Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Myler Level 1 Loose Ring

Myler Bits
- Item #18447
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, meaning that as your horse learns and progresses through his training, you will change the way you communicate with him by re-bitting him periodically. Each Myler Bit is designed to use select pressure points for the best communication for that Level.

The Myler Level 1 Loose Ring bit is intended for horses beginning training. The free-rotating barrel utilizes mostly tongue pressure.

Favorite Features

  • Feature curved mouthpiece that allows horse to swallow
  • Uses tongue pressure and bar pressure - working mostly off of the tongue. Myler Bits® distribute tongue pressure more evenly than traditional designs 
  • Uses restrict and release action
  • Stainless Steel Loose Ring with Stainless Steel comfort snaffle wide barrel (MB 02, Level 1) Copper inlay mouth.


Sizing It Up

Customers Also Shopped For
Dynamic RS bits are characterized by an ergonomically ...
Dynamic RS bits are characterized by an ergonomically shaped mouthpiece. They lie perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. Dynamic RS bits stimulate the horse to accept ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
Why We Love ThisThe Herm Sprenger KK Ultra ...
Why We Love ThisThe Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Aurigan Loose Ring provides an incomparable precise contact between rider and horse. KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some findings: ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increase your horse's acceptance. Favorite Features Double jointed mouthpiece provides independent action on each side of the ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse´s mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to ...
Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to provide maximum comfort and top performance. The curved mouthpiece eliminates interference and stops bit from hitting the roof of the mouth, allowing room for the tongue. The shape also reduces the severe ...
out of 5
98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Myler Level 1 Loose Ring is rated 4.803571428571429 out of 5 by 56.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this for a horse who occasionally throws the tongue out the side of the mouth, even when the bit is just hanging in her mouth with no reins attached. She seems comfortable in this bit, and has had no more tongue problems. She is more willing to initiate contact and keep it. I am concerned this bit could pinch the tongue between the barrel and the mouthpiece. It definitely pinched me when I flexed it over my forearm. But I did have to flex it to the max to get it to pinch. As long as you don't put excessive pressure on the reins, it should work.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving this bit! My horse had become resistant to his single jointed snaffle...he was evading and was very "heavy". The choices for a 6" bit are pretty limited so I was excited to find this one! He seems much happier (no more evading), and is much lighter and more responsive. My trainer was so impressed with the improvement that she had one of her other students order one too!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every horse I have put this on, likes this bit This bit has worked especially well for horses with a soft upper palate (where it is supposed to be hard) and for horses that had a low roof of the mouth. It is a dressage competition-legal bit that is kind to most horse's mouth, yet the horses are responsive to it. No head tossing or grinding, just willing work. I have had at least 4 different horses that I have ridden in this bit. I recommend everyone should have one, in a couple different sizes.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit! I was having issues with my mare to accept bit - she was tossing her head all the time and I tried several different bits from my friends - I didn't want to purchase many bits and then try to re-sell them. When I didn't see any difference with my mare, I decided to purchase Myler bit from SmartPak to try it with hassle free return (I love you SmartPak for that!). I purchased 5.5" whihc was huge! My mare normally takes 5.5" but I exchanged it for 5" in Myler which fits perfect. My mare seems happy in this bit and I am happy too! I got this snaffle bit and thinking of ordering D-ring Myler one as well.
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accepts bit My mare had trouble with other bits and likes this one.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit! I bought this for the Myler features (independence of each side of the bit). It fits true to size. I bought it via Smartpak because of the free return shipping in case the size didn't work out. I would recommend doing the same, as some people have said Myler bits are harder to fit due to the curved mouthpiece.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse likes it- smarktpak got the large size fast I had already tried this bit, recommended by trainer- my horse was fussing lots with head and tongue. He likes this bit is much quieter. He is half percheron so he needs a 6 inch bit and Smartpak got me this large size fast.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit! I purchased this bit after trying out a friends on my horse. What a difference! My horse is more responsive and seems much happier. He "chews" the bit softly and is much lighter and quieter now. I was riding in a fat loose-ring snaffle. I'm very happy with the change.
Date published: 2015-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit Been switching bits, trying to find one that my mare won't fight. Tried almost every kind, weight, and width of loose ring snaffle. This one gives me the happy-mouthed mare I've dreamed of and has made our daily fight a distant memory.
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pros outweigh the cons First the cons: I would consider this bit as running large. I'd already compromised 1/4 inch on size because for some reason nice bits don't come for smaller mouthed horses. On top of that, the 4 3/4 measured more like a 5 to my eyes. On the plus side, I love the fact that it physically cannot pinch and my very sensitive-mouthed gelding is happily accepting and relaxing into this bit. It's a wonderful size and shape for soft-mouthed horses that don't like a lot of thick hardware in their mouth, much more pleasant for him than a thicker bit would be. Horse is loving it so much that I'll just have to resign myself to balancing the extra bit length between my hands, which will just have to get a lot more educated
Date published: 2015-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best bit I have ever used! I bought this bit about a month ago for my 11 year old Arabian mare. I wished I would have discovered the myler brand sooner! These bits are pricy but worth it. I use this one for a work bridle and the d ring with a curb chain for the show ring. This bit allows a lot more movement in the horse mouth. She has never been so steady or content with a bit before. I would highly suggest to everyone I know.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse seems happy with it Starting a 4-year old, my trainer said one issue he was dealing with was the horse really ducking out of being bridled (he was using a D-ring snaffle). This one he finds more acceptable to him - less dodging and ducking and he is calm when being ridden now. Nicely made, like the copper inlay.
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse! I bought this bit for my horse because I had her with a trainer, and wasn't sure what she had been going in. She didn't like the first bit I tried, which was an older Myler version similar to this one. I decided to take a chance on it, and am so glad I did! She is much happier and now is willing to take contact without tossing her head. This bit is perfect for her.
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strange size ing Sizing was strange , had to return because it was too long
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from myler level 1 loose ring thankyou so much for your help dillion loves his new bit
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! My horse is lighter in this bit, he gives good snorts and licks. Horse approved!
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Response I purchased this bit for my green draft cross mare when she decided that she no longer liked the bit she had been broke in and using for the past 2 years (a copper linked french-link eggbutt). The dentist recommended a Myler due to her fleshy mouth and a relatively small space between her jaws. She has responded well to the change and is more willing for bridling. I haven't noticed a difference in her actual response time while riding, but she was always very sensitive to the aids and goes more off of seat than hands. My only problem with this bit is that it pulls through her mouth with very little one-sided pressure. I had to get a western curb strap to help keep it in place. Also, I would have preferred to NOT get a loose ring, but there was no other option (anywhere!) for this mouthpiece in a 6". Although, Myler has attempted to smooth out the connection of the mouthpiece with the ring to reduce the incidence of pinching.
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bit My mare and I love this bit, a little pricey but definitely worth the price!
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit The Myler Bitting System has a lot going for it. My horse responded well to the curvature of the bit and roller. I am not completely sure that it alone has helped with keeping his tongue in his mouth but there is definitely a difference.
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buying My Second one! My trainer swears by these bits and uses almost all of her horses in them. I use this bit for both dressage, XC, and SJ for my mare and she is very happy in it.
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit for fleshy mouths I've tried well over a dozen different bits for my OTTB, and finally decided to try the pricier Myler. His regular bit is a thick double-jointed, oval lozenge snaffle, and although he was making progress in accepting contact, he still wasn't happy in the bridle. The first ride in the Myler went okay--I didn't see a miracle transformation, but he seemed quieter. The second ride went even better, and I noticed I was able to maintain more even connection. For the third ride, I went back to his original bit to see if the change was a fluke, and I couldn't believe the difference. He kept trying to open his mouth and spit out the bit, so I'm keeping the Myler and will make the change for his other bridles. It's a good try for horses with smaller palate clearance and fleshy tongues.
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for the greenie I use this bit on both of my horses and I really like it. I use mine with a Micklem bridle so I never have to worry about it sliding. I like using it with my green horses as I think that it is nice for them to have something to play with and I like that there is no "nutcracker" effect with the Myler bits.
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit This bit is great for green horses with the smaller mouth and a large tongue. Acceptance was no sweat.
Date published: 2012-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective and widely accepted bit I have been using this particular style of bit for about 3 years now as my trainer is a fan. I am just buying a new horse this year, however, and since he "came" with one of these in his bridle, I admit I thought I'd try a few different bits to see if he had a preference or went differently. (he needed a smaller bit anyway). Well, he was quite firm about wanting to be in this bit over my other choices. Just quieter, less fussy, easier to get him round and through, etc. I think he felt "safer" in this bit. I tried my KK Aurigan 3 piece snaffle as an alternate, nope, he preferred the Mylar. OK, the horse has voted.
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Bit My mare seems to really like this bit. She tends to be a puller and I've had success with a Waterford for cross country and showjumping but this is lovely for the dressage phase!
Date published: 2012-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from He seems to like it I have only used this bit with my guy a few times but he seems to like it , or at least not mind it. It is a bit of a change from the regular loose ring snaffle that he had and the trainer was worried he would not take to it...but I don't think it is a problem. He does seem to be pulling a little more but I think that may be more due to putting him in new situations that he isn't comfortable with rather than the bit itself... but only time will tell. It does seem to be well made.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not so sure at first that my horse liked the bit...was ready to return it and then I took a lesson with it. It appears that O'Reilly's objection was not to the bit but my too busy hands! Am keeping it and thanking it for making the problem I have so apparent that I must change!!!
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not for my horse! My OTTB hated this bit and the way it "locks" into a straight bar. He is normally a bit behind the leg and this caused him to rush nervously and did absolutely nothing to increase salivation. I'll be sticking with traditional french link snaffle from here on out.
Date published: 2012-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this lightweight bit My TB is very sensitive in the mouth and the heavier bits tend to make him try to avoid contact. With this bit he's able to relax and stretch out more.
Date published: 2012-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Worth the Price I've never seen a bit so compatible with so many mouths. Every horse I've ridden in it LOVES it. My nervous, sensitive, OTTB relaxes into a cloud of black bay gorgeousness whenever I ride him in this bit as opposed to the snaffle I used to use!And it's dressage legal, too! My only gripe is that it's a bit pricey - not as much as some, but quite a bit more than others - but well worth the investment for the results.
Date published: 2012-04-10
  • 2016-10-26T12:44CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_8447, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders