR8 didn't have any ventilation for summer riding. Out of all the helmets I tried, this one fit the best and had amazing ventilation. I can actually feel breeze when I ride in this helmet and it doesn't leave my hair all sweaty after I'm done! Definitely recommend this helmet!
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Looks great! .. But what about protection??? Falling is inevitable. It's just a matter of when and what helmet you will be wearing when it happens. The helmet itself has a nice look to it and is comfortable to wear but during a fall, the protection that it provides is very slight. It held up just fine and the plastic shell remained intact, however, it was absolutely painful. The helmet itself might be so uncomfortable during a fall that it causes more concussion than no helmet at all would have, as my head slammed into the arena sand. I've worn a variety of different brands and had plenty of spills as an exercise rider for racehorses -- not that I love to admit the falling part -- but if you haven't fallen, then you likely haven't ridden enough. Anyway, this helmet hurts. It doesn't get a recommendation from me. For your safety, you might consider looking elsewhere.
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still digging this helmet I have the Black Matte for Hunters and love it but i think I may have to get it in Navy too, to match my Jumper attire :) Price wont break the bank either.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I bought this helmet for my daughter who is in pony club and wants to start showing more this upcoming year. She loves it! It is very comfortable and I wish my head was a tad smaller so I could share with her. I will be ordering one for myself in the near future.
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet!! This helmet fits like a glove!! I absolutely love how sleek and low profile this helmet is. I have a slightly oval shaped head and my other helmet didn't fit the best so I went looking for something new. I came across this one and immediately fell in love. I ordered this in a large, but it was just a tad snug. I ordered and XL liner and snapped that in instead and now it fits perfect. I am in love with this helmet!
    Date published: 2015-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and very light Great fit and very light with good airflow. Washable as well
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice helmet Nice helmet. I haven't owned it long enough to rate durability, but the easily removable and snap back in liner is something I appreciate. Replacement liners are available, too. Harness is comfortable and snaps nicely. My regular IRH was on months' of backorder and I read reviews saying this is what riders had switched to because of similar fit. I agree. Note that my measured size was right on the cut off between two helmet sizes. If you are in doubt, order up a size. Smartpak easily exchanged my too small helmet for the correct size.
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful helmet! I brought this a month ago and I love it! It's beautiful! The first thing I noticed was the airflow and ventation. I got many compliments from how nice it looked; someone even thought it was a samshield. I love how easy it is to take out the inner cushion. It makes washing it easier and allows me to avoid the terrible helmet smell I have gotten in my past helmets. It's my schooling and showing helmet(it's that nice).
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Price & Looks Great in the show ring! I bought this helmet after loving my matte Samshield! This helmet takes a little while to break in, it is pretty snug during the first few uses, but it looks great in the show ring and is priced well! I do feel that this helmet gives you a lot more airflow than the samsheild and still provides a removable liner for easy washing.
    Date published: 2015-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I bought this helmet for my daughter about a month ago. She loves it. It is much cooler than her previous helmet which is really important since we live in Florida. Looks great in the show ring!
    Date published: 2015-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughters love it I bought this helmet for my daughters, they love the helmet. It was a bit snug the first time they tried it on, but it fits great now.
    Date published: 2015-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing helmet I got this helmet a few weeks ago and am so glad I did. It actually fits well and I'm I'm love with the matte finish. I can just clean it off with water, its great. It's also really comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Helmet My one k is by far the comfiest and most breathable helmet I've ridden in. I love the look of a matte helmet and these are much cheaper than samshields. The interchangeable liners are lifesavers, especially for people with thick hair. The chin strap was a little tighter than I expected, but it's easily adjustable. And now I find myself preferring a tight chin strap because the looser chin straps feel unsupportive and uncomfortable
    Date published: 2015-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've ridden it is several times so far. It fits well and is comfortable. The price was very good for the quality. It shipped very fast and I was able to ride with it the next week. The Velcro piece on the chin piece hides the excess after adjusting the chinstrap length.
    Date published: 2015-09-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Have not received yet. I would love to actual rate this helmet. I ordered them for my daughters Aug. 1 they were on back order. Didn't receive till Aug. 27. Had to return because they were too small. Did get free shipping on the return. Returned them Sept. 1 it is Sept 15 and I am still waiting for the replacement.
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfy! Helmet looks a little large compared to my Charles Owen but it's super comfy! The ventilation is also great!
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks Great!!! I Love the helmet bought it for my daughter and she looks great and she says it does not make her head sweat alot . I am thinking pf getting one for myself.
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Same as a samsheild but less $$$ If you like the fit and the style of a samsheild but don't want to fork out all that cash this OneK is what you need. I love the fit and I like the matte finish. I also own a CO AYR8 which I enjoy to for a more classic look.
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! It's very light weight and feels much cooler then my previous CO helmet.
    Date published: 2015-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet, some fitting issues I was extremely pleased to find a helmet with many of the same features as more expensive brands I had looked at. The quality is nicer than I expected and I was very pleased with the look of the helmet. Fit of this helmet is a little off for me- I usually wear a 7 1/4 in a Charles Owen with a hairnet, so I ordered the large. The fit is definitely tight, but I had read reviews saying the interior padding will squish down some, allowing extra room so I decided to keep it fearing the extra large might be too big. I have ridden in the helmet quite a few times and it's still a tight fit so I would recommend sizing up if you are in between sizes. I did experience some gaping at the temple areas with my CO which I don't have a problem with in this helmet, it fits my head shape nicely. Overall, I'm glad to have a well ventilated schooling helmet for the hot climate I live in.
    Date published: 2015-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LIKE WEARING A CLOUD ON YOUR HEAD! I absolutely LOVE this helmet. I have never worn a more comfortable helmet in my life, and I love the look! I recommend it to anyone :-)
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this helmet I own almost every brand of helmet out there and I love this one. I sweat A LOT and I could feel a slight breeze with this one and my head wasn't nearly so dripping. The removable liner is amazing. It's so light and doesn't make your head look huge. The finish is wonderful. It's so easy to clean and doesn't trap dirt like the suede and other finishes. I can't say enough good about this helmet.
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird chin strap I bought this on Helmet Awareness day. It didn't really fit correctly and I didn't like the chin strap. It seems like a nice enough helmet.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality for the price Can't say enough good about this helmet! Got it during the "Helmet Awareness Day" sale, so it was less than $200. For that amount of money, it is phenomenal, and I wouldn't hesitate to pay full price. It is lightweight, low-profile and super cushion-y inside. Also well-ventilated.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from attractive and lightweight I wear this to polo practice and it's very nice looking and lightweight. It is a little tight and gives me a headache after too long, I think I just need to break the padding in as the next size up would be too big. I like that the chin strap comes forward a little more and doesn't give you a double chin look like some helmets!
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    • 2016-05-25T17:33CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_72
    • loc_en_US, sid_11807, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders