Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18002
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The newest of the Mountain Horse winter boots, the Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot is fashionably chic as well as functional!  This winter riding boot has been meticulously designed for a comfortable fit and superior traction on ice, snow, and in the stirrup.

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Durable, quilted PU upper boasts membrane technology making this boot 100% waterproof up to the start of the zipper
  • Ergonomically designed removable EVA insole with soft Nylex lining
  • Heat insulating (and stylish) faux fur will keep feet and toes warm
  • Built in steel shank for increased stability while walking or riding
  • Specially slim and contoured designed outsole made especially for riding
  • Super strong and durable YKK zipper to extend the life of your boots
  • Unique side elastic for an individual fit
  • Reflective inserts along the back of boot for night riding
  • Faux leather foot-part has been tested to withstand one million flexes in 14 degree F weather
  • Dirt repellent tread zones on bottom of sole enhance your grip in the stirrup
  • Heel part is fitted with shock absorbing IPS System
Key Specifications
  • Material: PU-Leather/Extensia
  • Insulation: Faux fur
  • Style: Dress

Specifications

Material PU-Leather/Extensia
Insulation Faux fur
Type of Zipper YKK
Style Dress
Footbed Extensia
Waterproof Yes
Special Features Ergonomically designed removable EVA insole with soft Nylex lining
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Why We Love This Justin has been making ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This Justin has been making authentic western footwear for over 130 years. As an iconic brand of the west, rich in history, traditions and heritage, all Justin boots are developed and made with the styling, performance, and ...
    "The comfort of the Justin AQHA Q-Crepe is ...
    Description:
    "The comfort of the Justin AQHA Q-Crepe is back- now in full quill ostrich! With over 130 years of experience making western footwear, Justin understands the style, performance and comfort needs of today's riders. Handcrafted in the USA using only ...
    "The Tuff Rider Regal Field Boot is a ...
    Description:
    "The Tuff Rider Regal Field Boot is a versatile equestrian boot crafted with ultra-soft leather and an elegant square toe design for a traditional look in the show ring. Imported."
    "A sleek, stylish boot created for a fast ...
    Description:
    "A sleek, stylish boot created for a fast paced life and everyday challenges, the Cami Lace Tall is rated to -22F, perfect for wet, cold days in the elements. 3mm Neo-Tech waterproof insulation and BioGrip slip-resistant outsole topped with Rebound ...
    "Developed in conjunction with the AQHA Professional Horsemen ...
    Description:
    "Developed in conjunction with the AQHA Professional Horsemen to meet their exacting quality, performance, styling, and comfort requirements, all boots in the Justin AQHA Collection are handcrafted in the USA using only the highest quality materials. The Justin AQHA Collection ...
    "The Ariat Whirlwind Boot offers a stylish take ...
    Description:
    "The Ariat Whirlwind Boot offers a stylish take on an all-weather boot, complete with comfort technology and waterproof performance. This boot features Waterproof Pro construction with waterproof leather. Imported"
    "The Dubarry Galway Tweed Limited Edition Boot is ...
    Description:
    "The Dubarry Galway Tweed Limited Edition Boot is a must have for the Dubarry enthusiast! The Dubarry Galway Boot is the original waterproof, breathable boot from Dubarry, perfect all purpose outdoor footwear for any weather. Raved about in Europe for ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 75.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm The boots are very warm. They have not broken in yet because we have had mild weather so they are a little stiff. Due to the thickness of the foot part, I don't really feel like I have contact with the stirrup.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average I loved the boor style, but the zipper didn't even last half a season. I've been long time user of mountain horse boots, but the zippers continue to be a problem on all of them.
    Date published: 2017-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In LOVE. I am thrilled to FINALLY find a gorgeous, well made winter tall boot that actually fits my gigantic calves. I wish all of the Mountain Horse boots came in a width like these. These are true to size but I do find them a little big in the top of the ankle (I have big calves but normal sized feet and ankles...), I suspect thicker socks would fix this though. I ordered the wide calf and the measurements provided are accurate. Some people complain that the boots are too tall, I do not have a problem and I'm 5' 5". The boots are insanely comfortable from the get go and I foresee little to no break in time. The elastic panel on the side seems stiff out of the box but rest assured, it DOES stretch really well and the zipper is really sturdy. With the help of my wonderful husband, we used a shoe horn along the back (a buffer between my boot sock and the zipper) while zipping them up and had no problems at all. They zipped right up first try. I highly recommend these boots, and of course the free shipping for being a Smartperks member made them that much better.
    Date published: 2016-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I bought these a month or two ago for hunts in the freezing cold. They kept my feet super warm and are structured enough that they didn't rub or give me blisters like most boots with back zippers do.
    Date published: 2016-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm but to stiff for my taste I am a size 8 to 8.5 on average shoe size. The size 8 boot fit my foot with room. I also have smaller than average calves; my Ariat standard calf riding boots are pretty loose on me which is why I anticipated these would also be loose. In fact, they were snug with thin socks and thin breeches underneath. When I attempted to ride in them I found them too restrictive and clumsy. In a really cold climate I can see making this trade off, but in the milder Pacific Northwest winters, in my opinion, it's just not cold enough to give up the sensitivity of my normal riding boots with thick socks. That said, they were incredibly warm and the quality is good for what they are but I couldn't see them lasting more than 2 winters of heavy use.
    Date published: 2016-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm & Cute boots! This was the third pair of winter riding boots that I tried and the only pair that I thought looked decent. I tried the Ice Rider's and the Ariat Bromonts and both were unattractive. These boots are sort of a riding boot meets snow bunny. They are very warm. If you live up north and want to wear relatively thick socks, then order your true shoe size. If you plan to wear thinner socks, then you might want to go down a shoe size. The only bad thing about these boots so far is that the zipper doesn't go down all of the way, soooo they are super difficult to get your foot into the first couple of times. A shoe horn will help. Each time I wear them, they are getting easier to get my foot into. Once on, they are comfy.
    Date published: 2016-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So warm and cozy! These were a Christmas present and I love them! So warm and cozy, and comfortable. I ride in them every day!
    Date published: 2016-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Riding Boots! Bought these for my daughter for Christmas and she loves them. She is 5'6" and the height of the calf fits good. She has ridden in them several times already and they flex at the ankle well right out of the box. And they keep her feet warm - (we live in Michigan). Plus she loves the way they look! Haven't had them long enough to comment on quality of wear, zipper, etc.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I love these boots. Well made. Super warm. Comfortable to ride or work in. Recommend them to everyone.
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and Comfortable I bought these boots two winters ago. My feet got numb riding after work in the cold and dark. The boots fit pretty true to size. I normally wear an 8.5/9. The size 9s were comfortable with plenty of room for my slightly wider foot and high arch. They are nicely tapered at the ankle, more so than previous boots. The calf is true to size. The wide calf fit my 16.5 inch calves comfortably. The lining is on the calf only, not the foot portion of the boot. There is an elastic gusset down the entire side of the calf, so when my weight went up and down the boots went with them.They are exceptionally warm. Sometimes my feet got too warm while riding. I was living in New Mexico at the time (temperature slightly above freezing). They are very cute and comfortable. I wore them all the time--riding, barn chores, going to the store. Very comfortable.My one complaint about the boot is their longevity. After two half winters (bought them midway through the first winter and moved to Miami half way through the second) a hole opened up on the foot of one boot. The hole was right at the crease that forms when you bend your toe. This has been the death of almost every pair of boots I've ever had, so maybe it's just me. They were still warm, but no longer waterproof. Everything else was perfect. The sole and upper were still in perfect condition when I passed them on. I would definitely recommend these boots to anyone riding in cold weather.
    Date published: 2015-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm boots! I bought these boots to keep my feet warm while I ride and they certainly do that! I went up a size in order to wear extra thick socks but they're a bit snug in the ankle so zipping is a bit of a struggle. They feel a bit clunky to ride in but I'd rather give up feel to keep warm.
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like these boots. I've worn them for about fifty hours now. I do chores and ride in them and my feet stay warm. They clean up nicely and even though my silly horse has run us along the wall a couple of times, these boots show no sign of wear. I have large calves (18") and these fit over my Irideon winter breeches and long johns. The elastic panel does stretch very nicely, but you've got to be strong enough to pull it over and then up. I added shoelaces to the zippers to make it easier to zip and to save my hands. I also have wide feet, if my feet were a regular width I could probably wear thicker socks in them, as it is I wear smartwool socks together with noble outfitters best dang boot socks in them. The shaft is the perfect height for my leg, but the first few rides they did dig into my knee pits. The first few rides they did rub my heels, not to the point of blisters, but I was glad to take them off. These boots are perfect for me, best of luck with the boot search!
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my feet WARM! These boots are very attractive and very warm. I have had many compliments on their appearance and I can attest to their comfort.
    Date published: 2015-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite winter boots! They look awesome, are completely waterproof and my feet do not get cold at all in these boots. I have a slim calf and normally wear an 8 1/2 or 9. I ordered an 8 and they fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feel and quality. The boots are of excellent quality, I usually wear a 7.5 and the 7 was still roomy especially at the heel area. I added a half foot insert and they now fit perfectly. They are a bit too tall for my 5 ft self, but I am hoping they will relax a little with wear. I have tried 4 different brands of winter boots and these are the best yet.
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very pretty Although these boots are attractive they don't fit well for riding. The ankles ste stiff and the Gome up too high.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous boots! These boots are gorgeous in person! I wear a 9.5 in Ariat boots and the 9 fit me perfectly. They are very warm. They are stiff, so make sure you break them in a little before wearing them to ride. I didn't and I had a hard time riding in them the first time due to the stiffness not allowing my leg to fall in it's regular place. I had lots of compliments on them at my barn!
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great looking & sturdy but some drawbacks I Iove the looks of this boot & tried to convince myself that they were ok. I am 5'8 and long/medium build. After trying and trying, the zipper killed my heal as I slide my foot in and they were almost impossible to zip with fleece breeches. There would be no way with bulky socks. My husband had to pull them off for me. I have exchanged them for the Mountain Horse Active Winter High Rider. Thesere much more comfortable to put on and to zip. Supposed to be warm even at 10 degrees below zero. I am much happier with this boot!
    Date published: 2015-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Boot I bought these boots last year for a super-frigid winter, riding in sub-zero temps nearly every day, and they were awesome! I ride 4-6 days a week, and these are still in great shape half-way through the second winter. I usually wear them with a pair of Smartwool snowboarder socks, and my feet are toasty warm - if the outside temperature is 20 or higher, my feet get a bit sweaty, but never cold. Also, the shank has an elastic insert, so if I wear fleece breeches, or fleece breeches with long underwear underneath, they still zip up easily and fit well through the calf.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I love these boots. It's so hard to find good boots that fit wide calves. My feet stay dry and are toasty warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far I Love them! I bought these boots a few weeks ago so I could ride and school without my toes freezing. So far so good.I do find them a little stiff and tall, so I am hoping they will break in and be more comfortable. They are competing with my muck boots which I swear by but are not good for lessons.
    Date published: 2014-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! Love, love love these boots! Can wear out or to the barn. Comfy, warm and classy. Will recommend to all my horsie and non horsie friends . Fit great
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do you have big calves? Read this! <3 I was soooo excited to see that FINALLY an off-the-shelf tall boot would be large enough for my giantess calves. Seriously, they're over 18 inches, and I'm not hideously overweight. (Riding English is humiliating on so many levels... most brands 'wide calf' is a svelte 17. Hey Ariat, I'm talking to you!) But I digress. These came, I opened them up - and beautiful! They look every inch well-designed and fantastic quality for what they are (winter boots) and the price (not that much). Then I try them on... and I can't zip them. They say "up to 18 1/8" and my calves with breeches measure about that, maybe 18 1/4. They gap an entire 1" at the back. I am devastated. Freshly humiliated. So angry at Mountain Horse that they LIED about the upper limit. But I was in a huge hurry and put them aside to write a bad review later. Today, I had time to actually work with them... and it finally sunk in that that huge panel on the outside calf is elastic. Really strong elastic. So I pulled the outside around and...violá!! They zipped up!! Being a tall girl, they are perfectly fitted like fancy stiff dressage boots (I mostly ride dressage) so I am so very excited that they will work beautifully. Hooray!!! Just wanted to write all this so if you have wide calves and think they aren't going to fit like you thought - pull hard on that outside part and they will come right around. :-)
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very warm boots Purchased early November for riding on those cold Wisconsin days, boots keep my feet very warm, but bite into, and have actually cut open the back of my knees, as they are too tall for me.
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and warm Very comfortable boots and very easy to break in. Wonderful to wear around the barn while keeping your feet warm and dry yet comfortable to wear in the saddle with good riding support. Love them.
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish there was a summer version! Just bought these so I can't give a longevity review but will say that these gorgeous boots are hitting high notes for me. Crazy warm! I live in the Pacific Northwest...the snowy, frozen version of that region...and have full confidence that these boots will keep the tootsies warm on long mountain endurance trainin rides. And then will look fashionably adorable w my skinnies when I run into town for errands. :) as always, SmartPak's service is flawless.
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the style of these boots! I can't wait for the snow to wear them! They are very warm and cute. Plus I can wear a thick sock if needed.
    Date published: 2014-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice boots, but run very tall I bought these boots in a size 10, I'm 5'9. Can barely bend my legs in these bots they are so tall. I'm very disappointed, because otherwise I love these boots and the quality looks very good.
    Date published: 2014-08-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from They Leak! Had these boots since last winter. I liked them okay and better than a lot of others I've tried. However, this year I began to notice my feet would be soaking wet and beyond freezing after taking them off after even a short time. Needless to say, they are leaking terribly!. They are now un-useable, as they never dry out, and will just Very disappointed in the quality, as I've only worn them during the coldest winter months.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great riding boots Fitted me perfectly and shipping very fast. 1-2 days earlier than stated.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_73
    • loc_en_US, sid_8002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders