Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Magic Cushion Xtreme Hoof Packing

Premier Equine Health Products, LLC
- Item #18850
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save 5% (Details)

days
You'll save $ per shipment, or $ per year!
(Discounted price will be reflected in your cart)
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Magic Cushion Xtreme uses a higher concentration of active ingredients than original Magic Cushion to provide faster, stronger relief for performance horses. Magic Cushion is the only anti-inflammatory and analgesic hoof packing available to the equine athlete.

Magic Cushion has been proven efficatious in providing relief from the soreness resulting from the everyday rigors of training, laminitis, white line disease, pedal osteitis, abscesses, navicular syndrome, bruising, corns, canker and any concussive trauma to the hoof tissues.

Made in the USA

How to get the most out of your Magic Cushion
Favorite Features
  • Formulated for use after hard work or the day before
  • Natural product that will not test positive in any equine events
  • Higher concentration of active ingredients than the Original Magic Cushion to provide stronger and faster relief for performance horses

Sizing

Sizing it Up

Available in 2lb and 4lb
What Customers Say:

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
1. Thoroughly clean all areas of the sole using a hoof pick and a wire brush if necessary. Packing must come in direct contact with sole to be effective.
2. Use an amount of hoof packing that is sufficient to cover the sole and sulci of the frog 1/2 inch in depth.
3. Apply hoof packing evenly over the entire sole.
4. After application, wrap with a material that will keep the hoof packing in place.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Absorbine Hooflex® All Natural Dressing uses herbal ingredients ...
    Description:
    "Absorbine Hooflex® All Natural Dressing uses herbal ingredients to stimulate circulation and improve hoof growth. It’s the first all-natural alternative made with ingredients known to help promote shiny, healthy hooves. It contains no petroleum distillates - only all-natural vegetable oils. ...
    "Caring, nourishing ingredients guarantee ideal, all-round protection for ...
    Description:
    "Caring, nourishing ingredients guarantee ideal, all-round protection for healthy hooves. Promotes the elasticity of the hoof horn and makes even soft hooves very robust. Effol hoof oil is absorbed very quickly and gives a long-lasting shine. Made in Germany"
    "EquiFits newly introduced custom-fit, Hoof Savers provide cushioned ...
    Description:
    "EquiFits newly introduced custom-fit, Hoof Savers provide cushioned protection to your horse's hooves. Constructed using EVA Foam technology similar to that used in the running shoe industry, the pads offer pain relief to laminitic and sore-footed horses and protection to ...
    "Finally, it's time to say goodbye to that ...
    Description:
    "Finally, it's time to say goodbye to that annoying roll of duct tape! The new Pack-N-Sick HoofTape™ eliminates the hassle of cutting, assembling and apply duct tape to packed hooves (which anyone who's done it before know what a true ...
    "White Lightning is a solution which has the ...
    Description:
    "White Lightning is a solution which has the ability, when mixed with equal parts of white vinegar, to produce chlorine dioxide. Chlorine dioxide is very aggressive in neutralizing bacteria, fungus and yeast, and has been proven to be highly effective ...
    "The Hoofix emergency hoof boot is easy to ...
    Description:
    "The Hoofix emergency hoof boot is easy to put on and can be used for turnout & reused! Medical grade Epsom Salt poultice gel, is an effective osmotic to draw out bacteria from the abscess site and soothe sore or ...
    "Keratex Frog Disinfectant helps maintain a healthy frog. ...
    Description:
    "Keratex Frog Disinfectant helps maintain a healthy frog. It contains tea tree oil, a powerful and specific disinfectant that protects against the organisms that cause thrush. The bottle’s site-specific nozzle makes it easy to target the hard-to-reach areas for frog ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Magic Cushion Xtreme Hoof Packing is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 29.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's definitely magic! I bought Magic Cushion for a thoroughbred that I had purchased in March. He was very on and off with lameness, pulling his shoes off and had a very tender sole. I was riding him about once a month since it seemed he was lame the rest of the time. I was browsing the SmartPak website and came across Magic Cusion hoof packing and after reading the reviews I decided I had to give it a try! My horse went from barely walking around the pasture to trotting and loping with the other horses in just TWO DAYS. I pack him the day before using him on the ranch and he has stayed sound for over a month now no matter the ground conditions, in the rocks, the brush and the sand he's so much happier now and Magic Cushion will always be in my tack box because it works.
    Date published: 2016-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Easy to use & works well. Great for sore feet. Use it weekly.
    Date published: 2016-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product My soon to be 39 year old horse is laminitic and has always been tenderfooted. He wears front shoes only. We've tried pads but he always ends up with thrush because water/mud gets under the pads and I can't get it out. So I tried Magic Cushion. Wow, what a difference. It protects his tender toesies and he walks without any pain or issue at all. It's terrible sticky and takes some effort to pack his feet, but it is worth it. We couldn't live without this product!
    Date published: 2016-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product Purchased to address thin, sore soles. It was easy to use and worked amazingly well.
    Date published: 2015-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great, Very Messy for Cost I bought this at my vet's recommendation after my mare abscessed and needed the heat drawn out of her feet and lower legs. Her soundness greatly improved as her hoof grew back. However, there is a lot of waste with this product due to how sticky it is, even when you follow the video for applying. We went through the jar very quickly, and it is just too expensive to keep buying. Once she's 100% again will probably only use after hard rides (competitions, xc schools, etc).
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A product that works I love magic cushion during long show weeks with lots of jumping to help hooves recover overnight, or at home when the ground gets hard to ease any pain from impact. I feel a noticeable difference in my horses after they've been packed overnight with magic cushion. It is messy, but rubber gloves are key. I also find just patting the packed hoof with a handful of shavings keeps the packing in place better than wrapping it, and then the packing doesn't ooze out and stick to everything. Love love love magic cushion.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant relief! I used this on a cured case of thrush that while the infection was gone, so was most the frog. The horse seemed tender and I was worried about bacteria in the crevices that the incident left. After reading about this product I liked that it was a disinfectant as well as a pack. The first time I applied I used wrapping and ducked tape. Instantly I saw my horse relax and eyes soften. That alone would have been worth it, but after a week of the pack lasting I removed the bandages to find the foot much improved. In repacking I decided now I did not need to tape since it was so much better, just packed and let the sand seal it in, four days later with 24 hr choice turn out (open stall with fly curtains) and it is still holding. Feet are staying clean from turn out muck, hoof condition is improving and horse is more comfortable. Expensive but great product!
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly is "Magic" Magic Cushion really is magical. I use it on sore feet or proactively when I have ridden hard and want to make sure that my horse doesn't end up with sore feet. It can be messy to apply, but I'm figuring out that a spatula and fresh clean shavings work well to apply and setup. I always keep a jar on hand.
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff I think that this is a must have product especially for the hard working horses. It is messy to use so you need gloves and you need to try and not get it on the horses skin. I am trying to come up with a way of applying that makes it less messy- I will let you know if I do ;)
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product I have an older TB gelding who can get somewhat footsore after shoeing and or jumping on some surfaces....Magic cushion really works and is pretty easy to use. I recommend watching the video that Absorbine has on YouTube for some excellent hints on application. We simply put a small amount on his sole and let his bedding adhere to it...he even goes out all night like that. The only thing the company doesn't tell you is how to remove Magic Cushion when it gets on the horse's hair, skin or on your hands...My vet suggested W-40 and it works great!! We just keep a can on hand to remove any errant globs since the product can be gooey and is irritating to soft tissues. It really noticeably reduces his foot soreness
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for sore feet I have used this product for some time as an alternative to the dental impression material in my horses feet. It seems to work great and my horses overall sole health has improved. It is extremely messy to work with however and it is a shame there isnt some way to be able to pump it into the foot after a shoe has been put on as it seems to only last about three weeks of a five week shoeing.
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome product but MESSY!!! I've used this product a couple of times now and it's EXTREMELY messy. Even with gloves on it's hard to get into the hoof. My farrier loves it though and told me once I get it in there take some shavings and push them into the hoof to secure the packing in there. I turn my horse out all of the time and it stayed in for 24 hours just fine. I fine Forshners Hoof Packing a little easier to use though.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders My horse had her shoes pulled and was very sore footed and after a week of his stuff she was sound as could be
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works but really MESSY This stuff works but be prepared for the mess. It stained my barn floors.
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It truely IS Magic!!! Magic Cushion is the BEST hoof packing EVER! I use it religiously on my previously tender footed Thoroughbred racehorse who has gone on to become a winner due to his feet not bothering him any more! Because of the turn-around in his performance the other runners on the farm now get packed regularly. it's extremely helpful immediately before and after raceday. This hoof packing also helped tremendously in transitioning my OTTB mare from a lifetime of wearing shoes to "the best barefoot Tb" my farrier states he has ever seen. it work wonders on concussion and stone bruises, drawing, healing and relieving the pain of an abscess, heat and soreness after shoeing or trimming and just about ANY hoof related issue you can imagine. HELPFUL HINT for all of those complaining about this (and the original formula) being messy... yes it is so wear gloves and if it gets on you or your horse don't panic! Baby oil removes it the best. And for those really stubborn dried spots like elbows and bellies leave the baby oil on overnight and it wipes / washes right off!
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great! My mare had a stone bruise on her hoof. I used the Magic Cushion and within a few days she was sound again. Nice part was I didn’t have to wrap the hoof! Watch the video and see how they pack it with shavings! Wonderful! Used it again on my other mare, she had soft tissue swelling inside her hoof. I applied the Magic Cushion to the outer hoof, used bute, and stall rest… WOW! She was feeling better in no time (5 days or less). Up to this point she has been lame for weeks! First mare is getting her hind shoes off tomorrow. Vet said to pack the hooves with this while she is in her stall to prevent soreness. Can’t hurt. Nice part is it stays on without wrapping etc… outer hoof and bottom!
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's called Magic for a Reason This stuff is truly amazing..my mare is now barefoot because of issues in her coffin joint...with pain and heat in her feet. I just pull a wad of the Magic Cushion from the jar and smear it all over her sole and into the collateral grooves. I do this in her stall and then put her foot down into the shavings. Instantly, it's packed in there..no need for vet wrap and duct tape...it stays on over night and in the morning...no heat.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magic Cushion Hoof Packing Like this product very much. Have used in before and think it soothes tender feet.
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% Love this product I recently purchased a 5 y/o Thoroughbred who came off the track about 7 weeks ago. She was just tossed into a field, shoes weren't pulled, and needless to say her feet were in pretty rough shape when I picked her up. After getting her feet taken care of she was quite foot sore and was visibly lame at the walk. After packing her feet overnight with Magic Cushion Extreme there was an incredibly change in her soundness level. She was by no means 100%, but the difference was VERY noticeable and she was much more comfortable. After the second night of packing her feet she was sound at the walk and only slightly off at the trot. I can't wait to see the difference after a couple more nights of packing her feet. Highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2013-04-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sticky & goopy A bit disappointed about buying this after personal recommendations and good reviews on smart pak. Magic cushion is a goopy sticky mess that will not come off the fur on my horse's fetlock. I did not see any difference after using it.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Works really well if my horse gets sore or if we are riding in a limestone base footing. I like it a lot better then the regular magic cushion.
    Date published: 2011-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is great! Does a great job soothing my horse's feet after running cross country. Definitely wear gloves when working with it because it's sticky, but it smells great and works great!
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fence nail in RH foot My 15 year old eventer got a nail in his foot this past winter. He couldn't have gotten it in a worse but better place. it was about 1cm away from puncturing his navicular bursa and thus losing his life. We immediately rushed him to the vet clinic and began pumping antibiotics in him. we tourniquet his lower leg with antibiotics and injected the navicular bursa with concentrated antibiotics after praying as we watched the x-rays come out. we were thankful it went where it did. after 10 days at the hospital, $2800 and buckets of magic cushion extreme later-he was back to competing at the prelim level. I also use this after every event. it goes in the same trunk as our game ready system, leg sweats, bute, poultice & liniment. it's all we need. its great after any jump lesson, XC clinic, or show jumping round. its great stuff, does not test and the horses react great to it.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    • y_2017, m_12, d_16, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_28
    • loc_en_US, sid_8850, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 172ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders