Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Mattes Half Pad with Rear Trim- Dressage

EA Mattes
- Item #17282
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mattes Half Pad w/ Rear Trim-Dressage provides some extra protection for your horses back while taking advantage of all the benefits sheepskin has to offer!  Can be used over a thin pad or directly on the horses back.  Helps to hold your saddle in place while staying breathable and moisture wicking.

Favorite Features

  • Available in custom colors!  Just select "Get Started" above to design your own custom half pad!
  • Billet strap with self VELCRO® brand closure
  • Rear fleece trim
  • Recommend caring with Melp to extend the lifetime and quality of your pad. 

Sizing It Up

  • Medium – 17” (20½” w/Fleece) 
  • Large – 19” (22½” Spine w/Fleece) 
  • Please note that the back of your saddle should not sit on the rear fleece trim

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mattes Half Pad with Rear Trim- Dressage is rated 4.8636 out of 5 by 22.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgrade to a Mattes! I thought all sheepskin half-pads were about the same until I received this as a gift. I have a custom saddle for my horse so it fits great but this half-pad has made the custom saddle fit even better! One of the great things about Mattes pads is they come in different sizes so they fit YOUR saddle. The XL works great for my 18 inch saddle. And the SpineFree design of the pad keeps the pad from bunching and compressing on my horse's back. I feel he's much more comfortable in this pad compared to my 'other' half-pad.Ignore the price of the pad. You've already spent a ton of money on your horse, vet bills, saddle, tack, treats, etc. Spend a little extra to get a great pad.
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended This is one of the best I bought - but pricey. I get lots of compliments how nice the black pad looks with my black saddle. It has not faded. The velcro straps are much more durable then other brands.
    Date published: 2012-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lovely Absolutely beautiful product. Use one and you will see why this company has the reputation for high quality.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This pad arrived timely and was exactly what I wanted. Unfortunately it (size Med) was too small. My saddle is only 17.5 . I emailed Smart Pak and they were very helpful regarding the return. It is currently back in the mail to them and I expect a large size will follow shortly.All in all I am very happy with the product and service
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality half pad A nice saddle pad that gets the job done. The sheepskin is good quality. It is certainly a bit pricey, but one of the nicer sheepskin pads out there. Really don't care for the cheap billet straps, though, I would expect something nicer in a pad of this price. I am probably going to cut them off.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product, Good Price This is a very nice sheepskin pad that SmartPak sells for the best price that I could find. Unlike other sheepskin pads that are made of one piece, this one uses fabric along the spine, thereby reducing pressure on the horse's spine. The fleece on the front and the back keep the saddle in place. I bought a Large for my 17 1/2" saddle and it fits very well.
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Fit! I got this pad to adjust the fit of my Stubben jump saddle for my OTTB, who has high withers. When he'd jump, his withers would hit the pommel of the saddle. The Mattes pad solves the problem! It's got enough lift that he is comfortable and is jumping better than ever. This pad is expensive, but saved me the ultimate expense of purchasing an entirely new saddle. Very happy with it.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every Horse needs one! These Mattes Pads are remarkable! The best for my rescued thoroughbreds. Extremely cushioned,easy to care for with the included sample of "Melp".I have 2 of these Mattes half Pads, one white and one black...And will consider a custom color oneday as well!
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Great product. I got the large for my 17 1/2 Kieffer dressage saddle. Fits great.
    Date published: 2011-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mattes 1/2 pad with rear trim/dressage love this pad even more than the full pad....much easier to keep clean since I layer it with a thin quilted padeven the saddle seems more stable and it's quite attractive!
    Date published: 2011-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product This is a well-made product that does the job I bought it to do - protect my horse's back while keeping my saddle in it's place.
    Date published: 2010-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half pad with excellent fit! Very pleased with my new Mattes half pad.Sometimes it's best to get a good make as you get what you pay for and it lasts for years.Very nicely made, Would recomend to everyone who wants a nice schooling pad which is also first class for showing! Fits my horse very well and pad fits correctly with my 18 inch saddle.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Half Pad These half pads are excellent, and I highly recommend them. My only complaint is the high pricetag, but SmartPak offered these pads at the best price that I could find!
    Date published: 2009-09-21
    • 2015-08-26T13:27CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_18
    • loc_en_US, sid_7282, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.