Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Neck Stretcher

Item #14980
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Made of strong elastic which attaches to the girth and adjusts over the poll. Encourages your horse to drop his head, flex and stretch forward to the bit without encouraging the resistance and resentment of a nonelastic cord. Black. One Size.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Back on Track Mesh Neck Cover Relieves ...
    Description:
    The Back on Track Mesh Neck Cover Relieves Tired, Sore Muscles by Using Horse's Own Body Heat Tight, stiff neck muscles are a thing of the past with Back on Track's therapeutic Horse Neck Cover. Designed with breathable mesh and ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Neck Stretcher is rated 4.5167 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great way to get your horse to connect. This bungee type cord simulates a solid connection so the horse can become round and develop the correct muscles over time.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best training tool EVER Simple, and that's the best way to go.I have been using this for several months, and have finally bought my own. Simply the best training tool and priced right. It really encourages my horse to travel in a balanced, relaxed manner and in a correct frame while engaging his back.His topline is now developed enough that, with proper aids, truly engages his quarters and back without the aid of the neck stretcher but we still do work with it on once to twice a week to continue to encourage that development.
    Date published: 2010-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product- Great price This is an easy to use product. Far less complicated than others out there. A great training tool at a GREAT price.
    Date published: 2010-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! Recommended by a friend who trains and shows HUS. It encourages the horse to travel and carry itself correctly without stress or confining the horse's face.Easy to use.
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I have used this item for years and I finally wanted one of my own. I used it 2x before one of the clips broke. Additionally, the length was way too long. I had to put 2 knots in it. I have returned it and I'm awaiting a replacement.
    Date published: 2010-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works simply and very effective Really happy with the neck stretcher. Easy to use.Gentle on horse. Instant results!
    Date published: 2010-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helps a lot used it my entire life...great tool to encourage youre horse to use the right head position
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made the BIG difference! I bought this via recommendation from a friend at the barn and have been using it for about three weeks now- WHAT a difference. My mare doesn't respect my hands- but she respects this little piece of stretchy cord! The pressure on her poll seems to be calming and it really encourages her to use her back and travel in a frame- she's a completely different horse because of this!The plastic clips don't bother me- I don't have a girth ring so I clip them to a twine loop- tightening it would be problematic with a head shy horse, but I have no problems- its easy to use, either between the legs or clipped to the girth buckles as a side rein-like product. I ride in this product, but my friend used it lounging only- it helped her train a beautiful headset with her gelding and is helping my mare learn one too!
    Date published: 2009-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results fast Really awesome product for the price, great tool. It is really encouraging my horse to get more round and use his back more. He's been out of work for about a year due to me not having the time for lessons/regular riding because of my job, and I am using this to help get him back into shape. Only have used it a few times, but I can already tell a difference...his neck, back, and hindquarters are getting ripped!! I can't believe the muscling he has developed in a very short time! I just wish it didn't have the plastic clips.
    Date published: 2009-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neck Stretcher Helpful The mechanics of this neck stretcher are simple and easy to use. It is a helpful device - it allows the horse freedom of his head for balance but encourages him to stay round. Very helpful for breeds or types that are hollow and find it difficult to "find round".The clips that attach to the girth are made of plastic and I think they will not last a long time. There isn't a way to replace it easily, and this is reflected in the Average Quality rating.The adjustment loop is easy to use but if you have a length of excess, you will need to tuck it in so it doesn't flop on the horse's ears. We have a horse that is reluctant to have his ears touched and this feature was cumbersome the first few times we used it.The price is good, the elastic good quality. It is a useful training aid but should not replace good training or correct riding.
    Date published: 2009-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have not had it long enough to evaluate the long-term quality. So far, so good. I like the results it is achieving.
    Date published: 2009-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helpful in retraining I've used this with other horses in the past but misplaced mine in a move. It helps a encourage a horse to loosen his poll and back without letting him lean on the sidereins when lunging. Personally I don't use it when riding, but I've seen others use it while mounted.
    Date published: 2009-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affordable Training Device I've only used this a few times but I'm already seeing results. The lines are easy to attach and offer the gentle encouragement and pressure my horse needs. A great idea at a super low price.
    Date published: 2009-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great training tool I love the Neck Stretcher because my mare really responds well to it. The elastic element gives just the right amount of pressure in the right place (the pole). Great training tool!
    Date published: 2009-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from needs to be longer Love how the product works but would like to see it make a little longer and maybe stronger snaps. Plastic will probably break soon.
    Date published: 2009-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great but... This is great but I use it on my lesson horse, Magic, and sometimes the clips come off or it slips to the side. Overall the product is great and I like that you can tighten it or loosen it. (when it's tight it looks like she has a halo! haha)
    Date published: 2008-03-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product! This is a great product! Unlike draw reins, it gives (with elastic) and asks the horse to reach down into a frame instead of forcing the issue. It has really helped my green mare learn that she needs to keep her head at a resonable level for riding/softening, and I only use it once a week. I would like it to be slightly more steady, because once in awhile it will slip a tiny bit to one side if the horse over bends to the inside.
    Date published: 2008-01-18
    • 2016-05-29T16:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_52
    • loc_en_US, sid_4980, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders