Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Myler Level 1 Loose Ring

Myler Bits
- Item #18447
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, meaning that as your horse learns and progresses through his training, you will change the way you communicate with him by re-bitting him periodically. Each Myler Bit is designed to use select pressure points for the best communication for that Level.

The Myler Level 1 Loose Ring bit is intended for horses beginning training. The free-rotating barrel utilizes mostly tongue pressure.

Favorite Features

  • Feature curved mouthpiece that allows horse to swallow
  • Uses tongue pressure and bar pressure - working mostly off of the tongue. Myler Bits® distribute tongue pressure more evenly than traditional designs 
  • Uses restrict and release action
  • Stainless Steel Loose Ring with Stainless Steel comfort snaffle wide barrel (MB 02, Level 1) Copper inlay mouth.

Made in the U.S.A.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Myler Level 1 Loose Ring is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 40.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit The Myler Bitting System has a lot going for it. My horse responded well to the curvature of the bit and roller. I am not completely sure that it alone has helped with keeping his tongue in his mouth but there is definitely a difference.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buying My Second one! My trainer swears by these bits and uses almost all of her horses in them. I use this bit for both dressage, XC, and SJ for my mare and she is very happy in it.
    Date published: 2013-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit for fleshy mouths I've tried well over a dozen different bits for my OTTB, and finally decided to try the pricier Myler. His regular bit is a thick double-jointed, oval lozenge snaffle, and although he was making progress in accepting contact, he still wasn't happy in the bridle. The first ride in the Myler went okay--I didn't see a miracle transformation, but he seemed quieter. The second ride went even better, and I noticed I was able to maintain more even connection. For the third ride, I went back to his original bit to see if the change was a fluke, and I couldn't believe the difference. He kept trying to open his mouth and spit out the bit, so I'm keeping the Myler and will make the change for his other bridles. It's a good try for horses with smaller palate clearance and fleshy tongues.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for the greenie I use this bit on both of my horses and I really like it. I use mine with a Micklem bridle so I never have to worry about it sliding. I like using it with my green horses as I think that it is nice for them to have something to play with and I like that there is no "nutcracker" effect with the Myler bits.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit This bit is great for green horses with the smaller mouth and a large tongue. Acceptance was no sweat.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective and widely accepted bit I have been using this particular style of bit for about 3 years now as my trainer is a fan. I am just buying a new horse this year, however, and since he "came" with one of these in his bridle, I admit I thought I'd try a few different bits to see if he had a preference or went differently. (he needed a smaller bit anyway). Well, he was quite firm about wanting to be in this bit over my other choices. Just quieter, less fussy, easier to get him round and through, etc. I think he felt "safer" in this bit. I tried my KK Aurigan 3 piece snaffle as an alternate, nope, he preferred the Mylar. OK, the horse has voted.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Bit My mare seems to really like this bit. She tends to be a puller and I've had success with a Waterford for cross country and showjumping but this is lovely for the dressage phase!
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from He seems to like it I have only used this bit with my guy a few times but he seems to like it , or at least not mind it. It is a bit of a change from the regular loose ring snaffle that he had and the trainer was worried he would not take to it...but I don't think it is a problem. He does seem to be pulling a little more but I think that may be more due to putting him in new situations that he isn't comfortable with rather than the bit itself... but only time will tell. It does seem to be well made.
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from not so sure at first that my horse liked the bit...was ready to return it and then I took a lesson with it. It appears that O'Reilly's objection was not to the bit but my too busy hands! Am keeping it and thanking it for making the problem I have so apparent that I must change!!!
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not for my horse! My OTTB hated this bit and the way it "locks" into a straight bar. He is normally a bit behind the leg and this caused him to rush nervously and did absolutely nothing to increase salivation. I'll be sticking with traditional french link snaffle from here on out.
    Date published: 2012-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this lightweight bit My TB is very sensitive in the mouth and the heavier bits tend to make him try to avoid contact. With this bit he's able to relax and stretch out more.
    Date published: 2012-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Worth the Price I've never seen a bit so compatible with so many mouths. Every horse I've ridden in it LOVES it. My nervous, sensitive, OTTB relaxes into a cloud of black bay gorgeousness whenever I ride him in this bit as opposed to the snaffle I used to use!And it's dressage legal, too! My only gripe is that it's a bit pricey - not as much as some, but quite a bit more than others - but well worth the investment for the results.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for Sensitive Mouth My horse has a large tongue which doesn't leave much room for a bit. He also is very busy with that tongue -- My equine dentist suggested a bit which offered some relief for his tongue and didn't nutcracker. My KK Ultra bit wasn't working at all for him although my previous horses loved it. The comfort snaffle has worked out great. He's quiet and accepting of the contact. He reaches for the contact with this bit. I definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ONLY bit I'll use! This bit is absolutely the best bit on the market; my horses love it! My OTTB has a tendency to get very tense with bits and immediately falls behind the vertical - even on a very loose rein. He loves this bit, though. His mouth stays nice and wet and he carries himself wonderfully.If you want a happy, comfy horse then you should go with a Myler bit.
    Date published: 2012-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from There's nothing like a myler! I have had such a great experience with Dale Myler and Myler bits, I had to review this bit to encourage more to try Myler bits. (and no I'm not a paid reviewer)1. Dale really does care about the well being of horses. I used their "bitting assistant" on their website (which sends your information to the company for a real person recommendation on a bit) at 11:00pm, and by 9:45 the next morning I had an email, written just for me from Dale Myler, who also encouraged me to call him with any questions.That's what giving a darn looks like.2. This bit, the myler comfort snaffle as of February 1st 2012 is APPROVED for USEF dressage competition.youtube search julie goodnight's 4 part series on Myler bits to understand why these really are some of the best bits out there.Myler has a customer for life with me!The attached image is how far this bit collapses, so you can see it basically goes from a french link to a mullen type contact depending on the level of contact on the rein.
    Date published: 2012-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Myler bit is so great for my small mouthed Arabian and she loves it. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Training Bit I love these bits! Just purchased one for my new schoolmaster after having one for 8 months on my old cow-pony whom I was schooling for suppleness and connection. I have yet to see the rings pinch either of their lips, and they both seem to enjoy the small copper inlets and the roller. I do not know if this bit is acceptable for showing, but I do love schooling in it!
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite bit My horse liked this bit so much that I ordered one for a friend, waiting to hear if her horse likes it as much as mine!
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase My sensitive-mouthed horse who normally chomps and evades most bits willingly accepted and dropped his head for this bit. I highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it I ride dressage. My horse seems go into a more rounded frame well with this bit.
    Date published: 2011-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bit! My horse loves this bit! He is a 15.1 h Arabian with a low palate with not much room in his mouth. He seems to prefer this thinner mouthpiece and I can tell that he loves the Comfort Snaffle construction. Actually, I put him back in a regular 3-piece snaffle the other day (I had left my bridle at home) and he hated it! He even creates some nice lipstick with this bit when we do dressage work. It works great when we jump too! This bit also does not pinch the corners of his lips and is of amazing quality!
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for re-training My rescue horse loves this bit. He no longer puts his tongue over the bit to evade, and is really beginning to soften after only two week of training in it. I do wish that SmartPak would carry a larger size so I can fit all my horses for one.
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit I wish I had bought this years ago for my snaffle-hating horse! I wanted a bit that was accepted by USDF, and after reading some forums, I decided to try this. I really wish I had started this process earlier. I don't know if it is the angles, or the rolling joint, or whatever, but my horse really likes this bit. He got nice and round right away, slobbering and accepting the contact better. Now maybe I will have a barn sale to get rid of the many snaffle types I have tried over the last few years!
    Date published: 2011-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, Gentle Bit - TWH Mare I bought this bit for my coming 5 yo Tennessee Walker mare. She has been in a conventional snaffle and done well; however, this bit is her favorite. I first borrowed this same style bit from a friend who also has a TWH. I have heard that this breed sometimes has a fairly low palate and a regular snaffle can actually exert a punching effect on the roof of the mouth. My mare instantly exhibited a quieter mouth and lower head with this bit. I can see using this bit for the rest of her life. Well-made bit, and SmartPak's pricing, style and size selection were excellent.
    Date published: 2011-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been training Dressage horses for 15 years. I love this bit, it was just what I needed for my current FEI project in training. It has helped my mare soften with the smallest of aids.
    Date published: 2010-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great snaffle! I purchased this bit for an off-the-track TB gelding who was very difficult to get relaxed. He willingly seeks contact with this bit and is finally wanting to round his topline. Great bit!
    Date published: 2010-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit Love this bit - in fact, I have three of them so I don't have to switch out headstalls.
    Date published: 2010-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Sensitive Mare I have a TB mare with a sensitive mouth. She had been bitted with a very harsh bit in the past. I tried her in a French Link (Herm Sprenger), Double Jointed Snaffle (Herm Sprenger), a fat regular eggbutt snaffle, and a few others. She didn't seem happy in anything. I tried this bit out for lack of other options. I'm not usually a Myler fan, but my mare loves this bit. She is soft in this bit and reaches for contact. She never resists bitting or coming onto contact. This bit is a great option! And it's legal for dressage shows, which was absolutely necessary.
    Date published: 2010-03-19
    • 2015-05-22T07:46CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_36
    • loc_en_US, sid_8447, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.