Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Neck Stretcher

Item #14980
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Made of strong elastic which attaches to the girth and adjusts over the poll. Encourages your horse to drop his head, flex and stretch forward to the bit without encouraging the resistance and resentment of a nonelastic cord. Black. One Size.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Neck Stretcher is rated 4.5714 out of 5 by 56.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with this! I bought this to use with my Arab, trying to help him stretch down and lunge him with it for about 15 minutes. Easy to adjust, good quality for the price!
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neck Stretcher A fellow rider recommended this so I bought this for my 5 year old OTTB who likes to toss his head and is in general very unbalanced. I was concerned I was hurting his mouth with the bit when he did this.He seems to like it and is moving beautifully. I don't even tighten it, as I do not want to "tack" him down, I want him to relax and listen to me.I am very happy I bought it
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use! I bought this under the advise of a vet because my horse is having some back & pelvic issues that require stretching his head down & forward gently. This was easy to put on, easy to adjust, gentle on the horse as the bungee cord allows him to adjust as he needs to but keeps gently encouraging the correct carriage. My only question is the durability of the plastics snaps but time will tell on those & I think you could find a way to replace them if needed. Great value for the $!! I highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2014-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great aid Really like using this as an aid to help horses uses and develop their top line. It works really well for greener horses that aren't ready for side reins as it has a lot of give to they don't spook at or fight with the pressure.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good. I got this as a training aid for a 4 yo. She just needed a little extra guidance to come down a bit earlier in the ride so that she doesn't get too overly fit. I made it as loose as possible, so that it really is usually not even affecting her. But when she goes to life her head way up, it's there to remind her. So far I've used it a few times in dressage lessons and then rode today without it and I already see the difference. Next part of the plan is to start the dressage ride with it, then to take it off halfway through. I like how it's not reliant on my hands like how side reins would be. And it doesn't get her going behind the bit or anything by affecting her mouth at all. Very gentle.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with the purchase I like this stretcher. My horse is a small quarter horse about cob size. We are trying to turn this sweet western pleasure into a hunter/jumper. I didn't want anything that would be to tight on her and this fit the bill. It has just the perfect amount of tension to help build up her muscles but not so tight that I have noticed any complaints from our sweet horse :)
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Training Aid Usually I am one of those people who hates training 'aids'. I have never used side reins, draw reins, etc. But I really like this! The elastic gives so my horse never feels trapped, and he is really learning to stretch down into the contact at the canter. I only use it on the longe, not when I'm riding, but after about a month and a half of using this once a week for 20-30 min, he is starting to become noticeably stronger through his topline and his canter is improving!
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neck Stretcher 20 years ago I used draw reins to achieve what the neck stretcher does. This is a fabulous tool for horses of all ages to teach them to get round and use their rear ends. It is adjustable and very worth the $20 price. The only negative is the clips are plastic and can break but you only put in $20 so try one!
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Purchase For $20, this is an awesome training aid. The neck stretcher itself is pretty basic, just a strong bungee cord with plastic snaps and a plastic clasp, but it works awesome. My horse is young and pretty green and likes to carry her head high, but the neck stretcher helps gently encourage her to keep her head down. I like how it applies poll pressure instead of leveraging on the bit, and is built in to release when she drops her head. She tolerated it really well and I'm pleased with this purchase. Works well with lunging and under saddle.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Small Expense This isn't the most high-tech piece of equipment--it's basically a bungee with two snaps and a pull-thru cinch--but it works. It's a nice, inexpensive tool to help encourage a longer, lower head set to help engage and tone the topline and back muscles when lungeing. I wouldn't use it with much tension--I'd worry about the plastic snaps breaking--and I found I needed almost no tension and it worked beautifully. Once my mare tested it out a little and found it wasn't constricting and even stretched a little when she pushed against it, she settled in and kept a really nice headset without fighting it.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice training aid One of my horses needed a little help to get into frame while on lunge line. Side rains did not do much for him as he would get really tense so I wanted to try something else based more on give-and-take basis. I am familiar with the neck stretcher from riding horses in Europe and was hoping that it could be the little help he needed. Because the elastic can give when he gets tense, he does not get stuck in pulling against it but rather re-balances and gives nicely into it. I am very satisfied with the purchase and happy that it works for my guy. I only lunge him with the neck stretcher, never ride him in it.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like them, but worried about plastic clips... So far, I like this neck stretcher. It is longer than the others I have used, which allows for a greater range of adjustability. Easily adjusts (and stays put). However, as some other reviewers have mentioned, I am a little concerned about how the plastic clips will hold up over extended use.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used for Prepping We used these stretchers to help with prepping our thoroughbred sales yearlings. They were shipped super fast and seem to be doing the trick!
    Date published: 2012-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best $20 I Ever Spent ! My horse accepted the Neck Stretcher immediately. He is moving better than ever and I can see a noticeable improvement in his hind end in just two weeks (he is ridden 5 to 6 days a week).Only regret is that I didn't start using this years ago.
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handy This works well on both my hunter and my western pleasure horse. It's easy to adjust and easy to put on and take off. My only concern (like others) is the plastic snaps on the ends.
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Best product I have ever purchased! Has made so many great changes in my horse's movement, and him learning to carry himself. I would recommend this to anyone!!!!
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice neck stretcher Nice but would like for it to have metal snaps instead of plastic.
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I expected I bought this inexpensive neck stretcher for a specific horse and it works well. A good buy for the money and quite helpful for this horse!
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must-Have Training Tool I have been using this almost every ride since I bought it -- it is wonderful quality, and it has been teaching my horse to stretch long and low. Definitely prefer this to something like a martingale or draw reins. Every trainer should have one!
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME This is one training tool that I absolutely can't do without. I love how it helps my horse to understand how I'd like her to carry her head. Does not interfere with collection or going on the bit, as I have found with draw reins or martingales. Absolutely LOVE this.
    Date published: 2011-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A tremendous help for riders The neck stretcher is great for head carriage. Aids the rider to keep soft contact and puts the horse's head right where you want it. The horse's fight less and I am certain they are grateful for this product as well, riders aren't hanging on their faces. Very adjustable for young horses as well. Thanks again smart pak for another great product, and my horses thank you as well!!!!
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from An easy product to use. I have lunged my horse in it a couple of times on a very loose setting. It is easy to adjust. I would question the fit being too small on a very large horse. My horse is only 15.2 and compact and I wished it was a bit longer to get her used to it. I also with the cord was a bit more stretchy.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great alternative to draw reins Great heavy duty elastic cords, only wish the clips were a material other than plastic such as snaps or something metal. Have had no problem whatsoever with this product thus far
    Date published: 2010-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Im glad I purchased this. I bought this for my 3yo TB mare to get her used to the concept of long and low. She was all about trying to be like a giraffe when being ridden. In was not looking for a short cut in training, just a tool to help her accept the idea. Its worked very well for us. I like the give that bungee provides and the fact that in an emergency the clips will break.Some people should know though, this will encourage a horse to bend at the 3rd vertebrae if too tight. I wouldn't recommend this for people looking for a short cut in training for a round frame.
    Date published: 2010-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked Wonders Many people complain about the plastic hinges breaking, but I would rather they break if there was a safety issue like a tangled leg.I am not a big believer in forcing a horse into a frame with a training aid, but the neck stretcher was a quick, effective and gentle way to introduce my pony to the muscles in his top line. After only a few session he carries himself better, even just strolling about the pasture.Worth every penny and much more forgiving than side reins or a chambon, especially for a newbie trainer like me.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good investment purchased this on the suggestion of my friend who works her horse in one too. encouraged my gelding to stretch down and relax, etc. both rode and lunged him in this and like this better than draw reins or side reins. only complaint is that i had to create loops to use it through my girth's billets or the girth (hint: those zip ties have many uses!). i might have my saddle repair friend take an old girth and install dee rings on it. at first it seemed a little tight (my horse is a big old 17.2 hand monster) but after a week of use it seemed to stretch out a little so it's not so tight. denny, my gelding seems to be very accepting of the neck stretcher.
    Date published: 2010-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great way to get your horse to connect. This bungee type cord simulates a solid connection so the horse can become round and develop the correct muscles over time.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best training tool EVER Simple, and that's the best way to go.I have been using this for several months, and have finally bought my own. Simply the best training tool and priced right. It really encourages my horse to travel in a balanced, relaxed manner and in a correct frame while engaging his back.His topline is now developed enough that, with proper aids, truly engages his quarters and back without the aid of the neck stretcher but we still do work with it on once to twice a week to continue to encourage that development.
    Date published: 2010-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product- Great price This is an easy to use product. Far less complicated than others out there. A great training tool at a GREAT price.
    Date published: 2010-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! Recommended by a friend who trains and shows HUS. It encourages the horse to travel and carry itself correctly without stress or confining the horse's face.Easy to use.
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    • 2015-08-26T12:45CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_48
    • loc_en_US, sid_4980, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.