Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Korsteel French Mouth Eggbutt Snaffle

Korsteel
- Item #17989

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. 13mm mouthpiece.

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Slow Twist Eggbutt Full Cheek for turning control, ...
    Description:
    Slow Twist Eggbutt Full Cheek for turning control, eggbutt sides prevent rubbing, slow twist keeps the horse's attention. 4 3/4", 5" & 5 1/2". 13mm thick. Imported.
    Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
    Description:
    Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making them soft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless ...
    JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication ...
    Description:
    JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provides comfort and enhances performance. Thick, kind, double-jointed Oval Mouth Eggbutt with curved bars eliminates "nutcracker" tongue pinching and encourages the horse's chewing motion. ...
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
    Description:
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. Rein loops add leverage to the simple loose ring. 13mm thick. Imported.
    The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
    Description:
    The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting in soft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in ...
    Why We Love This The Stubben Loose Ring ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Stubben Loose Ring Snaffle- Copper Mouth is a double broken loose ring that is suitable for all disciplines and all levels.  It is equally functional for beginners and experienced riders.  The Sweet Copper metal offers ...
    A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits ...
    Description:
    A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits are covered with a soft, flexible, yet extremely durable, apple-scented plastic which encourages acceptance and softness. The Happy Mouth Mullen Mouth Full Cheek has an inner core of twisted wire for more ...
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Korsteel French Mouth Eggbutt Snaffle is rated 4.7907 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from a great go-to! Korsteel is always a tried and true bit company. This bit is no different. Great go-to bit for training and show ring.
    Date published: 2015-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this a few weeks ago. I can tell its made nicely and will last a while. My horse loves it :)
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit I needed to move up to a larger size bit for my mare and wanted to stick with Korsteel.
    Date published: 2014-11-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely bit. Great shape in the side pieces, very flexible and high quality.
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working out really well I was pleasantly surprised by how well my QH goes in this bit. It's well made and Mr. Man accepts it well.Korsteel is a great value and I'm always happy with their products.Also, very happy to report that this bit does not squeak.
    Date published: 2014-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Purchase I already knew my guy did well in a french link, and this one fit the bill perfectly. A nice heavy bit with smooth, well put together links and no rough or unfinished edges to cause an issue. I look forward to using this bit for years to come. It also has enough size variations to make sure you're getting the correct width for your horse's mouth, which I appreciate since once size doesn't really fit all.
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Training Bit I use this on my young warmblood, and he really seems to like it. It's nice so the reins never get caught like on a d-ring, but I wouldn't use it in big hunter shows because I do think the d-ring looks better. Easy to clean and keep shiny, so good buy for the tack room.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good all around bit This bit is a good medium weight, very solid with a nice finish. I love the french link and have used this type of bit on many horses. Most do very well with it, including my new OTTB.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great soft bit! My gelding loves this bit, perhaps a little too much! He will snatch it out of my hand if I'm holding the bridle. He really moves out in this bit and loves toying with the french link (again, maybe too much!).All-in-all, great quality. It was larger than expected but fit just fine. I only docked a star because the bit squeaks (although I would bet my boy plays with it a lot more than another horse would).I think this is an excellent basic, soft, quality bit for any horse.
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bit! Very nice bit for the price. My gelding is very picky about what goes in his mouth, but he's never had issues with this bit. I use this for my everyday schooling bit on my western bridle, and it does a good job of getting my horse supple and responsive without all the bite a curb brings. It's actually quite heavy, which I like because it seems that my horse gets a better feel of my cues.
    Date published: 2012-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit Not sure if there's much variation in quality for bits but this one is just fine. My horse is much happier in this style of bit that the broken mouth loose ring snaffle we were using. I've only been using it a few months but so far I have no complaints.
    Date published: 2012-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bit at a good price I've used French snaffles on all my horses for years and all have gone well in them. The Korsteel bits are reasonably priced and last forever. This one is a replacement for one I've misplaced.
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bit is Good Value for Money but I purchased this bit for my tender mouthed QH. The bit is very well made but a tad heavy. I returned it for a lighter, 16mm bit.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice bit nice bit, rings are well proportioned, smooth finish
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great baby bit I went to this bit after breaking my WB and he started fussing with any type of standard snaffle bit. The key makes him happy and he hasn't fussed at all. Not harsh but he has brakes and so far no squeaks from the eggbutt portion. This is a very good all around bit.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! A nice solid bit that fits well, and cleans up great!
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase This bit is very gentle. My horse responds very well now. I would recommend this bit to a friend.
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First bit I bought, still using today! This bit has been an excellent value. It's soft and comfortable for my horse, and I like the feel and know it's never sharp in her mouth. Always cleans up great, never squeaky or dull colored. No signs of wear after several years of use.
    Date published: 2012-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse looks forward to being bitted! This is the second Korsteel French Eggbutt bit I've purchased. It's for his new Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle. It's the only bit he's ever worn since he began training. When I unbridle him he holds onto the link and plays with it before turning loose the bit! He thinks it's great and so do I.
    Date published: 2012-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I purchased this bit for my sensative TB who needed a change. So far he is doing much better and seems softer and happier in this bit. Good quality and is a great purchase for the price.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Before this bit my gelding was resistant to the bit and I had a hard time getting him to soften and relax. I switched him over to this bit and I'm getting flexion at the poll, his mouth is quiet and he is salivating nicely. Absolutly wonderful bit. I would definatley recommend this for any horse with a soft mouth!
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I switched my horse from a regular single joint snaffle to the french mouth and he responds even better. The Korsteel is great quality for a great price.
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit Overall, I'm very happy with this purchase. A good price for a good bit. It looks and feels very nice. Seems to run true to size.
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I decided to try this bit on my 15yr old Tb who really fights the D-ring snaffle that I rode him in. I would also have a hard time putting the bridle on bc he just didn't want the bit in. From first time I tried the eggbutt frenchlink he began fighting the bit less and is more pleasant to ride. He also lets me put the bit in with no problem. I really like this bit and will purchase another one in the future.
    Date published: 2011-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality, Good Price This bit has a good ergonomic shape, a good weight, and comes at a very reasonable price-well worth it.
    Date published: 2011-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Bit Great for schooling horses that don't need much bit in their mouth. Cleans easy and still looks new.
    Date published: 2010-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit I bought this bit for my Morab, Tuff. He would shake his head and not give to pressure in the other snaffle I was using on him. This bit has helped him so much! He goes super well in it, and it never causes him pain like his other one did. A great bit, especially for smaller mouthed horses like my Tuff.
    Date published: 2010-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for! I have been toying with bits on my fussy half arab pony mare for awhile. I knew I wanted a 3 piece eggbutt and so I decided to try this one out first... and well this is the only bit I will use for now on. The head tossing and jerking has reduced by 80% within the first ride. Very pleased!
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Korsteel French Mouth Eggbutt Bit was just what I needed, both of my horses hate traditional snaffles, but they do very good in these. I've used this one less than a month, but have another one just like it that I have been sharing between the two horses and that got old real quick so purchased a second.
    Date published: 2010-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent buy! This bit is true to size, built well and is great for keeping them soft and quiet. Quality exceeds price! An excellent buy =)
    Date published: 2010-04-01
    • 2016-02-05T14:49CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_37
    • loc_en_US, sid_7989, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.