Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Mountain Horse Polar Breech

Mountain Horse
- Item #18519
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mountain Horse Polar Breech is the ultimate winter riding pant! Breathable, windproof, and waterproof makes this breech great for those cold, snowy, blustery days!  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Breathable, windproof and waterproof, with fully sealed seams to lock out moisture
  • Snow gaiters in lower leg keep snow out
  • Reinforced imitation leather full seat and ergonomically shaped seat and knees for maximum comfort in the saddle
  • Full length waterproof zippers at side seams
  • Reflective piping around the knees when riding in low visability
  • Elasticized waist with belt loops so you can wear as many layers as needed
  • Adjustable, elastic foot strap
  • Two front pockets with hand-warming micro fleece

    Sizing It Up

    XS-XL

    You Might Like
      out of 5
      89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
      Tell us what you think!

      SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

      • Review 0
      • Votes 0
      • Discipline:
      • Expertise:
      • Product
        Experience:
      • Competitor:
      Quality
      Value
      Palatability

      Helpful?

      Mountain Horse Polar Breech is rated 4.4769 out of 5 by 65.
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pants I love mountain horse products and these pants aren't an exception! I live in Utah and we have cold, snowy winters. I board my horse at a facility that keeps all the horses outside 24/7 in paddocks and shelter. They don't have a barn and other than the shelter there's no cover for me from the snow while I'm working with my horse. So far these pants are indeed waterproof and wind proof. I work my horse in the outdoor ring year round the outdoor round pens and these pants keep me warm and dry. In fact, I just got back from the barn and it's snowing hard right now. I was outside till almost midnight cleaning my horses paddock and shelter, etc. It was a whopping 28 degree and I was toasty as ever!
      Date published: 2012-12-27
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs Long! Many reviews say that these breeches run large. I am a size 16, 5'7" and they fit loosely, but they are looong!Giving 4 stars across the board based on previous MH products but will have to exchange these for a smaller size.
      Date published: 2012-12-26
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Comfort Investment Ever These pants are the best. They are warm, comfortable and easy to get on and off. I ride in temperatures in the low 20's most of the winter and these pant are awesome.
      Date published: 2012-11-27
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Pants Ever! I received these pants last week and LOVE them! It snowed the day I got them, so I got to try them out in the cold and wet, and they stayed warm and dry. They were comfortable to wear on the ground and in the saddle, and I love that I can wear either jeans or breeches underneath them.
      Date published: 2012-11-12
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I bought these because I tend to be very cold in the winter which effects how often and how long I ride in the winter. After reading all of the reviews that said they run big I wasn't sure what size to order. I am 5'8", weigh 160lbs and wear a size 4, the small ones will work just fine over my jeans. They have just enough room in the hips and seat so as not to become uncomfortable for extend periods of time in the saddle. I can't wait for the cold weather to get here so I can put them to use!!
      Date published: 2012-11-10
      Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very big Huge! Ordered a medium and it was way too big. Im 5 ft 10 and 150. I have never been a small and I could have fit 2 of me in the medium! But good quality.
      Date published: 2012-03-03
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice pants Because of reading the other reviews, and because I wanted these pants to wear only over long underwear -- as I HAVE other insulated pants for use over clothes, I ordered the XS. They are still HUGE. I am 5'6" and less than 120#, and although still large, they fit OK over thick jeans, but I would not be able to wear them alone.They appear well-made, and are easier to get on and off than my older pants, so I will keep them... but disregard the sizing and measurements when ordering... not even close!
      Date published: 2012-02-22
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from great winter riding pants love the snow pants... a little long in the legs but very nice over all
      Date published: 2012-01-22
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! It finally got cold here! It was a negative 6 out and barn chores had to be done. I have been waiting all year to try my new mountain horse pants out! LOVE them! I didn't get cold, best buy ever! They are comfy and I could move freely. I climbed the hay loft stairs and carried down bales without issue. I highly recommend them. Im not a big winter rider and without an indoor I don't ride often this time of year but Im thinking I just might now since I won't be cold now! Great product!
      Date published: 2012-01-17
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice.. I love the new snow/riding pants... I'm 5'5 and 155 and I ordered a large.. I like the fit but a little long. these are very very warm... I live in the northeast and they are great for our cold weather... best winter riding pant I ever had..
      Date published: 2012-01-11
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizing Runs Huge I'm short but average build (5'1", 115 lbs) and am a small in most things so that is the size I ordered. They just arrived, and fall right off my waist and hips with the snaps done up. Other than that they look extremely warm and well made. Bummed that I won't be wearing them in the cold this weekend, exchanging for an XS.
      Date published: 2011-12-09
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely run on the large size . Otherwise these are the warmest winter breeches I have ever owned even on the coldest winter days and have lasted well over 3 winters so far. I love them.
      Date published: 2011-11-24
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Buy I live in Alaska and I love these riding pants. Winter riding can be hard. I first used these pants for a trail ride on a nice day when it was 15 degrees. And surprisingly I stayed warm. They fit like my snowpants but without the slick seat. The quality is great and very sturdy. Originally I got a size larger than I usually wear because other reviews said they run small. I wear a 12 and ordered a Large. Even with jeans on under them they were too big.
      Date published: 2011-11-16
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm I don't know how my daughter will feel in these polar breeches. I can tell you I have a pair that I received as a gift 2 years ago and I love them. We trail ride in the winter and they are just great. So that is why I brought her a pair for Christmas.
      Date published: 2011-11-08
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase this year I purchased the medium size - they ran a little larger than I thought they would but work well when wearing Jeans under them. Very well made and comfortable. I have no problems getting on or off the horse and really stick in my old hard saddle.
      Date published: 2011-01-24
      Rated 3 out of 5 by from The unisex fit is a problem I purchased these 2 seasons ago and compared them against the other brands availible at that time for quality, durability, style, etc...My biggest complaint is the fit. They are made unisex, and this is why every other review has a fit complaint. They are made very narrow through the hip and thigh, like a boy jean. Most girls need a different fit. If you aren't comfortable in a boy-fit jean style, then these probably are not going to work for you. They don't have much give and tend to run long in the inseam for the average woman's leg length. I'm 5'7" and have a 30-31" inseam. The med. are still a bit long and need to be scrunched up around my knees to get the pant at the ankle for riding.Also fitwise, the waist is nice and high (Like a ski/snowboard pant) and the lower leg hangs large, allowing for tall socks, boots & an extra layer underneath.Early on, one of the knee seams tore during a trail ride, but otherwise durability has been good. Full seat is nice and grippy.Pants are VERY warm. The design is flattering for a winter riding pant and the extras; full length outside leg zippers and belt loop clips are heavy-duty and nice to have.I always get compliments on them from people.But the fit needs some more options please.
      Date published: 2011-01-24
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Make a Women's fit! I loved this pant but the unisex fit did not work for me!!
      Date published: 2011-01-22
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, great product Best winter riding pants ever. Remind me of snow board pants. It's about time that manufactures notice that we horse people need winter gear too!We have 2 ladies/girls at the barn with these pants and everyone loves them.
      Date published: 2011-01-19
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Choice These will definitely keep you warm. However, the fit is a challenge. Like most equestrian apparel it is designed for someone tall and thin. I am not heavy at a size 10, but these are way too long for my height, 5'3". The snaps at the ankle make them wearable, but there is a lot of extra material. It's too bad they don't come in a short, regular, or tall given the cost.
      Date published: 2011-01-08
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Winter Barn Breech These breeches provide warmth and are suitable for riding. I just wish they came with a longer inseam.
      Date published: 2010-12-28
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice warm winter riding pant These riding pants are really warm, and I love the full seat. Great for winter riding or just doing chores in.
      Date published: 2010-12-27
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from not quite perfect BUT, better than last years mode I ordered a medium cuz I wanted the leg length and I'm generally a medium...5'8" or so and abt 135 lbs...you know 28 or 30 long...well it was enormous! The small is still a bit large but I could not go down a size because of the leg length. They are warm; though when it's really cold here I need to were longjohns too. And when it's not "that" cold they make my bottom sweat. Mtn Horse should make a Long version! for us skinny tall folks cuz when I ride the bottom still slides up over the top of my paddock boots. as far as construction goes, they look very sturdy but I noticed today that the stitching at the bottom of the zipper is coming loose...this is after 5 days of wear...
      Date published: 2010-12-22
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made, however... I have wanted these forever! I finally justified the high expense for a winter item in New Mexico and bought them for myself this Christmas.I was disappointed and returned them without hesitation.They run BIG. I am 5'10" and the small was too big (and too short, but that was expected).They were large (pouchy!) in the waist and hip yet they felt snug to bend in and very crinkly sounding.Unless you endurance ride through major snow storms or in subzero temps, I would pass on these.They ARE extremely well made with many extra features.However, as an overpant for winter morning feed & clean or the average ride, I find them an uncomfortable and expensive choice.
      Date published: 2010-12-18
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter pants! Waterproof, windproof, warm. I wear two layers of thermal underwear underneath them and they are still big! I had to order a large because I am 5'10" even though I only weigh 140lbs. With clothes underneath and a belt on, they fit just fine. Order small if you are shorter and don't plan on wearing anything underneath, but if you are tall, you should order a large and wear layers or get them altered to fit.
      Date published: 2010-12-08
      • 2015-05-28T09:28CST
      • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
      • cp_3, bvpage2n
      • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_62
      • loc_en_US, sid_8519, PRD, sort_mostRecent
      • clientName_SmartPak
      Have questions? Contact us »
      Connect with us:

      Brittany and Nate
      Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

      Learn more »

      Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
      It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

      Read More »

      Download our mobile apps

      Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

      Check It Out »

      Healthy horses, happy riders.
      SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
      Sign Out
      Sign Up Now!
      Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

      SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
      Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.