Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

MDC Sport Classic Stirrup

MDC Corporation
- Item #18716
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Based on an Italian design, the MDC Sport Line brings to the market a combination of features not currently available from any one stirrup manufacturer. MDC Sport Stirrups offer the look and strength of stainless steel, blended with the lightness of polished aluminum. The bright metal finish maintains an elegant and traditional look in the show ring. MDC strongly believes that stirrups that adjust to your body are better stirrups, and MDC Sport Line features three preset stirrup positions: traditional, 45 degrees or 90 degrees.

The MDC Sport Classic comes with a solid base, for those who prefer a more traditional look and feel in their stirrup. They feature a wide base, non-slip aluminum pad, which provide a secure grip, but are less aggressive than “cheese grater” pads, which can cut boots, breeches, saddle leather and do not easily release in the event of a fall. A traditional width non-slip aluminum pad is available and may be purchased separately.
A hinged base is available on the MDC Super Sport Stirrup.



Favorite Features

  • Three adjustable settings for everyone's personal preference
  • Alleviates stress on joints
  • Only stirrup on the market to offer interchangeable widths 

Sizing It Up

Non-slip aluminum pad is 2 1/2" from toe to heel

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    MDC Sport Classic Stirrup is rated 4.5333 out of 5 by 15.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relieves Pain & Increases Stability I'd been looking for a wide-track steel or aluminum stirrup after trying a friend's pair. I was skeptical of the advantages of the rotating eyelet, but figured with SmartPak's free and easy returns, I would give it a shot.And I'm so glad I did! Not only has the wide footbed increased my stability both on the flat and over fences and reduced pain in my knees and lower back, but the rotating stirrup leather eyelet eliminated stress over my shins and significantly improved my leg position on my weak right side.I am very impressed with these stirrups and would recommend them to anyone who has pain issues or difficulty finding secure balance. Don't let the price scare you off -- they are well worth it!
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LIFE SAVER! <3 I absolutely LOVE these stirrups. I have horrible ankles. I have tried every expensive jointed iron there is, and it has only made them worse. I adore the classic look of these irons, gives me AMAZING support and the wipe foot bed was just what I needed.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Heavy After using my Royal Rider T3 stirrups since 2008, I found these way too heavy.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth their "Weight" I've tried the Equiwings polymer and aluminum, and also the Herm Sprenger jointed stirrups but the MDC Sport Classic Stirrups are the very best. They combine the wide tread of the Equiwings with the weight of the Herm Sprengers. I am not a fan of the jointed stirrups - they seem to cause me to slip off the stirrup more easily - but I do appreciate the comfort and safety of the wider based treads. What I did not know however was how nice it would be to have a stirrup already turned to just the right place, so it is ready to slip your foot in as soon as you sit down in the saddle. Now as I ride, my trainer is much happier with my leg and foot position. The MDCs really do live up to their advertisements. No recommendations for durability because I haven't used them long enough :)
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pain free knee I used to ride in Sprenger System 4 stirrups (loved them), but I took a nasty fall and tore the ACL and medial meniscus in my left knee. I rode without stirrups for 2-3 months after surgery. Every time I tried to ride with stirrups there was a terrible torque pulling/twisting my knee and I was in pain for the rest of the day. I decided to try the MDC's and I've been super pleased ever since. I won't ride in any other stirrup now. I use the 90 degree rotation on my bad leg and 45 degrees on my good leg. I LOVE the wide footbed. My trainer has no joint issues and doesn't rotate the stirrups when she rides my horse, but now she prefers the MDC wide footbed to any other stirrup too.
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stirrup Being new to riding and having to get all of the necessary tack, I assumed a stirrup was a stirrup. I couldn't have been more wrong. I had trouble with my foot slipping in the first one I purchased, so I decided to get the "sand paper" inserts. Well, they weren't much better. So then I decided to try the "cheese graters" inserts and they were no better. Finally I reallized that I may need to look to a quality stirrup and luckily I found it. I couldn't be happier with these. My foot is secure. I don't think anyone would be disappointed if they purchased these. I'm glad I did.
    Date published: 2012-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrup Got these a few weeks ago and really like them a lot. No more slipping out of my stirrups. You won't be disappointed.
    Date published: 2012-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem Solving Stirrups These angle-adjustable stirrups have allowed me to go back to riding my dressage saddle. They position my feet automatically on (all five) balls of each foot, and at the 90° angle are easy to pick up. I love them. They even have silver filigree and pink rhinestones on one end. Who cares if the foot pads are gray! A terrific investment for me.
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups I love these stirrups. The MDC design has really helped with my knee pain and your feet literally do not move in the stirrup with this new design. They also do not pick up sand/dirt off your boots like my comfort iron pads used to. I also prefer the more traditional look to black stirrups. They run true to size.
    Date published: 2011-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mdc stirrups I'm happy with my stirrups. They are nice and wide and they turn to give my leg a more natural feel. The only thing that I think I'd change is for it to have a white rubber pad, cause it's more what I'm used to. (Also I sold my old Mdc ultimate stirrups to one of my friends, in order to buy these and they are very happy as well).
    Date published: 2011-05-30
    • 2015-08-29T12:51CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_15
    • loc_en_US, sid_8716, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.