Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Korsteel Waterford Hunter Dee

Korsteel
- Item #15197
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Korsteel Waterford Hunter Dee is gentle yet rewarding when the horse accepts the bit.

Sizing It Up
?

5", 5.5". 17mm thick.

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow ...
    Description:
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow their focus from Reinsman's large selection of bits to the right bit for their situation. Reinsman's Bit Stages approach focuses on the horse and rider in their specific situation, as different events ...
    Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the ...
    Description:
    Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the result of a treatment that makes it an original and unrepeatable element. Small differences enhance the handmade production- Smooth to the touch and in the horses mouth, the lightweight metal always has ...
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow ...
    Description:
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow their focus from Reinsman's large selection of bits to the right bit for their situation. Reinsman's Bit Stages approach focuses on the horse and rider in their specific situation, as different events ...
    Why We Love ThisHappy Mouth bits are uniquely ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisHappy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The Happy Mouth Double Jointed Roller Dee has a double jointed mouthpiece providing independent action on each side ...
    The Myler Bitting System has proven effective for ...
    Description:
    The Myler Bitting System has proven effective for many riders, and the Level 2 Dee with Hooks might just be the answer for you and your horse. This stainless steel large3 3/4"Deewith hooks has alow port comfort snaffle (MB 04, ...
    Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
    Description:
    Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow ...
    Description:
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow their focus from Reinsman's large selection of bits to the right bit for their situation. Reinsman's Bit Stages approach focuses on the horse and rider in their specific situation, as different events ...
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Korsteel Waterford Hunter Dee is rated 4.6786 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did the job My OTTB hates this bit but it got him to quit using me to keep his front end up. This is the 7th bit I've tried on him. It worked, but I don't use it for every ride; I use it for a reminder to him that he's not allowed to do some of the things he does.
    Date published: 2015-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great bit to have in your tack box! I bought this bit for my huntseat horse a few months ago. He is very busy minded and I like to switch up the bit I ride him in to keep it fresh and interesting. The bit is good quality. My gelding rides great in it. Another mare who pulls and fusses with a plain D ring rides very nicely in this. It's become one of my go to bits and I have quite a few horses that like it. Definitely a good bit to have in your tack box!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit I bought this waterford to replace a loose ring that I had - this one is very nice - sturdy, heavy, looks to be very well constructed. I got the "personalization" and it looks great!
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit Tried this on a horse that pulled..it worked perfectly!!
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice bit, try before you buy! Several horses at the barn I take lessons use a waterford with nice results, however, none of the horses at my farm with tolerate it! Good quality and value, but I would recommend borrowing one before you buy, horses seem to either hate or love this bit. Buy 1/2 size larger than normal.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for Busy-Minded Horses I have this in my assortment of bits for the different horses I ride, and I love to use this one with my busy-minded thoroughbreds on occasion. While I prefer to use a French-link on all my guys, using this one every once in a while will get them focusing, especially if it's a cold, windy day. I've also been known to use it when a horse is really hot at a show. Also a plus in the hunter ring because the judge can't tell it's not a normal snaffle mouthpiece.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small.... I am glad I read the previous reviews for sizing purposes. It does run small- he is usually a 5" and I bought the 5 1/2" and it fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice bit, but didn't work for my horse My horse has a very sensitive mouth and he didn't like this bit at all. I think it was too thick for his low palate so I'm trying something else, a HS Ultra K - D ring.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Results!! When I ride my horse I have to use a flash because he opens his mouth a lot and loves to pull even if I'm not hanging on his mouth especially when he is crazy and I can't use a flash in hunter/EQ so I would end up taking the flash off and dying, So I would try different bits like the slow twist and corkscrew snaffles and D's but he doesn't like them and even with the flash they didn't help me at all. Then my friend has a waterford 3 ring elevator for schooling and her horse does the same thing, the pulling and she used a flash too but she didn't even have to use the 3 rings so it was just a "snaffle" or use the flash, he loves the "balls", so I thought why not try it! I can't use a elevator of course in hunters/EQ so I got the D ring instead. I didn't use a flash and I couldn't believe the results, I could completely let go of the reins, he wouldn't book it or put his head down he was absolutely perfect!! I can't believe how he behaved. He was like a completely different horse! He looked like he was smiling when I got off I think we both found something we like, Which makes me happy!
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bit to have in the tack box Really good for a horse that is heavy on the forehand but can get behind the vertical in a twist.
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit to keep on hand This bit is great when your horse tries to really hang on your hands. The d-ring gives it a classic look, but the double jointed mouth is effective without being too harsh. I have used this at shows when my horse tends to get very excited, and this bit helped to keep his focus without causing a fight.
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This bit works very well. My quiet, nine-year-old, warmblood gelding had been pulling or leaning on my hands, especially when he was fresh. I had been using a KK Ultra, which he liked. A slow twist was too much bit. My trainer suggested a Waterford, so I borrowed one to try. He felt amazing! I ordered the bit the same day. He loves the bit and doesn't lean on my hands nearly as much as before. When he does pull, a half halt is enough to get him reaching for the bit instead of leaning on it.
    Date published: 2012-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong Yet Supple Bit My Warmblood is quite a handful! He is very energetic and wasn't responding to his French linked snaffle. The waterford was perfect! It's strong enough where he listens but gentle enough where he is able to be supple and frame up in a relaxed manner. An amazing bit!
    Date published: 2011-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit for my Thoroughbred This bit is a lifesaver...A regular D snaffle was fine for flat work but when we would jump, it wasn't strong enough to keep my OTTB from speeding up after fences. The Waterford is strong enough to get my horse to listen but doesn't cause him to put his head in the air to avoid it. I HIGHLY recommend this bit (high quality)...it is a GREAT tool to have in your bit arsenal. As far as size, my horse usually takes a 5 1/4 but I sized up and it fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Purchase! This bit is really well made! The sizing is perfect! I have a Warmblood and it fit him really nicely. He really loves this bit. It is gentle enough where the horse can soften and relax into your hand but firm enough for those horses that are energetic.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from one more bit the horse seems to like it, he remains lite on my daughters hands, it has reduced some of the hanging he seemed to like to do. It has also added some control when he gets fast over fences, that his D bit seemed to lack. so far so good.
    Date published: 2011-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked wonders This bit worked very well for my TB who likes to pull & get heavy. He was very responsive to this bit - it looks harsh, but in the right hands is actually a lot nicer than yanking.Because of the way that this bit drapes over the tongue, I would recommend ordering a size larger than most other bits. (I learned this the hard way).
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Value This is a very nice bit, well made, quality construction - very good value for the price.
    Date published: 2010-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for pullers I have a strong willed warmblood mare that likes to get heavy on my hands. She was going in a happy mouth, which worked well last season, but this spring she needed something that would lighten her up and keep me from hanging to get her to slow down. This bit did the trick. She is sensitive, so I can't hang on her mouth for a second with this bit or I get a reaction. If you want to have lighter hands, this bit may work for you.
    Date published: 2010-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as advertised I purchased this bit for my huge canadian gelding that tends to get a bit strong over fences at horse shows. I ride him at home in a KK loose ring with oval link but it's simply not enough at shows. I tried this bit because it is advertised as being good for horses that lean or tend to pull. I didn't find this to be the case. While it provided a bit more control than the KK I wouldn't consider it to be an optimal choice for pullers/leaners. It's quite flexible and functions more on the corners of the mouth than the corners and bars as a regular snaffle would. It's nice and well designed, but didn't work for my purposes.
    Date published: 2009-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Useful Bit It took me a long time to find a bit that worked with my horse’s mouth AND looked attractive in the Equitation ring. My horse has a pretty soft mouth but has a huge stride that can be hard to collect if you don't have enough bit. After quite a bit of trial and error we went with this Korsteel Waterford Hunter Dee on a whim and ended up being quite pleased with it! He stays out in front of my hand, rather than getting balled up behind the bit. If he does get behind my hand, it essentially collapses in his mouth and encourages him to stretch out again. Once he's on the bit, the unique pressure points help keep him attentive to my hand. I don't use this bit all the time, I still school in a loose ring, but I love this bit as an occasional alternative for the show ring. It really helps balance out all my horse's little quirks!
    Date published: 2008-08-11
    • 2016-05-26T15:39CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_26
    • loc_en_US, sid_5197, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders