Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Melp - 250 ml

EA Mattes
- Item #11862
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Melp contains regreasing properties ideal for sheepskin products, washable leather, and wool. Melp is highly recommended for extending the life and quality of Mattes sheepskin products.

Favorite Features

  • Specially formulated for lamb and sheepskins
  • Restores the natural properties
  • Highly concentrated
  • Bio-degradable

Sizing It Up

250 ml

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Melp - 250 ml is rated 4.56 out of 5 by 50.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for sheepskin! This product is the best cleanser for sheepskin pads! It really cleans the fleece and makes it fluffy again!
    Date published: 2010-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive but worth it! I purchased this to wash my Mattes pads. It is gentle but effective and my Mattes pads came out beautifully after the wash.
    Date published: 2010-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MELP Helps! If you own a mattes pad with sheepskin you won't to run out. Mattes pads are expensive and MELP helps to keep them like new. I did not use MELP on my first mattes pad and the sheepskin broke down after regular use and washing.My new mattes pad's sheekskin is still like new. You do need to use more then the recommended amount and they need to sell it in a larger bottle.
    Date published: 2009-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff! I bought this stuff to wash my sheepskin half pad. I have been holding off on washing it because I thought that I would ruin the pad. This stuff worked great and it looks better than new.
    Date published: 2009-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoroughly Impressive I was so nervous to wash my expensive sheepskin pad for the first time, but I was thoroughly impressed by Melp. The sheepskin is soft, fluffy, white and spotless. It looks like new again. A friend noted that it does not clean the fabric as well, so I just pre-treated the dirty areas of the fabric with a little extra product and they came clean - not perfect, but near brand-new. The bottle is smaller than I expected (8 oz) and it will probably last four or five washings.
    Date published: 2009-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cleaner This got the sheepskin portion of my saddle pad nearly as white as when I first bought it. Excellent product.
    Date published: 2009-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for Sheepskin I use MELP exclusively for all of my sheepskin pads, girths, boots and even my deerskin breeches! MELP will return a sweaty, crusty removeable sheepskin girth or Mattes half pad to new condition. I have several Cliff Barnsby removeable sheepskin girths that I have owned for 6 yrs. Thanks to Melp the sheepskin has lasted and worn perfectly. The loft of the sheepskin has been retained and they look new. It's a bit expensive when compared to some of the competitors. HOWEVER, when caring for expensive pads, girths and boots, proper care equals longevity. Nothing else I have tried works as well as Melp.
    Date published: 2009-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stuff EVER! I waited a long time to wash my Mattes Correction Pad because I was afraid that it wouldn't get washed too well by this Melp stuff. However, today I was SO surprised when it did a fantastic job cleaning my pad in the washer. It didn't get all of the dirt out on the fabric so I grabbed a wash cloth and cold water and dabbed a little of this on it and it cleaned right up to sparkling white again. I will buy this again and again because my pad was incredibly dirty and it looks like new again. Thanks Mattes! And I won't wait a long time to wash it, either.
    Date published: 2007-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Breeches Too! I use this product on my full seat deerskin breeches and it does a great job! It even helped soften and condition an ancient pair that had cracks in the leather. It didn't do a great job on the actual fabric, but who cares when you're full seats feel like "buttah"!
    Date published: 2006-04-22
    • 2015-08-29T12:46CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_44
    • loc_en_US, sid_1862, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.