Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Nathe Flexible Loose Ring Snaffle

Nathe Bits
- Item #17154
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Nathe Flexible Loose Ring Snaffle has a flexible mouthpiece allowing for smooth communication between horse and rider.  The Nathe Bits are extremely gentle to the horse's mouth and tongue, and are especially beneficial to sensitive horses, young horses and for promoting a sensitive style of riding.  For more than 20 years, Nathe has developed and manufactured synthetic bits. The bits are manufactured in Germany and come with a tear and safety (steel core) guarantee.

Favorite Features

  • Encourages chewing and activates salivation
  • Flexible mouthpiece
  • Allergy free

Sizing It Up

  • 20 mm thick with 75 mm stainless steel rings
  • Please note, because this product is handmade, it is possible for some slight variations in size

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Nathe Flexible Loose Ring Snaffle is rated 4.4348 out of 5 by 23.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing difference I had purchased a Herman springer kkMy pony was not accepting the bit . The nathe bit he is forward and accepting this bit . This bit is excellent for a horse or pony with a soft mouth
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wish it worked! I wanted this to work so badly as my horse has been difficult to find the right bit for. He rode well the one time I used it, but that being said, destroyed it. I made sure the bit was in the correct position, but he was able to bite all the way down to the metal. If your horse has a very quite mouth, then this may work. I'll be exchanging this for a Myler next.
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked perfectly I bought this because I needed a softer bit for my OTTB- I used a loose ring french link but he would never really have contact, he would just hold his head up and tucked. I borrowed a hermsprenger D-ring and he went wonderfully in it, but those were so expensive I went for the loose ring option. He has taken well to this bit! I do dressage, XC, and show jumping it it! I got the 51/2 and it pinched a little at first but my crooked horse kind of holds his head with a tilt, which probably did it. Hasn't happened since the 1st week! Great bit- useful one to have for the future with other horses that have trouble taking contact!
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit Great quality bit. My horse loves this bit. Definitely worth a try.
    Date published: 2013-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Sensitive Horses My sensitive OTTB loves this bit for Dressage. Was going in a KK Ultra, but never wanted to really "take" contact, he was always a little backed off. He is so much more secure in the bridle now.
    Date published: 2013-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just wish they carried a bigger variety Love the Nathe bits...just wish Smartpak would carry the cartwheel gag Nathe (elbow elbow nudge nudge)...fabulous especially considering the problems with the happy mouths these days.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a bit my pony takes contact with I ride and drive a pony which is very sensitive and likes to hide behind the bridle. I used to ride and drive with a KK Ultra, but I just wasn't happy with the contact feel. This is the first bit I've used that he's willing to stretch into and even lean on a little. It has made a huge difference as we work on collection and lengthenings.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit for fussy horses! I have a couple of horses that fuss with the bit and bridling. Not only will they willingly put the bridle on, almost themselves now, their mouths are quiet and foamy! It is also working great for a horse that tends to such back from bit and who's mouth is generally dry in a KK ultra. Happy to have it in my bit box!
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit Bought this for my paint mare that has always had a problem opening her mouth, champing, etc despite multiple vet checks, different bits, and trainers assuring me it's not my hands. We ride trails, small jumps, and training dressage. I'm using it with a new Micklen bridle, and so far am seeing improvement. Too early to tell for sure, but her mouth is quieter, not rubbing her face on her leg at every chance. It's softer than a happy mouth. She seems to like it better than the "bean" snaffle and is moving into contact better. Tried the new bridle with the bean bit, then with this bit. She definitely prefers the Micklen bridle, and did seem to go even better when I changed to this bit. Still too early to tell if this is "the" answer, but I have seen good improvement so far.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit Ever! Great bit and really gets my off-the-track thoroughbred soft and supple. I had been using a French Link and he was ok, but he really loves the soft bit and I love the control I get with it.
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strange size Have to return for different size. Looks like a great bit but ordered a 5" and inside ring to inside ring measures 4 1/2" and is too small. Bummed I have to pay shipping and I don't know what size to reorder since the sizing is strange. Also wish it came in an eggbutt.
    Date published: 2011-04-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from oops Horse hated it, went back to a plain metal snaffle. Obviously, depends on the horse!
    Date published: 2010-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit One Can Buy This bit is hands down the best bit to use when training youngsters as well as for light mouthed horses in general. I use it on my 17.2 hand hano/tb and he is perfect, we even will school intermediate fences in the nathe! The best part about smartpaks version of this nathe is that you cna buy in in a 5 3/4 which is great for the big horses and you can hardley find it anywhere else! Thansk smartpak for this amazing bit !!!
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver This bit really helped get my horse's confidence back after being "bit abused" by a trainer in Colorado. We're finally getting back on track after a year of horsey rehab.
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    • 2015-05-25T09:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_22
    • loc_en_US, sid_7154, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.