Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Mountain Horse Mountain Rider Pant

Mountain Horse
- Item #20553

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mountain Horse Mountain Rider Pant is a heavy duty windproof, waterproof, and fully seam-sealed pant offering you the absolute best protection from the elements while riding and caring for your horses.

Favorite Features

  • Windproof, waterproof, and full seam-sealed for the ultimate all-weather protection
  • Specially designed two-way full length zippers let you put this pant on over bulky under layers with ease
  • 100% fiberfill insulation
  • Reflective piping for night visibility
  • Ergonomically shaped knees are double reinforced for durability 
  • Faux leather full seat for extra grip 
  • Adjustable waist so you can get the perfect fit no matter what you're wearing underneath
  • Adjustable-elastic foot straps keep the pants from riding up 
  • Traditional zippered front fly for easy on/off 
  • One front zipper pocket to keep your valuables secure

Sizing It Up

XS-XL

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This The Mountain Horse Cortina ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Mountain Horse Cortina Softshell Jacket is practical, functional, and stylish. This jacket is perfect for someone who's busy in the barn. The Mountain Horse Cortina Softshell Jacket has a high performance water-resistant and windproof stretch ...
    With its super cozy and warm faux fur ...
    Description:
    With its super cozy and warm faux fur lining, the Active Winter Rider Boot is sure to keep you warm on your coldest riding days! Favorite Features Warm faux fur lining YKK Vislon side-fitted zipper is strong and durable to ...
    Why We Love This Mountain Horse brings you ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Mountain Horse brings you a jacket combining fashion and practicality.  Favorite Features Made from waterproof, windproof and breathable fabric Detachable hood Elastic insert at waist on backside for a better fit Fully taped seams with riding slits ...
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Mountain Rider Pant is rated 4.4211 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected Thought I was getting a different pant. Was the only Mountain Horse winter pants listed. Did not fit and were too slippery and shinny . Returned them and later saw the pants I was expecting them to be.
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made. These pants have many great features...adjustable snaps at ankle, many zippers in the right places. The only problem I had was that the measurements listed didn't work for me. I should have fitted into the smalls, but had to exchange them for a medium.
    Date published: 2015-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality product but sizing is off If this product fit better, I would give it a 5 star rating because it is warm, light weight and waterproof. It could easily be used as ski pants. I initially ordered size small based on the sizing chart and had to return them because I couldn't zip them - so do NOT go by the chart - order at LEAST one size up from what the chart recommends. I am 5'7" and weigh 135 pounds. The medium fit is adequate but not 100% comfortable. If there was more give in the waist, I would be totally satisfied. Mountain Horse products are well made and I have never been disappointed in the quality.
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Missing left pant cuff snap Left pant cuff snap fell off my Mountain Horse winter riding pants when removing pants from packaging. Sent email to Mountain Horse to notify them. Called SmartPak and the customer service was wonderful. Sent the pants back today for an exchange. I have always been impressed with how helpful SmartPak customer service personel are. I have purchased Mountain Horse products for many years and have always been very happy with the quality of their products. I am sure the replacement pants will be fine and I will change my rating of the quality to much higher.
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mountain horse rider pant The pants are warm and light weight. easy to ride in. I am riding young horses that are all over the place and it is easy to stay put in the saddle. No slip
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mountain horse mountain rider pant Absolutely love these pants. I have waited a long time trying to convince myself to spend the money. I finally "bit the bullet" and purchased. ..love, love, love them. They are warm, convenient savvy, and you don't need fifteen layers. The zip pockets are great, but I do wish there was one or two more, maybe down along the side of the leg. The "M" sizing fits fine for me....5 5" and 140# and only need one under-layer here in missouri, but I would have needed a bigger size if I had bigger "saddle bags". The length is a little long when standing, but appreciated, when riding. ...no drafts! !
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will keep my daughter warm in the winter Was too small and will return for larger size. Great product.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE PANTS! I absolutely love these winter pants. I went riding in a windy 27°f with only fleece long-johns under them! Add toe warmers and a wool sweater and I'll be toasty all winter!
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm and comfy-love the full seat! The fit was ok, do agree with other ladies that unisex is not the best idea, besides, I bet more women bye them then men. To help others- I bought a M -am 5'2 and 132 lbs.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great material but Size is an issue!! They seem very well made and comfortable but was very disappointed in the sizing. My waist normally fits a 32 pant size, but even the M which is supposed to be a 35 was tight. Also was snug in the hip but the length is very long. Got a larger size and kept because they are very warm and comfy... just wish mountain horse would work on the sizing.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Size an issue I returned the item immediately. The pants are designed for a tall, quite slender person. I was looking to replace a pair of winter pants that I bought years ago from another supplier, but although these pants seemed to be well-made, they certainly didn't allow for a variety of sizes. Very straight legged with no give. Was disappointed in the fit.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great winter over-pant! I recently bought this item and LOVE it! It's heavy enough to use as a mid-weight snow pant, while still light enough to be comfortable to wear. I love the zippers that go from top to bottom, with snaps to keep the pants closed around your boot. The reinforced areas for riding are great. I had been riding in more "traditional" snowpants and had worn them out. These are holding up great so far and I'm confident they will continue to do so. The only downside (and reason for 4/5 stars) I have noticed about this product is that it is a little snug around my rear-end. Granted, this could just be due to a curvy body, but I can still wear the pants and they seem to be stretching to accommodate my body, they're just a little tight in that area. I don't want the next size up as it would be too long, so this will work!
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are the best!!! I absolutely love, love, love these pants. I can put these on over my jeans or even yoga pants, head to the barn to do chores and be totally warm/waterproof. Easyon/off even with boots on. Haven't ridden in them so can't review on that. Runs true to size.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and Dry! I live in South Central PA and bought these pants just after Christmas. My horse islame right now and I can't ride but I've been wearing these pants out to the barntwice daily to do barn chores. With all the snow/below normal temperatures we'vehad this winter I have worn these pants with my original style Mountain Horse jacket and have not been cold at all. Love these pants!!
    Date published: 2014-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i really love these they are easy to get on and off they are just a tad tight in the waist i hope i can ride in them now im just using them to keep warm they are very high quaility
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable! I bought these 2 weeks ago and have worn them everyday since. Extremely warm and comfortable. I would recommend them. I bought a medium and they fit great. I am 5'4" and about 140 lbs (and old)!
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I go so many winters without these?! I have been wearing this for a month in as cold as -20 below (with wind-chill) and they have kept me incredible warm. They are thick enough to be snow pants and go play/hike in , yet I can still wear them and walk around and not feel like the dough boy. I also have worn them to shovel the driveway. I wear them riding and they are excellent. The straps on the leg keeps the pants from running up, but can also easily be removed. The pants are easy to get on and off with my tall winter boots because of the side zippers. They are easily adjustable in the waste and go high up enough to make sure no snow or drafts get in. The full seat section is so grippy when I get into my car to drive to the barn with them on I feel stuck to my car seat (seriously, a testament to the quality). They also seem designed well enough that I can actually bend my knees to ride with them on. These pants are a live saver in the winter. I tried wearing leggings, yoga pants, jeans and then windbreaker pants but nothing is as warm and quality as these pants. I highly recommend, if you purchase these you are going to look back and wonder why you suffered so many winters without them.
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm pants! Pants fit well and are warm! I haven't worn them outside yet as I am still using my other pair of Mountain horse winter pants.
    Date published: 2014-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite winter pants. I was debating on if I should spend the money to get them or not, but when I did I was so glad I did! I love them! They keep you nice and warm and are good ridding pants as well.
    Date published: 2014-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pant for bad weather Features on the pants seems nice. They are very straight through the thigh, so I am currently trying to loose some weight in order to be able to lift my leg to get into the saddle. Great motivation in the deep freezes of January, but something with maybe a bit of stretch in the thigh/groin area would be more forgiving when mounting. Can't wait to acutally use them! :)
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love mountain horse products I have bought several mountain horse brand items and have loved everyone...these pants will keep you warm. I am 5 4 And they are a bit too long but as long as I am warm I can deal with the length.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm but odd fitting They seemed warm and well made but they were really odd fitting. I'm 5'9 and found them to be super long, very high waisted, but yet still had about a two inch dropped crotch. The thighs were tighter than expected. That coupled with the drop in the crotch mmeant riding would be very difficult.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice product. I love there riding pants. They are warm, well made and very practical for the barn or riding. Thanks!,
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from like the zip up legs I wish I could have ordered a Medium and 1/2.. wearing pants under them in the extreme cold made them tight in the thigh when riding.
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable A rider friend bought a pair of these and I really liked hers, so I got a pair too. These are very nice! I wear a thin layer of long underwear underneath and have ridden in weather in the 20's and have been warm. The waist is higher than I expected, but does not cause discomfort. I'm 5'8", 150 lbs and bought size small. They fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Warm Cold Winter riding is no problem with these pants. The full seat gives plenty of grip on the saddle and my legs are comfortably warm. The pants have adjustable waist too. They are awesome!
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my new favorite winter pants I debated about spending the money for winter riding pants, but finally decided to try these.   I LOVE them!  They are comfortable and I love the full length zippers!  Haven't had a chance to ride or drive in them yet, but love them for doing barn chores and just working outside.     
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE THOSE ZIPPERS! The first pair was too large and the second pair was slightly tighter in the left seat/thigh area. Waiting for exchange to see if it was a fluke. Otherwise, comfortable and appears to wear well. Full length zippers are great.
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality full seat winter riding "snowpants" These are great - I had an old pair that were too big on me due to recent weight loss. So I sold the old ones and bought a new pair in a smaller size (large). I really like the velcro waist, so I can adjust it to the exact right size. I haven't used these yet, but I used my old ones a lot so I see these as "new and improved." Makes me look forward to winter riding in Minnesota! Also, SmartPak had the best price on these on the internet.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Barn Pants! These will make winter (in a very open, very drafty barn) not only bearable but maybe even pleasant! Even fleece-lined "winter" breeches were not going to do it for me when it's 20 degrees and windy and I'm out there for hours, but these things aren't messing around! Very heavy-duty and snuggly warm (like having your legs wrapped in a comforter, but without the bulk). They're well-constructed and look like they will hold up to a lot of wear. I was worried they might be too loose for riding and get bunched up underneath me, but they really don't. For being so much more substantial than breeches or jeans, they hang quite well once you're on the horse and it's easy to forget you have them on. The full-seat grippy patch is great. I think they would work very well for cold weather trail riding. Cons: The sizing is apparently unisex and even the XS is pretty enormous on my 5'4" 100lb frame. If you're a small woman, you might have a hard time making these fit properly. Luckily, there are some built-in adjustments that will help. There are these expandable and contractible Velcro "belts" at the waist, the bottom of the legs can be snapped closed to one of three different snaps, so even though the pants are really too long for me, I can kind of "wrap" the excess material around the back of my leg and snap it snugly so it doesn't drag on the ground or get in the way. The straps that go around your boot are also adjustable.  That does, however, bring me to the only other con I have about these: the elastic stirrup straps are quite flimsy compared to those on half-chaps. While everything else about these seems really durable, I'm worried about them fraying and breaking because they are so thin and naturally will take a beating being on the bottom of your boot all winter in the cold and the wet and the mud. 
    Date published: 2013-11-16
    • 2016-02-08T14:23CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
    • loc_en_US, sid_10553, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.