Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Micklem Competition Bridle

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18335
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Bridle with an Ergonomic Design

The Micklem Competition Bridle by Horseware Ireland is designed to fit the horse's skull and prevent uncomfortable pressure points. This unique shape makes this bridle the most comfortable and effective ever designed. Available in both black and dark havana (brown). Approved for FEI competition.

Favorite Features

  • Ergonomic design to fit the shape of the horse's skull
  • 5/8" Eco-friendly with rubber reins
  • Stainless steel buckles
  • Padding on noseband, browband, and cheek pieces


Sizing It Up

Pony, Cob, Horse, Large Horse

Customers Also Shopped For
Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is ...
Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is crafted with durable, imported vegetable-tanned leather making it ideal for every day schooling or top rated shows! Features an innovative padded crown design which allows the caveson strap to pass over the ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Swarovski Crystal Browband Snaffle Bridle adds ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Swarovski Crystal Browband Snaffle Bridle adds just that extra bit of sparkle to your ride! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and classic choice! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area, the redesigned genuine ...
The Rodrigo Figure 8 Bridle is created from ...
The Rodrigo Figure 8 Bridle is created from Rodrigo Pessoa's competition-proven designs and then meticulously crafted from hand-finished American leather. Rodrigo bridlework is created with attention to detail that distinguishes top horseshow equipment. Plain raised with genuine sheepskin disk. 3/4" ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, innovative bridle. UltraSoft and ...
The Wellfleet Monocrown Double Raised Snaffle Bridle represents ...
The Wellfleet Monocrown Double Raised Snaffle Bridle represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Double raised leather detail on the noseband and browband adds some subtle elegance that compliments any dressage ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Micklem Competition Bridle is rated 4.5111940298507465 out of 5 by 268.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT!! I bought this bridle about a month ago, I have never regretted it! I you are thinking about getting a drop noseband for your horse i would try this first instead. The leather is pretty nice, it holds up pretty good. I love how much padding it has!!The keepers for the bridle on the sides are sewed in which i personally really like! I LOVE the reins i would say that they are comparable to the Nunn Finer Soft Grip Reins, great for all phases of eventing!!
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bridle Bought this for my gal to fit her Arabian gelding that I had just purchased for her. She had a hard time finding a bridle that would fit him, and she really liked this one. It fit and worked very well for him. I would highly recommend it
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the purchase price I've used Micklems in the past on horses with fussy mouths, and ordered one from my new 9yo TB. He was constantly head tossing and rooting, and hated to take contact. Our first ride in it was a 180 degree turn around: quiet, steady contact, no rooting, and not one head toss. The bit is stable and quiet. He seems more comfortable and much more confidant. I've had 8 or so rides in it and I feel like I have a different horse.Is this a miracle bridle for all horses? No. But, it worked for us, and is certainly worth a try! I personally think they produce fantastic results.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Micklem bridle I've had this bridle for a few months. My mare, and I love it! I was a little unsure because of the reviews, but so happy I made the leap. The leather is nice. It broke in quickly. Fit is good. The rubber reins are awesome! Especially when caught in a passing rain shower on the trails here in the PNW. My mare carries herself better, and is much lighter in the bridle. Whatever it takes to make my mare happy.....this Micklem bridle is gold in my mind.
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Micklem Bridle I bought it just to try it and I wanted a multipurpose bridle that took the pressure off my horses sensitive areas. My horse loves this bridle. I also have used it without the bit. I wish the bitless converters, ie the ones they sell in England came with the bridle. The parts that convert it to true bitless. There is an extra strap that goes under the chin for a bit more pressure or one that goes over the poll and crosses under the throat latch for maximum pressure. However, without those pieces it still works as a bitless bridle just fine.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I had been looking for a bridle that was one piece behind the ears on the poll. I have a sensitive horse and this bridle has all the pressure points figured out and if bought in the correct size works very well in missing those and giving more comfort to your horse. The reins that came with it where also very good as well and in fact I like them better than any of the others I have on different bridles.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth trying I have been using this bridle for about 2 months now. My horse of 4 years has always been an evader of the bit. I must say, while this isn't magic, it does keep my horse on the bit longer. I recommend this bridle to those who struggle with keeping their horse on the bit.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Bridle While it's not a miracle worker, my mare no longer has a head-shaking problem and is much more relaxed. She still rubs her face, but maybe that's just a bad habit? The leather is good quality. It's a bit dry, but nothing a coat or two of lederbalsam didn't fix. It was flexible and accepted the lederbalsam well. I am happy with my purchase of this bridle.
Date published: 2016-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from well designed I bought this bridle for my morgan who has some nerve damage on his head. He seems to accept the bridle just fine. I purchased the cob sized bridle which is well sized for his typical morgan head. I agree with other reviews on leather quality, although adequate, I expect slightly higher quality leather at this price point.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely made and easy to fit to horse. I have ridden in this about 5 times now and I am slowly seeing changes in my horses acceptance of contact. She is now starting to look for the bit as apposed to trying to be evasive for most of the time She seems happier overall and more relaxed.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super bridle I have tried a number of nose bands and headstalls on my horse. He just never seemed comfortable. This bridle molded to his head right away with some adjustments. He seems much more comfortable and willing to go to the bit and work over his back. The other reviewers felt the quality of the leather was not good, but mine was soft and pliable right away. I have cleaned and balmed it a couple of times and it just gets better.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this bridle a few weeks ago. I had switched bridles on my horse several times trying to find one that would fit him comfortably. I was at a clinic and a friend of mine was using the micklem bridle on her horse. She said it made a huge difference in her horse right from the first time she used it. She advised me her horse would ha ng on the right rein and after changing bible she no long had the issue. My horse was hanging on the right rein so I thought I would give it a try. It was not immediate but with in a few rides my horse was better and more accepting of the right rein. I eventually changed the bit I was using to a loose ring French link as well. So after several rides and finding the correct adjustments on the bridle I feel like my horse is definitely more comfortable.The quality of the bridle is good. The leather is not as soft and is somewhat stiff at first however after conditioning several times it has become softer. I don't know where the leather comes from but the bridle is made in India. I usually do not buy tack made in India as I have found the quality is usually substandard. This bridle appears to be made very well and I would recommend it to my friends.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not for me but awesome bridle I have been wanting to try this bridle for a while so with the free shipping both ways I finally did . It is a lovely bridle but my finicky mare hated it immediately . What's nice about smart pak is I was able to mail it back with the prepaid slip provided in the mailing . It doesn't get better than that !
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse is much less fussy in this bridle than in a regular bridle!
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this a few weeks ago. My dressage trainer said that she had yet to see a horse that didn't go nicer in the Micklem. I'm pleased to say that it is true with my mare. The first time she had it on, she did dance around and act like an idiot until she finally said, "oh, you want me to do this." She has been lovely ever since. As soon as I can I'm going to buy a brown one as well as the black that I purchased.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my sensitive TB I love this bridle! I bought the horse size for my very average 16.1 TB who is just starting to be ridden. I loved how easy this was to go from bit less and bitted. Only complaint was the reins were too short!
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Micklem Bridle - a great design! I bought this bridle as many others in my barn were using it and raving about it. My horse has a sensitivity to his mouth and around it so I thought the design might help. It did. The fit is good and the design seems to suit him. My only complaint would be the quality of the leather (for the price point) is a bit disappointing.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy horse My horse absolutely loves this bridle. He is a giraff cross in his own mind and moves much better and more relaxed in the Micklem. Leather is soft and supple!
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Like Riding a Different Horse I did a lot of research prior to purchasing a Micklem. My horse typically evades most bits and bridles. He wears size horse, but the Micklem seems to run a bit larger. Size cob is a perfect fit. He is actually connected to the bit when I ride him in the Micklem. It was like riding a completely different horse. Some people claim the leather quality leaves little to be desired. I put oil on mine while I watched the tutorial on how to fit it to my horse. With one coat of conditioner it was nice and supple!
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Horse LOVES this Bridle My horse has been unhappy with his bit/bridle I changed his bit and it helped but once I put him in this bridle he totally changed!!! I love the fit and look. It is terrific to get on and off and I love the simplicity of it. I will be trying it as a hackamore too.....
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle It's not magic and didn't solve any of my horse's problems but it's a nice bridle at a good price. It comes with reins I like, something that isn't true with most bridles.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! This is the second Miklem bridle l've bought. Still using the first as well. All 3 of my horses go well in the Miklem.Good quality leather, very adjustable! Easy directions for proper fit and use.Would and have recommended this product.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I purchased this bridle for my OTTB because his previous trainer said he is more comfortable in this type of bridle than a regular one. I purchased the competition bridle instead of the regular Micklem, because I will want to eventually use it to show in. It has nice black leather and is very nicely padded. My horse seems very comfortable in it. I am not sure how much I love the rubber on the reins, though.
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and fit. I originally ordered the horse size and it was too small for my Azteca's head. I returned and got the large horse size. He holds his form much better in this bridle and appears to more comfortable. I'm very happy with this bridle, but they do run a bit small.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfort for my pony only bridle my pony likes!! def less poll pressure
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't be happier I bought this bridle a month ago and I am so glad I did! Everything about this bridle is working for my green, sensitive, lovely mare. She has even started putting her head down to be bridled! Love the brand, love how it fits and it's true to sizing (my mare is 16h and she is fairly on the large side when it comes to sizing and the regular horse size fits perfectly- and I love the reins that come with it too!
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Beautiful bridle my ottb loves it and he doesn't like many bridles and no more rubbing after i take it off.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse loves it! No more itchy face after rides and much more consistent with weight in the bridle.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this bridle. I could tell a difference in that my horse was more accepting of the contact.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! I just recenly found that my horse would rather go in a hackamore then have a bit. I have him jumping in a hackamore, and he does really well with his flat work with it also (when we use a regular bridle we have many meltdowns) my only problem is the hackamore is not legal to show dressage in. I have had a few people mention the micklembridle to me. So I tried my trainers before I purchased one. The first ride with it and I had a new horse! We still had some meltdowns but he came back to me much quicker. I was sold! I bought the black cob size for my 15.2 quarter horse, it fits him well and I think the leather is great. I did condition it before our first ride just to keep it supple. Just with the few rides I have used it I feel like we're going in the right direction, it doesn't feel like every ride is a battle now.
Date published: 2016-03-23
  • 2016-10-23T11:41CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_257
  • loc_en_US, sid_8335, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders