Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Mountain Horse Polar Breech

Mountain Horse
- Item #18519
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mountain Horse Polar Breech is the ultimate winter riding pant! Breathable, windproof, and waterproof makes this breech great for those cold, snowy, blustery days!

Imported.

 

Favorite Features

  • Breathable, windproof and waterproof, with fully sealed seams to lock out moisture
  • Snow gaiters in lower leg keep snow out
  • Reinforced imitation leather full seat and ergonomically shaped seat and knees for maximum comfort in the saddle
  • Full length waterproof zippers at side seams
  • Reflective piping around the knees when riding in low visibility
  • Elasticized waist with belt loops so you can wear as many layers as needed
  • Adjustable, elastic foot strap
  • Two front pockets with hand-warming micro fleece
Key Specifications
  • Breech Material: 100% Polyester
  • Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on): Front zip
  • Rise: High rise

Specifications

Breech Material 100% Polyester
Patch or Seat Material Faux leather
Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on) Front zip
Rise High rise
Ankle Closure Elastic foot straps
Pockets 2 Front
Insulation 100% fiberfill
Special Features Wind, waterproof, full seam-sealed, two way full length zippers on sides, faux leather full seat for grip, front pockets with hand-warming micro fleece
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Schooling just got more fun – for kids! ...
    Description:
    "Schooling just got more fun – for kids! The Piper Junior Knee Patch Breech offers the same comfortable fabric, flattering fit, and fun styling as the original Piper Breeches in girls’ sizes. The assortment of stylish colors with bright piping ...
    "You'll never want to ride in another pair ...
    Description:
    "You'll never want to ride in another pair of jeans. All the features of the Wrangler Cowgirl Cut Ultimate Riding jean in the Q-Baby Fit with a slimming, stylish cut. 99% Cotton, 1% Spandex. 12oz Denim. Imported."
    "The Ovation Girls Hunter Star Breech features an ...
    Description:
    "The Ovation Girls Hunter Star Breech features an ultra low-rise fit with a smooth, flattering wide waistband, OV logo on the coin pocket and star rivet details on front. It is made of medium-light weight cotton doubleknit with Clarino knee ...
    "The Trophy Hunter gets a fun update. The ...
    Description:
    "The Trophy Hunter gets a fun update. The style and fit you know and love, now available with a tan knee patch reminiscent of years past or a trendy new black patch. Lightweight, woven 73% cotton/20% polyamide/7% Lycra® Made in ...
    "TuffRider’s all purpose schooling tights are super soft ...
    Description:
    "TuffRider’s all purpose schooling tights are super soft and comfortable for kids. Tuff Rider Kids' Schoolers are perfect when you need to keep cool on warm days or as a cozy liner on cold, winter riding days. 97% Cotton, 3% ...
    "EuroWeave fabrics are technologically advanced for riding comfort. ...
    Description:
    "EuroWeave fabrics are technologically advanced for riding comfort. 4-way stretch for freedom of movement, wicking micro-fibers to pull moisture away from the body, memory-stretch to maintain shape and eliminate bagging or sagging and high compression fibers to support muscles and ...
    Why We Love This The Asmar Full Seat ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Asmar Full Seat Breech is perfect for schooling or the show ring. With a sleek design, this breech offers slant welt zippered pockets, and a full front zip with button closure. With a soft full ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Polar Breech is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 93.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great body fit, long legs I'm 5'4" and 130 pounds. I carry my weight proportionally. The body fit is outstanding and the warmth definitely able to handle a Bozeman, MT winter. I did find the legs were considerably too long, but as with everything, if that's all I have to deal with, it's not a problem. Style isn't my problem. Warmth is.
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not fit me well. These did not fit me well at all, the waist was fine while standing, but there was no give when I sat, making them very uncomfortable. The hips were quite large, making them bunch up and baggy in the seat, I returned them. I can't rate them on durability, I only had them long enough to try them on.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mountain Horse Polar Breeches Riding in temperatures/wind chill below 40 deg. was never something I enjoyed. The pants could be warm enough, but the fit for riding would be bad. Good fitting breeches were thin and didn't keep my legs warm. I was skeptical that there could be winter riding pants that were both warm and good to ride in, but after my wife praised the Mountain Horse Polar Breeches I thought I would give them a try. She was right. The size runs small both in waist and length.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good riding pants Bought these for my wife but found they fit me much better. She's 5'8" , I'm 6'1". She's disappointed but, I'm happy. They are a comfortable, non bulky , quieter alternative to other winter over-pants.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't trust size chart! As far as keeping you warm there great but finding the size that fits is another story. They are unisex which I don't like to start with since men and women aren't built the same. I bought an xs pair for a friend who wears a jean size of 4 to 6 and they wouldn't go over her hips, they were listed for a 29" waist so they should have fit and she should have had room for jeans underneath. This is a tall and slender woman. She ended up getting the medium that I had ordered for me. I wear a size 8 to 10 and the medium was to small in the waist which going by the waist chart I should have been more than good just like she should have been. Were both somewhat tall, she is 5' 8" and I am 5' 7". I am now waiting to get a larger and see if they fit. Here's hoping they work since they are correct about keeping you warm on those bitter cold days
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from they are warm! these are great outdoor pants, many good features. the one thing I would be careful of is the sizing, they seem to run small around the waist. you can adjust them to an extent but I would either go up a size or talk to someone in customer service to make sure you get what you need. once I got ones that fit, I couldn't be happier.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything that was said to be. Very warm, have only worn them a couple of times. Very comfortable
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm & comfortable I slip these polar breeches over my jeans (I ride western- cow horses) & finally I can stay warm riding in cold weather. Several of my western riding friends have purchased a pair as well.I love them!!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice product These are nice pants but run small. I could not wear my jeans under them and be comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great quality Bought these for my sister. When they arrived I tried them out. Love the breathability and material. Putting on my list for Santa!
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ready for winter! I recently bought a pair of a Mountain Horse Polar breeches in time to test them out on very chilly day. I would normally have ordered a medium, but based on reviews I ordered the small. I am 5' 6" and 132lbs and they fit well. I would have room to add another thermal layer, but not enough room for jeans. I love the articulated knees and the versatile zippers...very handy! I only have one complaint. On a 4 hour trail ride I had trouble with the seam intersection of the quilted lining...painful! I cannot imagine why there is not a gussetted crotch. Is it because they are unisex and men don't have this problem? Fortunately I sew and I am planning to redesign that area. If successful the polar breeches will be perfect! They are otherwise beautifully designed and so well thought out.
    Date published: 2014-10-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tried the large. Way too big. Tried small. Couldn't zip. Tried med. length good. Tight in hips. Can wear so will keep for winter. Hate unisex sizing. Made for man. Come on Mountain Horse. Make clothes for both sex. 5'8"150lbd
    Date published: 2014-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didn't I buy these sooner????!!! Safe to say that these have changed my barn life this winter. Mountain Horse's designers are geniuses. These pants keep me so warm and the full seat enables me to ride and feel comfortable in the coldest temperatures. Great gators to keep the snow out. Zippers where you never thought you even needed zippers (but they're so useful!), water repellant material, well-placed pockets…. I could go on. I am 5'6", 115 lbs and 26" waist and got the XS. They JUST fit -- but fit me perfectly. Together with my Mountain Horse Nordic Light boots and my 8-year-old Mountain Horse jacket, I am warm and happy!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are great! These pants are perfect in the cold weather we've been having. They keep me warm in below zero temps. I ordered a small and they fit well and are comfortable for riding. A little long for me but most things usually are as I'm 5'1". They are holding up well and after a wash they look like new! I am very impressed with the quality and fit and in my opinion are good value for the price.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and warm! These are stylish and very warm - it was in the single digits today and they kept out the cold and wind. Comfortable to ride in and I like the zippers and extra snaps at the waist. Great Mountain Horse quality! Find these and get them...you will not be disappointed.
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizing is difficult Well, I did not see that these were unisex sizing until after purchasing. Nonetheless, I used the sizing chart and ordered a size L. I am 5'11" and about 185lbs. I wear a size 12/14 in street clothes. The L fit great everywhere except the hips, which were quite tight, and waist, which was simultaneously tight, but gapping at the elastic part in the back. Very odd. I decided to order a size XL for comparison. The XL arrived last night and I don't even need to unbutton/unzip them. They are so large, I can just pull them on like sweatpants. Baggy all over. For some reason, the size L has a 2 button waist adjustment on either side (you could take the waist in by 2" if needed by moving the snap), but the XL does not have this same feature. Very odd. I sent the XL back and will keep the L and... hope to become slightly smaller in my hips??? I'm still thinking that one over. Other than sizing, these seem AWESOME, which is why I am really torn on what to do with the size L pair - keep or return? They are so toasty warm, super easy to get on and off thanks to the full length leg zips on either side, and the full seat gives lots of grip. They would be super duper awesome if they were simply cut for a woman instead of unisex.
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm, comfortable and nice for riding In very cold weather these are my go to riding pants.   Very comfortable and well made.  Not flattering however.   The hips are very oversized.  I'm 5' 8" 150 lbs and have the medium size.  They are just long enough and fit my 31" waist with little room to spare.  However the hip area must be at least 36" -- it's overly wide/roomy.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I stayed warm! Wanted riding pants to wear in the winter without bulk, to stay warm and dry.  Wore them on Christmas Eve and the temperatures were low 20's.   Product is excellent.  Wore them with a nice pair of thermal long johns.  Unisex sizing but would like female sizing options.
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extremely Warm! I got these pants just after our 10 degree days turned to the forties. They will make great pants for bitter days. They are what they look like in the ad, somewhat bulky, fitted at the waist. Sizing was difficult for me. I am keeping the extra smalls though they are shorter and tighter in the waist than I would like. The smalls were way too loose in the leg.I am 5ft 6 and 108 lbs. I were size 26 reg. breeches.
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase These winter breeches are great and live up to the positive reviews. They do run bigger just as the reviews say, but I ordered a size down and extremely satisfied. Usually I wear a size small (3/4-5/6) and I ordered an extra small in these and they fit perfectly! I wear them comfortably over jeans, but can easily get on from the ground when I wear regular breeches underneath them. These are great.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unisex cut; not for curvy women I've owned a pair of these breeches that I bought from another vendor and asolutely love them. Friends from my barn have warned me that the same breech from Smark Pak are oddly cut (male cut; straight through hips), but I had to try after my other pair wore out. I returned them because they were definitely different (small) through the hips and thighs than the ones I have had before. Be forewarned that these appear to be unisex size and not for curvy women. Very sad about that because other than that, these are great winter protection. Very warm and waterproof!
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and not bulky! I just moved to an area with cold winters and needed something warm to ride in. I just used them for the first time today at 24 degrees and a 15 mph wind (so with wind chill it was about 7 or 8 degrees) and they are excellent at keeping the wind out and I was comfortably warm the whole day. The zippers were easy to manage and I'm sure I'll be using the snow gaiters inside soon. I've used ski pants in the past but they were too slick on the seat to ride properly; these are actual breeches, so the seat has some grip- nice and easy to ride in. Although they kept me warm, they're not at all bulky or bunchy, which is another improvement over ski pants or jeans with long johns. I have no idea how durable they will be, but the materials and construction are quite good and I think they'll last for quite a while. Am planning on giving a pair to a friend in Montana for Christmas, they're that nice.
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warn and easy to wear. These are really nice pants and very high quality. They are easy to get on and off and have GREAT zippers. I like to put them on over my breeches in the morning and when it warms up in the afternoon I take them off. I'm going to use them for skiing too. They are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm in upstate NY Held off because of the price but so happy I ordered these breeches - they are so worth it.I am at a cold barn in upstate NY every day and am able to ride in a icy indoor or out on trail in comfort. Higher -waisted than I expected since everything seems to be low waisted these days but warm and cozy. Wear silk long underwear underneath and I am fine. Nice quality. Good length with zipper to accomodate boots.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Cold Weather Gear! These pants are fantastic! The fabric is very nice and WORKS in cold, dirty, working conditions. They are comfortable and fit well. They are not hipster style clothing which I appreciate. (I don't have to tug on them to keep my body covered!) I can wear them over other layers too. The fasteners work well and they open at the ankles to accomodate boots and stuff. I think they may double as an extra pair of ski pants too when I hit the slopes.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changes the game These full-seat breeches totally changed my relationship to winter riding. They are extremely warm and comfortable, totally waterproof, and sealed well (no drafts at the ankle). As other reviewers have said, they are sized generously enough to layer (today, I wore jeans under them). Best investment I've made this winter!
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from "Mountain Man" breech These breeches are made the best. They are warm, materials and stiching are excellent and I especially like the seams at the knees for easy bending. Problem is they are unisex in size and I would say they are actually made more for a man than a woman. If you happen to be shaped like a man and are really tall and order a smaller size you might get along pretty well. If you are shaped like a woman and don't mind a big gap in the waste and an extra 6 inches at the bottom of the pants, you will also probably get along well with these breeches. For what they charge I think it is time Mountain Horse ditched the unisex sizing and designed something specifically for a woman's figure and height. That said, the workmanship is great and although pricey, you get what you pay for. Too bad they don't fit!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Warm LOVE these pants. It was 7 degrees here today. I stayed toasty warm all day. I have stopped wearing my Carhartts because these pants are warmer. They are comfortable to ride in and breathable so I do not over heat.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_90
    • loc_en_US, sid_8519, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders